It was learnt that Haliya, who was a kindergarten pupil at a private school on Idoluwo Street, Dosunmu, Lagos Island, was allegedly made to sit on the container on Wednesday, October 21.
The toddler ended up having burns in her buttocks and private parts, and was rushed to the Lagos Island General Hospital for treatment.
It was gathered that the matter was reported at the Adeniji Adele Police Division, while the teacher- Maryam was arrested. The school proprietress, Mrs. Bose Shomoade, was also said to have been invited for questioning by the police, and forced to make part payment of the treatment expenses.
After two weeks, the little girl was moved to the Gbagada General Hospital, for further treatment where she died on Tuesday.
Speaking with PUNCH Metro, Haliya’s father, Abolore, said he took the incident as a mistake on the part of the teacher, who knew the container had hot water, and made his daughter to sit on it.
He said:
“She was first taken to the Lagos Island General Hospital. Later, she was taken to the Gbagada General Hospital. We have spent about N300,000 on her treatment. The proprietress gave us N5,000 on the day of the incident. One week later, she visited the girl. She gave some money to my wife’s mother.“The school teacher has been arrested and detained after the matter was reported at the Adeniji Adele division. The teacher was careless. He knew the container was used to keep hot water and she still sat her on it. All my daughter’s private parts were burnt. She was asked to sit on a container containing hot water.“My wife is distraught. She has been taken to our family house in Kwara State. Haliya is our jewel. We are so sad to lose her.”
The Coordinator, Lagos State Domestic and Sexual Violence Response Team, Mrs. Lola Vivour Adeniyi, said they had written to the state Ministry of Education to investigate the school.
She said:
“It is sad. The abuse of the three-year-old occurred when she suffered horrific burns. She was made to sit on a container of hot water in her school. We have just been informed that she died on Tuesday.
“Apparently, she stopped responding to treatment and the pain was too severe. We have also informed the Ministry of Education about the incident.”
A doctor in the hospital, who spoke on condition of anonymity, said, “The girl died due to complications from the burns.”
61 comments:
Jesus!
How cruel.
What kind of evil punishment is that? This is cruelty at its peak. They should melt same punishment to her...getting her to sit her black ass down on a heated water too....though they will add flogging to hers. Evil woman
#iT wiLL oNLy gEt bEttER
#It MuSt eNd iN prAiSE
What a wicked world, does that teacher have conscience at all to do such a thing to this innocent child God will punish him let him remain there
Wicked teacher
This is just abject wickedness and depravity.
How can you make a 3 year old sit on a hot water container...that is a wicked, and insane thing to do.
Do You Have Problems Lasting Long in Bed?
This is wickedness of the highest order!!! Why are human beings are becoming excessively wicked these days?!!!
Wicked teacher God will judge you.lil baby may your soul rest in peace
What's the hot water for, in a school??? May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
Wicked teacher God will judge you.lil baby may your soul rest in peace
What's the hot water for, in a school??? May her soul rest in peace. Linda take note!
Lord have mercy, is this the work of the devil or what? No matter how wicked a person is, how could they do such thing to a child.
WHY WHY WHY?????? Cant help dis tears, what did she do so wrong to warrant such a punishment? Please let justice be done, lemme not hear of her bail!!!
Naxo that stupid teacher use her own spoil that schl career
Naija still has a long way to go..we need appropriate and efficient health care service...RIP little jewel
OMG! Some people are so callous, why make a little girl sit on such.
Imagine the pain she must have gone through.
That teacher must be made to pay for this.
That school teacher is cruel! Wicked!! Heartless!!! RIP little one.
Ewwwoooo end time teacher
I weep.!
Should anyone, no matter the age, sit on hot water as punishment?
Omg d teacher is a demon..
RIP!
Those in support of the same punishment to be matted on this teacher say "Aye"
----JUST KEEPING IT REAL----
PARENTAL ADVISORY
^^^Adult Content^^^
Everyone is insulting the stupid and wicked teacher...
Forgetting the dumb ass good for nothing doctors we have in Nigeria, sm1 died from burn complications...
Burn our doctors can not handle...
Stupid country
Hmmm! How can she do this to a little child? This is wickedness, she should be sack nd charge her to court to face the evil she did.
O M G !!!
Soo sad!
How can you tel a 3year old to sit on a pot containing boiled water?
This is serious wickedness in high places o!
Mistake ke? Dad? I would have damaged the witch's face!
OMG! My heart aches so painfully wen I read stories like dis. Even as a man, it brings tears to my heart. Sometimes I ask myself, what haappened to d conscience of many people these days? What killed dat innate soft part of human beings? And what makes d whole thing so scary is d fact dat women who are suppose to be soft and tender-hearted are becoming worse than d men. What a world! May God help us.
The teacher must be suffering from some sort of mental illness.........
She shud be served same punishment.....so she can feel d pain d lil child felt...
Moye says so via BB Passport courtesy LIB....
