Dear LIB Readers - Before We Exonerate Our Nigerian Doctors | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 March 2015

Dear LIB Readers - Before We Exonerate Our Nigerian Doctors

This is a response to the last doctor's write up (read here)
I agree to some extend the points made in the letter from the last doctor but then i keep asking them this question "Why take up a job without an enabling environment" would they have taken up these jobs if they were very hazardous to their own health, am sure a Zookeeper wont go near a lion without his protective gears blaming that on his employers, except if he is on a suicide mission.
If someone is offering you a job and all necessary things are not in place, feel free to reject such job and report such hospital to a medical board. We keep blaming the government for everything but refused to check ourselves too.

On the other hand, i wont blame the government for a doctor's incompetence:
  •  I lost my mum to lungs cancer because a nigerian doctor was treating  asthma, we ended up flying her out to the UK when there was no improvement, it was already too late because the cancer had spread to other parts of her body. i guess same thing happened to Gani Fawehinmi, they call it Late Detection or Wrong Diagnosis. K1 D Ultimate was lucky, he went to canada on time
  • A friend who is a Mechanical Engineer practically turned the consultant to the doctor that was supposed to deliver his wife of their first child, all thanks to the internet.
  • I was in a general hospital visiting a sick friend when a patient passed out and the doctor attending to him couldnt bring herself to sign his death certificate, first time she will witness someone die.
  • A doctor treated me for malaria for 2weeks when i actually have Typhoid Fever, i insisted on running a test because he was too sure its just malaria. and i could go on and on.
The bottomline is, things are so bad in this country that professionals now come all out with pride to defend rubbish, putting the blames on the government, permit me to ask the last doctor this question "would you operate on your mother, father, wife or children using a phone torchlight". The battle for survival is our priority in this country and as such makes us take up nonsense jobs and when it backfires,  we are always quick to blame it on the government.
When you have a job that has to do with people's lives,  stop reasoning like a road side mechanic.

141 comments:

Thank u, my thoughts... Lindaobserve

let's forget bout this Doctors ish already

Anoda story dis morning?

Abeg, let's not generalise. We can't deny d fact dat we ve met very good doctors before

Okk seen, no one is perfect bt I knw people will alwz have regard wn u gv in ur best dou it might nt work bt alwz try & gv in ur best & leave d rest 2 God.

The English first, 'extend' really??? I tire!

I like the reply anyways...

Hai! Again??? taut everyone pour out their opinion?? *i siddon dey look*

Just add up this BBM PIN : 7FE2D61B and get N500 to N10,000 credit of your network choice.

You can get free credit/recharge cards daily.

Doctor, were ya nwayo biko nu

Pamscrib.blogspot.com

Overflogged topic!
The thing is,there's plenty blame to go around.The govt is to be blamed for poor working conditions in most public hospitals.Some doctors are quite negligent and unproffessional.And even the patients too sometimes dont help themselves when it comes to going to hospitals early,taking medications and sticking to doctors advice.

God i love this write up, thumbs up to who ever that wrote this piece, its nothing but the whole truth.......our Nigerian doctors pls endeavour to read this shit.......this same thing happens to me all the time.....each time i visit the hospital and complain of an illness, before i would finish describing wot is wrong with me, the doctor would shout MALARIA, when i was actually dying if pneumonia

I am a Nigerian trained doctor working overseas for over 10yrs. Most of the things you mentioned above are true. However, you have not mentioned some aspects of nigerian doctors that is flawed. How many times have you tried to update your skills? are you really concerned about the patients outcome.They are non challant about the patient’s outcome. He puts his financial reward above the patients outcome. He is protected by the system that does not reprimand people for their adverse actions. how many times has a doctor being sued for the numerous negligent actions we read and hear of daily?
i understand that the lack of resources has led to poor patient outcome but I have not yet read the time when nigerian doctors go on strike solely for the provision of these facilities.they always go on innumerable strikes for pecuniary and petty issue like creation of ‘consultant nurses’ role.
A doctor who truly has the patient in mind would have given the patient an explanation of what had been done to them. she would have been aware of the pad in her vagina and probably have reminded the doctor of the plan regarding it. do you educate your patient on treatment modalities, outcome and alternative treatments? do you know how many patients have had to undergo unnecessary caesarian section because its means more money for the doctor?
it is sad but without sounding like i am not supportive of my nigerian colleagues, i think they ought to look into their practice and engage on how to improve on delivery by firstly improving on themselves. then they would be justified to comment on lack of facilities.

God i love this write up, thumbs up to who ever that wrote this piece, its nothing but the whole truth.......our Nigerian doctors pls endeavour to read this shit.......this same thing happens to me all the time.....each time i visit the hospital and complain of an illness, before i would finish describing wot is wrong with me, the doctor would shout MALARIA, when i was actually dying if pneumonia

Enough of all these doctors issue.......Make we hear word abeg.....am sure the patient dat started all this has been attended to...and we have heard both side of the dr profession thing...............

Truth be told......Most doctors dont do well in Government hospital........ dey av this 'i dont care attitude' ....but when they get to theirown private hospital.......dey become active.....U cant blame it all on the Government....

And plz Linda...i know another dr will reply to this...plz keep it...its enough already

God bless you, u just nailed it. Thanks to privatisation of many tns by Govt. For example NEPA. Every1 will evn testify nw dt it looks as if power was fair in d hands of Govt dn nw it is privatised. Who is ds Govt? Re dey nt human beings dt work 4 ds govt? 50% of govt workers re independent contractors dt re being paid well yet dey wnt deliver & if tns goes wrong, dey blame the govt, NDIARA. God bless u ds writer.

Off to a video shoot*""

The person dat wrote this is got no point okay. Because somethings are not in place where one is being offered a job, you should turn the job down or report the hospital to the govt. Where there re no enough jobs here in Nigeria, so dat the doctor should end up eating justice.. You sound as if u re not a Nigeria.

Same with other professions especially the teaching profession.Most schools are owned and run by business men and women

Plz tell dem!

