Exam papers for Nursery toddlers in a Lagos Private School | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 March 2015

Exam papers for Nursery toddlers in a Lagos Private School

A LIB mum sent this in. She feels these are inappropriate questions for toddlers in nursery school
"Dear Linda, I am a worried parent. I wish to have the attached doc published on your blog for the public to see and for parents to be informed of what schools of this generation have become ( n.b their school fees run up to 200k per term). I think the questions are totally inappropriate and out of place for Nusery. The have replaced the learning of alphabets and numbers as well as the basic colouring of fancy objects for ambiguous questions for a Nusery toddler." she wrote
See the rest after the cut and tell us if you agree with this worried mum...

361 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 361 of 361

HABA! That z too much for a todler! They can't read all this and write it.
Overseas, todler don't learn much, they learnn by nursery rhymes, pictures, drawings, sounds and all that this is not just it, it z meant for primary school pupils!
You schould complain 2d school authority

*LUCY's Comment Space*

King said...

Yes! My daughter knew all those at Nursery One. It is expected that you read/revise with your child whenever she is given a homework/exam period. And of course, the teachers read for them, while they select their choices. Note: they can remember all the correct answers if they can remember every detail in the cartoon network.
Just make out time to revise with your children!.

This is hard for nursery pupil

This is what you get when public schools are no longer functioning just because all our politicians owns all the private schools in the country. Nawaooo. I am worried as well too.

This is outrageous!!! Haba, for nursery ke?

This is of course too much for a nursery pupil. They should let kids be kids nah, haba

It's too much na. Can the kid even identify those things mentioned above. She really need to be worried.

Personally I don't think its inappropriate.

nursery one ke, this is way too much.

There is no way on God's green earth that this is meant for Nursery 1. There must have been a typo for the class. It is most likely primary 1. Nursery 1's are generally 3yr olds. Impossible!

Me I thnk it's nt bad o. Madam it probably means dey are done wit abc. Pls wht is d name of d sch?

hey! had the same experience with my fiend's 4yr old. i couldnt even answer some of his assignment questions. in my opinion, it is inappropriate. kids should be allowed to grow up steadily, dont scatter their brains at early age biko

I totally agree, these questions are too complex for nursery kids. What's their business with electricity! Gosh

Good day to you all. I write this not only as a teacher, who has been in the system for more than a decade, but also as a parent. The questions are NOT appropriate for a child in nursery one. The two problems associated with this issue is:
1. The age of the child (a child in nursery one must be up to FIVE years irrespective of how intelligent the child is). Parents these days tend to rush their wards especially when they feel the ward is very intelligent forgetting that maturity is also important factor in education.
2. The manner and way the questions are constructed, is NOT for the lower primary but rather, for the upper primary( i.e pry 3, 4 e.t.c.). For example, rather than ask MENTION USES OF WATER, you can construct with simple, direct terms like WHAT DO YOU DO WITH WATER.
I hope this helps. Thank you.

Some graduates can't answer these questions ooooo...its highly inappropriate

To me I feel its not too much because they would have taught them and don't be surprise our kids now are jet brain children...I believe in foundation ..... And a strong one will help..... If the mother is worried she can request for the schools curriculum or international curriculum ..... And if it beyound d childs level u can sue d school....

My dear i totally agree 100% very very inappropriate. I am facing the excat same issue at my child's school. The basic which should be handled like, alphabets, pencil gripping etc. No way. And school fees are so high the painful part the teachers and minders actually attempt the questions not the child and at the end of the session they will be promoted.

Haba, na Cambridge d toddler wan write? Dats too much 4 dem n dey r nt suppose 2 knwanytin abt computer n oda subjects till pry 1. Wat dey r suppose 2 learn 4 now is letter writing, figures, painting, poems n rhythms, etc nt d jagons up der. Imagine 200k per term, chai

mzmaris said...

It's too much abeg......want to turn then to "einstein" in less than a year?.......do they even know what "purify" is?

Lol..... that's what we get when you have gatecrashers as educationists...

The questions are too advanced for nursery 1...as a mum I don't support dis.

