12% Nigerian secondary school students practise 'anal sex’ | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 December 2011

12% Nigerian secondary school students practise 'anal sex’

According Morenike Ukpong, the coordinator of the New Vaccine and Microbicide Advocacy Society, a Lagos-based NGO,  not less than 12% of public  secondary school students in Nigeria practice anal sex while 12.1 per cent of university students  and 15.2 per cent adolescents in northern Nigeria engage in the act.

Some things are just damndiculous. How did they arrive at these figures? Read the full report culled from Nigerian Tribune after the cut...

Morenike who disclosed this to the Nigerian Tribune said the role of anal sex in driving the HIV epidemic away from Nigeria could no longer be ignored.

She further said there were evidences to show that about 10 per cent of women and 14 per cent of men in the general populace practised anal sex, adding that the use of condom during this sexual act was low because of the erroneous belief that anal sex was safer than vagina sex.

“Request for anal sex by clients of female sex workers is high  with men paying higher to have anal sex for many reasons,” she stated.

According to Ukpong, anal sex is known to be the highest risk form of sexual transmission of HIV infection with approximately 14 times higher risk of HIV transmission when compared to penile-vagina sex.

“The probability of HIV infection transmission in penetrative anal sex is about 1.4 per cent per sex act both in heterosexual and homosexual relationships. For women, the risk is highest as they will always be the receptor in either vagina or anal sex,” Ukpong added.

She said  there was the need to discuss more openly about the risk of anal sex adding that the discussion around sex must become broader to encourage public understanding of the multiple forms of sexual practices (vagina, oral, anal) and the risk of HIV infection associated with all the forms of sex.

57 comments:

the white enchantress said...

all i can say is woooooooooow.........on d part of sec sch students.

Linda and all these statistically incorrect surveys you post for our reading pleasure

devour said...

chineke onye ebele !!! ders nothing mi ears wont hear ! for all d diamonds in d world i will neva let anyone put anything into mi Ahole.that end is only an EXIT biko !

udrimz said...

lol @ dat picture ''u have 2mins''...linda hellep me ask dem again o,how do they arive on dat figure..bullsh*t

The picture is funny

Osagie1 said...

Wow linda entertainment kwa... Welldone

ANAL SEX IS NICE. TRY IT

<ANAL SEX IS HOT!!!!!!!!!!

Priestess said...

Did mrs ukpong opened d asses of dis students 2 knw, how did she do it? Cuz i knw dose students did nt queue 2 ave their asses checked.
Children of dis generatn become sexually active @ young ages, al thanx 2 internet, TV programs, naija movies n lack of parental care.

abiodun ogun said...

na wa oo

Youth Corner said...

We are leaving in unusual times!!!

Anal sex, sodomy, buggering? what's the difference? (Mscheww!!!)

Android Beats Apple With Retina Tablet said...

Lol. Good for them... I guess?

Kween said...

I keep wondering why any one would engage in such a disgusting act. Ugh! Sick sick people!

Anal sex is a very beautiful something. Girls need to be a little bit more adventurous.

I believe, while in sec school anal sex was very popular (boy on girl, boy on boy) it meant no pregnancy and no damage to the hymen,and trust nigeria the government will say this is a lie. Nigeria open your eyes

Oluwasegun said...

God help us all. Zip my mouth on this_____

Believe it or not Linda, is a fact, what this secondary school student do is unimaginable, and I know Dr Morenike quite well, she has done series of research, she cant jump to conclusion without evidence to back it up, am sure they are practicing anal sex thinking they cant get pregnant thru dat, only they dont know the risk involve. Sex should be an open discussion, Nigeria has gone past the level of where sex talk is unmentionable.

mariamah said...

Na waaaa ooooo, don't know what to say

na small children spoil pass this days, no small pikin again parents should be aware of the kind of things their children watch all this things they learn from watching pornographic movies parents beware look after your kids so tomorrow it will not be 5percent for primary schools cos alot contributes to corrupt this kids.

superswag said...

