A statement by Amnesty which was released today June 10th, says investigations carried out by its officials who met with eyewitnesses and also visited morgues and hospitals, indicates that soldiers opened fire on members of IPOB and their supporters in Onitsha, Anambra State during the build up to a march by the group to celebrate Biafra Armed Forces Remembrance day.
Amnesty in its report added that the attack on the unarmed pro-biafrans took place when the military raided homes and a church where IPOB members slept.
The Nigerian Army, however, in a statement released on June 1st, accused the pro-Biafra members of first attacking its officers with weapons such as firearms and dynamites and that the officers shot at the group members in self defence.
The Nigerian military in its statement claimed five members of IPOB were killed, eight wounded while nine were arrested. Amnesty however says this is untrue as its investigation showed that at least 17 people were killed and nearly 50 injured, adding that “the real number is likely to be higher”. "Information gathered by Amnesty International indicates that the deaths of supporters and members of IPOB was the consequence of excessive, and unnecessary use of force," Amnesty said
17 comments:
The same amnesty international reported same on Shiites. I always take their report with pinch of salt so I'm not surprised
Let's catch some fun this weekend with this collection of hilarious photos you won't wanna miss.
This post is dedicated to make you happy.
Kindly click below to checkout
Collection of Hilarious Photos you can't afford to miss
Nigeria army can kill anyhow
That's cruel of them... Smh hope something is done to curtail this!
Really unnecessary use of force..its well
GOOD...
God bless amnesty international group for this
It's true shaaa!!
Someone is definitely lying to us. Linda take note!
Hs ha ha ha ha ! It's a liiiie!!! Biafra my country is gaining more grounds . Chaaaai. I am a proud biafran . Rip to the biafran heros
Hmmmmm
Useless army. When have they raided the homes of fulani herdsmen?? Mstchew.
Too bad.
Chai
That was the order from Buhari. Ear never begin to pain him. Dictator.