Na wa o! Next week saturday is here already..,Nigerians...pls make a wise decision...six years is more than enough for us 2stars seeing changes.,rather it more thn worse...pls make the right choice..,cast ur votes well...Linda watch!

No problem! Just fund the hospitals and the doctors will work better with no touch light!

SWILL MARTIN said...

**yawns

Kyke said...

So true luv u sir/ma poster!

...My name is simple CALL ME KYKE...

Kyke said...

It is easy to say this because you are not in their shoes. How are they to put food on their table with no job at all. We all know the economic situation of the country. Should they have no job by practicing what you preach, would you and other Nigerian be there to support their daily needs until the working conditions chang? Think over that. When they go on strikes to force the government to institute necessary Changes, Nigerias are the first ones to scream murder when they are not attended to in the affected hospitals yet you all want to be treated like first class citizens when the hospital is open. The second doctor has a valid argument. You can't reap where you did not show!

Abi ooooo aunt linda tell them ooooo.......

I seconded, u right I swear.

I get ur view...but u said sumfin about rejecting jobs....my dear in naija u rejecting jobs its called Oyo n poverty....

The truth is, our medical/security/power etc systems are bad in Nigeria. It's the Govt's fault. Take it or leave it. No need to stress on it.

Women, save the lives of your 2nd, 3rd to nth children. Are you pregnant? Do a blood test to know your RH status (check if you have the rhesus factor) if you are pregnant. If you are, just a shot of RHogam after birth could save the lives of your unborn children. If you are RH-NEGATIVE, and you go on to give birth/have an abortion and your blood mixes with that of a rh-positive fetus/child in the process (which is very likely to happen), you would get sensitized. This means that your body will automatically attack and try to expel subsequent pregnancies involving rh-positive foetuses. This will lead to miscarriages and if you are unlucky enough to carry to full term- hemolytic disease of the new born. Many private hospitals don't check for this. Even patients that do take the injection to avoid sensitization still stand a risk thanks to plenty fake drugs in the market. Stumbled on this site- rhesusnegativity.blogspot.com. visit for more info.

White berry, hw can u gt a job with this ur #ESPEAKILEKWE english ehhhh?? Beta b careful.

May's Desserts said...

Some doctors r simply incompetent, my sis-in-law had a normaly viginal delivery and she was stitched up wit a pad left in her vigina, she wasn't told abt it she only realised some days later wen she noticed a constant foul smell. Hw can any1 make excuses for that nonsense?!!!

Oh God! I wept wen I read this writeup!
I do not normally comment, but I had to..
Jeeeeez!! Dat ques if I would operate my mum wit a torchlight..YESSS! I ewould cuz d scenerio is u have already opend up a patient, halfway thru d surgery and nepa or phcn takes light..do u suture up d patient?? U have to make do to save lives..
All I nid is 1day of these ignorant nigerians to spend in d hospital..am sorry bout ur mother but let me tell u more dan half of our diagnosis is based on just clinical knowledge cuz d adjuct wich is the labs and radiology are alll dead..
Abroad, if u complain of headache, dey subject u to CT, MRI evryyyy test necesary or unecesary and d insurance takes care of it but here, common xray, a nigerian can't afford..
Let's not even go to CT nd MRI.d best MRI in dz country is tatamount to a nokia 3310 meanwile developed countries are using iphone 7
Accepted, der r unprofesionals in all aspect of healthcare all we ask Nigerians to do is agitate for a beta healthcare and den ask u be treated right..
And dz hype bout abroad, d late Dora was diagnosed of cancer in Nigeria, she travelled abroad and dey told her it wasn't cancer and she took derz, we all know how dat ended..
A doc's brain is drained!! Don't come here and spew trash bout rejecting a job..som1 has to do d job and most of us go into d profession to impact d society..
I keep sayin, in dz country, we fight d wrong battle
And Bonari, ave always been a fan, but u lost me in dat comment in d oda post, u came across as intelligent, now I can't say much on this
And yes, its a long epistle, and since we're lazy in dx country, we won't read it
Linda, pls don't use my comment to fry fish
D plush chikk

Hmnnnn! Ve given up on Nigeria to be honest until we have a big change not a change from our leaders but from the next generation! My mother was a trained Nurse in the Uk nd wen she moved back to Nigeria she said she could not practise in Nigeria that it was just too different . She said Doctors and nurses attitude to a noble profession like that was just out of this world!
Hmmn! Some few yrs ago my mum had cardiac asthma but was given a wrong medication that made the situation worse and by the time we got back to the consultant the damage had bn done her heart had bn enlarged and she died.

Enough of this doctor's issue,
We are tired abeg.

This is rather simplistic, what we have is a systemic...but again reading some comments here, you can see why we're here 'let's move on' they say. I'm asking, WHAT CAN WE DO? WHAT IS THE WAY FORWARD BEYOND THE BLAME GAME?

My brother, I understand your feelings. To be truthful, I started out as a “malaria doctor” my saving grace was that after service, I started studying for foreign exams and I realized that the entire health system is faulty. Nigerian doctors have one of the best theoretical knowledge of medicine but score much less in practical skills and enter the job market with limited experience. Why is this so
1 The health sector is so underfunded that after a doctor does his internship, there is no opportunity for further training. I applied for a postgraduate training facility a few years back, only 7 training slots were available and we were over 300 that came for the interview. Where do you expect the rest to get further training? Other countries invest heavily in further training of doctors. You can imagine an attempt to scramble residency training by this government at some time.
2 we only read about certain procedures, diagnostic equipment and drugs that some doctors will never encounter in their life time. The so called teaching hospitals are just about as equipped as some community hospitals overseas, General hospitals are like market places, always overcrowded with doctors struggling to keep up with the patient load. Where I am in Australia, the average doctor doesn’t see more than 3 patients in an hour and doctors hardly work more than 40hrs a week. So misdiagnosis will be a recurrent issue because there is insufficient doctor-patient time
3 the effect of the economy on most Nigerians is such that people consult chemists and use so many drugs that alter the courses of their illnesses that when they present to the doctor, either complications have set in or drug resistance has set in, and drugs used can alter findings even if the doctor sends for blood tests. To make matters worse, people will spend so much on investigations and have nothing left for treatment.
4 I really don’t know what NAFDAC does but the quality if drugs used in Nigeria is abysmal.
These are just a few of the things wrong with health sector and sorry to say, There may be hope but I cant see it and that’s why many of us are former Nigerian Doctors

