Photos: Governor Fashola hosts some Ebola survivors | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 18 September 2014

Photos: Governor Fashola hosts some Ebola survivors

Lagos state Governor, Babatunde Fashola, today September 18th, hosted some Ebola survivors at his office at the state Secretariat in Alausa, Ikeja. Speaking with the survivors, the governor commended them for coming forward to share their experiences, saying that they are proof that the disease is not a death sentence.

The survivors in attendance included the widow of late Port Harcourt doctor, Dr Emenuo Kelechi (left), Dr Ibeawuchi Morris (second left), Dr Fadipe Akinniyi (centre), Mr. Dennis Akagha (late Nurse Justina Ejelonu's fiance) and Dr Adaora Igonoh. See more photos after the cut...

W
hile sharing their experiences, one of the survivors and staff of First Consultant Hospital, Dr. Ibeabuchi Morris, said he was the first to receive late Sawyer at the hospital where he was first treated for Malaria.

He said after the patient continued to have high temperature, he took the blood sample and sent it to the laboratory, then contacted Dr. Stella Adadevoh who advised him to continue attending to the patient pending the arrival of the test result. He said when the blood result arrived it was confirmed that he was EVD positive. Sawyer died a few days later.

Dr. Ibeabuchi disclosed that he started manifesting symptoms of the disease 12 days later as his body temperature continued to rise beyond 38.5 degrees Celsius. He said when his condition continued to degenerate, he reported to the Lagos State Ministry of Health and was advised to restrict his contact with members of his family.

According to him, his body temperature got to an all time high of over 40 degrees at which point the Medical team from Lagos State came and took him to the isolation centre after decontaminating his house. He thanked the Lagos State Government and all the other agencies and individuals who took care of him and made it possible for him to survive.

Another survivor, Dr. Adaora Igonoh, thanked the Lagos State Governor and the Government for their dedication in the battle to contain the spread of the disease which, according to her, made it possible for some victims, including herself to survive the virus.

Dr. Igonoh, who is also a staff of First Consultants Hospital, commended the hospital and the staff for the risk they took to ensure that the disease did not spread beyond the limit it did. She also paid tribute to those who lost their lives, adding that without their sacrifice, the story would probably have been different.

Also giving his testimony, Mr. Dennis Akagha, fiancee to Justina Akagha, a nursing staff of First Consultants Hospital who died days after attending to Patrick Sawyer, said he got to hear about his fiancee's contact with Sawyer when the death of the Liberian was announced on television. She later told him she'd treated Sawyer.

He said when the symptoms of the disease started manifesting in Justina, they first thought it was pregnancy induced or Malaria because she'd told him she wore protective gloves while attending to Sawyer. He said that on the 14th day, Justina's condition worsened and he took her to First Consultants from where he was directed to the Isolation Centre in Yaba where she later passed on.

He disclosed that he did not immediately go to hospital when he started manifesting the symptoms until he started vomiting and feeling dehydrated. He said he was finally taken to the Isolation Centre where he was treated and discharged after he tested negative of the virus.

Other survivors who gave testimonies were Dr. Fadipe Akinniyi, also a staff of First Consultants Hospital and Dr. (Mrs.) Kelechi Emenuo, wife of late Dr. Emenuo, who treated one of Mr. Sawyer’s companions in Port Harcourt and later died of the disease.

204 comments:

1 – 200 of 204   Newer›   Newest»

BRF for President

God bless them all!

Thank God...

what a kind Governor...
Thank God they r alive to their stories
may God strengthen them..

wendy..

Swagg isimemen said...

Gud job fashola

ok fashola u try. Bt dnt alow it catch u o. Hmm. Badguy.com

Mischievous said...

So good! #Bring Back Our Honour#

Well well well dahs nice

Swagg isimemen said...

Glory be 2 God almighty 4 make u all alive, tank u 4ur love fashola

Hmmmm congrats 2 dem nd hpy bdai linda.😘 🎂 👍

Osuagwu Friday Niles said...