Is Dis skool managmnt on drugs???

This is good....my 2 year old niece knows how to use phones...even months before she was 2 years....give her your phone, she would go to pictures and be looking..she knows how to get on youtube on her mum's phone as well...
point is...these children are much smarter than we were...so it's very okay for these schools to upp their standards and ask them these questions...and not just a b c

Lol...they're tryna improve the I.Q of your child na.
If at this level and age they can answer these questions correctly, imagine how your child will be in the coming years...

Her Xlnc

MOTOLA said...

A nursery pupil is within d age of 3-5yrs, with this jet age we re in, the questions are appropriate, the standard in which they are tot will be their level, so these questn are not bad, more like my child's questns and I'm proud they already have clue of these questns. does this woman think its those age where ABC is tot at age 5? she should pls encourage her children and stop nagging, cos she should be grateful.

I'm sure her child did pass the exam hence her outburst. I know my people. Waiting for APC statement blaming GEJ for the questions

I personally don't think there is anything wrong with the questions having looked at the subject. This is a jet age and children are actually required to know these things at a young age. The school is only trying to give the a wide scope of knowledge and I'm sure in the colouring subject they also colour. After all most parents after paying over 200k will not be satisfied if their kids only colour and would not be able to relate to their environment and new happenings.

Kids shouldn't really start school till they're like 5years old.......just saying

I don't see anything wrong in these questions. this represents what the toddler must have learnt and it doesn't stop the child from learning how to write. This is a jet age please...

Some undergraduates will even fail this exam.

this is totally wrong, i even saw that of my daughter and its so not cool, my childhood was fun not stiff, whatever happened to nursery rhymes, songs, writing, colour etc. pls teachers and headmistresses, as much as its not easy to teach a child ,pls let them be children and cut them some slack. This needs to be looked into.

i totally agree......this is so out of place

I suspect the exam paper is for primary one and not nursery one. Printer Error? But then, if it is a printer error, then it says much about the school as they should have noted the error and corrected it.....

I think this woman's kid is a slow learner that's y she is complaining. My kid bro is just in nursery 3 and he knows this questions already. Kids this days a re suppose to be smart because of the generation they are growing in. It's that age of technology and it's not as if this kids ain't still taught the normal stuff colouring stuff and rhymes. So this mother should better buckle up and prepare her child for this wonderful generation.

Innocentia Annie said...

Can you imagine???? all in the name of technology thereby making these kids not to know what they were suppose to know in nursery stage. They should better talk sense to all these kinda schools before it becomes mess.

Innocentia Annie said...

Can you imagine???? all in the name of technology thereby making these kids not to know what they were suppose to know in nursery stage. They should better talk sense to all these kinda schools before it becomes mess.

Lol...it is well in our Education sector

Her Xlnc

sweetest baby on sdk said...

the school wants the justify the huge amount paid. this wrong

what the hell?

Yes o too ambiguous

wow! are these real? for a nursery school toddlers to anwser these questions are preposterous. come to think of it , these. are some of the questions that are giving to computer students . Not nursery school toddlers for christ sake.

Alexy Shehu said...

Totally inappropriate! Haa we are talking about toddlers here o. 2+. That school must be demented! Wat ever happened to A is for?? and colouring of objects. Mtcheeww

That's why Havard and Unilag cannot be the same....no hating!
They're only tryna develop your child's I.Q na...lol!
@looks like a rat with a tail..lol

Reptyle said...

I think the parent's fear is unfounded. Firstly she needs to realise that the world is changing and the pace of learning must change with it. I have an 8 year old who started taking piano lessons at 3. Right now she plays pieces even I cant play. She also takes computer lessons in school and at home. Her ability to handle computers right now would make some adults blush with envy. My take is that if the kids can read and understand those questions, it means they have advanced way beyond learning the alphabets and nursery rhymes. If i am paying a premium for my child's nursery education, I would surely expect much more than her parroting the alphabets and a few nursery rhymes in return for my investment. I honestly don't see anything wrong with the scope of the questions.