Mr writer, who told u that u had typhoid fever? U must have done a widal test somewhere and u were told so. And who told u d diagnosis of typhoid fever I based on widal test? People that have typhoid fever don't go to out-patient clinics, they r sick as to require hospital admission, so brother, u didn't have typhoid fever even though I didn't see u. Pls u guys should cut the doctors some slack. In as much as there may be some minor cases of misdianosis, pls give them some credit: Because of poor additional diagnostic support, most of the time they use their clinical acumen to arrive at a reasonable level of diagnosis. NO WESTERN TRAINED DOCTOR CAN PRACTISE SUCCESSFULLY IN NIGERIA WITH THE RESOURCES AVAILABLE HERE: THEY'LL ALL BE FRUSTRATED. For ur friend that took delivery of the wife via internet, help me tell him that his wife just escaped maternal mortality. I'm so sure he didn't know what is PPH and eclampsia. I won't deny that some doctors are unprofessional, but those are in the minority. In my just 7yrs if practice, my clients wish I see them again and again. And so for most of my colleagues I know.

God bless u for this unbiase piece

ASAMPOKOTO said...

WHAT THE FUCK KIND OF STUPID SHIT DID I JUST READ? Are you saying because our legal sector and justice system is shit lawyers shouldn't work?
Report the hospital to the medical board WHAT MEDICAL BOARD. Does your government function?
I'm not even a doctor, but shit this article is annoying as hell. For too many reasons.
I stay in the UK and do you know how many times I've been misdiagnosed????? What will you say about that one.
Are you saying NIGERIAN doctors should sit at home and keep refusing to work till thte government decides to do their job? CUS since the day I was born these hospitals have pretty much been shit. So basically you are saying they should spend a quater of their lives in medical skl, then spend another quater sitting at home to wait for NIGERIAN govt to perform????
Pls read your posts, see if there's any sensible point to pass across then post. Don't just post shit CUS you can type english (not the best self, I must confess).

ASAMPOKOTO said...

People need to start suing. That's the only way everyone will sit up. EVERYONE! There are negligent doctors in every country. Not jst Nigeria abeg!

sexynerd said...

I can't deal with this retards. So you go school how many years finish... finally you hustle get job and you go tell the person wey interview you since morning say you no go take the job cos facilities no dey??? Buhahaha Buhahaha haha. Like seriously? That is your solution? Abeg everybody no vex. Make we all go India for malaria treatment. No be by force

Gbam! Love you boo. U hit the nail on the head. Dnt mind these ignorant, hypocritical ppl that will be the first to call us by 2am at our homes for free consultation after abusing us like this.

Paul Ofou said...

Well said, for me the average Nigerian doctor puts financial gains before the patient, that is why they can close their heart to your plea to save someone's life because you don't have money to deposit.

Gbam! Thanks for that. Dnt mind these ignorant, hypocritical ppl that will be the first to call by 2am for free consultation on all manner of health issues after abusing us like this.

Shut up your mouth, you went to a Chemist not a DOC! Khaki is different from Kpomo
-CHQ

You are entitled to ur opinion as well as bonario and the writer, I think you are the ignorant one to actually call Nigerians ignorant, everyone has made their contributions as best as their knowledge can carry, it doesn't give you the right to insult the Nigerian populace which includes ur lecturers,mentors,parents etc. D only person that is all knowing is God!

Until we learn to fight for our human rights from the govt, this country won't move forward. Im so sorry for your loss, but do you think if your doc had assess to CT scans or tumour markers in blood tests,he would still have made that diagnosis. Doctors abroad have assess to all that, afterall they are not babalawos. The people in govt send their children and relatives abroad cuz they know they haven't properly equipped our hosps. Our govt had failed us all, doctors and patients alike. God help us all

I can't deal with these retards. So you go gather your papers go interview finish then you go tell the the interviewers say you no want job again cos facilities no dey? Are you a learner? Abeg everybody go India for malaria treatment. No be by force

God bless you in a million ways.

omo said...

Very nice view. Please come back to Nigeria to set up such a centre for further training of doctors. We eagerly await you chief. Thanks

How is a doctor's negligence the government s fault? You won't say this if you have ever lost someone cause of a doctor's negligence.

Getting an ABORTION? Having a baby? One thing the average nigerian private hospital doctor most likely wouldn't tell you about or check for- your blood RH-STATUS. Addressing this issue could decide whether or not you would be able to carry a child to full term or give birth to a healthy one in future. Rhesusnegativity.blogspot.com

Wow! Well wrtitten and composed. He said it all wit dis lovely words "The bottomline is, things are so bad in this country that professionals now come all out with pride to defend rubbish, putting the blames on the government,"

On point!!!

Eagle Eyes Media said...

do you know how many patients have had to undergo unnecessary caesarian section because its means more money for the doctor? #word

Rita said...

Oga u dey yarn rubbish! Y take up d job in d 1st place? Are u kidding me? If they don't work will u feed them? The system is poor, we can't deny that there are no bad eggs in every profession but pls don't generalise cos u sound like an illiterate

It's not just about our health-care system, what the writer explained is obtainable in all sphere of our lives as Nigerian. Infact education is the worst affected and it should be the starting point for a system overhaul. But all this cannot happen unless we have a committed government that takes issues seriously

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Asampokoto...aa million likes to ur comment

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Your grammatical construction can jail you for life.

Okiie, enough said already. We should all put in our best wherever we find ourselves. Linda take note!

Gbam! Thumbs Up to this writer.

So bored.

U travelled out of d country to practise for 10 years & u wrote dis Shit. Serzly? Nigerian doctors are one of the smartest, we don't depend on machines. Do u know how many of my school mates (senior) that were retained after writing USMLE because they did so well when they went for exchange programme as students. Maybe because I haven't worked with a "bad doctor" lyk u all think. To the non doctors if u were not lazy & lacked the intelligence, u would have sacrificed your time 2 study medicine & ur family from naija "bad doctors". Rubbish!

