Nigerian Army reacts to Amnesty International's indicting report | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday, 10 June 2016

Nigerian Army reacts to Amnesty International's indicting report

Amnesty International said today Friday June 10th that Nigerian army last month killed at least 17 unarmed members of a group calling for secession, but the military dismissed the allegations as unfounded. An army spokesman said the International Organisation's accusations, the latest in a series of allegations of impropriety leveled against Nigeria's military in the last year, revealed a bias that undermined its credibility. The full statement after the cut..

1.The attention of the 82 Division, Nigerian Army has been drawn to a planned release of report by Amnesty International on the recent violent activities by IPOB and MASSOB on 31st May 2016 in which they were alleging that the Nigerian Army planned the killing of the protesters. This is not true but the usual calculated attempt to rubbish the Security forces in particular and the Nigerian Army just to remain relevant.
2. It should be noted that the Non-governmental organization has always been of the habit of being the judge and jury in matters of our national security without recourse to fairness, objectivity, all aimed at rubbishing the Nigerian Army for reasons best known to them. This could not be far from trying albeit unsuccessfully to be relevant and justify funding.
3. For the avoidance of doubt, what transpired that fateful day was that some elements of MASSOB/IPOB engaged in violent protests which led to outright breakdown of law and order. The pro-Biafra protesters who had chosen the day to mark the 50th Anniversary of Biafra perpetrated a number of unimaginable atrocities to unhinge the reign of peace, security and stability in several parts of Anambra State.
4. A number of persons were selected for attack, killed and burnt. Two personnel of the Nigeria Police were killed, several soldiers were wounded, a Nigeria Police vehicle was completely burnt down while another of the Nigerian Army was vandalized. The strategic Niger Bridge at Onitsha was at the verge of being captured particularly with the coordinated reinforcement of the violent protesters from the Asaba end of the Bridge. In addition, wanton destruction of lives and properties were brazenly carried out by the protesters who employed firearms, crude weapons as well as other volatile cocktails such as acid and dynamites. In consequence, law, order and security were grossly threatened across the State and beyond.
5. The Nigerian Army in synergy with other security agencies under its constitutional mandates for Military Aid to Civil Authority (MACA) and Military Aid to Civil Power (MACP) acted responsively in order to de-escalate the deteriorating security situation. Instructively, the military and other security agencies exercised maximum restraints against the odds of provocative and inexplicable violence that were employed against them by the pro-Biafra protesters. The military and of course the other security agencies acted professionally within the extant Rules of Engagement to successfully de-escalate the budding anarchy.
6.It is rather inconceivable for any individual or group to have decided to inundate the general public with an anecdote of unverified narratives in order to discredit the Nigerian Army in the course of carrying out its constitutional duties despite the premeditated and unprovoked attacks in the hands of the violent pro-Biafra mob as Amnesty International is determined to do.
7. Thank you for your usual cooperation.
HA GAMBO
Colonel
Deputy Director Army Public Relations
82 Division Nigerian Army

31 comments:

Shame on you Nigerian army

It's well with us all

Who believes this? Stop killing unarmed civilians, take your guys to Sambisa or better still to the creek! #Sic

Kpuchipunu onu
Bunch of liars
God wil punish all de soldiers responsible 4 dat

Linda ddont take note!

Will Nigeria Army accept?
Only God will judge you all

KILLING UNARMED CIVILIANS IS A NIGERIAN MILITARY CULTURE. IMPUNITY IS THE NAME OF THE GAME. IT'S REALLY A GAME LIKE THE FILM "CONDEMNED" HERE MILITARY MEN AND WOMEN ABUSE NIGERIANS AND KILL FOR A SPORT.

As expected,nigerian army would always defend their atrocities.God is watching

And TheKnor Taste Quest keeps ppopping out by fire by force both on my Laptop and my phones , it's totally #exaspersting!!!! Pls do something about it Lin.

Phew! Issues. Each year this Biafra remembrance always turn ugly.
They should adopt another means that wont bring about break down of law and order.

javar10 said...