It is not inappropriate for nursery one....my son is in nursery one and I was shocked and initially scared to see what they learn aside from phonic sounds, letters, shapes, counting...they are being taught the name of their country, president's name, state of origin they come from etc. But what I have learnt is that they pick and understand whatever is being introduced to them.

Lol...funny you

MEHN ds is not nice at all, Nursery 1??? haba

Reptyle said...

Parents should not totally farm out their children's academic development to the schools. If you feel your little one is not well grounded in the alphabets or hearing them cutely parroting nursery rhymes is your thing, then teach them that at home. Stop them from watching African Magic and Cartoon Network and get them hooked on more educative TV channels like Cbeebies, JimJam, Disney Junior where they could learn some of these basics quite easily.

What re u saying, which nursery one child is up to 5yrs. Get your facts right, in this jet age nursery one children are 2-3yrs. Gone re the days parents keep their children at home till 4yrs before putting them in nursery one.

Reptyle said...

If we allow our children to spend their entire nursery years learning the alphabets and nursery rhymes, how do we expect them to compete favourably in a world that is going digital in leaps and bounds?

Joy(sharonlady002@yahoo.com said...

Dis is way 3 much now how old are dis children for Christ sake,hmmm o ga ooo

THE QUESTIONS ARE VERY OKAY. TEACHERS KNOW HOW TO TEACH THE CHILDREN IS THEIR PROFESSION. I THINK YOU NEED TO WORK WITH YOUR CHILD AT HOME.

Please lets not all get hyper-emotional about this. If the kidz can read the questions then it means they are done and dusted with alphabets and stuff like that. If the kidz can answer the questions then it's a big plus for intelligence. The human race is evolving always. Remember how your dad or mum couldn't understand most of what you were taught in school too? Abeg let's not stagnate our kidz in our olskool world. Even the bible says knowledge shall increase 'in those days...'
If your kid ain't getting it..pls shift base.. let the Einstiens show forth and get value for the cheedaz!!!

MEHN ds is not nice at all, Nursery 1??? haba

Lmao! U go fear now... nursery 1 still learning to hold pencil?

d human mind can do a lot of things and assimilate a lot, right from infantry, it is smart but biko,pocoapoco ie little by little.

My pple pls don't believe everything pple post. I have 1 question for this woman. From the look of the question papers. The pupil were supposed to fill in the blank spaces and "submit" the papers to their teachers. So, my question is, "how did u get to see the papers? And the ones without answers? Did ur child leave the exam hall with his blank paper just to show u? Or did u type it urself? Yes. The papers are supposed to be submitted to the teachers. Even in the universities, u submit ur obj or subjective sheets

They must have been taught

It's not. Of course, they can't write em but they should be able to say d right answers

My pple pls don't believe everything pple post. I have 1 question for this woman. From the look of the question papers. The pupil were supposed to fill in the blank spaces and "submit" the papers to their teachers. So, my question is, "how did u get to see the papers? And the ones without answers? Did ur child leave the exam hall with his blank paper just to show u? Or did u type it urself? Yes. The papers are supposed to be submitted to the teachers. Even in the universities, u submit ur obj or subjective sheets

obiora said...

Shoro niyen?

Some of you guys should shut the fu*k up! Dis questions r NOT too much anytin, i guess dis lady doesn't want ha child to b a genius, WOMAN please I beg u... Go to YouTube nd watch videos of lil kids dat r not even up to 2years namin all d countries in d world usin letters nd also kids of dis same age pronouncing words of 8-10 letters den u will Hav no reason to complain.

I think the questions are too much for a nursery one thou the iq of the children of nowadays is very high.

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

This mum should take several seats. It's for your 'toddler's own good. Pls visit rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

estilo said...

I don't think there is anything wrong.my son came home with similar question papers too and when I asked him the questions, he answerd correctly and he also did well in his colouring and painting activities. No knowledge is a waste

Don't be ridiculous. That's nursery not basic education. That's too much for a kid of about 4-5. Should be learning colours and playing basically.

