Xenophobic attacks: See what Alibaba is suggesting to Nigerian govt | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 April 2015

Xenophobic attacks: See what Alibaba is suggesting to Nigerian govt

Who agrees with him?

356 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 356 of 356

Some of u wld jst come on blogs nd be running ur mouth acting all smart bt u knw nothing...so we shld be thanking dem 4 creating jobs 4 who d sales girls cleaners and security do u think d huge amount of money dey make compares to d kobos dey pay dos pple. We shld send dem out nd take over deir investments nd YES Nigeria can do dat(read abt it b4 u type nonsense) dey stand 2 lose not Nigeria! Educate urslf somtyms Google is ur best friend!

I agree

Shallow minds, please what happens to the millions of Nigerians who are employed in these businesses you want to close down, you want the government to feed them while at it abi? do you know how many nigerians currently dont have jobs that you want to push millions out of work? the owner of shoprite in Nigeria is a Nigerian, you want him to lose all his investments too? do you know how many people MTN has employed, how many mouths are attached to these jobs?

I believe by now something should be done by Nigeria govt as a matter of urgency.
#GoodGod

Well Said,i totally agree with him on this

Des ones calling pple fools nd idiots u dnt even have d education abt where u stand as a nation...hw can we thank dem 4 creating jobs in Nigeria does dat even sound right 2 u???

I agree . ENOUGH IS ENOUGH.!

Since yesterday, I watched in horror various recordings of Xenophobic killings and attacks on fellow Africans by South Africans... This last one I've watched is just so dreadful... Burning fellow Africans alive... Today I call on every Nigerian, ALL OVER THE WORLD to put an outright stop to this, South African, an African nation MUST NOT GO UNPUNISHED FOR THIS!!!

I HEREBY MOVE A MOTION FOR THE IMMEDIATE STOP TO ALL SOUTH-AFRICAN OWNED BUSINESSES RIGHT HERE IN NIGERIA...

RIGHT NOW I HAVE STOPPED USING MY MTN LINE... I WILL STOP GOING TO SHOPRITE... I DO NOT HAVE A DSTV OTHERWISE I WOULD HAVE DISMANTLED IT RIGHT AWAY... I PUT A FINAL STOP TO ANY AND EVERY THING THAT COMES FROM SOUTH AFRICA UNTIL THE SOUTH AFRICAN GOVERNMENT PUTS A STOP TO THIS EVIL....

NIGERIANS!!! AFRICANS!!!! ‪#‎SOUTHAFRICAMUSTGODOWN‬!!!

THIS HATE, THIS KILLING, THIS RACISM MUST STOP!!! #SouthAfricaMustGoDown ‪#‎StopXenophobicAttack‬!!!

over 100% YES

i dont support this . the percentage of the pple commiting this crime are not upto.1% of the south african population its like cutting off the head bcos of an headache

i support !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Some pple shud b ashamed dey are givin u föod and kilin u and u ar stee sayin shit like sompple wee b unemployed Bera shutup. Many companies workers nefa collect salaries 4 more dan 4months. Did dey die. Why ar u stee being a slave 2 black man like u kai. Alibaba gbosa 4 u jör

MAMA IYABO said...

SUPPORTED

i totally agree with him

48hrs is too much! within 24hrs if they don't stop, we take on South Africa companies in Nigeria!

Full support. Especially DSTV.

that girl said...

So u guys would rather people die than be jobless??? Good to know a job is more important than human lives....at least it's not your family being killed in SA so I totally understand

I concur. Its a merciful verdict. Those pleading on their behalf may prefer the Obas instruction "drowning in the lagoon".

Pray fr sfrica

Two wrongs don't make a right

Pat darling said...

So right! Alibaba should be made special adviser to the president on foreign matters

i am in full support.enough of this madness. Nobody has the monopoly of madness or violence. We need to put it forward and striaght this time around.

I agree

Pat darling said...

Linda observe

Very dumb idea Alibaba,no disrespect if Federal Govt should go with your Ideas,do you know how many Nigerians ? That will be jobless,thousands that will snow ball into multi Billion Naira problem , international and local deplomacy turn to scatter ,if they go ahead with your plan it will look like trouble they sleep yanga go wake am,wetin he dey find Na wahala ooooo.Two wrongs don't make things right,let's solve this the Jonathan way,Not Alibaba or said Baba military way.Well come to a new world.,Alibaba I be your big Fan.:) - Sia

Na so bro.

Don't we af sa dat are disruptin Nigeria too? Why u no go dey kee dem?