Thank you Governor

Tnank God..

Adima Fidelis said...

That's good of Fashola

The Cutest Naija Guy said...

I thank God your lives. Dr Adaora Igonoh is pretty, I love her, *in Ghanaian accent*wink*

precious stone said...

mmhmn na wa o. father let this be d last we will hear of dis ebola in 9ja o

Oskirin said...

tank God 4 dere life.won ti ku ri.dt's wht we refer to in our local parlance.

Anne said...

Hmmmm! God is indeed gr8.

Too late to start reading long essay
Bed time

Awwww! So thoughtful of him to host them,this is a great step at ending the stigmatization.

Bibby Palace said...

Linda ikeji......hapi bday wishing u long life and prosperity to fulfill ur destiny by His grace...And praying that next year celebration is going to be in ur husband house(Amen)

princess lilian said...

Happy birthday dearie..wishing you all d best.

precious stone said...

lindaikeji u no wan post my comment?

Hmmmmmmm.

Happy Birthday Linda

Linda, happy birthday, here's wishing u God's best as u add another year, happy 34th, thank God for life. Back to d matter. I rejoice with d Ebola survivors, thank God that u guyz made it, thank God.

precious stone said...

Linda I cannot find my comment abi u don chop am?

Dats a very kind gesture...i wish d stigma cud just erase already!

AGB said...

Mr.Fashola is such a great leader. This man should be president of Nigeria ASAP abeg.

jerry said...

Thank God o for the survivors.

This is nice.... I love Gov. Fashola

What an encouraging move from Gov. Fashola. May the souls of the faithful departed rest in perfect peace #Amen#..

Lugard said...

I'm still waiting for when our president will do likewise

Remember he hosted Malala, not very long ago

This is such a beautiful thing that Fashola did. I resepect this man but right now my respect for him is on a new level. This is what we expect of leaders. By doing this Fashola has helped to reduce the possibility of stigmatization on these individuals and this is the sign of a true leader. Kudos to u Fashola. Pls can u run for 3rd term?? lool
Tosin

You host them...fine..you give them job ? AY.....

I will vote for him over and over again.hes done two things here.
First,he has honored the survivors.
Secondly,he has just shown us all that they are safe.no protective gear,nothing!he just killed several birds with a single stone.GOD bless this man.
FG,o ya copy and paste.a thoughtless,gun running,corrupt FG.

And yet our FG didn't think to honor the staff of first consultants that GOD used to save us from these epidemic.i shudder to think of what we would be saying now if that man had been left to leave the hospital

bbm 7439955a said...

Only God saves. ENGR Emy

The dead should be honored.but our FG is honoring thieves,murderers and vagabonds.

Thank God for them,when I read d dr"s story I reallly got scared about d ebola the more,May God guide and protect us all and we shld all be vigilante and always rememeber ur sanitizers andd washing of hands.

I thought that yeye Ph Dr's people have been going about claiming the Dr didn't die of ebola neither did his wife or the sister have the disease; that they are going to sue the Rivers state govt for defamation, damages and whatever hocum they could come up with. Let them come and open their mouth and spew forth rubbish again. (we are glad to have leaders like fashola. APC should really start considering giving him Presidential ticket)

Thank God for his mercy in the lives of these survivors and for those who lost their lives, he alone knows why. In every situation, give God thanks. As for BRF, he is a rare specie, there are others like him in Naija I believe. If only many more of his type would have the opportunity to rule, Naija would be a better place. Instead the old, corrupt ones keep recycling in the system and not giving genuine people the chance to make a change.

thank God in His Immense excellence and faithfulness.

Very good move by BRF. It will help end d stigma

This is what Goodluck Jonathan should be doing...he's busy getting arrangee endorsements for 2015. shameless president!

OMG!, that my cousin in this picture.

