Photos: First class Petroluem Engineering graduate who never wanted to serve in Zamfara dies in camp | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 2 December 2016

Photos: First class Petroluem Engineering graduate who never wanted to serve in Zamfara dies in camp

Ukeme Asuquo Monday, a first class graduate of Petroleum Engineering from the University of Uyo, died at the NYSC Camp in Zamfara state after suffering from Diarrhea yesterday December 1st.

According to his friend, Victor Jerry Emah, Ukeme never wanted to go for service in Zamfara and said he was destabilized the moment he received his call-up letter. Ukeme was a brilliant student who won 4 scholarships as a student. Read the emotional tribute his friend, Imo Pat wrote about him after the cut...

"November 21st...... l helped you check your state of deployment online

November 22nd..... We went to itam market to buy our kits for the orientation exercise.

November 23rd.....We all departed Uyo to our respective camps.

December 1st...... I got the sad news that you're no more.
What a ruthless you world.

Ikpa, whatever reason that made u leave this world so soon is unfair.
Why now?
But why now?

After all the stress and sleepless nights we went through together for 5years.

You made a First class,
You were overall Best in the '10 Engineering class,
You won about four scholarships.
You organized free tutorials for junior colleagues and even your own mates.

I really don't have words to express how felt when I heard the news about the your untimely demise.
.......and I really can't understand why God allowed this one to happen.
Brotherly, though you are gone, I know your legacies and the impact you created will forever be remembered.

Rest On Ukeme Monday
It is well
God knows best

39 comments:

OMG...WHAT'S REALLY HAPPENING? RIP dear one...#SoSad

OMGGG!!! What's happening, it's better fg remove this stuff if dey know, dey can't take care of someone's child in dat camp

OMG! Not again, this is heart wrenching.
May his soul rest in peace.

Not again! RIP

****************************geeeeeeeeeez........ Not again..... Xo not again *******wox all dix????? Dix untimely death tolls are so painful.......... I don't knw dem but i feel xo pained in my heart........ God worx happening???????? Talk to your children.......... Whr have we offended you??????????? Wic one ix diarrhea??????????? Okwa ka owere buru ife akoro ojiri nwuo *************God!!!!!!!!

So Sad he died but death is an immutable destiny and can happen anywhere be it Zamfara,Lagos or Calabar.#SadMuch

Pls someone should tell govt to remove this madness called NYSC program. Biko.

Rip my fellow engr

Heavenly freeborn wept! Another death in nysc all in hausa place why huh? DUDE I BLAME U ON THIS,FROM MY OWN POINT OF VIEW UR SPIRIT DID NOT SUPPORTER U but U DISOBEY UR SPIRIT U DON SEE WHY WE MUST BE SPIRITUAL ALERT HUH? who nysc help huh? Did terrorist buhari go to nysc huh? Is high time for that disease call nysc to stop since it has become a den of death. IMAGINE AN IBO GUY FOR THAT MATTER DUDE FREEBORN IS NOT HAPPY FOR U OO well may ur heavenly soul rest in peace.
HOPE HAUSA SOLDIERS HAND ARE NOT ON THIS OO.
Dude good night!

two death recorded already..kano and zamfara..d northerners shuld serve in north..dnt knw if dey ar cursed or wat..corpers can't kip loosing dere precious life dere

Time to scrap dis mad NYSC dat keeps sending innocent, hardworking people to the impoverished, stone age north to go and suffer after years in the University.

judith said...

God ooooooo, this NYSC should be eradicated for haven sake. Second death, what are d govt doing abt it nah OMG am so speechless. Rest in peace dear

This is heartbreaking...RIP!

Na wa oo...must someone served?? Na see what have happened to this brain young man. NYSC is a waste of time and resources.. I believe it should be optional. Rip bro

I had diarrhoea too when I served in taraba and also had tuberculosis .I had chemo for 6 months after service. I think nysc should be made voluntary

Nna na wa o! May his soul RIP. Linda take note!

HRM Paul said...

Bright minds are dropping dead like pack flies bright minds are relocating to the cemetery in a hurry rip

Oh God! What Is happening in our camps

Lib addict#just pasing#

This is the third person kano,bayelsa now this I'm beginning to think something is mightily wrong God pls intervene.

In my set in school, only one guy was posted to Abuja for nysc . while we were in faraway Yobe state,under the most unfavourable conditions you can ever think of(alimajiri's even burnt down our lodge,including certificates),the supposed Abuja copper was in faraway UK pursuing his masters degree.
He got his NYSC dispatch cert.before us who served under the sun and in the rain.
We only hear of the death of common Nigerian coppers in remote areas because service year is not for the rich,but the certificate.
God punish the rich that do not follow due process.

na wa o
my roommate too got serious typhoid and malaria from that zamfara that is minus the threat upon her life during her stay.

So so so sad. Gosh... RIP

Long Live LIB

nina said...

Plz this thing called NYSC should be scrapped please soooooo sad

Hmm see this zamfara that I was even wishing I had been posted to when I read somewhere it's one of the cleanest camps in Naija. Clean my nyash. After being posted to delta I knew I never can stay in delta. Terrible place. So ive been doing ghost corperall this while in lagos. Lo n behold relocation finally worked in between all the traveling back n forth from lagosto delta n back to escape query. My spirit just used to dampen evrrytime i hear i gotta travel to delta to avoid query and suspicion of some enemy of progrrss zi and lgi. I survived by Gods grace in that camp but y'all should take this scrapping of Nysc serious. riot and petition if u have to. Cus the camps are not well maintained. Why go camp n contract Illness for heaven sake. Or is there an ulterior dastardly motive to all the suffering. RIP dear fellow corper

NYSC, ESPECIALLY THOSE POSTED TO THE NORTH IS TAKING SO MANY HEADS OHH

I DONT KNOW WHY OUR YOUTH ARE DYING IN THE HANDS OF NYSC.

eka said...

Hmm
What's really happening ???
Just remembered my service days too
My gal friend was sick from day 1 till she left camp; she had severe rashes, consistent vomiting & diarrhoea & always week. She Finally left d camp in an ambulance but recovered instantly she left d camp.
Plz......d govt should make this service thing voluntary cos we all don't acclimatise well in harsh environments

kunta said...

Hmmm, Again?
NYSC should be scrapped!!!!

RIP bro...God knows best!

Pls,rest in peace.

Again?

RIP.

Any Autopsy on possible cause of death? This can prevent other people.

But what is happening to this present orientation camp huh!something needs to be done about it pls.

If you had d means and connections, you'll dodge it too. No one likes it.

nimi said...

WE NEED TO SEND A MESSAGE TO THE GOVERNMENT TO SCRAP THE NYSC PROGRAM NOW

Peace nwadire said...

This program need to be scrapped

NYC should b SCRAPPED!!!!

#Scrap NYSC....
Please!!!

He helped when I failed Math 111 in our first year, I scored 96 after your tutorials. You helped several other Students like me in school and now NYSC has taken you away forever, it's time to reevaluate the relevance of this service because because the aim had long been defeated and young people are wasted their time and lives in in lost course. Please let us put an end to NYSC before it cuts off our future.