@collins must u call pple fools for sayingd truth why are u so self centered?
So lives of pple they are killing does not matter its d job that matters abi?
If we can accomodate them well why cnt they reciprocate am sure if we ask them to stop operation here they ll do somethong abt d killinhs over there. Its bc u aint in thei shoes dt why u are talking like this pls dont be selfish lets think about others.

#IamatrueAfricanandIsayNotoXenophobia

You guys that are saying would alibaba provide jobs are dumb and stupid to the core.....The profit MTN and dstv make from you goes to developing their country......Please make research before saying shit

all correct sir, all shld close up. FULLSTOP

gbam!!!

It's really crazy how some Nigerians reason... We're talking about people's lives here... Has anyone seen the videos? Africans are being burned alive, stoned to death, beaten naked on the streets to death, while a crowd of S/Africans cheer on... Even their government has said nothing so far...

Are the lives of fellow African so worthless that we prefer to be sacrifice the lives of some to secure jobs for others? Some people say if S/African companies are shut down people will be jobless... So F**king What? If u b jobless, go set up a business with your savings!!! Would you rather people be with jobs, than people be without homes or lives?

They butchered many of our youths live... Go look at the videos and pictures before you come here to blab about joblessness!!!

SMH... I pity our reasoning!!!

MERRYMARY TOM.

Quite commendable.

Very dumb idea Alibaba,no disrespect if Federal Govt should go with your Ideas,do you know how many Nigerians ? That will be jobless,thousands that will snow ball into multi Billion Naira problem , international and local deplomacy turn to scatter ,if they go ahead with your plan it will look like trouble they sleep yanga go wake am,wetin he dey find Na wahala ooooo.Two wrongs don't make things right,let's solve this the Jonathan way,Not Alibaba or said Baba military way.Well come to a new world.,Alibaba I be your big Fan.:) - Sia

gbam!!!

I think we shd start a petition close those businesses. At least till they look into d issue. I'm not computer savvy nor do I hav the time. Someone should make a website right now and we will join

Yes, I agree.
Something needs to be done to stop these insane murderers.

john thomas said...

@ajuya sarah u r a stupid girl for calling h silly, hv sum respect for sum1 old enuff to b ur father u fool.. What do u even knw? Its better for pple to b jobless and alive than for nigerians in sa to b killed like chickens.. Disrespectful bitch

Ode, an eye for an eye leaves everyone blind. Friend you need to sleep and think before you reason correctly. Really disappointing of you to have such a suggestion. #YOUCANTBEAGOODLEADER

too much, but S/A is to small to maltreat Nigerians.

I totally agree with him, our govt should send them packing with immediate effect

Flavia said...

Really...people work there!

gbam no time....let them go back to S/A for 3wks.

MASLOW said...

you made a very sensitive point here bros

@ASAMPOKOTO U BE MUMU! u must have got d law degree in old age.OR u r d first graduate in ur family. what is being discussed here can be analysed by an one anyway they like. U don't have to mention ur profession here. U think u are the only lawyer commenting abi

If u are well versed u Wi
l know that most of these companies like mtn, dstv make the money to cover all their expenses like salaries in about 2 months. The rest is for expansion and pure profit. The government can just sanction them for a month or more while insisting they pay salaries. I promise u bcos of d fear of reduction in profit they will address these issues in their countries

If u are well versed u Wi
l know that most of these companies like mtn, dstv make the money to cover all their expenses like salaries in about 2 months. The rest is for expansion and pure profit. The government can just sanction them for a month or more while insisting they pay salaries. I promise u bcos of d fear of reduction in profit they will address these issues in their countries

Hey..it can be done without lost of job. Just that a lot legality will be involved ...let them know they have something to lose hopefully drastic actions are been taking care of!!! Jc

I agree with him! I said this to people already but they were looking at me like I was crazy. I've worked with south africans. They take advantage of everyone around them but will never let you take advantage of them. Let's give them a taste of their medicine and things will change. Shut down their enterprises and see if Nigerians will not rise up and build better ones to take their places. Enough is enough! Look at the way Dstv is behaving as if it is animals that pay their subscription. Come on! Dstv, Mtn, shoprite, pick n pay, spar, steers, debonairs, hungry Lion, Mr Price, Woolworths,Game stores,JET,EDGAR'S, pep, stanbic...do i continue? You name 4 companies in Nigeria that are doing well in SA like their companies here?

Reminds me of Ghana must go. Lol

Mr 47 said...

Seconded...

Collins Uwadia said...