Governor Babatunde Fashola you are really try to end Ebola disease in lagos,kudo to you and i thanks Almighty God for all you guys for keeping una life still today,believe me all of you are born to rule

Heyyaaa... So touched! Thank God for them cos its not easy. Patrick Sawyer I hope you re still rotting in hell for the misfortune you brot to dis country. May the souls of those dead cos of ebola rest in peace, Amen.

Fashola Should Be APC's candidate, Lagosians would campaign for him for free nationwide.

Ik dank God voor hun.

Angeliqué said...

I thank God for the survivors, may the souls of the departed rest in peace excluding sawyer. Amen. Meanwhile when will Fashola be president biko

Awwwww........datz so sweet of fashola

Dear Gov, I am an Abian but we love your commitment. Kudos you are a hero indeed and you are a proof that we need professionals in governance. May God bless you. To the survivors enjoy good health and remain thankful to God by serving humanity and God better. God truely cares. Fashola well done

You done well BRF, Weldon lucky guys.

Thank you Sir and 3 hearty cheers to your team who worked endlessly to contain the disease !!!

Mawe Prosper(@maweprosper) said...

God Bless

www.mawenews.com to get refreshined

Uzoma Chukwu said...

Good Job,Fashola and his team.

thaz cool coz wah som ppl ar doin to doz folks aint cute, running frm dem and all tha.. and others shud learn biko, tha yu get sick is not the end of the world, and tha yu ar under survelliance doznt mean yu'll die.. wahz the point running and spreading the virus to other ppl when they ar tryna help yu

Kind hearted governor fashola 3gbosa for u sir....nwa madiba*

Jesu osheun

Will Heavens fall if APC picks this Guy (Fashola) as their Presidential candidate . There is no zoning in our constitution?

SHUT UP!!!

IDIOT! If you don't have any thing meaningful to say, you can be kind enough to other blog readers by keeping your idiotic mouth shut!

Fashola is a shining light to black people, not just Nigerians. I believe he still has a lot of services to render to humanity.

fabyodun said...

Fashola u are great governor by saving the whole country from national embarrassment may Almighty God be with u and all good members of ur cabinet
Amen

Thank God for their lives. Where can I get this Fashola's phone number? He is smoking Hawt! Not to worry, I have my own investments, just want to feed him Lobster for brekky. #Nogolddigga! *Picking Race*

BRF meaning???

Joy Monique A said...

Hehe! Nice one but why fashola stand like that? He is hiding his hands lol. This his posture is a sign of the fear of ebola. Lol.

Thank GOD

Thank God 4 dis ppl live oh

Thank God for their Life

For crying out loud!!!anonymous it's pple lyk u who r selfish n will 1 day self destruct,ur selfish n annoying Dis is a disease dat has no cure yet,n ur here blabbing rubbish God help u.

Honsylglobal.com :UK Global Online Financial Advisers said...

This is a President for you..What GEj could not do , rescuing this people from discrimination.

Anonymous 11.53.ur ignorance is imported

I will vote this man anyday.

You are an idiot

God bless fashola

polychriston said...

God bless yeeee all

Fashola is a good and kind hearted man..... Chai!

Fashola would make a better PRESIDENT than Goodluck.

This is what the president of the country should be doing, but no, he is too busy with the PDP caucus meeting.

James said...

Fashola would make a better president than this jonathan guy.

This is what the president of the country should be doing, but no, he is too busy with his PDP caucus meeting.

Eku oriire o. Awon oni Ebola.

My love for brf tho.
*** forst to comment *** blacknfly@gmail.com

Freshest said...

@least now these guys won't be stigmatized...thanks BRF

Thank GOd for their lives,May the souls of all the departed RIP.More power to you GOV fashola

###############GOD punish devil#################

kaycee said...

When they had ebola fashola dint show us their faces bt now dta he wants to make a point he's doing so. How are we sure he dint pay this people to come and pose as ebola patients. NUT should stand their ground cos all I see here is government trying to make a name for themselves. Is it to too much to provide wot NUT is asking for? Is it not for the well bin of our children?

tquadri said...

very thoughtful BRF, atleast this should encourage nigerians, dt dese ones are not outcasts

Pls shut your ignorance. Must u turn everything into a joke!

chioma said...

