There are over 7,000 languages in the world and according to a new poll, the Nigerian accent is the 10th sexiest English accent in the world. CNN did a recent
poll on Facebook and above is how people voted. I love the way French people speak English sha...
145 comments:
Oh really!so nigeria can get recognition from this people despite their hate on us.
Good to know :)
Oooooh! So that's why these white boys won't leave me alone!
Wow! We try o! First to comment?
Naija nor dey carry last
Enhenh Trinidadian
Kudo!!! But dt doesn't include those igbotic and yorubaish english ooo
Breezy_p down here repping MTN
Hmmmm...good ț¤ know
I wouldn't dispute this claim. I noticed that my accent is far better than most people's here in the Uk. Thanks to some of the good schools we have in Nigeria. Even though i feel we can do better and improve our educational structure. But is this something to be proud of? really? How long are we going to live and act according to the white man's standards? What about our indigenous languages???
~BADOO OF COVENTRY
wow nice
Mourhino's accent nko? Bcos I lerveee his accent!
wow nice
wow nice
wow nice
There's no such thing as a Nigerian accent. English spoken by a Yoruba man sounds very different to that of an Igbo, Hausa, Calabar etc
And with all the fake English/American/Nigerian accents most people use, there's no universal Nigerian accent, and whatever it is ain't sexy.
Kimmy*****
Up naija...yes
Naw dats dope
NAw datS dope
Naw dats dope
Good to know.
Why won't we be 10th, when some ppl speak all d other nine rolled in one. Those that travel to d UK come back with all d other nine. A sentence from their mouth will contain a billion accents all for forming! Naija I hail.
Sexiest
GHANIAN ENGLISH NKO?..LOL
We try..up naija
Yaay...we were 7th some years ago
i guess it doesnt matter that 90% of the respondents are Nigerians
oui, le francaise anglais accent est tres bon.
have u heard spanish accent? equally nice.
so nigerians, u can now reduce the level u try to fake accents!! thank u
Who decides these things?! Nobody asked me what I liked!
Hahahaha! All this shows is that a lot of Nigerians voted.
Something to console us sha.......
And where d fuck is ghana the highest phonetics speaking africans
yAY!, i hope my fellow Naijarians will stop faking American and British accents, ours is sexy!
All good 9ja and proud
Hey! How manage?
Including Hausa accent? Peonouncing 'p' as 'f' and vice-versa. Not to talk of the 'H-factor' among we yorubas.
The only two english words the Igbos can pronounce well are 'Money' and 'Container'
So finally we can b rated high 4sumtin..well b mi love d British accent wish I can tlk lik dem
Owk, but is it Calabar,Igbo,Tiv,Hausa or Yoruba version?
Hmmm na wa o...at least all our celeb phonetics earn us something.*stroll away*
Cool but how does the sexy accent make shekau understand to stop killing our people? Lolz
I hope Nigerian celebrities nd radio presenters (toke makinwa etc) can be real now..
Yaaaaay!
And warri pidgin is d sexiest language in the world
jesus wept,what is sexy in Nigerian English accent?
FIRST TO COMMENT***(GURU) We have heard....
Lol like seriously.......hope they haven't been listening to radio stations across the country.
Way to go 9ja.
Nice 1. Our spoken English is sexy. I actually realised that when I listen to south Africans. SA English is terrible with varied accents. Nigerians we rock. Who would have thunk it.
Ok gud
Ok gud
But did dey say wich tribe in Nigeria? Cus our tribes speaks english differently
Really??? Not quite sure
I would av luv if dat 10th is given to Ghana#justsaying!
up up Nigeria. .. we know dey carry last.. though we were almost outta the show.. thumps up anyway. . oONE LOVE
... Nice! Good to hear that
I love love the Australian accent!
And some stupid nigerians would want to be forming fune.
that rating is nt nrmal. 9ja is numba 1. Badguy.com
Na wizzy music they want to dance too...