But dont u thnk its crazy for a doctor to commence a surgery whn he knows PHCN can strike at anytym and d back up generator is not working

And how do u feel whn u put food on ur table knowing fully well dt someone is dying bcos u refused to speak d truth and stand ur ground

I pray that God will forgive our doctors, I delivered my baby in a hospital after 40 weeks, the baby sucked meconium in the womb. They left the baby from 10 pm to the next morning. The baby cried all through the night. My husband kept on calling the nurses, they told him that first time parents worry too much. My mother came in the morning and complained that baby's cry was faint that something must be wrong. They took my baby away that was the last time I saw my baby. The doctor came two days later to ask me what killed the child. Meaning that he did not know.I gave them a thank you card before leaving the hospital. I was lucky to have the next baby outside Nigeria, after telling them my history they wanted to know why I did not sue the hospital. I had a good laugh.

miquel akins said...

The poster just demonstrated her very high level of ignorance with respect for the nigerian health sector. I can detect some beef and frustrations too, I guess he/she is a former doctor wannabe dt jamb jammed! Clueless write up.

This topic is getting very interesting,the truth is there we cannot blame one party and leave the other.That some Doctors perform below expectations professionally does not mean that all Doctors are incompetent. And don't forget that this thing is everywhere, every profession have them. My husband is an Electrical Electronics Engineer who can't even change a dead light bulb. Some patients too do not help matters. I am a Doctor and a health educationist. I go to diff. Churches and organization to teach on health and wellness. Whenever i do a general check up for someone, i can detect (through my special diagnostic mechine) a disease that is in the body, even before the person begins to feel any symptom. Sometime i tell people, your liver is getting bad, you need to do this and stop doing this, they look at me and say you don't know what you're talking about, i'm perfectly fine. one year later, they run to me with severe liver damage. The point I'm trying to make here is that you should go for routine medical checks, research on your health condition, don't leave everything in the hands of Doctors.

Anon 9:39, your thoughts on the is candid and unbiased.They are shielded by a system that promotes impunity and negligence. FMC Owerri management sometimes last year had an docs because of their failure to pass their exams on more than two sittings, all they could do was to cry foul and result to strike. Very pathetic!

God bless this writer!

When ur mentality is all about survival and making free money, u dont go near some sectors, health a very gud example. And always take ur tym to understand posts cos u sound like a prostitute in a hurry to satisfy a customer but quickly wanna leave a comment

Lol. Definitely not a dr.liar.

There are very good doctors who thinks on their feet and there are some very DULL one you come across and you wondered whether he/she has been to medical school at all ! I lost my baby abt 2years ago simply cos d doctor on duty didn't act fast (pure negligence)..Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria should be made aware of any act of professional negligence by any doctor wheter the doctor works in government or private hospital

You are not a doctor practising anywhere, liar liar,so with the lil O&G you did in school,during CS a pad can be left in a patient which she would be able to reach for via her vagina,if you really went to school you'll know that's not even possible,type with sense, gosh!!!

Thank you.

I HAVE READ BOTH SIDES OF THE STORY AND I HAVE EXPERIENCED BOTH NIGERIAN AND AMERICAN HOSPITAL TREATMENT. AND I CAN CATEGORICALLY TELL U THAT NIGERIAN DOCTORS ARE MORE EXPERIENCED, CAPABLE AND KNOWLEDGEABLE THAN THEIR FOREIGN COUNTERPARTS.HOWEVER THEY MIGHT LACK GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICES

FOREIGN DOCTOR BASICALLY RELY ON TECHNOLOGY, THEY CAN NEVER, I REPEAT THEY CAN NEVER SURVIVE WORKING IN NIGERIA HOSPITAL.

THEIR MACHINES MONITORS EVERYTHING THAT IS WHY THEY AVOID NORMAL DELIVERY, THEY PREFER CESERIAN, SINCE THEY CAN PREDICT THE OUTCOME.

IN THE USA AND UK, HOW OFTEN DO PATIENTS SEE DOCTOR WITHOUT APPOINTMENT, FOR EMERGENCIES U PAY THRU YOUR NOSE AS MUCH AS $20,000. (ASK UR PPLE U LIVE ABROAD). THEY CAN DO TEST, LIKE 100 TEST FOR SMALL HEADACHE AND U PAY FOR ALL. PPLE ABROAD AVOID GOING TO THE HOSPITAL BEOCS OF COST.

I WAS IN A HOSPITAL WHERE I SAW A PATIENT IN NIGERIA BEGGING THAT HE DOES NOT WANT TO DO TEST BECOS OF THE COST.

HERE IN NIGERIA U HAVE HEADACHE U SEE DOCTOR, LEG PAIN -DOCTOR, EVEN A GRIL NO GREE DATE U, U SEE DOCTOR AT NO COST.
GOD HELP NIGERIA DOCTOR, THEY R TRYING, I WHICH I WAS RICHER, I WOULD HAVE SPONSORED AT 10DOCTORS/YEAR ABROAD.

Ur baby died and u had a good laff. U b witch?

MY HUSBAND IS A DOCTOR, TILL 1AM PPLE USUALLY CALL HIS NUMBER, FREE CONSULTATION NO ONE PAYS A DIME FOR THAT. SOME DONT EVEN REMEMBER TO SAY THANKS THE NEXT DAY.

I SEE ALL THE GOOD THINGS OF LIFE, BUT WE CANT AFFORD COZ I AM MARRIED TO A DOCTOR. SOMETIMES I WONDER WHY I MARRIED A DOCTOR, BUT THEN I REMEMBER THE PLEASENT N WONDERFUL MAN HE IS THEN I THANK GOD I MARRIED HIM.