The wife of the late ph doctor is not happy at aLl! Its written all over her. Chai!

PURPLE said...

Don't u just love Fashola's height? <3

If this guy doesn't rule Nigeria one day, then it is a great tragedy! I don't know if he is playing for the camera or populace but everything about Fashola screams great leader. He is what a country like Nigeria needs, calm, thoughtful people who can be ruthless one minute and a complete darling the next!

Nanex said...

My presidential candidate, any time, any year. Thank God 4 ur recoveries.

Thank God!we pray that a permanent solution will come up soon nd ebola will get behind us

Glory to GOD!! Many tnx to d Guvnor BRF of Lagos, all d pple and medical teams including WHO officials who made this story possible. May d souls of those who passed get eternal reward in Heaven.

God is faithfull. Go and continue ur lives jaweeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fashola is so far ahead of his peer Governors. His disposition, carriage, demeanour, focus, and performance is just so, so fitting. In a sane society, he should be running for Presidency in 2015! While other funny Governors are busy commissioning boreholes, this man is instituting ground-breaking, innovative things...

Seconded!! I mean why can't APC present Fashola as President for 2015
i would personally campaign for him with my money just to see a #BetterNigeria

Baby95 said...

Well done Mr governor

Some people are just dumb, @ Badguy.com u r an imbe, how can u say 'don't let u catch u'
Olodo oshi...keep stigmatising, ur own day dey come, na inside silo dem go dump u mtcheew

BRF- u r one out of 3best Governors in dis country. I like u.
I hope someday u'll rule dis country? #myprayer

Olatee_seun@yahoo.com

The Sexiest Mother Of This Blog said...

nice one.

bunmi said...

Dats so nice of him

75% of the names mentioned are of Igbo extraction. Ndi Igbo kwenu.... Ndi Igbo undoubtedly make things happen in Nigeria. "the advancement science and technology in Africa lays in the armpit of an Igbo"... Produce Igbo presidency and witness unprecedented economic advancement in Nigeria.

Busola Ayo said...

Good work, God bless u all.

Busola Ayo said...

Good work, God bless u all.

FIRST TO COMMENT***(GURU) Fashola did the right thing by hosting them.

Indeed God is @work in Nigeria

Nice one.. "onelove"

MICKY: happy for them and their families + loved ones

Easy-E said...

Thumbs up to u fashola, 4 nt discriminatin....

dynamic said...

THANK U JESUS

Fashola I luv u dire my best govnor thinkin govnor God bless u plenty

To God be d glory they survived dis deadly disease called ebola. every thing abt ebola in Nigeria is over in Jesus name Amen

This guy is just always a step ahead. Good job BRF

Most of them are health workers. That profession is a very delicate one. Well, I thank God for thr lives. And the governor had just shown us dat ebola survivors shuld not be stigmatized, that we can be friends with dem. Good example thr

Fool! They re cured and are now immuned. People like u re d one stigmatizing survivors.

awwww, wot a nice way of making dem feel aprreciatred. Thumbs up, Mr Governor

okay with that

Biojay said...

MAll this politicians kissing babies and hanging out with survivors are insincere. A sincere politician must kiss and hug any victim in isolation center for us to vote. If not! I hoard my vote! I love Gov. Fashola..

Biojay said...

MAll this politicians kissing babies and hanging out with survivors are insincere. A sincere politician must kiss and hug any victim in isolation center for us to vote. If not! I hoard my vote! I love Gov. Fashola of course..

BRF for president 2015.

Biojay said...

I love this Gov! Message he's passing on: do not discriminate against the survivors, after all he too has been in close contact. Leading by example. Good man!

U dull

yemi. said...

Thank God you made it .we all shall live to testify God's goodness.

Stanley Chisom Nnaso said...