Well im no more in secondary school bt i would love 2 practise anal sex sumday.. Plz dnt hate am jx sayin

The Truth said: All I can say is GOD save us allllllllllllllll. The world has lost its virtues. The Children have lost their innocence. Nothing seems sacred any more. Kids moving too fast. There's no more discipline. Families no longer have GOD as head of the household. Parents no longer role models. Children trying to keep up with the jones too now in this country. Anal sex lon lon. woooooow. Even in adults na woooooooow. Let alone kids. So hv the Churches and Mosques really done their jobs. If this is happening. Upon alllll the churches running in lagos making money. No out reach programs. What are dey teaching but amassing wealth. We need our virtues and moral fibre back in a nation. Our nation has no role models oh. When girls are doing runs and everyone selling their soul for money. When the country is mostly destitute. Its all a vicious cycle. But it starts from an early age. a home without Discipline or God. And ists not just parents role. We all hv a role to play and we all hv to be role models to ourselves as a people. if these stats are accurate it is disturbing

Btc said...

LoL.. Funny pic. And after that, most of them will still claim they are virgins. After all, the vagina is still intact.

Mena UkodoisReady said...

"Lies, damned lies, and statistics"
Pull out numbers and people will just chop. I question the integrity of any/every 'stats' jare. From their sampling, to their methodologies etc...

That said

Sha (gotta be very specific here)for the FEMALES having anal sex with MALES I suspect that some of it is because of this obsession with virginity, so the ladies prefer anal to preserve their 'virginity'. I guess their anus will end up not being as virgin as their Vaajaay. #smh

Mena
http://efemenaoreoluwa.blogspot.com/2011/12/see-me-see-trouble-my-pipupt-2.html

And they say the country doesn't need an anti-gay bill?

This US-sponsored propaganda sef! Imagine such a day-light fraud called research! Is dis an attempt to force gay madness on us, hennnn? Wateva d figures, NO to Homo-monkeys!

Choi..*Goose bumps*

Galore said...

Ok,,,We don Hear....@LINDA aabeg which one make we com practice now.........Tell me,,so i go kno whatsup

babe said...

are we sure this is not skewed... how many schl did she send the qtners too ...how many responded..

Babafemi said...

Naija has REALLY changed! To think when I left 12yrs ago the nastiest sexual thing popular back then was sucking tiddies. Now I read all over FB how some youngins even complain that if their girls/boys don't allow them to lick pussy, or suck the dick, then no main course! Now anal sex? I guess we are good at adopting behaviors whether good or bad.

When i have my daughters! i will be inspecting their vaginas and arse holes everyday!

Linda,
Why are you questioning the report? Nigerians nowadays engage in all sorts of unnatural sexual practices. Was it not on this same blog that a heated argument ensued about anal sex and there were several men coming out arguing strongly in favour of it? I feel for the women who allow themselves to be dehumanized that way because when they get into their old age, their asses will be leaking shit and they will be treated like outcasts in society. So, Nigerian youths, keep keeping on with all you see in porn movies. I know very well alot of Nigerians copy-copy everything western and stand for nothing.

Lol...dis ur picture is S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ funny.. Can't stop laughing

Vaughn Samuel said...

Linda, I know some of your commentators will get on the high horse and write all sorts of things but I want to tell you my experience. As Far back as 1992, I had a discussion with my cousin who told me that he usually had sex with his girlfriend from the anus. He always went thru the anus whenever the girl was in her period. In 1996, I had the same discussion with my friends and room mates in O.A.U Ife. One of my friends had told us he preferred it thru the anus. it was a heated debate as we opined that he had homosexual tendencies. I do not even want to talk about how rampant homosexuality was in my secondary school back in the 80's. Its a terrible reality facing us as a people. Really I think the data be insufficient.

poshcateyes said...

Big oops... Now talk about Bad,.... Secondary school students and Anal Sex, closing my eyes and tryin to open it and I still can't comprehend this... Attaining Zero HIV Future for Nigeria is so not reachable, with the Women topping the charts as being unfaithful in the world, yu wonder why Nigeria isn't on the top list of AIDs infections rate. God save us! Parents time to act now, yur Kids shld be priority leave yur Blackberries and watch wht yur kids are up to... More round table discussions. M sure the Northerns re opting for Anal Sex in oda to preserve their Hymen for their future husbands...
Linda there is a pix making the Rounds on BBM abt a young gurl murdered (alledged) by her boyfriends... Pls we need more information on that o. Thnks

Innoxx said...

