Lesser Hajj: 'Nigerian embassy did not snub Pres. Buhari's family' | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 10 July 2015

Lesser Hajj: 'Nigerian embassy did not snub Pres. Buhari's family'

Yesterday Leadership reported that the Nigerian embassy in Saudi Arabia side-stepped protocol by giving preference to former VP Namadi Sambo and his family over that of Pres. Buhari when both arrived for the lesser Hajj (Umrah) in Saudi Arabia. They have now retracted the report. Read below
The consular-general in the Nigerian embassy in Saudi Arabia, Ahmed Umar, neither side-stepped protocol nor accorded preferential treatment to the family of former Vice President Namadi Sambo over that of President Muhammadu Buhari when both arrived for the lesser Hajj (Umrah) in Saudi Arabia.
A senior consular official, who is privy to the protocol arrangements for both families, told LEADERSHIP Friday that contrary to media reports that the consular-general is a protégé of Sambo and that the former vice president influenced his appointment, Umar was appointed to his present position based on his competence and experience.
The source, who craved for anonymity, also denied insinuations that Umar snubbed the wife of the president and her children, saying that the consular-general joined the Nigerian ambassador in Saudi Arabia to receive Buhari’s wife, Aisha, and her children at the airport.
LEADERSHIP had been informed that both families had arrived in Saudi Arabia earlier this week for the Umrah and while Aisha Buhari and her five children were allotted a two-bedroom accommodation, the former vice president was allotted an eight-room apartment.
But the source said the accommodation arrangements for both families were the prerogative of Saudi authorities and that any guest was at liberty to get another accommodation at his or her expense if dissatisfied with the official arrangement.
On the alleged preferential treatment given to the former vice president by the consular-general, the source also said Sambo actually paid for his hotel accommodation, save for the fact that he was ferried from the airport, the same privilege accorded to Hajia Buhari.
“Then the issue of the wife of the president paying for her accommodation is a normal practice, and the same thing applies to other wives of presidents who visit Saudi Arabia when they are not satisfied with the accommodation provided.
“In fact, we tried to get her a much better accommodation but that was what was provided by the Saudi Arabian authorities.
“So, this is the true state of things and not the other way round as reported. It is also not true that the consular-general is a stooge of the former vice president; they met each other when he had already been appointed to his present position,” he explained.
The source further claimed that the embassy extended all the required protocol due to the First Lady.

49 comments:

Hmm.. Allright..

HOW TO INCREASE PENIS

Una pot of fio fio

Who care whether they do or nt all we know he is our distinguish president and we love and respect him

We don't care about the family drama crap, we want news about the country and not a family.

Hatred will make them written rubbish about dis lovely family,i knw wen I read it yesterday dat is not possible.

TOMJERRYSWIT said...

HOW DOES DS AFFECT ME???NXT NEWS PLS....TOMJERRYSWIT

Pls pls pls , is this information gonna help the economy situation of d country #straight face nxt pls
*iyawo Obama

Exactly what i was hammering on yesterday.All these unverified rumours to taint Buharis image wont work.This change must come to pass IJN

Ok, na dem sabi

All dis r unnecessary explainations dat r not needed mostly when we read all dis unconfirmed report as if those concerned r complaining.

Does all diz matter he many commoners r able to b at Saudi Arabia.

Beer parlor journalism, misleading Nigerians since 1960.
I saw that rubbish but refused to waste my time reading it, just like the shitty one that claimed Tinubu avoided APC meeting to avoid being physically assaulted. Smh

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

Thier palaver

Linda take note

It is a waaaa oooo

What I deduce from this is that the issue stems from comparison of treatment given to Sambo's family and Buhari's family, and not necessarily because poor treatment was given to the later in anyway. Making a mountain out of a mole hill is what I call it

Make people dey carry hate news up and down nah. Inconsequential issue, mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

royflames007 said...

How does this change the price of Garri or Opkoroko in the market? Or how does it change the status of the Internal displace persons in the North-East..... Abeg make dem go sit down joor.

Interesting

D first children are too beautiful.
Lastborn

from the beginning i read that news i know is was crap and lame.

Dere cup of garri biko

lami said...

People just like creating issues when there should be none.

What reply would one expect from the Nigerian Embassy in Saudi Arabia? Are they going to be affirmative to the public? The fear of who is in power is the beginning of wisdom...pdp and stooges still have their embittered Tonga everywhere on this new 'change' government. So much bad blood as if it is their forever birthright to click to power. Definitely, Judgement time is of God to know who will laugh last...The downtrodden of the Nigerian population who went en-mass in voting for Change or pdp, the nation's shameful and unrepentant looters.

Ok oh, but how can we no that u people re saying the truth?

No protocol we dey now?

EHEN I SAID IT THAT THAT STORY DID NOT MAKE SENSE. THE HEADLINE WAS DIFFERENT FROM THE TRUE STORY. LINDA ABEG MAKE YOU DEY MIND THE KIND GIST WEY YOUR BLOG DEY CARRY MAKE YOUR BLOG NO LOSE CREDIBILITY. JUST SAYING....

Who person wan believe nw....

Na them sabi o!
I see presidential weddings between now and 2019. The Buhari girls are soooo beaeautiful.

<< LIB Addict >>

M nt interested in this nonsense.

Better for everyone, I guess.

Pls visit: Nma's Space 

Goaldyn Boy said...

This confirms that Leadership Newspaper is a trashy newspaper! What baffles me most in this report is where they stated thus - "CONTRARY TO MEDIA REPORTS..." in reference to the previous news! As if it was not they themselves (Leadership) that fabricated and reported the previous false news! Leadership Newspaper should be ashamed of themselves for recklessly putting another man' job (consular general's job) into needless jeopardy!!!

exthar said...

lies...

Goaldyn Boy said...

This confirms that Leadership Newspaper is a trashy newspaper! What baffles me most in this report is when the stated thus - "CONTRARY TO MEDIA REPORTS...." in reference to the previous false news! As if it was not they themselves (Leadership Newspaper) that fabricated the false news! Leadership Newspaper should be ashamed of themselves for recklessly putting another man' job (consular general's job) into needless jeopardy!!!

conflict stories, who do we believe

@koleosho ask them, who cares what happens in saudi, what we care about is what happened in nigeria...

I thought as much.

Will u shut up and hide your mumu face in shame. You have been supporting buhari since God 1960 and till today e never notice u, no go change ur life oo, dey there Dey shout change up and down. You no get shame at all, why is it that we don't see u comment when u see buhari is wrong and is really a baba go slow ehn

mONEY NO DEY, MONEY NO DEY, THIS GIRLS COME DEY FRESH LIKE DIS. HMMMMMM

GOOD NEWS

Have brought Linda closer to us!

I created a BBM channel for her blog named "lindaikeji's blog Official"
i will be posting her news and only her news on the channel as she breaks the news on her blog...
Only Links directing to her blog will be posted...
Search "lindaikeji's blog Official" or C0013A182 to join

Channel with her recent post is the channel

Note: Only For Her Blog Readers as i will be posting only her News

Thanks

Nigerians should not be overtly concerned about "the snub"-real or perceived.

The question i am asking is how come the whole Buhari family have decided to go on Ummrah now? Was the pilgrimage paid for before or after the keys to the national vault were handed to them???

This is how they will start going crazy with OUR money, money that should bu used to fix all those roads Linda shows us in thier sorry states.Vey soon now the children, & Osinbanjo's too , will take delivery of the top of the range cars! !! And travelling around the world like they are Marco Polo!!

And bloggers will continue hero worshipping & promoting them .

Yeah, change indeed!!