Thank God for their lives.

Who knows if Gov. Fashola is out for 2015 election?
He's the our country need.

**Linda's First Husband**

Human Being said...

" Anonymous said...

ok fashola u try. Bt dnt alow it catch u o. Hmm. Badguy.com
September 18, 2014 at 11:53 PM"

Why the discrimination?. When you sound like that, in a case that people have it, they will not come out for treatment because of fear of the stigmatization they may face. Thereby posing more danger of spread.
By the way, these guys cannot spread the disease now by contact. only for the guys ONLY through seamen until 3 months

What a Mighty God we serve. Thank d good Lord for sparing their Lives.

I Want this man as PRESIDENT!! He's so devoted 2 the welfare of the citizens.... God bless u Sir
Princessiphy@gmail.com

Very thoughtful of him,kudos sir.

Oge Nsimah said...

What a kind man!

Daralohi said...

God bless you fashola,your good deeds shall always be remembered.

lovely. big ups to fashola

Dis is so Nice. Fashola I just love u 4 dis..........Thank God 4d survivors!!

Dayo Obalola said...

This is one of the few moments i wish Nigerians could open their eyes and for once vote for a credible/competent person for the post of President. I wish... Fashola for President

Na one mind e use host dem

I wish we had more people like this. Gov Fashola has shown exemplary character in leadership. God bless Fashola! God bless Lagos State!! God Bless the Federal Republic of Nigeria!!!

http://monthlyyouth.com/?ref=497175

Not trying 2 hate on Dennis but since he tested negative, I don't tink dat makes him a survivor & considering d amount of interviews he has given, am wondering if dis is not just a popularity stunt on his side.

nice play

did Fashola touched them???

Please give Justina's fiance job

Hmmm, why can't Fashola be president come 2015? I too gbadun this man, I blv he'll work

Thank God for their life.

Tnk God........ But is dat dey av find d cure???

frank millz said...

U are a fool for saying"dont allow it catch you",nuisance.u think it's a joke but it has a discriminatory tone.Nicompoop

TnkGod what a mighty God we serve

Dis man worth been president, bravo man

May God bless Fashola, Lagos and Nigeria as a whole. It can only be God, if not, we'll be telling a different story now.

UJUNWA

mummy3 said...

A very good example of how and what a leader should look like.... thumbs up gov.

Hmmmmm. Good work. Won't be standing there. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

BRF for president...... I only wish the Badlucks can see beyond today. Just saying

They are living testimony and i thank God for them.
Kudos to fashola for showing act of selflessness and humility. Others should learn from him.

Juju said...

Mk my guy

This is my 1st post ever on this blog but i had to comment.

BRF is the kind of president we need in Nigeria.

Just wait for it, Jona and his goons will jump up from their slumber and say they want to invite the survivors to Abj............ silly people.

A big THANKS to u sir

didi joseph said...

I thank God for their lives

This is wat d president should have done but since governor Fashola did, kudos to him. He has succeeded in reducing the fear in pple's minds.

Occupy nijja said...

WHY are people like Fashola not in presidential race

Fashola na very sensible man.

May God almighty continue to bless BRF.u. Are a great man and a father in deed.God also bless #medicalteamlagos DaJaX

Very gud one, gov.Fashola, an exemplary leader.thank God for their lives.

God bless these people who had put in their effort to make life easy for the masses, and may the souls of those who had gone because of this Ebola Virus rest in peace. We are grateful to God and to the people.

Neks said...

thank God for their lives, Fashola you are the best politician in Nigeria, which you were the president and not that caricature Jona...now you guys believe they are ebola free? talking to those you were stigmatizing them.

Yes oh. Supported. Fashola for president!

thumbs up fashola good man

Fashola u too much

oge said...

Great testimony for them all. God bless Fashola too

Isima Richards said...

BRF for President! I second the motion!