In as much as i don't agree with those figures and statistics, it's a true fact that Anal sex is on the high rise amongst our youngies.I personally see this almost everyday and wonder what's really happening.Even guys i know so well jubilate having sex with a lady thru her Anus.The guys said the Anal part is tighter than the other part as it brings a very high & genuine sensation so therefore,they prefer f***king it.

orange said...

Jonny Just Come. This woman should go back to the north to get her facts right. Anal sex na today for North. What has been popular before the era of the evil genius. That's what the Hausa rich men use to separate the boys from the men. The richer you are, the more young virile boys you have to mess their anus up. Na wetin some university students (guys) dey take chop for up north. Men-aristo.
That woman should visit Abuja in the night and she will see that as some men are picking up girls, so also some other men are picking up boys. What are they doing with young boys? I just pity the wives of these irresponsible men.

Following recent publication by 9jaconet that Jackson Ude of pointblanknews is not a graduate of clayton riddel school of political management university, Ottawa, as he calmed in one of the publication, the institution has released damning facts which reveal that that Mr Ude is an impostor.

9ja conet gathered exclusively that Ude currently being detained in Nigeria, having been caught with 3.6 million dollars never attended the institution at anytime. Further checks show that ude who dropped out of secondary school and cannot read or write runs pointblanknews through a mutual friend Churchill Umoren who worked for the punch before leaving Nigeria. According to our source, Churchill who is an accomplished journalist has at various times threatened to expose Jackson, but changed his mind due to pressure from friend in Nigeria.

it was gathered that Jackson who is having a paternity problem, having been disowned by his father, may be left off the hook as his sponsor has been able to sort out those holding him. Jackson it was learnt has been terribly sick in detention, a situation that forced security officials to conduct a HIV test on him. As we speak he said to be positive. For now his only brother is at loss what to do. he is gay, and contracting HIV/AIDS has worsen his case since ladies are aware of his gay status, Jackson has been in the forefront of passing a bill by the Nigerian senate to legalize same sex marriage, through his publication in his chop chop website

Str8FrmDaHips said...

My oyinbo teacher revealed to us say na Black Muslims in Northern Nigeria like that thing pass..well undercover and heard murmurings that the Anti-Gay lobby was led by Southerners..go figure!!

LucidLilith said...

Well then ... I guess the whole "Gay Marriage/Sex is unAfrican" argument is moot.

chichiluv said...

Na only Nigeria? I know that women that live in Europe and the US who are from very conservative society do this a lot because they are expected to be virgins when they get married so they have anal sex instead before they go home to marry whoever is arranged for them. I have known since I was a child that this is par for the course in Northern Nigeria between older men and young boy.

This na old news. The stats are probably wrong sef.

myopinion said...

Personally I think the statistics are even higher.I know quite a number of pple who indulge in anal sex for different reasons...some cos bfs insist they enjoy sex better dt way,some indulge in it wen their gfs are on their periods too.anyway dt being said there's absolutely nothing new about anal sex and it ll surprise you to know dt its common among children dt attend boarding schools.infact dts wia the whole 'gay'thing becomes part of their consciousness.A lot of the boys in private universities practise anal sex too.that being said,parents should rise up to the realities of our world today.Too many parents re chasing money forgetting the welfare of their children.I can't help but wonder what would become of the world 5yrs from now,like someone rightly said the world is moving to a grinding end.

Str8FrmDaHips said...

very soon dem go dey wear diapers..dirty water just dey lick out..no control..all this unatural things dey get side effects o!!

myopinion said...

http://cnsnews.com/news/article/senate-approves-bill-legalizes-sodomy-and-bestiality-us-military

Caroline said...

A lot of young folks do that now because they believe that's also one of the safest way to prevent pregnancy. So, no surprise. And some are just freaky like that.

What happened to the vagina, which God created for the penis. Not for me to get it in where it's designed for poop. I tried it twice with my ex boyfriend and that was one of the reasons I broke up with him before meeting my husband, too freaky for my liking. That will be the last time too. I will stick to the normal way and good thing my husband is sticking to that and we are having great sex without all the extra.