The Nigerian problem, fear of leaving their comfort zone, some idiots are already calling Ali names, i shake my head in disbelieve, when has job matter more than souls that are being killed, I totally agree with Ali and I said it before on my Facebook page, Government need to take action now to force those animals in human forms to stop killing their fellow blacks, the reason they came to Nigeria to establish business is the same reason immigrants went there to hustle so why the killing?

Mumu so you will then employ all the staff from those various institutions abi.... mshewww.

Ose said...

people keep saying they agree. when you friends and family members working in these places all lose their jobs then you will realise its not such a great idea. Its like cutting your nose to spite your face. There has to be a diplomatic way of dealing with this.
I cant even believ Ali Baba is saying this because of some stupid Zulu guys causing wahala.

Kush Alabi's Blog said...

Makes no sense to me to do that..... That's Ali opinion

Strongly Agreed!!

Daniel said...

I swear that's the ish...

SEEDORF said...

i totally agree with you!!!!!

Mikolo said...

If we do that, do you know the thousands of people who would be left out of jobs, and some are family people... two wrongs cant make a right, we need better means of tacking these problems, the government needs to even improve the country so people wont even fancy going outside. Thats just my view.

Some of us really care not if our comments are not posted, may be its selective stuff here.

LILY. said...

i totally agree wit him 100%

I AGREE WITH HIM

Mercy E said...

I agree with him.

obiora said...

Nonsense! And more room for unemployment.

Aj Gabriel T said...

This type of treatment has equally been meted out to the southerners living in d north,so we should start correcting it from here first. Even most of us Yorubas most times see Igbos as outsiders. It's an African thing Sadly though. So let's starts withing our selves

MissBusyBody said...

And what happenes to the Nigerians working in these SA establishments? Think ...!

I agree 110%

101 support, what nonsense. They should close them

I totally agree.imagine the number of people they have killed.Black is black.mi i v neva hrd oyinbo killing oyinbo o..foolish ppl with discrimination mind set. oloun ma ba ti yin je ni.eyin olofo. i am soo pissed right now..they will route in hell.they will neva kw peace...All those companies owned by SA shld pls be shut dwn.mk una dey go ur country biko......

Shweetgistz said...

That's the wisest suggestion I've eva heard since tis xenophobic attack, yes, not just in Nigeria but oda African countries with S/A establishments, aw can a country fight against oda countries, do d think d can survive on dia own and dia stupid ass govt isn't doing anyfin abt dt.

bros u they on point, i agree

I do linda

Na only you waka come? Boko Haram of South Africa. We need to stamp out terror in Africa.

Collins y re u sounding like dis??? Dey re not doing us a favour if dey leave dey ll lose dey make more money 4rm us especially dstv ..dey should go bk 2 der country if dey ll make money as dey do in Nigeria 😠😠😈😬😬

Ali Baba, take some time to think deep, and you jobless kids concurring to apt stupidity try to use your brain sometimes, a clam has no brain but it thinks when the need arises.

I agree with you 100% on this,our govt. should shut down all their investment especially criminals like DSTV

I strongly with Alibaba. FG (Min for Foreign Affair) is just relaxed since non of their relatives is involved

Hmmm. ...I agree with Ali Baba. I am surprised that South Africans who suffered the indignity of apartheid will exhibit such bigotry especially when the whole world, African nations inclusive, stood for and with them during that terrible time in their history.

Nichotem said...

Casting devil with devil?

jay said...

I couldn't agree more

Pls what is the duty of Nigeria Embassy in SA?

Vivian's blog said...

Sarah and Collins you guys are actually the fools here. Our ppl are dying in an African country and you want the govt not to take any action? We can set up our own mtn, dstv, etc without s/a investments or whatever. Pls use your brain

GEJ is too weak for this option.

christyA said...

i support 100%, if we can't be accepted by them then we don't need them too...

I totally agreee

Doesn't it happen in Nigeria where citizens are deported back to their villages and any little thing they will start destroying Igbo shops in Lagos? It's an African thing to be barbaric. In Nigeria here any little argument the Yorubas will start telling the Igbos to leave Lagos or that they will drown them in the lagoon if they vote someone who is not their candidate of choice(who is also a yoruba).Linda post oo.

Berry said...

I agree. So as they're loosing in their country, they are loosing outside too.

Seconded!

i agree, they need to knw the harsh economic reality in wat they are doing

I totally agree. This thing has been going on for a while but it has never been this bad. South Africans are everywhere in Nigeria taking our job and projects but we don't behave in this barbaric manner? It is time to send the South Africans back home.