Dr frabz Don cure my brain eee yeeee
Atleast we made the list
mumu weytin concer dat wan wit weytin we dey talk for ere
its true.. just got bank from america two days ago.. everywhere i go, american will say, i love your accent.. and i was always shocked.. i was like really, thanks..
I disagri wit Irish Position. I tink de shud com in 1st 3 or 2 nd as for Nigeria it simply mins we r taken note of in dat aspct.
British accent always rocks for me. We (Naija) tried. A poll held some yrs back we still made 10.👍
We were number Four, Patience became First Lady, we dropped Six Points. Evict GEJ Today. LOL
Who compiled dis rubbish
Up naija
Up naija
It should be among the top 3 self....ma take will be British as 1st, French as 2nd , Nigeria as 3rd nd then d others. ...
Sharrap, na those igbotic and yorubatic dey sexy pass.
Good schools in Nigeria gave you a better accent?
I suppose you mean better grammar, there is no such thing as a bad accent just bad grammar
So what school did you go to then?
I love the Irish accent tho... And Sophia vegaras ascent
Ipho, na rubbish be Ghana accent, immitation, that is why they can not be rated because they are fake. We Nigerians speak our English with our native tongue
They can not differentiate, it is only among us we know the diff
If I hear #tah# sexy what? Another of enslaving us into leaving n forgetting our own local dialect. They are deceiving us into thinking our English accent is sexy. #indeed# why didn't they pick any of our 3 local dialect of sounding sexy.
no wonder ladies always trip for my accent...I tot it was a joke o...ok now
They are talking about sexiness, not good accent. You cant have a better accent than the owners of the language. This is why many of you fail exams.
Fake people
I live in Forsyth, GA. Anytime I speak, they'll say I love your accent and my will say she's Nigerian. Anytime I say something, somebody will like say, I like the way you pronounce the word. Really nice to know our English accent is rated tops, maybe that's what attracted my husband to me.
9ja know day carry last especially for all forming
This is so true, in the UK people keep telling me they love my naija accent, but naija people with their complex can't value what they have
American accent no enter levels. LMAO
We no dey carry last.am not surprised DAT Nigeria is in da 10th position cos I know we r good we it has to do with english
Aristo oshi.
Pls Ghana should be the 3rd ok!!!!I love their accents
In my opinion, the sexiest is Italian. Their English alone can turn a lady on...
*My R1.50c comment*
Anon11:36pm.......your great grandfather......mumu............................................N.O.K
Lwkmd I concur
Lwkmd,u no well
Lwkmd!
Lwkmd,u no well
Lwkmd I concur
Look at these peasants! They are not proud to speak their indigenous language, but they are proud to speak the language of their enslavers and colonizers. Ha, I cry for Africa!
Anon 11:36, U're the only rubbish I see here!!!
Get a life! Stop seeking recognition for all this unwarranted waste of space!
Linda, U must be damn stupid for posting this, since U've refused to take subtle advice from ur readers to stop posting such comments that strain our eyes!!!
There is nothing like a Nigerian accent. With the hundreds of languages we have here..each intonation translates differently. An hausa man speaking english and a yoruba man speaking english sound vastly different so they should explain well jor
Anon 11:36, U're the only rubbish I see here!!!
There is nothing like a Nigerian accent. With the hundreds of languages we have here..each intonation translates differently. An hausa man speaking english and a yoruba man speaking english sound vastly different so they should explain well jor
But the same Nigerians are not proud of their native English accent. They would rather speak in some very funny sounding tongues in the name of speaking like whites. Imagine pronouncing God as Gord, or one worn...
Daz nize o... :D
Thank u for wasting so much pages of linda's blog exercise book just because u want to prove a point...mtchewww
Hmmmmmm.........am shocked! Even wit d way yoruba pple blow theirs? Sure De r not included, if nt, na number 6,900 9ja Go be.
Hehehehe.. true this.