The teacher is heartless ,what the hell is she thinking ,may she rot in jail ,wicked souls every were .
Thank you for this ? Cos i am highly confused... this story seems false. Cos u cant make a toddler sit on a hot container for that long to get that extent of burn without exerting pressure..nd she wld scream.and dat wld alert other staffs.. probably she poured hot water on the kid. Wicked woman
Why punish a three year old with such disdain..the toddler was too young to know right and wrong
Jeeeeesus Christ!!!! That is not a sght to behold. Linda Ina ahu kwa teacher ekwensu. Pinch my nose Linda, cos this one break my heart. That teacher should nvr ser d light of d outside world agn. I mean jailed for life. Such a sch shld b shut down. Chai!! May God punish u teacher
The School should be closed down! Why should there be a container with Hot Water in a place where children are in the first place. May her gentle soul rest in peace.
That has to be close down and the teacher has to go life imprisonment,
All this (abele) setting room sch sha! Govt shld take note of them all this non qualified teachers. ppl that did not finish there secondary sch, proprietor /proprietress too will just give them 5# n that it's cos they cnt pay qualified teachers *linda observe*
May God protect our children
That is y I get aggressive with any teacher that doesn't do her job well in my dotas class. A teacher was always picking on my dota that I had to write a letter to d sch prop , and that teacher was replaced within 24hrs. Cos I always ask my dota how nicely her teacher and minder relates with d pupils. I nor fit imagine ds for my dota, cos I fit kill dat teacher myself, mk govt arrest me too.
That's cruelty! She should be prosecuted forthwith.
see wickedness, the same punishment should be given unto that beast, rip to the dead child,your soul will get justice. TIMILEYIN BLESSING
Pls they should also check to make sure she wasn't sexually abused! Is the hot water meant to cover something up dat had been done to her???
Dat teacher shud b allowed to rot in jail 4d rest of her life....shudnt be allowed to see d light of day..dat will gv her enough time to think of her actions
Haaaa.Dat teacher go hear am hot if na me.What rubbish.Such a lil child to sit on a container containing hot water???Na wa oh
Please have they killed the teacher? This is wickedness
This is the highest form of cruelty and if it was me, l would demand an eye for an eye. How mean can a person be? That school should be closed down and that teacher sent to jail. Crazy!
These Teachers are something else. They devil agents. One in Abuja flogged my child with wire. I went directly to the school and thought him lessons he will never forget. The school authority arrested me and the police were saying I took the law into my hands. I told them I will take it into my hands over and over again in a situation like this. Why should a grown up per (Teacher) A.K.A Onyekuzi be cruel to children like that. www.theotherwomaninmarriage.blogspot.com
*crying* where in dis world is save?
wickedness ,That teacher must be made to pay for this.
If we were in a military regime, the teacher should face a firing squad by popular demand. In a democracy, she should face a trail and sentenced to years in prison and never teach again. Cruelty to children should be stopped.
what a wicked soul
am so sure that the teacher is a childless witch, why would u force a 3 year old girl to sit on a hot water container? God ve mercy............ thought teachers should be role models to their students and not victimize them to a point of death.
This world is something else.how can someone be this wicked to an innocent �� child. He should be dealt with......
Why will there even be a container with hot water in a kindergarten class in d first place??? Apart frm this incident,what if the kids run around and push d container and the water pours and splashes on them??? What's d use of having such container with hot water that can do this type of damage in a class with kids under 3yrs??? I don't understand some of these private schools springig frm every corner especially in lagos. May d soul if the little one rest in peace.
Only in this part of the world can this happen, esp in Nigeria. The country is built on wickedness and thrives in it.
What with this ur always "Linda take note" even un very dire situation. Are u so hungry for linda's giveaway?
RIP dear, our health sector though.....I'm sure if it was abroad her chances of survival will be higher....REST ON LITTLE PRINCESS, MAY THE LORD CONSOLE YOUR MOTHER & FATHER.
Nigerian women are wicked, so many are so cruel to their own children and other women I am not surprised this has happened. Did nobody ever notice this teacher being mean? It can not have been the first time for her to punish a child. No three year old should be punished by a teacher more than telling them what they did was wrong. I am so these bitches still walk around hurting others and it comes from them having been treated badly at home to begin with. It is also sad that there is no hospital in Nigeria that can treat burns, every time I see a road accident and people thank god as they walk away burnt I cry because I know in a week they will have such bad infection it will all be to late, shame on the country
-MY VIEW -
This is total wickedness and i hope that teacher rots in jail. Why is there a hot water container in a class filled with kids anyways? That school should be shut down!
What could a 3 years old boy hv done that makes him deserves this kind of punishment? The teacher needs to be hanged.
Having recently had a similar accident, where I fell bottom down in hot water, I could relate with this little angel predicament. Even as an adult,
I'm still battling with aftermath.Due to the peculiarity of the burn,the pain is excruciating. Pray may God comfort the parent and rest the soul of the little girl in peace. As for the teacher, she should be made to taste her own medicine.