Alibaba I am with you 100% Bro.

Julie said...

I totally agree with him. I just pray our govt will effect this as soon as possible'

Ogey(OluWaSpeCiAl)pin 29f46e00 said...

Nice idea buh this is more official than we all think,closing those shop down wouLd affect our own economy nd interests..I'll suggest that all SA citizen/airlines shouldn't be allowed into the country dat way we can congest their airport then their HEAD go RING....#OGEY av SPoKEN

Ogey(OluWaSpeCiAl)pin 29f46e00 said...

Nice idea buh this is more official than we all think,closing those shop down wouLd affect our own economy nd interests..I'll suggest that all SA citizen/airlines shouldn't be allowed into the country dat way we can congest their airport then their HEAD go RING....#OGEY av SPoKEN

Yes

Alibaba is correct.But Nigeria is not that kind of place.We are the best accommodating country in the word.

Most are talking, a few are thinking. Alibaba wouldn't understand how it'd affect employment in Nigeria from up where he is. There's something typical about we Africans and it's the way we think. How does telling SA companies to pack up solve anything? We're only thinking like the black South Africans, so what makes us different?

I concur why waste time?

Zeme said...

Doesn't make any sense! I totally disagree with alibaba cos S/Africans are major employers of labour especially in Lagos state.

IF THE SA GOVT. CANNOT CAUSION THEIR INHUMANE ,LITTLE MINDED, LAZY CITIZENS PEPETRATING THIS ACT. THEY REALLY NEED TO BE FLUSHED OUT OF NIGERIA. AS FOR DOES CONCERNED ABOUT JOB LOSES THE COMPANY'S WILL BE BOUGHT OVER,RE BRANDED AND BECOME FULLY INDEGENOUS .INFACT THE FRACTION OF EXPERTRIATS THAT WILL LIVE WILL GIVE ROOM TO EMPLY MORE NIGERIANS. THEM DON TRAIN US REACH MAKE THEM GO.

GinaBlack said...

I agree 100%.
South Africa won't have wasted time to shame Nigeria. I wonder why our government is soooooo slow to act.Evil lots

I STRONGLY AGREE WITH HIM

Prostrate Care said...

I think am in support of dat too....but,..hmmm...I dnt think dat can be possible tho...evn if it can be posible....is not wat we can wakeup in a day nd execute....takes gradual process tho coz na we_we go stil suffer am...Linda take note.

I say dewy r very wicked/aggressive upon say na our money they make their life go on oooo

Flora said...

I support dis, but nt 100%.. Dere's alot of buts.. Howeva, something urgent needs to be done asap.

Yes! Yes! Yes! We do not need shoprite, our local food is more healthy and nutritious.

The south. African people r just very lazy/so wicked cuz if not so how come they r sayin other Africans r takin their jobs?is just cuz they r very lazy people,let them leave our country/go to theirs.if Mtn should go,is there no other network better/best than Mtn?we can't continue being slave to them

Can't you write simple and correct sentence. Could barely read your write up

I don't agree, if we attack them so what are we preaching

hypestation said...

i agree %100!

True talk. At least it will send a strong message to SA Govt that they cant take us for a ride at all.

misssean said...

How can you all say Nigeria has nothing to lose, do you know the number of people who would lose their jobs if this happens?

Since they don't like progress. I agree with him.

Gbam! He is very right

This is exactly what i told my colleagues in the offices some hours ago before stumbling on this.

bigdave said...

i disagree.If mtn,dstv etc closes due to this...what of the millions that wouldbe thrown out of job...Nigeria unemployment rate is high already.This will affect our economy no doubt.However we can place striff sanction on them and this is the oppourunity to drastically reduce their product prices (once and for all) and we should also throw out at their ammbassador from Nigeria and stop their airlines and people from entering Nigeria like Mozambieu is doing now

I don't think all these companies are owned by South African government. They are owned by individuals in South Africa so that won't make any difference. Evacuate Nigerians who are willing to leave

i disgree. there would be high uneemployment rate in Nigeria...we should cut down mtn,dstv etc prices on their product to the bearest minimium,deport their ammbassador and refuse the airline to land in Nigeria.