Why haven't they gone after the 4th most dangerous terrorist in world killing ppl across de south? Quick to attack IPOB n ND region bcos of oil, well it is expected when all de high ranking generals are northerners,the same reason they angry that GEJ made an ibo Chief of army staff for very first time in the country, it's been a long time coming dis marriage should asap.

.decitoN

So who do we believe??? Linda take note!

Mumu army Una dry open Una yash more. Video evidence don mess Una up. Continue dey shoot na. Shoot ur way to division. Because biafra is already here clowns

No nation built on falshood will prosper. Truth is life. truth stands firm like the rock of gibraltar. Truth sets free from bondage. To cover truth you dissipate twice the energy needed to lie. Truth elevates, truth is beautiful to behold.Lies are direct opposite of the above mentioned.Lies drags intergrity to the mud.

Hmmmmmmm

These liars we have as army tho...eye witnesses say they were gunned down, and they weren't even armed.

It so sad that Nigerian military which was known for its honesty is now swimming in the ocean of lies introduced in the polity by APC. One question I will Nigeria is thus,are those killed why observing a holy mass at the catholic church among those with crude weapon and firearms?

Lies

The uncouth nature the army replied confirms the allegations. Our Nigerian army is known for intolerance towards anyone. Even this reply sounds like they can punish the NGO if they see their cordinator. Instead of taking time to allay fears, they feel they can answer to no one.

Isnt that how they denied shiite killings and claimed to be the victims? Today, we are still exhuming dead bodies of men, women and children who were killed in the clash! Unarmed people. Now they admitted burying about 60 or is it 135 in unmarked graves immediately after the clash. These men are barbaric liars.

From their own version,they are always the meek lambs. The ones who were on their own and the protesters killed them and they died happily without touching anyone. That is what they always want to make the press believe! But the typical Nigerian army man you see on the road and their evil character will convince you otherwise. They strike without provocation, they beat youths for talking to their girlfriends, they put people in guard rooms for bashing their cars, they slap people on the road for wearing khaki pants or carrying khaki wallets, they tell women to frog jump and can slap an old man for not allowing them overtake. Are these the ones that will allow protesters protest in peace? When they can be so wicked to unnarmed civilians on the road, what more protesters. They boast about wasting' human lives. These men are mean liars.

These MASSOB youths were killed for carrying out peaceful protests and may have retaliated by injuring army people. We saw pictures of shot youths, so why are they lying? Why would biafra protesters burn innocent citizens, is it a witch trial or barbecue night? They should chill with the lies.

I pray these military men face the full reproach of international laws against genocide and war crimes, because here in Nigeria, they use court martial to cover their crimes.

What a blatant LIE! Lying bastards!

Hmm

Ifeoma1010 said...

I don't understand the Nigerian Army neither do I understand Amnesty international. I think we should all just take cal down and take a chill pill while at it. It might also help to down a plate of indomie noodles with cold glass of fanta just to cool frayed nerves.

www.hyphenpharmacy.com

i think the Nigerian Army will make up the largest population in hell fire with police coming a close second. See lie sha

Liars den u didn't talk how u calm de situation down de truth is always open u came it down by opening fire on de civilians dat has de right to protest we are in de 21st century we have de right to protest dats democracy for u. stupid aboki mallam

Thank you my dear. I have already written to Linda about that. It is very very irritating. Please, don't turn ur blog into a mess with these advert pop ups. Advertising is good but should be done in a way not to irritate your readers. Stop the pop ups after the contract with Knorr taste expires, I beg u in the name of the god of blogging!!

Chyke
City: Unknown

Uju phil tel her oo... I dnt jus kn what type of a useless advert is this. "Knor taste quest" my ass

slimm said...

Nigerian Army stop killing unarmed citizens...use other means implored by developed nations, not live bullet plssss. You guys are given us bad image internationally. And Linda pls stop ds knoorr tin dat kip poppin up anytime I try to knw wats happenin back home...its discouraging!

Hausafulani ass licker

Bonario is a peasant what do u expect @okafor

Well said