Glo boosts data usage on Nigerian campuses with Campus Booster | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 December 2015

Glo boosts data usage on Nigerian campuses with Campus Booster

Students of institutions of higher learning in the country can now have unhindered access to internet browsing and downloading within their campuses as next generation telecoms network, Globacom, has launched a first-of-its-kind product tagged Glo Campus Booster.

L-R: SUG President, University of Ibadan, Olateju Aliyu Oladimeji; Senior Manager, Events, Globacom Jumobi Mofe-Damijo; Glo ambassador and Nollywood actress, Ini Edo; Senior Manager, Events, Globacom Sola Mogaji; Glo ambassador, Ego Ogbaro and SUG President, Lagos State University, Sulaimon Wasiu Adeyemi during the launch of Glo Campus Booster at the Globacom headquarters in Lagos on Wednesday.

Designed to aid academic activities and social networking among students and staff of tertiary institutions across Nigeria, the Glo Campus Booster will, among other benefits, support and improve education standards, create intellectual wealth for students, and provide access to information on research topics and thesis writing.

At the official launch of the product at Globacom’s headquarters in Lagos on Wednesday, the company’s Senior Manager, Events and Sponsorship, Mr. Sola Mogaji, said that the Glo Campus Booster is a special data plan that allows students and others on campus to get up to eight times more data value whenever they use their Glo lines on campuses.

For instance under the Glo Campus Booster, a N200 data recharge will guarantee a subscriber 400MB of data which is eight times more than the 50MB of data a subscriber would normally get with a N200 recharge.

In the same vein, a recharge of N500 will give 1 gigabyte of data on campus. The service is available on all Nigerian campuses nationwide, including Military, Police, Customs and Immigration training institutions, Mr. Mogaji explained.

According to him, “Students as well as staff on campuses can enjoy this offer when they subscribe to a Glo Campus Data Plan of N200 and above. They will subsequently enjoy enhanced data offered while used in the campuses”. He further explained that another juicy feature of the package is that theGlo Campus Data Plans can be gifted to another subscriber on any other campus within the country.

He said as soon as any subscriber on the Campus Data Plan enters a school campus anywhere in Nigeria, “You will be notified via a flash message that you have entered a Glo Campus Zone”, he disclosed

Mogaji urged Nigerians wishing to register to enjoy the huge benefits of Glo Campus Booster to dial *777# to chose a preferred plan from N200 and above.

He said Globacom decided to offer the Campus Booster, having realized the dearth of internet facilities on Nigerian campuses, and the need to enhance education and social integration through the provision of adequate data plan for students.

“Globacom is a world class brand, re-engineered to provide voice and data services bundled with great devices. We are more committed than ever before to provide best value for money and making our products and services more accessible to our customers,” he added.

The launch was attended by student union leaders from the University of Lagos, the Lagos State University and the University of Ibadan. Speaking on behalf of the students, Suleiman Adeyemi Wasiu, President, Lagos State University Students’ Union Government, said “it is a welcome idea. First, it will make researches easier and cheaper and secondly it is a form of economic advantage as it will drive traffic into the school which would boost economic activities on campus. We plead that Glo should not stop the product”.

The Social Secretary, University of Lagos, Mr. Roland Onyeka, who led his school’s delegation, said, “The Campus Booster is a good product which will make life easier and cheaper on campus. It will facilitate our research and assignments which we have to put on PDF files. It will also keep us more on the campus as we can now download our favourite movies without going.”

41 comments:

tomjerryswit said...

ds is a gud one god bles glo for havin studnts in myn。。。tomjerryswit

Dem do well o

Good for students...Nice one

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt bEttER
#It MuSt eNd iN prAiSE

Beautiful pix
Ini is looking so beautiful here
Nice outfit

# oneandonlynwa@gmail.com#

etochi21 said...

That's interesting

Muy said...

Like seriously?

Thats cool....

Gdmoni Linda nd Libers......Do av a blessed weekend

Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....

At last

At last

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

This will be beautiful o

Good luck

aproko manager said...

End time glo

I wish NCC could just kick this useless non benefit network outta the game........thumbs up GLO

I think I like this. Lemme try it.

Issokay seen, very thoughtful of Glo. Linda take note!

edDREAMZ said...

Fuck them..... And still yet we cant boost of a 3g network in kontagora...

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

Glo is enjoying all d fame rite now

SPONSORED

Hope say unizik dey among the "campuses"... cus I just saw only ibadan and UNilag SUG, please Glo peopl extend this internet stuff down to unizik tempsite because since my yr1 my data plan no dey move at all if I subscribe due to Lack of internet service in tempsite unizik, linda please alert them to my message pls ooo

Somto said...

Iniedo dressed like a 300 level SUG Vice President aspirant from Uniben

Nice one . TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Nice one.

That's Good to know.....we'll get there someday

#AmNewHere

I used glo for only 1week there network isn't everywhere u go. I can only browse in some certain areas I'm like hell no .

And MTN is there blocking people's line up and down telling us to go update again after we stood under the sun to register? *flushes the Sim card*...#HelloGlo #Ellobae

nice of them

Jumobi your hubby don shrink finish. You nko?

Thank u glo, I feel like like go back to school, u can as well take it to street,

Jomobi is looking fat while Ini Edo has really lost weight

Ini Edo looks good and trim but i no come understand her dressing sha

Jumobi Mofe Damijo abeg go lose weight. You fine pass this na biko. You be hot chic before oh.

Jumobi abeg start competing with RMD and lose some weight. RMD done slim pass you finish.

University of Benin nkor? Na which kind tribalism una dey do sef?

What about University of Jos?

GROUP18 said...

Linda this is a fluke. Big lies. Me and my friends saw this and we were happy but it turns out that it was just a lie. You must do something o please, I don't know why all this companies make promises they can't keep. Thanks

GROUP18 said...

Too bad we can't send images. Would have shown you.

Rabiu Ahmed. Unilag