Latino said...

its silly what parents pay, and most especially the pressure most husbands go through In the hands of their wives just to have their kids attend such high fee profile school.*Some low cost schools do it better*

Madam,what were you expecting,a for apple,or what, you ought to be happy,they are trying to make, we,nigerians have a prof at the age of 21,you said you pay 200k per term,so that's what you paid for,obviously that's what they were taught, if you feel is too much ok,then you can ask us to suggest schools of 30k a session, where he would learn how to say say A na. Apple properly, you ought to be grateful, if it doesn't go well with you then go to the school authorities and not Linda ikeji,what is this madness all about, don't forget to send us pics of your baby's diapers,if he poos 5 times a day

This is too hard na. Nur 1 pupils r like 3-4yrs old. How would they possibly answer all these correctly. Abi d pupil won't go through primary class ni?

There is nothing wrong with these questions. These questions was set based on what has been taught in class and properly evaluated. Things have change recently and there is curriculum change in the education sector. So this will only help your child besides children these days can handle big phones how much more a computer system so stop complaining allow them to do their job. I don't think d questions are complex if they've been taught.

At that age the kids are supposed to be playing wish colors, learning the alphabet, nums, shapes, the very basics of early childhood education to best prepare them to be able to learn the parts of the computer. This is jumping the gun and I am totally not in support. Nur 1 kids are usually between the ages of 2 n 4 who are supposed to be in play groups, not studying to become aerospace engineers by age 5. That is total rubbish!!!

some people are actually in support of this...being on the fast lane causes an accident. Most of the people that rushed through education that I know are not even better in life. those that repeated classes are more successful

Totally inappropriate! These questions for toddlers? They are supposed to be getting familiar with shapes, numbers, colors and not these kinda questions for primary school students....

Everybody now wants their child to be a genius...by force or by fire....no matter what it takes...only exceptional and gifted children should be taught these things...even then all you do is move them to the appropriate class...but no. Naija parents want to boast....my daughter is attending ABC Continental International school and she can already speak like Malala Youseff at 5 years old...This will backfire soon enough.

Let us even ask ourselves..The oyinbos we are trying to copy...British, Americans, Canadians, Germans, Australians....What are they teaching their kids at this age?

Oloshi. I no blame u na..na jelosimi u go naw..slate and chalk

Most reasonable comment.

Another reasonable comment. Oversabi mother. Go and teach the school how to teach ur child. Olodo

Ur surname is IDIOT

Idiot...there's is diff btw cramming and learning...idiot...u are so dumb...in america...as if america na heaven... ode

Will u shut the f***k up...moyin kor inkirukah ni....

Mouth kill u.....

Mr. BC said...

Call it what you may! but if you bring some of the brightest kids around they will answer 80% of the questions. I have seen kids 3 - 5yrs that know how to use a computer(log in, navigate and select what they want) if the poster's issue (inappropriate)is making reference to the composition of the question(rat or television) then i agree. but if its based on the difficulty of the questions? then please what is the name of the school because am enrolling my child there(because am a father).

Am sure his/her child failed woefully hence the complaint, am sure the parent of the child with highest grade is not complaining.

Am also sure everyone here complaining about the difficulty will be happy to hear their child scored 80/100 in these questions where others didn't make it. As a parent you have two options; help your child catch up, by helping them at home or change the school (with lesser standards) that way your child is the Einstein in the new school.

Payment of 200k was made because you want a standard, now you feel the standard is too high?! if you want ABC and coloring why not give your househelp additional 50k to do that for you! madam please be happy you are getting value for your money, if not please refer back to my option two(above).

Parents i know its difficult with our busy schedule but take out time to help your kids with their education and not leave everything to teachers! not all kids are the same (just like us adult) some are book smart while others are street smart.

Ur crazy it's official + dose questions are really wrong. I mean!

You obviously don't know what you are saying. That's why my sisters and I wonder how these westerners after a while(what I mean by after a while is because in their early stage 3-6 or 7), they learn nothing more than colors and 1-20, I can say this confidently because my son is a kindergartner and that's all they teach dem, till they get to like first or second grade and It's still extremely simple stuff that you just continue to wonder. But obviously the process is not about you cramming or make sure u get to know all these stuff at age six months, but they believe with constant practice and repetition, what they have learnt is inscribed in their brain for life.