WE PRACTICALLY LIVE FROM HANDS TO MOUTH, AND I SEE HOW HIS EMOTIONS SWITCHES BECOS OF THIS DYING PATIENTS AND HOW HE EVEN SPENDS FROM THE LITTLE HE MAKES ON HIS PATIENT.
WE HAD TO CHANGE OUR CHILDREN SCHOOL BECOS OF MONEY, HE IS HARDLY AT HOME BECOS OF THE SO CALLED CALLS. AND AT THE END OF THE MONTH, NO MONEY TO SHOW.

ALL OF U NIGERIAN DOCTORS ABROAD RUNNING UR MOUTH, COME BACK HOME NOW SINCE U FEEL THEY R NOT TRYING, COME AND CORRECT THE MISTAKES.

1 SINGLE PATIENT IN USA WILL HAVE LIKE 5DOCTORS, IN NIGERIA 1 DOCTOR WILL HAVE 100 PATIENTS AND EMEGENCIES R STILL COMING IN.

AND SOME FOOLS R FIGHTING AND KILLING THEMSELVES OVER SOME DUMB POLITICIANS. I DONT BLAME THEM, THATS THE LIFE THEY KNOW, MOST PPLE HAVE NOT BEEN ABROAD SO THEY WONT KNOW WE ARE IN HELL THEY ASSUME ITS PARADISE.
SO MUCH TO SAY ...........

omo said...

JOHESU. You dey here? How una strike? Any results?

Oga, why will u start a surgery when u knw nepa can strike at anytime and ur back up generator is not working, na common sense na.
How many times have our doctors gone on strike over the state of medical equipments in our general hosp, its either over unpaid salaries or government dint implement the new salary structure.
The writer have said it all, if u r all about surviving and putting food on ur table, u dont belong in d health sector.

Nice write up.

Wow, see ur demonstration of the highest level of stupidity

we currently have 25,000 registered doctors in Nigeria with a population of over 170milllion Nigerians. over 3000 have relocated to the uk and other 2000 in the US and other 2000 in other parts of the world leaving an estimate of 18,000 doctors left to cater for 170million Nigerians. yet they work under terrible conditions, crazy shifts, at times working 72hrs straight round the clock.With exhausted and over stretch doctors,they're bound to snap and sometimes forgetful. don't blame them

Doctors earn much in Nigeria especially compared to others,, in Lagos state a fresh graduate doctor earn more than a Director of 30 years of work experience...yet most of this Nigerian doctors are not innovative, proactive and intelligent....they should be paid less. because to me they are not doing what is expected of them... negligence is so popular in the medical line

iyke cindy said...

Thnks a loaf @ anon 10:43am

Asampokoto, a billion likes to your comment

Just shut up. Wasn't Dora Akunyili misdiagnosed outside of Nigeria?

Chei, if the Jennifer she go say this person is harshing o

If nah Jennifer she go say this Person is harshing o

From your comments you also show ignorance and a lack of understanding of the many issues affecting healthcare in Nigeria, what a question why work in an environment without the right equipment.

Scenario 1: An emergency patient comes in from a road traffic accident, I do not have all the resuscitation equipment i need and there is no blood or oxygen. do I down tools and refuse to at least try because i am not in an enabling environment?

Scenario 2: We are operating on the patient and there is a sudden power cut, there is no diesel and the generator is out of service, do we stop in the middle of the operation because the environment is not enabled? Am i wrong to pull out my nokia phone and continue or should i use an iphone instead.

Scenario 3; Someone comes in with progressive breathing problems, nothing shows on the chest x ray but i suspect there's more to it and i request a CT chest, there is no working CT scanner in the town, do i start to treat for lung cancer because that is the worse possible diagnosis? Well I give her inhalers and oxygen to control her symptoms, you send her abroad and they diagnose lung cancer. Does that make me a quack? because i am treating for asthma not cancer. bearing in mind that asthma is more common than lung cancer and that is all we can treat for based on our capabilities.

Doctors are fighting a losing battle in nigeria and because of the lack of this 'enabling environment" many have left.
Don't kill the few remaining doctors because soon there will be no one left to treat you and no one for you to blame
Medical schools are still accepting new students

I agree some doctors are negligent and irresponsible, but who is supposed to monitor doctors?
Have you heard of any doctor being sued for negligence or manslaughter?
No point making noise if you're not prepared to fight the rot in the healthcare community.

It is your life not theirs

DeeD25 said...

I can't with this foolishness anymore!!!

Wait, so if one doctor forgets pad in vagina, that means all doctors are bad? Doctors make mistakes all the time, it isn't peculiar to Nigeria. Go to india and find out how they are using Nigerian patients to train their residents because lets face it, if you get a bad outcome in India, who do you sue? So if we had to depend on NEPA every time you wanted to operate, appendix sef would be like Ebola.Doctor UK escapee is just a deluded condescending moron who obviously did not think this write up through before posting it.if you have truly worked in this country in a Government hospital,you would not be so quick to condemn generally. medical mistakes happen all the time,period. he could have been on call for 2 days for all you know. Have you ever had to work for 24hrs before? Moronic ingrates!

Some comments here beggar belief, so because PHCN can strike anytime we should not operate on an emergency case who will probably die without urgent intervention?

Next time you're going to the local quack hospital filled with stupid nurses and rude, arrogant, money grabbing and incompetent doctors please take your generator (and diesel), mobile CT scan, Xray and mobile lab..

Also when you're hungry and you left your wallet at home tell the 'mama put' it is an emergency and she should serve you first so you can pay later. Hospitals have bills to pay too, you can't blame them for asking for fees to be paid upfront just because you're an emergency doesn't mean you will pay later. Thousands have left hospital without paying their bill, typical nigerians..

To be honest, I give up on Nigerians, just look at the standard of reasoning here not to mention the grammar and that tells you a lot, not everyone who can drive should be on the road..

Oh pls anonymous shut up! You sound like the writer! Don't be stupid.

Why didn't you read medicine if you? Perhaps you would have saved your mother! Foolish fool.

millioo said...

