Doctor who scammed patients by falsely diagnosing cancer, jailed for 45 years | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 11 July 2015

Doctor who scammed patients by falsely diagnosing cancer, jailed for 45 years

A doctor who made millions of dollars by putting more than 500 patients through unnecessary and grueling cancer treatments and then billing insurers has been sentenced to 45 years in prison.
Dr Farid Fata, who worked in suburban Detroit, Michigan, poisoned around 550 victims many of whom did not actually have cancer, by giving them excessive chemotherapy and other treatments.

His actions wrecked his patients' health, with many sustaining chronic health problems such as brittle bones and fried organs. Other victims lost their homes and jobs, and were forced into bankruptcy.

On Friday, Fata broke down in court as he was sentenced to more than four decades in prison for what the judge described as a 'huge, horrific series of criminal acts' that had affected hundreds.
The doctor had remained stone-faced earlier in the week as his former patients had appeared in court to detail the shocking consequences of being put through unnecessary chemotherapy.

But during his sentencing, Fata, whose business, Michigan Hematology Oncology, had many upscale offices in the area, repeatedly broke down crying as he begged for mercy.

Speaking publicly for the first time since he was arrested in August 2013, the oncologist said: 'I misused my talents, yes, and permitted this sin to enter me because of power and greed.'
He added: 'My quest for power is self-destructive.'
Fata, who turned and apologized to his victims in the courtroom, admitted his patients had knocked on his door 'seeking compassion and care', but he had 'failed them'

Fata asked Borman for mercy. But a prosecutor reminded the judge of the victims' "lifetime of suffering."

The judge, calling Fata's crimes "huge" and "horrific," deliberated for about an hour before sentencing Fata to 45 years behind bars.
By then, Fata's tears were gone. He stared ahead, looking emotionless.
His victims, many of whom wore bright yellow to the sentencing to symbolize the last day Fata would see the sun, remained quiet in the courtroom. Afterwards, their disappointment and anger spilled out.
"It's not enough," said Geraldine Parkin, whose husband underwent unneeded chemotherapy.
She, like many others, wanted the judge to impose the maximum possible sentence of 175 years; Fata's lawyers had asked for 25.                      

"We expected more," said Steve Flagg, whose wife, Monica, testified about learning of her misdiagnosis after her leg snapped in half.
As for Fata's tears, Flagg said: "It was just a show."

Authorities said they, too, were disappointed in the length of the prison term, but felt confident that it would encompass all, or most, of his life.

U.S. Attorney Barbara McQuade of the Eastern District of Michigan called Fata's scheme "the most serious fraud case in the history of the country." No prior investigation, she said, included "the kind of stunning physical harm that we saw in this case."
Noting that chemotherapy is toxic to both cancerous and healthy tissue, McQuade said Fata "gave poison to these people not to keep them alive but to make money."
Outside court, many former patients were disappointed with the punishment, deeming it too short.
'Prosecutors did a fantastic job - and he got 45 years. It's a lifetime sentence for the rest of us,' said Monica Flagg, 53, who was treated for cancer before doctors examining a broken leg found she had no cancer. 'What about all the grave markers out there that all the victims' families have to look at?

NBC News

67 comments:

Death by hanging would have been more appropriate.

I think say Na only naija this kind thing dey happen...!.. Na wao! This doctor need to rot in jail.

Serves him right, though I feel 45 years is quite small compared to the weight of his offence.

Fuck your opinion said...

Thank God he is not black. He got served. That was how a Dr told me I had a disease when I didn't. Always go for a second text before concluding.

Wicked soul. From his name he is an arab. Wicked souls.

Wicked soul

Just look at how he just disgraced himself and his family... Some people are really cursed I swear!..

Dave Mide said...

This is sad!

My God. He deserves life imprisonment. What in God's name is this world turning into.

Sentence well deserve, and I hope dis wil serve as deterrent to other doctors to prevent dis type of false alarms in their patients.

wicked act he does nt evn knw he is meant to help nd save life

seyi crown said...

Na wa ooo, he will rot in jail...lesson learnt,will go 4 check up in two to three hospital b4 concluding. Oloriburuku jst ruin people life's becos of greed

Mercy ko patience ni....what manner of humans r we even having these days...Lord please have save us ooooo

Caian said...

OMG!!dis is incredulous..i mean how can a human do dis...were did he leave his conscience??:(:(

COLLIN said...

Hmmmmm....kkk sha

Give him a bit of his lie #cancer virus #

burung kenari said...

45 years ? Hmm, maybe him must be pay cost his pattient until cancer gone in the world, by the way nice informations mam

We really are in the last days like the bible says.

You will hear and see all sorts,then the end will come

Men will be lovers of money........

yang Mrs said...

he is just so heartless n wicked

Stephen Bernard said...

