Girl's tweet about Kylie Jenner posing in wheelchair goes viral | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 5 December 2015

Girl's tweet about Kylie Jenner posing in wheelchair goes viral

A high school student says she's shocked but pleased about the online reaction to her tweet in response to a photograph of able-bodied TV star and model Kylie Jenner posing in a wheelchair.
Ophelia Brown, 17, uses a wheelchair due to the complex regional pain syndrome that she was diagnosed with at nine years old.

When she saw the Interview magazine image of Jenner, Brown was upset and wrote a message on Twitter that was directed at Kylie.

"Having an able-bodied person pose in a wheelchair like it's a fashion accessory, it trivializes the concept of a wheelchair," Brown told CBC News in an interview at her school Thursday.
"A wheelchair is not a fashion accessory, it's not a prop, it's not something that I can easily get in and out of. It's not something that I want. It's something that I need to get to school, to go out with friends, to live a normal life.
"It's not something to be trivialized." 

70 comments:

KWEEN said...

She will soon pose with a corpse.

D brown girl shuld sharrap joor!inferiority complex is worrying ha#edogurl

edDREAMZ said...

I saw the drama on twitter and the babe have already gathered for herself lots of fans though..... People are even saying she is pretty than kylie......

She's not the first person that have posed in wheelchair for a shoot so what's the fuss.

Everything is usually fashion for them na. Hopeless geh. Na when she will land in wheel chair for real, that's when she will understand its not a joking thing

#iT wiLL oNLy gEt bEttER
#It MuSt eNd iN prAiSE

Karlsson said...

Everything is offensive, people are becoming increasingly too sensitive. They just twist a harmless event or thing into something else

Ubanagum

PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^

End time wheelchair

But its nothing to the Nudarshians, anything can be used for attention.

Whoever was behind dat concept is soo lame!!!

Eeeeeeeyah! She must have really felt pained. Linda take note!

Kojevspin D Realist said...

The Kardarshians n Jenners r all dumb so don't bother ursef darlyn. I blame people like Linda who glorifies them n always puts them in our faces. A wheelchair is not sometin to pose semi nude in. Dunce

Its all about money to them..buh ah wouldn't say no to posing in a casket for some handsome amount

YeyeGist said...

Some people can behave like insane. Why use a wheelchair when you can work normal?

etochi21 said...

Different people different perception of things...

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

Hope they not tryna mock folks on wheelchairs.
Ain't nothing fashionable able being on one.

aproko manager said...

End time girl

Mstchew. We have seen weirder pictures than kylie's own. Most of the time , dats how the magazine the celebs are shooting for wants them to pose. Everybody wants to use the kards to get 2 mins of fame.

Imagine!dn't mind kylie girl....

obietrezy said...

Kylie is better off on a wheelchair. Jor oh

So wheelchair has become something they use just for fun?
Their wahala shaa.

Amy said...

And its the truth. A wheelchair is also not something you sit on in the absence of a chair. It is a wheelchair designed for a special reason. Its not a fashion statement.

andre kelvin said...

*yawns* NEXT

END TIME POSE

Well said

So true but don't mind them they are just confuse on what next to do.

#Dakinzz

I understand how she feels exactly. Its well.

She's a stupid bitter girl..Instead of her to see the positive side of it but No, her butter mind would make it a big deal,stay and keep making her popular, before you know it she will brand her own wheel chairs and make quick sales and money from it.

She's a stupid bitter girl..Instead of her to see the positive side of it but No, her bitter mind would make it a big deal,stay and keep making her popular, before you know it she will brand her own wheel chairs and make quick sales and money from it.

pls hw is dat kylie?

Kylie is very stupid, she's mocking the people who are physically challenged . TIMILEYIN BLESSING

Comment frm ROYAL PRIESTHOOD (royalpriesthood007@gmail.com) said...

She spoke well!

Idiot girl...let her snap in a coffin and maybe say its good to feel dead

linaluv said...