More names - IBTC CHARTERED, STANDARD BANK, OLD MUTUAL INSURANCE, PEP ETC

agreed 200%

I CONCUR

In support 100%..I was thinking the same thing.aftall Nigeria is their biggest market in Africa

true talk

Ya'all have been making sense in your comments. But lets see it this way. Closing up the likes of shoprite, MTN, Multi-Choice...Will change nothing. It won't stop the killings if i have to say.
As a matter of fact, these companies have equally played an important role in our lives at a given point. Lets face reality, our Govt and big entrepreneurs have failed to provide all these for us that's why we are left with no choice but to embrace what the south African investors has offered.
Xenophobia' is a white mans words. The fact still remains that south African men are the dumbest and laziest among all africans.
I've lived in Johannesburg for a couple of months, apart from the infrastructure which the whites had built for them so many years ago. There's absolutely nothing new. The black south africans (The men) would rather dwell in theft, drugs, alcohol, sex and any illicit thing one can imagine.
Jacob Zuma knows what to do, he's just a stupid man who is not different from any common Ittah (STREET BOY) boy in the street of Hilbrow and Soweto.
My Gee, south Africans need to wake up because with out the foreigners, their economy will suffer. As a matter of fact, i know the positive impact which our Nigerian men has made in the lives of so many south African woman. Their Govt should give us kudos to that. Am out, the black skin is full of shit at some point' it's just a pity am one of em'

What we will eat will not let us be sensible. Lets all join in this fight collectively.

AMIJEZ said...

Seconded. What nonsence.

slylov said...

See those people talking of job lost,u guys lost sense the vryday ur parent gave birth to u all......we talking about life here,u guys busy talking of the jobs that nigeriansgona lost na waoo for una o....

slylov said...

Ali baba, well said....but our naija Gov nor get sense reach to act wisely...as Big as naija is and things we gotni this country, other country suppose b payins a big respect BH our people have sold us to strangers.....to the length Indian Lebanese etc fuck shiton us..,poor naija

I agree 100+1%.

Yes excellent suggestion I support.useless pple they think we don't know what we re doing.we most act fast

Wat did u saw wit igbos in Lagos without igbos who is lagos idiotic

I agree with Alibaba totally. All their businesses should be shot down now so that by the time they come to their senses we will also negotiate on terms of their businesses here. Look at what DSTV is doing in Nigeria. In South Africa it is pay as you go but here whether your decoder is on or not you still pay.

SINDOGHO said...

Africans attacking africans. while are thwy not attacking american, eurpe, asians who are in south africa. there is more to this

Lik rily? So hate for hate!? Now I knw y obasanjo is close with dis man! Now I knw y I stil dislik apc! Plus wat bou d employed nigerian's in al dis stores? Wat bout services n businesses dt'll b affected? Economic and financial effects on nigeria? Yes govt shd take more bold steps in curbing dis which I'm sure they r doing cos I v relatives living in S.A

Yall should turn off your dstv n stop paying subs, avoid shoprite and the likes rather than wait on the Govt. Until when citizens turn up, nothing would work

Abdul Adepetu said...

Linda many commentators actually insult on your blog. And each comment I make, it says, will be visible after approval. I never get to see my comments though. But most commentators on Alibaba twit on this attack on SA are actually confused and resort to insults. Haba!
Government reciprocate such actions with economic and diplomatic moves. In this case economic move seems to be the wisest choice.
Most mega businesses in Nigeria are SA owned. We can Nationalise them like Murtala and Obasanjo did to Almighty Britain our Colonial Masters or Abacha did on British Airways
This government lost election on exactly this type of inaction.
We can hit SA just by saying what Alibaba suggested.You will see action.
In comparing to our own internal problems, depends on your position. Still it's government in action that makes such happens. No one is bigger than government. So President Jonathan do something. You still have plenty presidential time. Biko, you are still the president. Stop smiling.

ASAMPOKOTO said...

Nope! But if you are bringing in law know what you are saying. The sentence made no sense, so either complete it for him or shut up.

i agree

You do realize Nigerians work in these Shops you are asking to shut down. And there are Nigerian shareholders who have invested in the company too. How does shutting them down affect the South African situation?

Exactly. Supported by me 100 percent.

O.N. Progeny said...

My 100% support.

I agree with him 100%

Yes because South Africans are the employees of these companies in Nigeria right? You guys should be smart please. Mschewwwww!

I totally agree

As you make your bed so shall you lie on it. What will we watch when dey go you? Where was ur govt when dey developed them selves to have those ability to sell dem self

bums said...

101 percent corrrect only problem is that Nigerians have huge interests in these outfits so it mite not work. we shld use online power to get this.

Is too bad for Africans to treat their fellow in this manner, instead tell them to leave your country. Shameless jobless people.

ali baba is the biggest fool for his statement...is dstv nigeria owned by south africa? such stupidity from a grown man

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 356 of 356   Newer› Newest»