Honestly, it's all lust that can be curbed. We Americans are getting overly sexualized people are always trying new things that they don't even need. That's why some people are going as far as having threesome, open marriage...only to keep things spicy? And now, trying to make having sex with animals okay?

What happened to morals and values? God have mercy on our souls. People say, chill out why are you so uptight, why does God have to be in everything, we are just having fun. I feel you, but when you know the truth, it's hard to ignore the truth.

Yo, dudes chill out. Anal sex is not bad. As long as it's with your spouse. If Oral sex is not bad, why is anal sex with a woman bad? You guys should grow up and be more creative in bed. Ignorant fucks

I feel sorry for people who ignorantly practice anal sex. when your anus loses elasticity, your husband will move on and you would be left wearing adult pampers. thats apart from the nasty illnesses that our healthcare system can cater for. anyway, i wish them luck with their sodomy in the name of enjoyment. BTW, HIV aids, chlamydia and siphyllis are all real oh.

ibo boy said...

LMAO! Pay sex worker more for anal sex??? that's just extremely GROSS

Anon December 10, 2011 2:08 AM; thank you.
Sex was never meant to be done anally. Goodness me.

Blair said...

@ anon 12:40am and anon 12:49pm

Get the fuck outta here. No, you need to come out of the closet with you gay ass self. Men always telling women to be more creative. No, if my V-jay jay ain't enough for you, you can go get your fag man to do that for you, I ain't down with that. Men, say women need to do this, that, yet y'all still cheat. Why don't you learn how to keep your dick to yourself instead of going after every woman in a skirt and your excuse is she aint fulfilling you. SHUT UP.

Women practicing all kind of sexual stuff, I feel sorry for you guys. Women are always in and out of the hospital trying to treat some kind of genital disease or the other yet y'all are not learning your lesson. I saw some disgusting pic on fb of some girl with genital wart, and so many girls in Nigeria have sexual diseases where they don't get treated. So, why add to your problems. If my man wants all that, bye!!! I'm good with vaginal sex, and that's all I have to offer. People are just too nasty.

There is nothing Nigeria will not suffer from. All sorts of phoney polls from fakers

Hater is back!! said...

Anus no get hymen shebi? So some babes still wants to claim to be virgins. And guys dey fear belle! I no wan be papa yet! I need to groove my life first before one babe go put the lasso on me!

Jokes apart, it's really a disturbing news, but not surprising because children are exposed earlier to sex unlike our days. INTERNET has more evil than good. A child can be restricted from watching T.V or some programmers / channels blocked but can they be prevented from surfing either at the cybercafe or with their handsets?

The music and film industry ooze of SEX! And children are always inquisitive! They have so much information and time at their disposal,since many parents are out for most part of the day struggling to make ends meet!

The TRUTH is that FAMILY VALUES is falling, and don't let me start on the religion bodies!!!

Wewantchange said...

LMAO@ Blair. Real talk.

But what's all dis news coming from naija. Naija women are the most unfaithful,2 million lagosians are emotionally unstable, now 12% Naijas are doing what? Abeg, no sugar coat am, dis one pass having fun o. Dis one na sodomy.
Naijas, wetin dey do una, get your act together. NO TO ANAL SEX, NO TO HOMOSEXUALITY, NO TO RAPE, NO TO KILLING INNOCENT LIVES, NO TO BOKO HARAM, NO TO CORRUPTION AND NO TO THE FOOLS THAT ARE DESTROYING NAIJA. I DON TIRE SEF, WHAT CAN WE DO? WE CAN'T BE HEARING ALL THIS AND NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

Nigerian youth need some education on a whole lot of things. We are copying America, thinking that's the way to go. I will be traveling to Naija soon, I need to get my connection together to see what the youths can start doing. We need a revolution.

Mcheeew

ping me!! 314eba07 ladies only

it is unfortunate that we read and take all we read hook-line and sinker. i am a Nigerian i know that that anal sex is happening but not at the rate u guys are projecting it. Please stop blowing thing beyond proportion. For the blogger, where are the facts, we should not allow lousy people to come up with fictitious data without presenting the sources of that information. more-so an NGO soliciting for fund. Pls think twice