Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 March 2015

Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter

So, this morning I got a stinker email from a group that wanted me to do something for them that I refused. I want to tell you guys what it is and you tell me if I was wrong. This is from me, Linda, by the way, and not a reader...lol.

You guys remember the airport cleaner Josephine Agwu, who found money inside one of the toilets at MMIA and returned it? (read here) Well, an NGO wrote to me and said they had opened a gofundme account for the lady for people to contribute money to her in appreciation of her honesty and wanted me to help them publicize the page and get you guys to donate. I told them no! Continue to read why I said no.

Now, you all know that I have used this platform to raise money for a lot of people. I have also personally contributed my own money to some of these people and to a few causes, so I'm really big on helping people and giving back but I have a problem with trying to raise money for someone just because they were honest. 

Are we not supposed to be honest? Don't get me wrong. If I see Josephine today face to face, I'd definitely give her money and a hug...but that's from me personally. Now, asking my readers to give her money when she's not sick and when she's gainfully employed and even had her salary increased recently, that one is a different matter. What was I supposed to tell you guys? Please dash money to this lady for returning money that doesn't belong to her?

Not only was her action recognized and appreciated, she was also rewarded by quite a few people and groups. And don't forget the thousands of prayers and well-wishes. Trying to raise money for her via gofundme is an overkill...I think! You don't have to agree with me.

This brings me to the question I asked those people when they sent me a mail insulting me (lol) for refusing to publicize the page. Was Josephine not supposed to return the money? Was it hers to keep? If you saw money that doesn't belong to you somewhere, would you keep it? Are we not supposed to return lost items we found? If you keep it, does that not make you a thief? If she'd taken the money and was later caught, would she not have been called a thief? Would she not have been sacked? If it was in public with uncivilized people, would she not have been lynched? Is returning lost property not the right thing to do? So why are some people glorifying this behavior so much like she did something unbelievably unheard of?

Has our society lost its morals so much that returning money that doesn't belong to you is now something that deserves to get you a gofundme page? *sigh*

I'm done. Let me move on to other things but what do you guys think?

1,024 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1024   Newer›   Newest»
ifeaka said...

dear linda u do have a point and i cnt fault ur decison,but der are some few point i wnt to share as well.u said she is gainfully employed for me dats not tru,u and i know dat in d society will liv now very few people will do wat she has done bt dat dosnt mean i approve stealing.personally anytin dat will b done to gv dat woman and her family a better life i am in full support of it.to send a strong message to Nigerians dat it pays to b honest.if as u have decided dat u dnt see a big deal in publicisin d account i respect dat decision of urs.bye

Malaysiame said...

Linda you have not done anything wrong:) what Josephine did was great๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘, but if people donates for her will this so called NGO give her the whole money??? I don't think so??? Nigerians use every opportunity to make money:))) that's in my own opinion....

I love ur decision and I feel it's an overkill raising money for d honest lady, she has been duly rewarded... I av been honest but no one gives me money... it clears my conscience... and it's a virtue we should all have

LIB said...

Linda I support u, haba. E do abeg.

???? You are 100% right in saying NO! Common! Ignore them. It's your blog and your rules! Finito!

Pumpkin

My dear u ve made the right decision, these r faceless NGOs looking for any slightest opportunity to exploit people.. Did she ask them to raise money for her?

@lindaboo what u did is very correct. Even read the owner of the cash gave her some money.to me that is more than enough. Even if she wasn't given anything God will reward her and good image is worth more than money. Why shud ppl start dashing her money when she isn't sick, jobless or begger. Naija wwe can like to over hype unnecessarily. Linda biko I need a job oo #married with a kid.

Linda, well done for saying "No". We lost out morals a longtime ago. Shame on gofundme.

Linda I am personally thanking u for refusing, WTH, do u need a gofundme page to be honest? Absolutely no!, next news biko

This is the first time I'm commenting since I started reading LIB.....I believe these people have another agenda. The woman didn't loose anything in doing what she did, instead she gained more. So why are they raising money for her????. Linda ignore them joor

Michael said...

I understand your position. It is indeed our responsiblity to be honest. However, rewarding honesty would go a long way in encouraging others to follow suit when they find money or other items that dont belong to them. Besides it wouldnt take anything from you to just put the advert of the gofundme page and let those who believe that honesty should be rewarded (despite the fact that we are "expected" to be honest) to go ahead and give her a token. Yes she is employed but think about it - she is a toilet cleaner. That money is enough to cover her two years annual gross salary at the least.