Unfortunate idiot Christopher....na indomie dey ur skull not brain....are u a Doyin okupe ni?

Idiot..exaggerating with this proof? So she went to print the Q papers on her own? U are suffering from APC syndrome

Ode

Totally wrong on every level if you don't know. A toddler? They should still concentrate on painting and numbers one to twenty. Come to America na one to twenty dem go learn till dem reach seven years.

Na that frnt row wey u dey sango go send thunder come strike u...America na heaven...oloshi wey never reach airport b4

U can never see the problem with it cos u can't even see the problems in ur brain to let u know there's problem with it

That's what they teach here in America at that age if you don't know.

God bless you o! Here in America my son learnt numbers one to 20 till e got to age 6 and I was wondering why are they so slow. But the teacher will say "u don't smother them with so much at this age" meanwhile with all these rush rush that we do when they get to higher institutions they do way better than our Nigerian kids so where is that fine line drawn? Because they study to really comprehend and not cram

Ahn ahn. Kilode? Nursery kwa?

annnnn said...

That south Korean kid is exceptional,u don't have to use it to set standards for other kids. Even in the UK,kids at that age aren't taught such. Thank goodness u know the questions are difficult, kids learn faster with colours,numbers,shapes and not abstract things. One step at a time,it's not by how fast but how well

ik said...

this are daily activity thing,there is nothing wrong with the questions. this woman is one of those parent that don't engage their children in the house. lazy parent filling busy and then full of complain when the child is not doing well. m' a teacher i kn wat m' talking about apart from that this question papers are not given to the pupil rather the teacher read it and ask the child questions from there. stop complaining madam.

Patty said...

This examination question are out of place. Nigeria needs to professionalize teaching and I suggest a review of our curriculum. Some jobless folks thinks teaching is way out.

gab2shoes said...

If u find out, mostly those private skools in Egbeda, ketu, abesan, alakoko, meiran, etc can set questions not minding d level of age d toddler is? They recruit those high school /jamb students to run dere creche and nursery section plus d huge amount dey collect from parents.....no checks and balance in our edu system.

U can't find this is lekki or v/I we grew up in!

The gods are wise
Gab2shoessaysso

I teach year 3 to 4 in a nursery in UAE, from my class they go to KG 1 or FS 2 depending on either America or British schools. We are monitored by social affairs, if they find out that any nursery teaches these kids above the recommended curriculum, it will be in trouble. Dear parents your children have over 15 years to stay in school and learn all the necessary things in school, please let them enjoy their childhood,3/4 are suppose to learn the basic things of life not computer and electricity,gosh I can't even deal. Teach them how to be independent, behave, ,socialize and also discipline.

My point exactly! We are way past the phase of colouring books.this lady ought to be thankful.If she was following the weekly learning progress of the child, she wouldnt be alarmed.its done as interactive learning and The kids love it..many adults in Nigeria today will fail the exams maybe that is why it looks too much.Children need to start learning these things early or we will never catch up with the developed world.

Nigeria private sch are all rip off. They teach d kids to memorized stuff and not teaching them to understand what they r learning. This is very sad.

I usually don't comment on blogs but I have to say something here, I have a 5 year old who is smart, knows things that I as the mother have forgotten. I'm proud of the school system these days, we should want our children to be smarter than we are. I help my son with his homework and I'm always impressed at how much he knows. you as a parent should be proud of your child and encourage them to learn. This generation is different from ours, we should strive to raise intelligent children that can stand anywhere in the world and be proud to be Nigerian. We all awed and praised the 10 year old genius girl. My son loves mathematics and I encourage him to push himself to do better, he knows how to use a computer and parts of a computer and operates any gadget. Would you rather have a dumb kid or a smart kid? And we say education in this country is bad when we have parents who believe certain questions are too difficult for their children. But when your child sings and dances to shoki it's not too advanced for the child. Please we need smarter kids encourage your child and teach our Nigerian children there is nothing too difficult for them, one can learn if willing to push oneself to do better

It doesn't look hard for Nursery 3 students.. besides they've probably taught them these stuffs before. So it's the duty of the parents to review what they've taught them and help the kids grow

So your own child was 3 years and above in nursery 1. Or u don't even know the meaning of toddler. Foolish goat!

they v been taught and its d teacher that will underline d answer 4tem. if u ask tem they knw it.

