Black man wrongfully jailed for 39 years to receive $1m after being cleared of murder | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 March 2015

Black man wrongfully jailed for 39 years to receive $1m after being cleared of murder

A black man who was freed last year after spending 39 years in prison for a murder he didn't commit but was falsely convicted for will receive around $1m as compensation from the state of Ohio. He was one of three men sent to death row in 1975 after being convicted of aggravated murder in the slaying of a businessman outside a corner store in Cleveland.

Prosecutors at the time of the case relied on the testimony of a 13 year-old boy to convict Mr Jackson, now 58, and two brothers, Wiley Bridgeman and Ronnie Bridgeman, who were his best friends.
Years later, the boy, Eddie Vernon, who earlier claimed to witness the crime recanted his testimony and told authorities he had never actually witnessed the crime.

According to Sky News, when told of his compensation fee Ricky Jackson said 
"Wow, wow, wow, that's fantastic, man. I don't even know what to say. This is going to mean so much."
Wiley Bridgeman and Ronnie Bridgeman have not received any compensation yet.

86 comments:

The money small o.. Lindaobserve

Wowza! God don butter em bread oooo

Thats nice.. He is lucky though.. Not all blacks get that kinda compensation.

HOW TO BE MORE ATTRACTIVE TO WOMEN

8 WAYS TO KEEP HIM FROM CHEATING

WORDS TO MAKE HIM FALL MADLY IN LOVE WITH YOU

Kyke said...

Wow 39yrs!!! The money is small*paathetic*

...My name is simple CALL ME KYKE...

Fantastic indeed!

Dts very sad 1m# is too small even 10m is small cos 39 yrs of his lyf can't b recovered again wat a pity sha, its nt only in naija shit lyk ds happen. Justice system everywere is messed up.

Omg...39 years in jail know be small thing oooo...he should be given a bigger compensation..

Kyke said...

Wow 39yrs!!! The money is small*paathetic*

...My name is simple CALL ME KYKE...

Wow....what kind of mistake is dis one Na? But d money is dere to comfort him tho

I would have said fcuked them, but its of no use.....bcos nothing can bring back the wasted 39y.rs.......at least 1m can go along way for him.....kudos to the Ohia state government

Huge compensation indeed but no amount of money is enough to buy off someone's freedom.

Lucky him.

Funkiedipsy said...

So hs 39yrs in jail is only worth 1m dolls?or dey dont feel he wud hav amounted to suumfin gud lata in life?

D money doesn't worth wht he went thru mostly his name b dragged into mud. Thank God he is alive to tell d story.

Butter him bread after 39 years? Dude could have been the bill gates you know today. Hiss... Lindaobserve

Hmmmmmm, dat money is nothing compared 2 the 39years he lost.....wow!!

1mill cant make up for 39 wasted years na.True justice should be $10mill,arresting the true murderer (coz i believe the boy was threatened by som1 at age 13) and clearing his name on every media house.

THE MONEY IS TOO POOR,THOU HAVE BREAD IS BETTER THAN KNOWN

Dramatic turn around
People like Bonario and juliet iwuno will like that...lol

Reina said...

You are so daft. So Ohio is in naija abi? It's 1m dollars not naira. .keep ur thanks

Paul Ofou said...

Huh!!! $1m only for 39 years like seriously? This American judicial system can be ridiculous sometimes.

Reina said...

But that money is so small na

OJIRESHE said...

Aboki, ur response to d above post is rather shocking. A man spent d better part of his life in prison over false accusation n got 1m dollars as compensation n u like" God has butter his bread". I pray u don't b a victim of such n get double amount. Long hiss
God is indeed wonderful, enjoy ur freedom Mr Jackson n flex ur money as well.

In this scenario nothing is too small.......bcos nothing can be done to regain the lossed years.......he is even lucky...bcos in most cases the victim is not giving a dim.....he is such a lucky man if u ask me

Niyi Daramola said...

Just $1m only??? Walai I will not agree ooo

60 Ways to Kill Your Husband (MUST READ)

His lawyers sucked. $1 million for 39 years isn't going to take him too far. It's a reflection of how long he's been gone if he thinks he can survive on that money for long.

Etsako Pearl said...

Dat's so unnacceptable...after 39 gud yrs?owo kini??

Aboki u stupid sha, how abt going to jail for 39yrs, when u out, I'll give u 1million Naira...idiot, DAT money is an insult to d black community.....

Really sad! 39 wasted years....

James said...

Just under $26,000 for every year he spent in jail. This man has no skills so it'll be highly difficult for him to get a job especially in the economic climate. There were no ATMs, mobile phones and all sorts of modern technology the last time he was a free man so he'll be very lost for a while. $1,000,000 isn't as much as it appears to be. I hope he's smart enough to use it well.

James said...

Just under $26,000 for every year he spent in jail. This man has no skills so it'll be highly difficult for him to get a job especially in the economic climate. There were no ATMs, mobile phones and all sorts of modern technology the last time he was a free man so he'll be very lost for a while. $1,000,000 isn't as much as it appears to be. I hope he's smart enough to use it well.

That motherfucker should be arrested and put to jail no tym abeg.....

Innocentia Annie said...

OOOOHH i pity him and he's lucky sha,,,,,,,, $1m is nothing compared to the years he has spent there in jail. They should add more to the money jooor

Innocentia Annie said...