What is fashionable abt a wheelchair, very soon evn wheelbarrow will b fashionable too

She's right now

Blame the director of the shoot and not Kylie.

Na wa for people sha is kylie the photographer? Is it her fault you're in a wheelchair? Can't she just live without being scrutinise over everything she does. People shud leave her alone

Well!

Kylie looking too thin, too much photoshop.

Gofig said...

Oh please.. shut up already. Wat a bloody Hypocrite! Wen orda celebrities used it ,whr were u? Now Kylie uses it , it's now a big deal? Wen Lady Gaga used it in her paparazzi video whr were u? She didn't only use a wheelchair, she added crutches n I'm sure u were singing n moving ur body to d beat n saying omg i luv dis vid n song. Shame on u. Liv Kylie alone. N stop hating on her. This only says a lot of ppl r really jealous of her. All fingers r nt equal!

#Minding my own business

Plenty time talk plenty talk yo

Eyah..so much pain in her words......Mm...

#AmNewHere

What if she sees it from this point of view: being in a wheelchair shouldn't stop you from being and feeling beautiful (just like kylie in the picture).....what if kylie is just trying to identify with wheelchair bound people......just saying shaa

SMURF said...

Okay!!

JustPorsh said...

Kylie Jenner the new and improved Kim Kardashian,
Always courting controversy.
Smh

I am a fan of the Kardashian crew and i think Kendal should apologise. .we should bl not trivialise disability...Mama Kendal...pls do.the needful

Femi-nist said...

UGHHH! I saw this coming. Relax abeg. I've seen photoshoots where people posed with crutches. It is a photoshoot. If anything it should motivate you to get a finer wheelchair. Everyone is so up their own ass with "I'm offended" that EVERYTHING is offensive. In what way is this shoot making fun of disabled people? Rest abeg!

Just because it is Kylie Jenner, it has become a crime. Like she is the first to pose this way. Thats how people keep making her popular more n more

CLASS CAPTAIN said...

GBAM!!!!

TheRealAkon said...

Who in its right mind would pose in a wheel chair? It is so wrong on all levels. I thought she is supposed to have a PR people for advice & guidance especially as she is just 18 yrs? Shameful.

There goes the jenner/kardarshians brain, they ve got none at all. Brainless mofos

tell them, make she go pose inside coffin too nah, since everything now na fashion

joyous babe said...

Their pwn cup of kunu

Lol...pple enjoy hating on the kardashians...but I wonder how they manage to have the most IG followers in the world. Goes to show you how hypocrite and jealous pple are.
Those pple that say she is prettier than kylie...if God should ask them, do you want to look like kylie or the girl on the wheel chair? ..I guess you know what their answer will be...lol

I stand with brown on this one. Kylie looks cool and it's not an all in photograph,it affects some people...think of the situation especially with brown.

junia said...

Shallow reasoning, she did a shot and was paid 4 it, so wats d attention u're talkin abt? The photographer askd her 2 pose dat way n she did. Lame ass

Such a dumb comment from you Gofig,Stans like you make dirty Diana look reserved.

TheRealAkon said...

Abled body on a wheel chair! God forgive her & not grant her wish!

Wetin concern Kylie, did she tag d girl?d girl saw it offensive datz her problem

U are obviously dumb and don't realise u shd be grateful u are not in a wheelchair.

Thank God u ain't God

My dear u nailed it. When its Kylie, everything becomes so wrong.

Ehyah! I'm sure d photo shoot wasn't meant to insult anyone. Well, people and their opinion

MUMU GIRL
THATS IBERIBE FOR YOU.... APC KOGI CANDIDATE SAID HE WILL COMPENSATE WADA IF HE WINS SEE HERE

Everything hurts everyone these days, there is nothing safe anymore!

Silly anonymous. If only u had the least idea as to what disability was...

The Creator's Muse said...

Hmmmmmmm

What is that, Kylie Jenner is not the first na, dnt Lady Gaga use something like this is Paparazzi video. So WWTA

#AlisonIgweze.

Yeah, is true......those that r using wheelchair is not their will.