Dont care how confident private schools are in their journey of producing geniuses, this is waaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyy pass Nursery 1

Frm a teachers point of view.Dis work is a primary 1 syllabus work.Bt m sure dey wnt u to see ur 200k in ur kid.so cheer up

This is why Nigerians are dull.they are trying to improve the child's brain. Chinese their age can solve mathematics questions.

Why ya'll they curse the school out now? Na Nursery school for pickin wey still dey for inside the Mama belle, so na the Mama dey actually answer the question for the bikin inside her belle...even the Mama herself no know the answers..na only 2 she fit answer out of 50 questions. OLODO RABATA! Just saying...

The world is changing! Children born in this generation are so much more technologically advanced! my sister's 3 year old has her own ipad that she spends time on! I absolutely hate the idea but that is the world we live in. Home school your child if you dont like the way they are taught. period

THIS CANNOT BE TRUE. NURSERY ONE IS FOR 2-3 YEARS OLD COMING OUT OF THEIR NAPPIES INTO TRAINERS. GOING TO SCHOOL AT THIS AGE IS TO LEARN HOW TO INTERACT, IDENTIFY PICTURE ITEMS PUT YOUR HANDS IN PAINT AND PASTE IT ON A PAPER, YOUR FEET IN PAINT AND PASTE IT ON A PAPER, PLAYING WITH PLASTICINE TO MAKE OBJECTS AND BE ABLE TO TELL MUMMY AND DADDY THE NAMES OF YOUR CLASS AUNTY & YOUR FIRST FRIEND. PLEASE LET BABIES BE BABIES, CHILDREN BE CHILDREN, TEEN BE TEEN AND ADULT BE ADULT. THIS IS PROPER UPBRINGING.

She is doing maths which requires a different set of skills to this plus she is 10 almost going to secondary school (aged 11) so her primary education is complete whilst these toddlers have not yet started. You cannot compare. Also note open university is online so I am sure her mother will be helping her.

Dazey Diamond said...

Truth is the pupils are probably taught these topics which agreed is too ambiguous considering their age but they may not need to answer the questions by writing or ticking the answers themselves..the teacher reads out the question and options and allows them to choose..and maybe the pictures and rhymes part has been taught already#myopiniontho#

fynechop said...

Actually my 4 year old daughter who is in nursery 2 just answered all the questions above, so madam if that is not what you want why then did put your child (a toddler) in such an expensive school like dat. It is only when you ask your child all these questions and he or she is not able to answer at least half of the questions then you know he/she was not thought before setting such questions, but if your child answers all these questions then you should be proud of her just as i am proud of daughter knowing that the money being paid for school fees is not a waste.

My 2 year old can operate my laptop aswell. Knows what to click to go online and types p on YouTube as he knows it will bring up his favourite cartoon and he clicks away and watches. He even knows the button to push to increase the sound. Kids of these days are funny but smart.

udezeobumneme@gmail.com said...

Kids of today are very smart they might be able to answer. If u don't like the school change it.

My dear, things about kids should be pictorial and childlike. There's everything wrong with those questions.

Thank u so much, am a Montessori directress and u seem to have a knowledge about the method more to what you mentioned the child's independence, concentration n confidence is what should be the focus of a nursery child. So sad and parents are also part of the problem with the way the compare their kids to others forgetting every child is different.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with the questions. Also, the questions and options are read to the children; not that they give them the exam papers to fill out the answers themselves. They also still colour and learn the alphabets. Don't forget that a Nursery 1 pupil has spent a year in school already; in Pre-Nursery class. If you want your kids to favourably compete with their mates, graduate early and get those lovely jobs advertised for people aged 24 and below with 2yrs working experience (lol) you had better wake-up and smell the coffee!

