Durex presents new Smartphone Technology that can improve your Love Life | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 20 March 2015

Durex presents new Smartphone Technology that can improve your Love Life

After a week of global speculation, Durex has revealed the hugely anticipated smartphone technology that could change our sex lives forever. And it's the off button. 

The world's leading sexual well-being brand sparked mass speculation on March 3rd by teasing an imminent technological breakthrough in partnership with Siren Mobile to improve people’s sex lives around the world. 

Hundreds of thousands of people visited the ‘Durexlabs’ website to find out more, with excitement amplified by global media and social networks.

But in a moving and enlightening video released yesterday (http://youtu.be/wpdd2eBvyXM), couples who volunteered to test the technology,eager to give their love lives an uplift,were surprised to learn the answer lay in a simple switch that had been right in front of them all along – the offbutton.

The video, which has received 765,025views in its first 24 hours, follows some of these beta testers on their emotional journey, highlighting the serious issue that we are becoming enslaved to technology. It has been released alongside a study by Durham University commissioned by Durex, which reveals that pervasive use of technology in relationships is seriously impacting how often we have sex, even cutting intercourse short and causing tensions in relationships.

Researchers from Durham’s Centre for Sex, Gender and Sexualities revealed that 40% of those interviewed have delayed sex because of technology, largely smart phones and tablets, with others reported hurrying sexual activity in order to respond to messages.Moreover, a third of the couples interviewed admitted to interrupting sex to answer their phone.  One participant said:Sometimes I’ll be on Facebook and he’ll be on a sporting app while we are both in bed; we realise that we are literally sitting in bed together, but living in different worlds.”

Ukonwa Ojo, Head of Global Brand Equity at Durex:  “With technology playing such a pivotal role in our personal lives and relationships, we set out to explore how it could be utilised in a positive way to enhance our sex lives, but in doing so we discovered the most effective answer was the simplest.  After consulting countless experts, academic research and endless qualitative interviews, the solution turned out to be a simple one – we should disconnect to reconnect.  

“We are encouraged by the response to the campaign and film, particularly as we approach Earth Hour. We hope it will go some way to reconnect couples that have let technology compromise their connection with each other.”

Susie Lee, the app entrepreneur and CEO of Siren Mobile, has been a central part of the project's implementation.  Lee said: “Of course, tech can never really replace human interaction. True chemistry comes from intimacy. "So whilst we need our tech – ithas enhanced our lives, enabling us to reconnect with old friends, reach wider social groups and meet new people – weneed to recognize the times and places when social networking doesn't enrich our experience. We really need to learn to focus on each other in the bedroom, rather than on our smartphones or tablets."

Dr. Mark McCormack, Co-Director of the Centre for Sex, Gender and Sexualities at Durham University, comments: “Technology has revolutionised our lives and smart phones are now central to the organisation of romantic relationships, from establishing them to maintaining love and affection when couples are apart.”

“What this research reveals and the point the video makes is that technology now consumes our relationships at a much deeper level. It’s made its way into the bedroom in more ways than we imagined, often with benefits, but also coming with potentially serious costs to relationships, as it can cause frustration and tension, and encroach on sexual activity.”

Watch the video here: http://youtu.be/wpdd2eBvyXM

The research, conducted by Durex in association with Durham University, can be found here: http://dro.dur.ac.uk/14770/

KEY QUOTES AND STATS FROM THE QUALITIATIVE INTERVIEWS:

“When the first iphone was purchased by him I used to call it the third person in our marriage and I hated her with a passion, she used to sit between us, and I really disliked her… it has become a third arm for a lot of people”

Sometimes I’ll be on Facebook and he’ll be on a sporting app while we are both in bed; we realise that we are literally sitting in bed together, but living in different worlds.”