OOOOHH i pity him and he's lucky sha,,,,,,,, $1m is nothing compared to the years he has spent there in jail. They should add more to the money jooor

His freedom is more important...No amount of money is equivalent to his 39yrs in Jail.
~Vavavoom Marker~

If God is on your case, everything will fall into place. Destiny may be delayed but not denied.Congrats to him. Linda take note!

1 million?! I will hunt that kid down and kill him!!! 29 years of my life wasted, for what? A kids lie?!!

lizzy said...

First time! God is awesome

beautiful said...

He shud get a shrewd lawyer and take ohio state to d cleaners...wats he gonna do wt dar ego groundnut?mtchew!

@jojo. You call someone daft but you didn't eve read her comment properly before giving your unnecessary correction. Smh...

39years? Dat money too small abeg

KINGING said...

The idiot is even shouting wow wow but I don't blame him thou maybe he's now mad or he knows that doing 9 to 5 jobs everyday for 39 years wouldn't have gotten him 1m coz he must have paid bills n all that

Zamani said...

God works in mysterious ways.

Rellanaija.blogspot.com

wrongful conviction and compensated with $1m. Its small but a start and better than spending his last days in jail. Thank God for his life.

Not ohia it's ohio...

I'm 39 years old, this man has spent my entire lifetime existence in jail. I'm sorry but 1m does not cut it at all. His life has been wasted, forget about him doing 9 to 5 jobs. What kind of money buys watching your children grow and raising them. What amount can ever buy memories, birthdays, graduation ceremonies.... what amount of money can buy TIME or FREEDOM back. Kinging, would you be willing to go to hail for 39yrs knowing that at the end of your jail term, you'll get 1m USD?

Yeah, I didn't think so

They should make sure he receives that compensation after spending 39 years in prison

lami said...

Better late than never. Thank God he wasn't place on death row and have his life snuffed out.

Imagine!! Just 1m for the freedom he has been denied of... No no no.. I love freedom more than wealth so i cant be amazed for such... No matter how our Nija may seem to be, i Rabboni ( at 30) can make 1m every year
. <<100%Nigerian>>

His freedom is the most important thing....$1m can't buy 39years memories

udezeobumneme@gmail.com said...

Too small..

http://chinaemeremchris.blogspot.com/

dr walter said...

This is bullshit.minimum claim should be 100million dollars.thats how many innocents rot in jail.the law is really an ass

Reina said...

My bad. My apologies @angela.

Abeg after spending 39 freaking year are they for real

very small
Counting on Klamar. to. Rap abt. This soon lol

The man is so forgiving that he exclaimed 'wow', n ish got me thinking what would i do if it were me.

Linda Fashion Blog said...

He deserves a million dollars for each year he spent abeg.

Weekly Ankara styles@ lindahrisfashion.blogspot.com

$1m is too small fr wrngful conviction nd 39yrs imprisonment nw....

this is just not fair.....

MISSVEE

The Americans!! They fuck you at birth, fuck you in your teens or adulthood by throwing you into jail for life for nothing, then theyduck youagain when they've been caught. Rob you of your destiny and give you 1 million. Is that the measure of your life? Are they saying you would never have earned more than 1 million cumulatively throughout your life? What if you were destined to be a prolific inventor? What if you could have ended up at wall street? Mtcheew

39 wasted years...He would have been a grandpa at the moment...May we not walk amidst when there's trouble lurking around the corner.

That Eddie Vernon needs to be jailed for ruining those guys lives. Tsheeww

he should sue them

What if they dnt offer him anything Wud he say he wnt to go back to prison. The freedom alone is worth more than $ 1billion. There are lots of innocents ppl dat died in the prison without their names cleared sef. So I'm sure he is grateful

Really??? $1m is definitely not enough compensation for the amount of years he served in jail

Nigerians are so funny.220 million naira when converted is too small? Would he have made that much money all his life if he'd been free? Pls.appreciate the gesture. After all,in this our country, they would rather leave him in jail to die, than admit they made a mistake.

Maye73 said...

I'm happy for him.is God intervention,He could use the money to start life afresh.

$1m for 39yrs..diaris God oo

Are you worth over 200m naira??? It seems small given what happened to him..but plz 1m dollars isnt ego groundnut....most americans live up to 84 yrz and never have up to a million dollars.....

Wow! Wow!!.....make God no let person see bad tin o.....

Lucky for how much

$1m wah? That's bullshit,he should sue them mehnnnnnnnnnnn

After wasting the fruitful part of his life... what is 1m cmpared to that? whites!!!!
so sad.

-Blisss

Very pathetic and pitiful...too bad

Ah! The money small o.....At least 1 billion.

@ Henry eze that will never happen in the US. That money is damn too small

Really? What kind of grammar did u write?

beauty said...

Not lucky at all, his compensation should have been close to 39 million dollars not $1m,that's really small because he's paying tax from it and also going to pay his lawyer, after all these I'm sure he would be left with peanut..

$1m for 39 years, I can see how it'll mean so much to him but naah not enough

Only one million for almost 40yrs behind bars? If he lives to 90 that will not sustain him until death...kmt.

Cheryl said...

Sorry to say. Do you have conscience. Damn it ! I bet u don't know what it is to be free!
Well that's racism at the peak. Sigh.

Deedee said...

DEM DEY CRASE OH ONLY 1M? DEM SUPPOSE GIVE AM 39M FOR D NO OF YRS HE STAYED DERE INNOCENTLY.