Who d hell is this idiot with a useless response? I fit slap am, dude I'm sure u are not a doctor and u can't feel where d shoe pinches most, these doctors went to school and studied medicine, to save lives, not cos they love money so much, but cos they value human lives, unfortunately they enter reality, time to practice u realise there is no choice but to work with what is made available for u to work with, now tell me how u want to say no to an opurtunity to practice and earn, in ur heart u belive u will come into d system and make a change, but naaaaa, the people to blame is our govt, they have no value for human lives, the govt makes available all these equipment, they are very expensive. I've been a victim of wrong diagnosis, my fiance was diagnosed and was treated for ulcer, guess what he had cancer and died 1 month to our wedding! It hurt like a bitch, but I won't blame d doctors again, these guys go through shit and are hardly recognised for a job well done with little or no equipment and facilities, but yet they go to that damn environment and try to save some lives, u guys give them some credit jare, Mw I'm not a doctor, infact faaaar from it, ain't no time to be jacking book without light.soooo shut d Fuck up Biatch!

I am a doctor... and I can say that at least d people I work with are well trained and very competent... but we are humans and we make mistakes and yes we have a failed government... the health system is a huge flop.. no facilities at all... and when government officials fall sick they just travel abroad...

Sharrap dre!!!!!!its still d same u dt will complain whn doctors go on strike to complain abt d facilities n workin conditions.....if d Nigerian dr is so bad why bother goin to a hosp since u obviously don't trust dre judgement.....its a free world,its either u show a little appreciatn to ur dr or u stay at home wit ur ailment n mayyb drink some agbo......nonsense!!!!!

You really can't blame doctor when the system was created for malpractice. If the government want every doc to take their job serroiusly and run a amazing clinic they must implement a new health system and better tech . in addition, set rules and regulation for these doc and b strict. In a poor country with minimal jobs its hard for anyone to follow code of ethics when their children are crying because of hunger.

Abi

I wouldn't say you are right or wrong, but people also get diagnosed wrongly here in the USA, it happens everywhere.

Abeg dis writer isn’t making sense! So d doctor shld sit @home because d hospitals hav no facilities? Dat shows extreme bias in the response, I wish u responded wit facts and reason like d doctor yesterday. If everyone reasons like u, no Nigerian would be in any civil service job irrespective of d sector. I agree som naija doctors are wack cos I don xperience som bt it’s not all, and I saw d sense in wat dat doctor wrote. If d doctors are better trained in better medical schools and hav better facilities, things wn’t stay d same. Besides, anoda doctor said they continued a surgery with phone torch as nepa took light after d surgery had started. They didn’t start surgery wit phone torch, so dn’t ask d doctor dat stupid question. I’m not a doctor, I’m a mathematician but I cn smell d beef in ur post. Let’s all reason to make progress in d issue not 2 just continue beef.

Mr man.. There are tell tale signs of malaria. And because Nigeria is in the tropics, malaria is endemic here... 70% of cases of elevated body temperature in a patient may be due to malaria... I guess u probably do not know there is something called severe malaria...

The system is the only problem not the doctors, even in canada a doctor makes mistake and is not blamed, the system will be faulted and improved upon to avoid further mistakes, except it is a mistake with adverse conditions to the patient that is when he faces the law and that is if the family wants to.

God bless you and everything you touch my dear .
YES ! IS THE SAME NURSE FROM LAST POST .
My dad died because some useless arrogant imbecile was treating him malaria and the man died from blood shortage complication .my husband is a medical doctor here in the USA , my husband kept calling the doctor with the number he got from the nurse, He picked, and his interest was my hubby getting him a visiting visa or arrange a wife for him, my mom is here with me for her surgery so dad was just on his own with the help .
when my hubby told him to wait till my dad is back on his feet this monster of a fool started shouting on the phone, asking my hubby if he's TEACHING HIM HIS JOB, NOW , AS I TYPE THIS , MY FATHER'S CORPSE IS AT IYI -ELU mortuary (I hope the spelling is correct) to be buried on the 24th of next month !

They were suppose to get him blood before any other thing, He had stomach ulcer, His waste product was black blood and they were treating malaria while he kept loosing blood from his anus !

I could have prayed for all those good for nothing bastards fighting and calling me names to have same in their life so you can ALSO FEEL MY BLACK HATE !!!!
YES, I'M VERY BITTER & FRUSTRATED !!!

My dad died , he's alone right now in the mortuary , alone ! just because a foolish arrogant monkey called a doctor was too fucking proud to hear my hubby give him my dad's medical history !

THEY KILLED MY FATHER !!!
THEY BROKE MY WALLS BECAUSE THE ARROGANT BASTARD WAS FUCKING PROUD !!!

And you low lives maggots had the audacity to talk trash because I hate SOME DOCTORS NOT ALL, WHICH OF CAUSE I MADE CLEAR !

By the time we were able to sent someone to get him to another hospital, he was already half dead, turning white and can't fucking talk to me or my mom, I was on the phone with them as they were rushing him to the hospital , I was on the phone with them, they were screaming his name, I was also doing the same thing, he was too fucking weak, he died, dad died on his way to another hospital, dad had ulcer and the proud animal was treating malaria !!!!
He refused to take correction, he was asking us to face our American mentality and killed MY FATHER !
WHY DO YOU WANT ME TO PRAISE SOME OF THE STUPID ILLITERATE ANIMALS CALLED DOCTORS ?
I'm married to one,who is hopelessly caring and careful when it comes to human life , There times I see him for just 2 hours in 3 days because he was busy unless I was send to his section. he celebrated his last birthday in the surgery room, operating and saving another man's life, i'm also a nurse, some of Nigeria doctors should be suya sellers and male prostitutes ,I said some because we still have very good ones out there .
May what happened to my dad happen to you if you little dirty rats dare open their sewage mouth to talk back at me !
BASTARDS ! BASTARDS !! BASTARDS !!!
That's what some Nigeria doctors are !
EDUCATED, PROUD IDIOTS !!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, I said it , majority of Nigeria doctors are FOOLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS .

When I was still in Nigeria , I went for appendix surgery, Ndi -ala doctors left cotton balls as bonus in my body, (i've the x ray if you need proof) I did another surgery to correct it at NIGER FOUNDATION HOSPITAL ENUGU !