“I may want sex and he might not be aware of that, because he’s distracted on his phone”

“In the last few months, I’ve tried to have a ban on her using her phone in the bedroom….. We’re now trying to use the bedroom for just sleeping and sex.”
“She loves her technology I'm not going to lie, she loves her phone. Sometimes it does feel like it's a relationship with her and her phone, she loves her phone and she's never really away from it”
I’ve not delayed sex, I've faked an orgasm to speed it up to get back to work.”

·         40% (12 of 30) have delayed sex because of technology (most phones, but a couple tablets/laptops)
·         A third (10 of 30) participants have answered their phone during sex

51 comments:

First Nation, pay your staff. Kayode odukoya, you are worthless, no pension,no medicals, no retirement benefits for your staff, that's slavery. In this jet age. You will not die well. Useless heartless idiot. No salary since Dec 2014, how are they supposed to feed their families and they work everyday including weekends, if they complain or show up late, u give them query. I will use this medium to spread this news until NCAA officials get this news. Useless man. Kayode odukoya,may u know no peace.

Hummm intresting

True..

CHERRY said...

Seen!

Issoryt

Ok. Nice and great.

Me dey answer too o...

We all over look it, but its just the plain truth. Disconnect to reconnect with ur spouse.

They tried... Half baked is better than no bread. Lolzzzzz.

Lindodo, good morning 2 u and all Libers.... So, its on a DUREX note we are starting 2day?? Hmmmmmmmm, ohk ooo

Rubylicious said...

"And it's totally free".

Rubylicious said...

"And it's totally free".

Rubylicious said...

"And it's totally free".

Lady Linda ikeji,#LLK. Pleas create space where someone can like and dislike some comments here,cos this Aboki of a person is really make your blog look childish and less interesting. Infact,can you unblog him from LIBs?

I still dont get the whole durex-On&Off makes no sense to me.

Gdmoni Linda nd Libers........Do av a nice.day.

Fehintola Onajobi said...

I ve seen this video on youtube since last week. Amazing insight. Its clear and understandable.

Interesting.

life just got better for our coming generation

Gay Life of an Anonymous Writer

Hmmm, the offbutton
Couples don't talk to each other anymore.
Busy updating this, and viewing that online.
Smart

Visit my Fashion Blog

River Wood (The Fashion Note Book)

Www.riveroo.blogspot.com

wow.. so much truth was expecting something extraordinary but this just blew me away literally

stale gist...keep up linda...

Hmmmmm, that is good o.

Hahahahha... Oh it got me too. "Off button" is free. I really wanted that app!

see me expecting one ground breaking stuff, OFF BUTTON!!!! but food for thought, i agree tho.

zikman said...

That video has been in the open sphere since last week. I watched and downloaded it last week, plus it has millions of views and not 765,025 views Linda! Lindaikeji, pls always #FactCheck...

NOTED....TOMJERRYSWIT

Not interested at all...

I love this AD

*yaw* .....where time dey?

Mainly white people problems.....

Hian! Oyinbo people has come again o!! Linda take note!

So a lot of people have answered calls while having s*x hmm, Just strolling by hehehe!!!

really nice...........off button...lol
i'd try it

Lukman said...

The more you look the less you see! Why showing a video where there was nothing to watch!

Paul Ofou said...

Dammm this is so true. Lmaoo @ the off button which we all had but never knew is the answer wow nice one durex.

Great stuff

this world don spoil this end time God forbid

Best Ad ever

#smh - Nigerian men are the proudest in the world yet we can easily disgrace ourselves and we can beg for Africa (Happy Sunday, Happy Weekend, Happy Mid-week, Happy New week, Happy every, just to beg for money not good wishes). When did we get to this and it is worsening. :(

#smh - Buhari said he will build 4 Refineries in 4 years! why should we doubt him when he built 2 in less than 2 years while he was Head of State.

#smh - Why is PDP crying foul against Jega; when GEJ won in 2011 was Jega not there? We all voted for GEJ but he failed us woefully!!!

Sai Buhari.

makes soo much sense

Lol,its so true and its totally free...