Stop the drum beats of war | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 March 2015

Stop the drum beats of war

"As a teenage girl, caught up in the crossfire of the Nigeria-Biafra war (1967-1970) and made to live in the perilous African forest in order to escape abduction by randy soldiers, the horrors may have sunk into my impressionable mind and remained deep-seated. Now a mature adult survivor, I hear the drum beats of war still sounding as loud as they sounded over 4 decades ago. This must not be allowed.”

9 months in the thick Evil Forest of Igbo land, she hid away from the repeated rape attempts of Soldiers fighting against Biafra.

Today she bears no grudge and has turned this horror story into a clarion call and national campaign drawing Nigerians from within and without together in a cry of 'No more war'.

Ada Agbasimalo a.k.a The Forest Dame has partnered with the likes of top MC (Compere)and OAP, Petra Ologundudu and several other prominent names to birth THE FOREST DAME PEACE INITIATIVE a 'No more war' Campaign.

Feelers say that the city of abuja will stand still on Friday, March 20th,and all roads will lead to the national press centre for the unveiling of THE FOREST DAME PEACE INITIATIVE, and the launching of the book,THE FOREST DAME. Come be part of this initiative and forum which will present and review the book titled "The Forest Dames"

45 comments:

hmm ohkkkk

Awesome...this is a most read.... great one coming for a lady.

Okay seen

Boring!!!!!

Awesome...this is a most read.... great one coming for a lady.

Okay we find it dNigeriandifficult to read a book...a movie will be more intresting
#Just saying#

Yes o! No more war, na people wey no know what it felt like dey advocate for war. God no go allow us experience another war in this country. Linda take note!

Nice job. I like creative women.

Cute lady

GUD INITIATIVE,....WAR NO GUD AT ALLL.....TOMJERRYSWIT

CHERRY said...

Nice one!

Will give it a read when I get it.

More Greece to your elbows in your new book launch.

the forest dames?...sounds like...
"the hunger games"...
*just saying*

Forget!!!! We men are built for war wether we like it or not. if this war starts again. The outcome would be so different this time around. We will fight again and this time .with no sympathy. Enough is enough.let them know. But finally peace is possible. North dey fear already with what bokoharam is doing to them. Next time they would learn to fear 😱 God b4 acting

lami said...

Good one.

I love history books. Thank u for this. .I'll pick it up asap wen released. I enjoyed chimamanda's Half of a yellow sun and The Cloth Girl.. I love German history too.. during Hitler..So this one too will go up in my library collection. Merci.

Good for her

Chai, Thank God she has forgiven.

Yesoo no more war. Vote for GEJ for good governance, continuity nd for his right as a nigerian 4 a second tenure.

The city of Abuja cannot stand still for such rubbish, please! Do not over exaggerate issues, biko....

where can ah buy a copy of this

Linda ur caption is quite alarming. All d same thanks for bringing dis to us. Thumbs up to d writer and more power to her elbows.

Pass it to Buhari cause I'm sure he would start another war

What is evil about the forest ? Did the forest not provide protection, shelter and food for her ? I am so fed up with this ignorant babylonian judeo-christian bullshit thinking calling nature evil. The forests are the lifeblood of the earth. You owe the forests your very existence. Nigeria has the worst rate of deforestation worldwide we had 40% forest cover at independence we now have < 4% forest cover. We have severe problems with erosion in the south west, south south and south east. We are experiencing drastic drop in soil quality as the valuable topsoil is washed off. We have a steady decline of fresh water supply and rain in the north, rivers and lakes are shrinking all factors contributing to reduced agricultural output, unemployment and religious violence. The forest can be perilous but it is sacred and divine. It is the world the way God made it if you so will. It is not a construct a story a fable it is right here right now it is the life support system of the earth, the air the water the climate, the soil. When the forests are gone you will have lost something of immeasurable value. Linda why don't you do a piece on that. Don't even get me started on the geo-political implications of this silly rant. Because this person was afraid of being raped people should not fight for what is right ? Suffering and smiling. We should continue to look like mumu at geopolitical quagmire that makes no sense and is not our making ? Half the women I know in Lagos have been raped or sexually abused is that the "balanced healthy post Biafran society" we should settle for ? Whether you will have war or not war is upon us in so many ways I cannot even begin to explain it. https://youtu.be/gcc5fnx08R0

Interesting veeeerrrrryyyyy interesting.cant stop smilinnnn

D'ANGELS. said...

MEANWHILE! SOME PEOPLE ARE CLAMOURING FOR WAR.
SOME SAY, 'THEY ARE NIGERDELTANS OTHER CLAIM NORTHERNERS. AM A CHRISTIAN U ARE A MUSLIM IS THE OTHER OF THE DAY.
UNHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
LET US BE CAREFULL.
IN MY OWN VIEW, NO MATTER WHERE U ARE FROM OR UR RELIGION, KINDLY PRAY FOR THE PEACE OF NIGERIA.
Linda take note.

I knew horrible things happened in that
Biafran war.
I don't wish to experience any sort of war.
Anyways, Nice write up.

I pray der won't b war in dis country o

MMMMMMMTTTTTEERWWWCCHHUUUWWU

GAY LIFE OF AN ANONYMOUS WRITER

Lynda said...

Heard about the book and read it. Very nice book. But all these authors need to learn how to makeup sha ooooo. That said-No more war in Nigeria oooo

These authors should always have a download link for these inspirational books. Will absolutely love to read this. I love history!

This book is a must read and I encourage everyone to grab a copy. It is sold in "Book sellers" bookshop in Lagos and the book store in Silverbird Galleria Abuja.

good for the author

AGB said...

Mumu....and our brave Nigerian soldiers will not fight your kind "this time with no sympathy?" You better go and eat and sleep instead of deceiving yourself.

God bless you mum, this book is a must read for every Nigerian. # stopthedrumbeatofwar#

Yes, suffering and smiling that is it. Does it mean that there are no raping any more except during war. We should fight for our freedom from and freedom to.Is like some ppl are at home wt this good for-nothing country.FEAR! FEAR!! FEAR!!! is killing us.

Great comments!Thanks. It is selling at Unilag bookshop, Glendora at Ikeja Shoprite, Laterna bookshop in VI, Quintessence bookshop, Parkview estate, Ikoyi, Silverbird Galleria in Abuja, Booksellers Ltd, near Biobak Kitchen in Garki, Abuja. It is also available on Konga.com and amazon.com and other online outlets. The Forest Dames" tells the story of four girls whose mothers tucked away in the forest, to protect them from randy soldiers whose favourite passtime was to abdult girls and convert them to their 'wives'. They heard the roars of wild animals but did not see any, thanks to God. At the end of it all some of these girls came back with babies, others with pregnancies Some were lucky to return without any tell tale sign. Their suffering was huge but eventually they survived the war and One of them tell the story. That one is the one communicating with you right now. What I am seeing and feeling around me now over fourty years later is so scary that I am crying out to all to join me in this one woman "No more war" campaign tagged "Stop the Drumbeats of war." By the time you pick up the book for you and your friends to read and talk about it, war agitators will have a rethink. There is also a sticker that says "Think Peace, Love Peace, Live Peace" I wish I could send it to you. Just that I don't know how. PEACE!!!