The presiding judge, Justice John Adeyeye while delivering judgement said "An accused may be convicted on his own confession alone as long as the court was satisfied. Based on the confessional statement of the accused, the court found him guilty as charged. Besides, the prosecution has also proved his case beyond reasonable doubt by providing seven witnesses. The accused is hereby sentenced to death by hanging. This will serve as deterrent to others in the society. May God have mercy on your soul," he said.
According to a report by Tribune Newspapers , the prosecutor, Alaba Adeyemi, told the court that the convict armed with weapons including gun and cutlass, robbed three people, specifically robbed Kola Owolabi of N8,000, Beatrice Olawumi, N5,000 and Idowu Abiodun, N1,570. Seven witnesses where provided to prove the case.
The convict pleaded guilty to the charge and also confessed to have been involved in series of robberies. The convict confessed to have joined a gang when he was in a prison.

97 comments:
Confession: Dasuki Implicates Ex-governors, PDP Chiefs In $2billion Arms Deal Scandal
Hmm! This is hard to believe. Maybe there is a part of the story missing where he killed someone during the robbery. I never knew people could get the death sentence for stealing.
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
End time hanging
rubbish bcus a man stole 14,570 you sentence him to death by hanging
Ah na wa oo. Only 14,570 fa. Hw abt d politicians stealing billions of dollars n naira every second. It is well oo
If a person steals 14,570 & gets capital punishment, what happens to our politicians dat has robbed us blind??? Linda take note!
Just for stealing mere 15k. Is this a sharia court or what?.
And their useless leaders steal billions of naira with pen and get away with it. Pen robbery is the biggest robbery so far and rob gun robbery.
I dont lyk d sound of this .... if dis b d case den all our politicians shud b burnt alive nd den thrown in d lake of fire
And their useless leaders steal billions of naira with pen and get away with it. Pen robbery is the biggest robbery so far and not gun robbery.
DEATH BY HANGING????!!!!!!!!!! WHAT THA!!!IN NIGERIA!!!! NO I CANT BELIEVE THIS , THIS MESSAGE IS NOT REAL, LAWYERS PLSBEXPLAIN THIS TO US, Is stealing now punishable by death in Nigeria? What's going on? That means Dasuki should be roasted like boli/plantain for 2 days
...and people go scot free stealing millions
Visit Nigeriabestjobs.com for Latest Jobs in Nigeria
Death by hanging? 14k?Really?
Then dasuki/diezani should be dragged by a horse
The judge should hanged as well.... someone who hs stolen billions of naira will be offered a state pardon
This judge must be very ill in the head...These are the things that piss me off in this country...How do you sentence someone to death by hanging because he stole how much again??please we need to get really serious in this country he stole BAD but death by hanging??I don't agree to this abeg abeg abeg can't deal what's this murder naaa
Can u imagine death by hanging for 14,570 what about those politicians who steal billions? Mtcheeew shame on this country#smh
Naija which way 14,570 death sentence ,inshort d judge is sentence 2 death by abusin his office .rubbish!
May God punish that stupid judge, let him go and decide saraki case tooo, if truly the stupid judge will not be brought. This country if u don't know pple u are nothing. I don't believe in all this poverty judges in Nigeria
Kai, the witches from your village strong o
Is the judge high. Death for stealing less than N20k, talk about bring a fighter jet to a gun fight
How about Dasuki???
And our politicians are loothing billions nobody sentence them to death...
And these politicians are stealing billions, no one sentence them to death
Did he kill his victims? The judge should be sacked. Sentencing somebody to death for stealing?
Why is it that most Yoruba people re wicked? Imagine .... Death by hanging Bc of 14,570? God have mercy..... Their wickedness is inborn...
Oh yeah? Really? Death sentence for stealing 14k plus? Was that judge high on something when he delivered judgement? What then should be done to those who have stole and are still stealing billions from our treasury? Hummmmm....change indeed has come. I just weep for our judicial system.
That judge must be high.. I mean really high......
That sentence too harsh jor, shuuu! Na 14,570 o.
The judge should be hanged for this miscarriage of justice or forced to handle Dasuki/Saraki case let him sentence them to death by firing squad. Ewu gambia!
Osi don't mind them
Useless judge!
How can you sentence someone to death for 14k, when politicians that stolen billions are walking around, free!