Fashola for president - a classic example of over-hyped relative non-performer, who collects d highest IGR monthly, plus huge & exceptional federal allocation, yet he's still the highest borrower in this country. He bought two armoured prado jeeps at a prohibitive price. LSHA speaker stole N500m from d taxpayers money.
Yoruba media glorifying thieves as agents of change; confusing gullible Nigerians that there's honor in stealing n looting d treasury.

Fashola you Marvel me with this gesture. To even think of coming close to them . You are one in a million. This you have done will go along way. God pls we need this man with creative thinking as our president. God bless you Sir

Governor Fashola for President! He is a pace setter and not a follower. God bless you Sir.

That explains why Mrs Kelechi didn't steal a smile,she missed her hubby,take heart dear. And happy survivor to all of you. Dr. Ada is always radiant and full of life. I thank God for your lives.

barflow said...

Thank You Jehovah for the second chance given to these ones. I adore you for your faithfulness

Duchess said...

Thank God for their lives

mummy3 said...

Lindodo wat I do u now??? Why are u not posting my comment now??? Hian!

We want to hear Dr. Emenuo's story, what made her husband committe such sacriledge;is it hunger or sheer greed? Please tell Nigerians what you know in that business that your late husband did and your level of involvement.I heard they paid him 15million naira. Please we are waiting to hear your own version of the story just as late Sawyer's wife did.

kaycee or whatever you call yourself, there are not words for you. this people have gone to hell and back and that is what you can say. go and read dr. adaora's story. I was there at first constultant before they fell ill and after seeing them yesterday, thank God for their lives. you are just like those leaders we have today that bury their heads in sand and are detached from reality. get a life

Still d best

Debby

They are free from Ebola and can't transmit the disease. Good exampl and good work, please keep it up!!!!. A lesson to people that stigmatizes the survivors. THEY ARE FREE AND YOU CAN TOUCH THEM NOW, hope the question has been answered.

Dats cool

God bless u sir...nice job kudos

DIDDY316 said...

I commend you sir, You have no idea wot this singular act of urs means to them#POSITIVE

Oh Yes! Fashola for president. This man is not human, his an Angel!

Neva voted B4 in my life, i c it as a waste of time but for Fashola i will come out n vote and even campaign for free sef.

I got a shocker too as I know the late port harcourt doctor's wife! I went to medical school in Benin with her. So sad!!

Yes! She's a lovely happy go lucky woman normally. So sad, a baby and no hubby. It is well

Oh shut up!!

I went to school with Kelechi and she was a good and hardworking medical student. I doubt she would've have married a greedy doctor or be involved in such a thing. I believe he didn't realise what he was treating until it was too late!

Ewu Gambia

Jay said...

You are obviously not an intelligent person. Why would he visit them if they were still carrying the Ebola virus? Would YOU do that if you were in his shoes? I dislike comments like yours that only criticise instead of commending other people’s efforts.

No he didnt touched them!!! Bad english everywhere,by the way of what importance is ur question?

Jennifer said...

Job well done BRF!!!!! though, you are not my father but am so proud of you and your good work. i wish you are one of our presidential candidates, i would have voted and i belt you the whole Nigeria would have voted for you. All the same, may the Lord Almighty continue to bless you and your family IJN amen!!!!!

Gbolahun work on your written english. It's really poor. #CandidAdvice.

Thank God for their survival

Is Ebola God’s Wrath?

Life that displeases God

End Times Virus Part 2

Scriptural passages that encourages us to be strong

Stand strong in battle

BRF may not be without his faults, but we need people like him in leadership. He is a hands on Governor. God bless you BRF.

Mo said...

I just love Fashola and would totally vote him 4 president.
The non acknowledgement of hospital, will only make pple not try to go out of their way

Na only u waka come?

How do we bring this guy BRF back,? I remember the days of Abacha when the
laws were about to be changed! nothing is impossible ! There should be third and fourth terms for performers
As for FC they really saved a lot of lives but typical ....no Federal recognition. There is God o!

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 204   Newer› Newest»