Na u carry ur pickin put for otakara school. After una go say corona money too much. Ntoooo. Exam gor pickin wey no fit talk lol

darling_girl said...

This is just too much for a child in nursery school. Follow darling girl on Twitter @darlingng and Instagram @darlingnigeria for daily fashion updates, DIY beauty and hair care tips

IT IS WRONG, FOR A TODDLER TO BE LEARNING SUCH. A TODDLER I ASSUME IS 2-3 YEARS OLD EVEN AT THAT. A CHILD IS MEANT TO PLAY, PLAY PLAY PLAY, THAT'S HOW THEY LEARN, IF YOU MUST TEACH THEM SUCH THINGS THERE ARE MONTESSORI TECHNIQUES YOU CAN USE. A LOT OF THESE SCHOOLS THINK ITS JUST ABOUT BILLING HIGH FEES AND TRENDY UNIFORMS THAT MAKES A SCHOOL GOOD. PLEASE YOU ALL SHOULD CHECK OUT KHAN ACADEMY AND SEE HOW YOU CAN TEACH YOUR KIDS WITHOUT STRETCHING THEIR BRAINS.

prettiyz said...

Even some primary 3 student can't answer this

There is absolutely nothing wrong with it. My 4 yrs old in Nursery 2 knows the six continent, knows all these computer stuff and I am often amazed at what they teach them but I love. I pay 200k+ and i don't regret doing cos he is smart

Omo lindal sabi lie, who sent dat 2 u. Abi u type m urself, schl wah no get name 4 question paper top n check out d writings. N wr d mom take see fresh questions paper.

This questions are rubbish.I dont know where they get this stuff from.A child of three and four should be learning alphabeths, numbers,sequencing of alphabeth and numbers and coloring.They should be taught after safety and their surroundings. when they get to age five they start learning sight words and some simple addition and subtraction.I live in United States and these are what our kids are learning in schools.Most children use the computer and they learn as they grow up.Nigeria education for youngter is a mess.I cant believe this is what they are teaching children in Nigeria.Playing is an essential part of a child development.A child starts kindergarten at age 5 and preschool at age 3 and four.Most schools are charging so much and they are teaching your child rubbish.The curriculum should be charged.A toddlers should not be bombarded with stuff.Their brain is not ready to take some stuff at the age.

If you have a 13years old help, that is a crime.

there is everything wrong with these questions. they should let these kids be kids. for those saying its okay, take ur child to the school and see if these kind of questiond will make him/her smart or make them detest school. i'm a qualified child care worker and i can assure u that for a child of 3, 4 or 5 yrs as the case may be these questions are wrong.

Redcandy said...

I am a parent and even though I am not a teacher, I come from a family of teachers, which include my grandparents. I agree that times are changing and kids these days are learning faster than we did when we were kids. Notwithstanding, I think those questions are too advanced for a 3 year old. Many of these schools do these sort of things to justify their outrageous fees. And many parents are somewhat ignorant. They think because the class has AC and there is 24 hour power supply and they are teaching the kids 'big grammar', the school management know what they are doing. Lots of times, those teachers will pass those kids without the kids actually learning any of those things. And then you have a big problem on your hands, the day your child leaves that school. A lot of parents are still going to be surprised a few years from now, when they find out that they have been deceived into thinking their kids are 'smart'. Some parents even help their kids with the assignments because the kid can't do it himself. Yes, the kid should be guided while doing assignments but you as a parent, shouldn't be answering the question 100%.

Absolutely unnecessary. I am equally beginning to get worried with what is being 'forcefully' put in their young brains. Ideally a child should start school by age 3. I have a son who is barely 3 and he comes home with some funny project book_ (CUT and paste objects that starts with whatever letter" very amazing i had to tell the teacher that you are using style to give us parents assignment. Ki lode God help us to raise our kids well oo

Na lie. Kids in the age range for nursery, can not read these questions even if they are super intelligent unless it is read for them to answer. The person who sent this, is an attention seeker.O pari

Meanwhile nursery one in Europe and america all they do is draw,colour and paint. And we wonder why Africa has nothing to offer to the world. They develop the children's brains gradually which helps to bring the best out of the children. Our dear country wants to give our children brain fags.