I have posted it on my blog yestadae *winks* stephen 1 vs Linda 0.. Stephenbenard.blogspot.com

well deserved

Chei,ple r evil

Power, money and sex.Demon moves around these three things.And once they got hold of you,Omo you are a goner.

Dis guy is so wicked and greedy, he should not only be jailed for 175years he should also be shot and all manner of deadly things be done to him. Wicked bastard. Dave

Dis is d height of wickedness

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

I feel a muderous rage right now - why do some people get away with it for long? I'm glad justice has finally prevailed and this serves as a deterrent, however some people may mever learn from this mistake.

I cannot imagine what he put those poor patients through. Imagine being told you have cancer only to be told you do not -

See wickedness!

This man is wicked
He is worse than a serial killer

Omg! This man should have been given life imprisonment! He's ruined so many lives, I believe some patients may have lost their lives too bcos of his greed.

AMIJEZ said...

He was supposed to serve a life sentence. What of those that lost their lives due to fear. A very cruel act.

Truly its not enough. How wicked.

God gave mercy

Good! Evil mind

prince versace said...

Why 45yrs,a life jail time would be a fair judgement.

Karlsson said...

Just negodu dis heartless man. He's devil's incarnate

Ubanagum

Austin said...

he kinda deserves more years than that behind bars.. guess the judge was quite gracious

Ogaju said...

What won't we read about the world? When they say get a second opinion, they weren't lying. But then he was poisoning his patients all because of money. Father pls protect your children from evil doers

Arsenal said...

What a heartless doc! Power and greed indeed. Imagine the trauma these patients have gone through for years. Lord have mercy.

I AM SURE THIS DOCTOR DIDNOT ACT ALONE,THERE ARE OTHER DOCTORS LIKE HIM IN AMERICA EVERYDAY.THE JAIL SENTENCE WASNOT ENOUGH ALTERNATIVELY HE SHOULD HAVE BEEN GIVEN THE SAME DOSE OF CHEMOTHERAPY HE GAVE HIS PATIENT FOR 10 YEARS.

so no b for naija alone things like this dey happen.

That judge is a useless judge, if it was her family member will she give just 45yrs??? D bastard deserves life imprisonment, nothing less

I feel sorry for his victims, who wanted care and got shatted on by this guy. I can't help but notice that had the majority of his victims been black, they'd find the first fools saying they forgive him and run with that. These people can lament the shortness of his sentence without apologies.

andre kelvin said...

Lol. Dah fuck?

Such desperation!

TheRealAkon said...

To all comentators you've said it all. I have no more words for this evil devil monster.

Sentence well deserve, and I hope dis wil serve as deterrent to other doctors to prevent dis type of false alarms in their patients.

And that's bad for business

This man is a hidden isis member. Using medicine to kill. Na medical terrorist o

He left it In the middle east before he relocated to the USA.

Wicked man

IN NIGERIA, EVEN IF U HAVE ORDINARY COUGH, THE DOCTOR WILL WANT TO ADMIT YOU IN HOSPITAL JUST TO MAKE MORE MONEY. SOMETHIMES YOU WILL BE HEALTHY ENOUGH TO DELIVER YOUR BABY NORMALLY BUT THE DOCTOR WILL SAY YOU SHOULD DO SURGERY BECAUSE HE WANTS YOU TO PAY MORE MONEY. IT HAPPENS EVERYWHERE. IT IS JUST GREED. MY ADVISE IS SEEK A SECOND OPINION. HAVE 2 OR 3 HOSPITALS AND CROSS-CHECK. THE TRUTH IS NOBODY CAN BE TRUSTED NO MATTER HOW GOOD OR QUALIFIED THE DOCTOR IS.

This is just God awful, this is just plain heartless Ness and I thought this was a thing only seen here.

If you are living in the USA be careful, their doctors can kill you for money.

Now this doctor be making people scared of hospitals the more, he is lucky he is not in North Korea. I suggest life sentence for him in solitary confinement.

Serves him right, dats where he would spend the rest of his miserable life. Linda take note!

Justice served! Enjoy doc!!

joekay said...

This is the highest inhuman treatment to humanity.The 45 years is ok but he should have been also given the doses of the chemotherapy so that he can experience how tough life can be.

Lol.

Lesson: get a second and even third opinion/assessment from other specialists and doctors after the first one esp on a serious diagnoses like cancer. Certainly, this is #goodcausefortrouble.

baby said...

What won't we hear these days. I feel the sentence is right for him. People whenever u consult a doctor, shine ur eye wella, ask questions and if possible get a second or even third opinion. Most of these doctors parade themselves as if they know all, when in reality they know so little and play with peoples health. Thank God this one was arrested.

Does this heartless and greedy doctor really deserve to live?......This is indeed a monumental health fraud and damage....how could somebody be this wicked...God is watching.