The pain I went through was out of this world, I could hardly stand or eat, the animal that did the appendix told me that I was under stress and that was the only reason why I was in such pain !

I nearly lost my life !
Now, ask me about bearing my own children because of STUPID NIGERIA FUCKED UP USELESS DOCTOR !!!!!!
And now, ANOTHER FOOL KILLED MY DAD BECAUSE HE WAS PROUD !

No problem , I will bury my dad on the 24, may my pain be yours if you fucking write shit .
REST IN PEACE DAD !
I'm sorry I failed you by letting mom visit for the surgery and left you alone in the hands of a worthless arrogant , African chimp of a doctor !

Thank you so much dear .
You said it all . I hope you all remembered the woman whose child was sliced like fruit and the woman later died with heavy deep cuts all over it's body .
Remember the person that cut her intestine was a QUALIFIED NIGERIA DOCTOR , he also failed to tell the woman what he did to her . Remember he asked the nurses to apply aboniki balm all over her !
The truth is some people should not be doctors .
Some of them are very proud even when a midwife does better jobs than them .
For those of you attacking him because he said the truth which is bitter for you, please go and sleep my friend !

Is high time someone sue some of the doctors for their behaviours .

And for those that are good, thank you all so much for everything .

Wait o o o white berry, what happened ?
I guess you wrote this comment in your dreams ?
Please is not by force to comment .

I love you so much for this question you asked !
Oya , come and give us the answer anon 11:18asked you guys .

Thank you !
I went through such and it became infected .

Thank you anon 10:40 .
Viva , where is a big difference between a DOCTOR & chemist .
Keep selling your drugs from mango basket, mostly vitamin C .

JUST LIKE THEY DID TO MY DAD !!!!!

Please someone help, what does a protective gear against lions look like? You lock up lions, you don't wear protective gears, durh. Your premise is faulty. Who rejects jobs in Nigeria? Where there are millions without jobs? You are devoid of reality.

I pray you don't become a victim dear . If you've ever loss someone because of the stupidity on the doctors side, your music will be a different tone .
Don't talk if you don't have any idea of what the debate was all about .

For real at what killed your baby ?
Sorry dear .

So sad to hear. Thank God you were able to go abroad for no 2. Same thing kind of happened to my baby as he could have taken in some meconium whilst coming out as the docs can't be too sure they monitored Him for 24 hrs before releasing us. This was in UK. I was even agitated at what the fuss was about. Did not know how lucky I am really.

millioo said...

Who d hell is this idiot with a useless response? I fit slap am, dude I'm sure u are not a doctor and u can't feel where d shoe pinches most, these doctors went to school and studied medicine, to save lives, not cos they love money so much, but cos they value human lives, unfortunately they enter reality, time to practice u realise there is no choice but to work with what is made available for u to work with, now tell me how u want to say no to an opurtunity to practice and earn, in ur heart u belive u will come into d system and make a change, but naaaaa, the people to blame is our govt, they have no value for human lives, the govt makes available all these equipment, they are very expensive. I've been a victim of wrong diagnosis, my fiance was diagnosed and was treated for ulcer, guess what he had cancer and died 1 month to our wedding! It hurt like a bitch, but I won't blame d doctors again, these guys go through shit and are hardly recognised for a job well done with little or no equipment and facilities, but yet they go to that damn environment and try to save some lives, u guys give them some credit jare, Mw I'm not a doctor, infact faaaar from it, ain't no time to be jacking book without light.

Do you know what an emergency is my dear?

People need to start suing. That's the only way everyone will sit up. EVERYONE! There are negligent doctors in every country. Not jst Nigeria abeg!linda enough of this doctor aguement abeg am tiref already jc

Linda thank u for dis write up.pls Nigerians b very crful nd ask guestions wen going to d hospital.85 percent of our doctors dont no wat dey are doing .iv experienced a lot so pls be on alert.may God bless Nigeria

Dear Mr Writer or shud I say Mr know it all.how exactly did u know u had typhoid? Wat test did u run? Cos typhoid is one of d misdiagnosed illness in Nigeria.every tom,dick n harry can supposedly do a widal test n viola it's typhoid(dats not how typhoid is diagnosed). Abt misdiagnosing lung cancer for asthma,pls which hospital was dat? Not wen u go to a cheap hospital probably run by a nurse or med lab scientist u blame doctors.Na wa oh.

I had a CS few months ago. About 2 pads were inserted to stop the bleeding,the OG told me why and dt I should ask the nurse to remove after six hrs. I removed it after 8 hrs myself. So Mr. Anonymous,it's possible to reach it.

Cardiac asthma.....that's heart failure my dear.
A couple of pple with htn have enlarged hearts.. it's a complication. I wouldn't know if she was mismanaged...but it seems unlikely.
I've seen a couple of heart diseases and the Prognosis ain't good.
And she probably didn't want to work in Nigeria cos...sincerely, sometimes, I feel our nurses, especially the trained ones can be treated better. What they do here is mostly what the docs tell them to do. I'm not sure, but I think they do a lot more than that abroad. She probably wasn't satisfied with the working conditions and environment.

I am certain that there are excellent doctors in Nigeria and i'd like you to know that too.

Attitude.....that's probably personal. you go to the market and the market woman shouts at you just because you are negotiating. How many people have never been insulted by bus conductors, especially in Ibadan. So..its everywhere. There are nice doctors and motherly nurses. I hope this changes your mindset.

85%. What study is this? Where and when was it conducted? References pls. Can you find any sense in what you are saying?

The doctor would "shout" malaria. Lol@shout. Pneumonia...lol again... Pneumonia seems to be replacing typhoid!!

"thinking like a road side mechanic".....that ain't fair. It is very disrespectful saying that to anyone, let alone some set of people who are living to help others live.... If only someone would just take u up on this.

and what's wrong with being a mechanic? Aren't they people? How exactly do they think? How do u think mechanics would feel if they read this? Or do u think they can't read?

I hope u'd see your wrong and apologise Linda.