It's too much. Do they all even know their letters and numbers to answer these questions? Is their reading comprehension at the level where they can read and understand these questions? Like someone above said, at that level it's pictures, shapes, colours, letters, music and songs and simple things to get a grasp of the child's aptitude.Even Einstein and Tesla were not working at this level in nursery school...lol

im sorry but i am dissapointed by what most people are saying on here. How can you say this is too much!! Why are we limiting ourselves and the capabilities of these kids. To us this looks like it is too much because we never had the opportunity to learn it this early. SAs much as i hate to say this please google what 3yr old kids in other parts of the wolrd are capable of doing and compare with the capabilities of kids on our side of the world. We wonder why we are not developed, its because of this limited thinking of limiting out brian capaibilities. SHAME on anyone saying this is too much. Havin said that it should be leanr and not enforced.

D.A.T faces said...

I think I will agree to this. I have a son too in nursery one and most times I just wonder y the hell they are stucking up their brains but then on the other hand I think it's just a way of exposing them faster to things wch am sure will definitely be taught again when they get to primary class.

Let's assume that child is 5 or 6 highest. R u telling me he or she doesn't know whether tea or potholes causes accident. Your child might be slow at learning.

In Estonia, primary school pupils are taught programming languages. and today they are a technology powerhouse. the brain of a child is like a sponge, it can soak up millions of data bites. parents shd not confine children to the limitations of their own expectations

Anonymous...March 20, 2015 at 9:16 AM you are a THIEF....you are One of those teachers who want parents to pay extra money to have AFTER SCHOOL LESSONS for 2-4 year olds who should be resting their brains after school...This happened to my niece a 2 year old she was traumatized for months, stopped eating and socializing. Her mum had to change her school and today shes happier... anytime she drives by that school and we call her ex teachers name she freaks OUT... Abroad kids don't even start school until 5years old jeeeeeeez Nigeria THIS IS SOOOO WRONG

Hahaha they won boost they brains.

It's overrated oo!

Lol..

Rat is the mouse..lol

Even in U.S, Nursery 1 will never write anything, all they do is eat, play, nap, recess and go back home

Sandy said...

I am sorry but that is a foolish response (note I did not say you are foolish o!). First of all a nursery one pupil is 2-3 years old. They cannot read those questions, neither can they write the answers. So the foolish teachers will read the questions and maybe hopefully write down what the child responds. Please explain how that is a 'catch them young' phenomenon. That's a complete 'put them off learning because school is boring and meaningless' phenomenon! Kids at that age should be outdoors exploring the world around them, appreciating how to use their senses and communicate etc. that's why we are getting more and more half-baked school leavers. As long as school remains a business without stringent regulations we will keep having this nonsense.
The madam should save that 200k jor and homeschool her baby biko

How do they answer? Can they write properly at age 2/3?

Abdul Adepetu said...

My take on this, is for us to vote wisely for our government. We need government intervention on school matters. Curriculum and school fees issue must be addressed.

missyerotica said...

This is totally and absolutely wrong even for a four year old. I'm an educationist, learning is a gradual process and this is too advanced for their brain at that age. The problem with us in Nigeria is that we run faster than our legs and try to justify the outrageous fees paid these schools, we also see it as a status thing that our children go to these so called high brow schools....its wrong....my niece of three in Denmark was being taught to read and count to a hundred at home by her parents, the school sent back a report that they should desist as what the child needed at that age was fun things, that she will learn all the others at the appropriate time.....its no wonder a lot of students these days can't reason properly as they've been overloaded at a tender age. Education is not about knowing, its about applying what you know.

That's How Bill gate started ... Sharpen up their brains at tender age.

Totally inappropriate

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 361 of 361   Newer› Newest»