ARMED ROBBERY in Naija is actually punishable by death so the judge acted within the law. Whether na stick or toy gun be the arm, na death o. We need to have stricter laws floor bribery, embezzlement et al. SMH sha
D poor pay d price most times
He was armed with gun that is the reason. In law if one rob without any arm he/she will get less sentence however, when armed it is a different ball game.
D lawyer should b hanged
Foolish bad governments
Full Video: See What This Brother And Sister Caught Doing When Their Parent Is Not At Home
Watch It Here
What sort of judgement is that? #14570?????????
Politicians that steal billions are rewarded with appointments, yet a common man that stole mere 14,570 is sentenced to death. What a wicked judicial system that oppress the poor. In as much as I don't encourage stealing of any form, I want to state clearly that the judge must be high on Jamaican weed when he passed that silly judgement on the innocent man.
Lib semi illiterates, the law is the law if you commit armed robbery, even if it's 1 naira u stole while armed with a dangerous weapon it's a capital offence. Instead of crucifying the judge ignorantly ask ur legislators to make looting a capital offence as well
D judgement is too harsh and extreme when he didn't kill anyoene more they r people who hav committed worse than dis and they r walking freely in Nigeria.
How cruel
What an injustice!! The punishment is too much.
Dere is no single rationality in this judgement, it is unjust nd must be put to a stop the furtherance of that judgement
The kind of nonsense I read daily is alarming. Where is the rule of law?
Very harsh judgment!
Capital punishment for 14,570k? Nawa o!
Shameful verdict.
This is unfair!!
Fink dis judge needs urgent Psychiatric checkup
I suspect there's more to this story, but if this is all there is to it, then the judge deserves to be hung for placing little value on human lives, for not understanding the role correctional facilities should play. #Endtime judge.
Thunder go fire the judge n all dis fucking lawyers for Nigeria, him steal common change and dem wan hang am because he has no God father or political backing??? While all dis idoit politicians will still billion dollars n pay some million naira as bail money. Dis country is d most lawless country ever, it's plain to c dat if u don't have cash u r doomed. Well all I knw is dat dis country soon is going to have a civil war and youths will kill all d rich n politicians n take over d affiars of d country by demselves, cos dis is way too much, a poor man hav no say at all, may God punish all dis fools. May his soul rest in peace as dey hang him, one day, just one day, d poor will have a voice in dis country, and dats wen deres a huge uprising and huge war to wash our country clean
Nigeria-My heart bleed for you, politician stole billion.
Jeez that's too much, wat about our so called politician shey dem no thief pass this?
Yes but they ate not armed with intent. Much ad I would like our crooked politicians to languish for life in prison!!
He wasn't just convicted for stealing,the main offence is "armed robbery"..it is a capital offence in Nigeria and he got the maximum punishment...it would have been a different ball game if he wasn't armed
The law is an " ass". It is not the amount stolen here that got him the capital punishment but because he was armed during the robbery so he had premeditation to harm or kill and the law is quite clear on armed robbery. China makes no such distinction.
Hmmm it means those politicians who stole billions of dollars nd million of Naira will get the same sentence soon then nd what about the politicians who has been stealing public funds?
Oh!
D judge dat dis dis must certainly b onn cheap weeds if not wouldn t dare dis.
ThIs has made me weep like a baby! What kind of country is this nowwwww.... who can stand up for this guy? Wat can be done to help this poor guy!
Lol.... Burnt alive and still thrown in d lake of fire.... Interesting!
This is too much na. All for 14k? Too harsh biko
Woe to those who make unjust laws, to those who issue oppressive decrees.
Is so obvious dis Judge was ones a victim of robbery, is only a bitter heart waiting 4 a revenge will judge dis cruel. The judgment is so harsh biko!
That is the law of the country, anyone found guilty of arm robbery is sentenced to death, even if you didn't kill anyone or just stole 20kobo, the penalty is death, so long a weapon was involved in the attack.
Like 20 years back, a family member was sentenced to death too, cos a street friend gave him as a banker some bond to convert to money, he didn't know the bonds were stolen at gun point, while he was trying to do the conversion, the feds detected the stolen bonds and traced it back to him, he was hanged for it as he couldn't produce the friends that gave then to him.
Arm robbery attracts death sentence, if the law ha upheld this law, maybe armed robbery wouldn't be as rampant as it is now
Wtf? It toooo much ...was anyone killed in the picture? If nigeria wants to be dis strict let them start from the politicians and govt eating trillions of naira which kind judgement be this ehhhhh..nonsense mstchewwwww... Just wanna hear one politician been given this same judgement ehhh heeee others go cool
Jeeeeeesuuuu! Who is d stupid and psychopath judge? Hear his name sef, AdeYEYE...i'm sure he bribed his way thru law school. Some1 pleaded guilty yet received such insane sentence. God y did u mk me a Nigerian? So much abnormal n irrational ppl in places of authority.