Besides, some of these people aren't actually doctors. I know of a particular hospital where a nurse was actually consulting as a doctor. Male nurse actually...and several people addressed him as Doctor. Now, I wouldn't be surprised if he calls sepsis, malaria.

The challenge in the health sector is deeply rooted and wouldn't be sorted out here.

Antony 12:13 so the salary is too much? A film director right? You need a psychiatry evaluation oloun #linda'spal#

Thanks Dr, we know drs wen dey comment. Unlike d retard DT claimed to be working in US fr 10yrs! #linda'spal#

God bless you ma'am, see beefs. Since dey won't vote for a govt DT ll ensure free health, its doctors DT ll be footing their bills coz we want praises.

If you want to practice real medicine in a Govt owned hospital in Nigeria, e go hard o. The Teaching hospital you have just come from is badly equipped but far better. Diagnostic tools=zero. Labs= zero and fake results. Ordinary X-ray= patient has no money. As you continue the practice in the govt hospital, you will learn to do without investigations; before you know it, after 8 years, you'll start forgetting to tell patients to go for investigations even if they are now made available.......everything is just pathetic- the doctors, the patients, poor facilities, poverty, etc.

Oluwabukola said...

Are we even sure all these people complaining where being treated/seen by a Dr? Coz naija is filled Wt many Drs wanna be. Quacks owing hospitals everywhere (another short coming of d govt). As a female doctor people prefer and respect a male nurse more dan you. So why wont he operate u and forget pad when all he did was watch Drs do it! This writer has no point. In fact Linda should stop posting every article written by Drs hater coz you ll get more if you are open to such. As ur surest female pal no piss me off abeg, enough of ds post on drs. #linda'spal#

Nigeria, A Country were every body wants to see ur certificate and knw ur qualifications not ur capabilities. Our universities train doctors and Engineers who are theoretical geniuses, bt with little or no practical knowledge. Look around You, Majority of the politicians travel abroad on public funds for Medical Checkup and treatment, cos they knw they the condition they've put our hospitals and Universities. Can some one please point out any major Engineering breakthrough in Nigeria, If Our Engineering professors and their colleagues come together to build a bridge such as 3rd mainland. Would it have lasted for dis long? Would you even feel safe whn ur on it, look around U, most of d engineering works that stand out in  our major cities are not designed and built by Our engineers from scratch,yet we produce thousands of engineers annually only to become, bankers, keke drivers and anything dey can get their hands on, cos most of tha major engineering contracts are handled by foreign engineers, frm as little as road construction to high tech engineering works.  we invite the foreign companies and their bring expatriates to further decimate of our Naira and economy. Yes I agree, there are GOOD, sound, and intelligent  nigerian professionals (doctors , Engineers etc) bt majority of that is on Paper. In Reality most of that accounts for nothing, except you can live up to it, and I said "live up" not defend bcos our system trained us to defend our qualifications and yes Nigerians we can defend ehn, we are a population of 170million and U say some of our professionals are Good or able, if der are 50,000, or evn 100,000 capable ones against a population of 170million, (knowing everbdy requires quality healthcare) that figure won't even scratch the surface, meaning the others who are quacks will kill the lot of us, I'm sure most of us one way or the other hv lost loved ones to dis our so called "professionals on paper" either by doctors negligence, buildings collapsing, and many other ways.......We need to look within our selves and start to better ourselves, if u are a professional on paper that can function in reality because the system has forced constraints on you. Do the right thing, don't experiment with Nigerian lives because you have to eat or keep your head up in society.... else what your sitting on is a timebomb that's due to explode anytime soon. Nigerians let's take the fight to those who put us in this fix we are right nw,  the politicians who have indirectly killed millions of Nigerians by misappropriating funds meant for our development and sustain ability and demand they put the right policies in place and strategize on hw to mke the little things that matter to the common man work for us all. (Notice to doctors, people alwys remember that one mistake and will pin it on you even if u've saved a trillion lives, if you have a conscience it will hunt you too. Life is cruel, Do the best you can  all times, Consult people more knowledgeable than you,  and be professional at all times, what's d point of having the best doctor in the world if he cannot accommodate or tolerate a terrible patient. In Nigeria on the average 7out of 10 pple you meet are frustrated and hv one issue bothering their mind, try driving on the streets of lagos after work closes to know wht I mean. )

It was inserted per vagina (I believe u know why) , not left in the womb/abdominal cavity. At the end of it all, it's good that Nigerians are demanding good service. It's just that the rot has existed for 6 decades/even from the early design of our health systems. Blaming health workers solely is a disservice to the problem. I think govt has failed us and we, as citizens, have failed the system. I think health care administration (tertiary and secondary) should be privatized, with govts (fed and state) playing regulatory roles.

the first lined killed it, personally I have met excellent Doctors but the state of some hospitals are simply appalling, been to a few

Dr J said...

I'm very much saddened that after such detailed explanation by the last doctor, someone would write this; worse still, that such a person would be supported by others... like we all don't live in this same Nigeria. If doctors refuse to work because they're protesting the conditions of work that is currently not optimal, you'd say it's 'unethical' and 'wicked'. You'd say we should care more about the lives we've sworn to save. That's the cheap and quick blackmail we get. Yet, see you telling us to do same. If a doctor refuses to use a torchlight and make do with whatever he sees to save a life, you'd say he didn't try hard enough. Don't blame the government for anything, blame the doctors for everything. Don't blame the government for not having constant power, blame PHCN. Don't blame the government for terrorism, blame the Nigerian army. You'd call the dog a bad name just to hang it. It's totally fine to pick out one or two examples and generalise, it shows how objective you really can be... impressive! I wonder why you still bother going to the hospital since they're badly equipped and terribly staffed. Google up whatever the problem is. I'm sure you'd save more lives.

My dear tell them o

So you left since 10yrs and you have learnt all this things, my question to you is what are you still doing abroad, come back and help with all these idea you have. Infact I wont say more cos u r anonymous. Munch idiot fool

Thank you dear, I keep telling patients if you see a person with thyhiod fever you wont even wish the illness for your enemy. All those street labs keep deceiving them with thyphiod and staphylococcus.