*** forst to comment ***
U knw I can't believe some people saying we don't deserve to be on this list...why don't you guys hv any love for your country.say and think something positive about it for once!!! Way to go Naija
Ahaha funny :)
Accent? What the fuck, we need light, water, road and hospitals. What's with this bullshit accent. Shame on this country. People are so so easy to fool. Please don't go feeling good about yourself outside nigeria with this rubbish. Amazing how naija no get shame. Best english accent? English na yours native language. You people are so dumb. It's like saying Americans have the sexiest igbo accent. Or Yoruba. You can only find such from the countries that English is first language, you bush men and women from Africa. Yeye people. Make Una go bush find banana chop jor
Yes like yours,Mr kudo
oh really? They like the way the Yorubas call 'Hope', 'Ope' or the Anambras call 'Million' ''Mirrion'' or d Hausas call 'Fire' ''Pire'' or Efiks call 'Jack' ''Yack'' or Ijaws call 'Jack' ''Zack''.. Wia do i start wia do i stop.. Whoever polled this was high on something really cheap
Actually it is, considering that they used nollywood movies to determine
Where is the Love button for this comment?
#LOVE!!!
hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Hahahahahahahaha!
I love british accent eh.Naija dey try sha tho I love ghana English more than ours.#justsaying#Goodmorning Pipo.
MICKY: indeed,nija get plenty accent oo
Hahaha, issoria.
congrats
U get to knw true Nigeria accent when he travelled out of Nigeria. Allow Nigeria man go Ghana by d time he returns, d accent Na A1 as if say him don go Uk come bck.
U r so funny potofmoney 4 ur mind ba?
please be amaechi to allow our children resume school. Why is he making things difficult for us?
Dey re not talking abt phonetic, but accent, Naija got accent, we sabi form accent die.
Who told u dat, Igbos pronounce R as L, e.g Brother as Blother, Bring as Bling. While Calabar J as Y, Jacob as Yacob. Yorubas, CH sound as S. Church as Sosi. Most Nigeria have lapses pronunciation a particular alphabet, but when polished the accent cover up for dem
That poll is not about fake accent and shit, it's about how English rolls of one's native tongue. Like the french *smh* those folks are something else
Fool! that's what the poll is about, those who speaking English naturally, according to the mother tongue
You see! that's why Nigeria is placed 10th
Lol! Funny idiat :) we were in 5th position few yrs back tho
Congratulation to Nigeria.
Abi o fabian
Thats gud
hello...like seriously,i agree cos na we form fornetics pass...we were british colonized what do u expect.
Anon stop hating this isn't the first time, it has always been like that since inception that Nigeria has the sexiest accent in Africa... Evn last year CNN rate it that NG has the sexiest accent in Africa.
i love the british accent
i laff in pigin engrish...
@potofmoney No! They won't leave u alone bcos of ur big nyash n fat pussy
I sell clothes and make up in sophia's voice... #princessa
how can they put the Irish accent before us, I would even preferred the scottish accent
Local olonsho! Keep fooling ursef
Now I wonder why our brothers and sisters abroad even those right here in naija will be stressing themselves to speak through their nose.....mtchewwww....accent or no accent we need a change in Nigeria... MOMENT WITH ZOE
Hmm,
i think we are more like the 4th or 5th..
there are some very very sexy voices here o
Ojoro people!
Irish accent shuda bin numba 1#26247c63
Indian accent? Iyak. Very annoying nt sexy at all
If na poll on facebook, naija go always come top, cos we plenty on facebook pass every ohter country, and wey always online.. Our English sexy sha.
100000000 likes for you
i so believe this, on my first trip to the US i was pleasantly surprised when a shop attendant asked me what country i came from, when i said Nigeria( with a little sense of foreboding and getting ready to be defensive) she smiled and said, 'oh i love your accent' i was sooo proud.lool. Though i wonder if she was using my head in foresight because, i bought alot more than i intended in the shop. but oh well, i had a proud Nigerian moment!
Great! Honestly we need social and basic amenities not all these rubbish o. ~Slim8~ oreketoria@yahoo.com
I so agree! My bestie is Trinidadian and her accent is soooooo sexy ....
Please lecture all the dumb ass.
You guys ve finished potofmoney,lol well good to know we are recognised or shud I call it dat