For those bastards running their stincking mouths here I pity u. An armed robber has not pointed a gun at u n stole just 1k from u. Then u will tell us how u felt at dat instance. Or a gang of armed robbers getting nasty in bus rubbery n shutting at ur best friend who was unfortunate. Then cum here n tell me rubbish. Bunch of hypocrites.
This post is wrongly reported. I don't believe it has all the facts. This is part of the reason our legislature wants to censure social media. So people don't go about making posts to wrongly incite people.
Stupid judge . You condemn someone for stealing 14k or so.
what these report should have added is If these guy is a first time offender or multiple offender.
Death really? What an Irony. Smh
In a country where Stella odua is still breathing free, bode George is still talking from the corners of his mansion. Olubunmi foluke etteh is still doing well and moving about, where dimeji bankole is still smiling about after all these and many more have swindled the nation, committed treasonable offenses and corruption, a man that robbed people for about 15k has been sentenced to death by hanging in Ekiti....if these aforementioned people can not be sentenced to death, why sentence the Ekiti man to death??? So much injustice in this world and especially in this nation and that's why people see youth aggression towards them.
What kind of judgement is this?!!!
Wait! People steal millions and get 2 years in jail and this guy steals 14k and is sentenced to be hanged! Where is the equity that our Constitution speaks of?!
Poorjudiciary system in this country
Then what happens to our leaders stealing billions, Dat judge is sick in d head
After the guy don spend 13 years in prison dem come still sentence am to death.., why not judge him in 2003 when the crime was committed? Naija I hail oh
My dear I am lost, What about Demeji Bankole who stole 150 billion and the rest of his kind their own would be death by acid in the eye, they walk freely and later assume public Seats, this judgement too extreme for a N14,570 armed robber, where the pen robbers go freely. Linda ikeji pls do something I know you can.
D law favors d rich and not d poor
This man may have gone into this act as a result of these pen robbers we call politician in nigeria that intensed hardship to masses,where is this pocket judge that could not air a world while our politician kept looting our nation dry.may Almighty God sentence him/her and deliver this young man to repentance
What you gys fail to understand is that, the convict robbed his victims with gun and other weapons. The amount don't matter. People had been killed because of 500 naira. Those robbers that Rob pple in traffic with gun, so you all believe they shld let them go, after all they steal mostly phone. It's not done like that at all. If u rob somebody with weapon , you are gone if you are caught.
This man may have gone into this act as a result of these pen robbers we call politician in nigeria that brought intensed hardship to masses,where is this pocket judge that could not air a world while our politician kept looting our nation dry.may Almighty God sentence him/her and deliver this young man to repentance
Most of u r jus talking rubbish. If u stole 1 kobo nd u were armed during d act nd charged under d fire arms Act, d punishment is death by hanging. The judge's hands are tied. He didn't make d law, our legislators did so stop cursing him, he only followed d law. To all potential thieves out there, if u rob someone of 1 naira nd u were armed, u wud b killed! Chikena!
I'm sure you won't think it's offence if you or your family was d victim. Robbing you under gun point is not funny. Imagine if d victims did not give him the money, he would have shot them. I bet he has killed b4 , he just got caught this time around.
Tell them o.
I can't imagine this kind of injustice for someone that steal 15k to get death by hanging what the politicial that steal Nigeria fortune. Doctor should test the brain of the judges.
Endangered species.
This is too bad.
that judge must be high on drugs..is he crazy or what/just for 15k....and people in government are stealing from the masses everybody,none of them is being sentenced even for one week.
u sure say that judge know wetin he de do at all?? what if i decide to pay ten times the money will they still hang him? curious*****
about 15k and they are hanging him to death, God have mercy on this country nigeria
I think the judge went too far. Instead of them to die, give them live in prisonment
I think the judge went too far. Instead of them to die, give them life in prisonment
He was armed but didn't kill anyone.that judgement should be reversed asap!
What kind of useless judgement is that, if he kills person ko?
Since when did 15k equal A PERSON'S LIFE? WTH Nigeria? The sick judge needs to loose that job.
My thoughts exactly...hopefully the traffic robbery would reduce a bit.