Believe me linda it takes a mountain of courage and honesty to return that kind of money. I think we should do everything to make others understand that it pays to be honest.

Although i think the group should not have sent you a stinker . That was totally immature of them.

Well done for sticking up and saying "No". Society lost its morals a long time ago.

But on the hand, u should ve publicized it nd let us decide for ourselves than deciding for us...

You re right Linda. But in a society like ours where doing the wrong thing (keeping the money) is usually lauded as the right thing to do, any display of integrity should be celebrated as much as possible. This would hopefully get us thinking the right way again. Also with the level of corruption is this country, we cannot celebrate integrity enough .They don't have the right to coerce you into doing this though coz you have a right to your own opinion

U did the right thing Linda.people should stop using every opportunity to make money.I am proud of u.thanks for sharing the story

Megoli said...

U dd a good tin abeg Linda u do well!dont u knw if u ve done dis some ppl Mait plan n mayb do a set up to b keep n s brother finds d money just to b recognized abeg carry go meanWhil try settle wth STELLA dimorko we dy Lenten period ......

I totally agree with you on this one Linda, she does any refund a public fundraising for a honourable act. Yeah she's been rewarded and ib think that's enough

Awon ole! GofundMe burn.

I hardly comment but I am compelled to do so in this situation. Nigerians need to learn that we are entitled t nothing. One of my mantras is "Nobody owes nobody"

I totally agree with you on this one Linda, she does any refund a public fundraising for a honourable act. Yeah she's been rewarded and ib think that's enough

I hardly comment but I am compelled to do so in this situation. Nigerians need to learn that we are entitled t nothing. One of my mantras is "Nobody owes nobody"

You are very right. No sentiments attached, that woman has been duly recognised. No doubt, her act was and remains commendable but she did what she was supposed to do. I love the set of questions you threw. Well articulated. I second your stance on this matter!!!

Linda u av spoken for the masses jooor.. Ur head is there jare and who knws these group might be using it for their own selfish interest

Linda u do well jare don't mind dem

419 people! If the woman is aware of this group using her name to solicit for funds,then she is putting her job on the line

nigeriaschool.com.ng said...

Ha, Now Honesty has a Price!

Dear Linda,

This people might just be some punk a** trying to leverage this woman honesty!!!

Come to think of it, a lot of people do GOOD things every day and they not paid, not to talk of being recognise. Even get a raise?

Linda, am so sure this is not coming from Mrs Josephine, the NOG must be a group of Organized Scammers.

Take note of their names in case they want to do this again using another method.

#nigeriaschool.com.ng

Lolz, this people are funny o. They want people 2 kill dia self 4 the woman? Just bcus she found n return what those not belong 2 her? Even after d salary raise, prayers n wishes. Is she not a christian? Abeg they should take several seat jor! Linda u are so right, don't mind them at all.

funny!!! Nigeria always use every single opportunity to make money. Believe at the end of the day the woman wont see quarter of the money donated.

You did well, I guess they're looking for a way to get some money out of it. If they're NGO they should go and do meaningful things that will help displaced children, widows,help child brides and stop rape not opening fund for someone who did what she's supposed to do. Linda those NGO whatever are lazy people. They can go to other blogs that are looking for recognition, so that they can force their readers to donate money for a woman who is gainfully employed.

Saadatu said...

You did the right thing dear.am really really worried on how peoples mind set works these days,no common sense,just the thirst for ways to make easy money.what are we teaching the younger generation.change should begin from every individual of the society,then we would sooner have good leaders as well.this lady has done her part.

My dear Linda, you did the right thing. If I were in your shoes, I will do same. I will not do it. Yes she did a good thing by returning the money. To me, that is the right thing to do. We as citizens of this world, no matter our continent must be our brother/ sister's keeper, care for one another and show love always. The NGO is over doing it. There are so many other causes that they can advocate for. Not this one. It is like thanking the government for providing us the citizens with basic amenities. That is the job of a government. smiley face:-)

Saying 'NO' was just they right thing to do, u also gave a very sounding reason in which I totally agree with. We dont have to encourage ourselves that way. It's a good thing for us all to be honest, God has d perfect reward for every good deed we do here on earth.

lizzy said...

I like what u did. Don't encourage such.

Productstan said...

you are right linda. she isn't sick. if to say na me, i for bless myself with the money lol.

Abeg Linda don't mind dem. Naija pple like making somtin out of Notin, maybe she is now looking for who will tell her to "go and die" so she can b rewarded with 2million naira like in d oshiomole case...lwkmd

YOU ARE 10 BILLIONS % CORRECT.

Linda you are on point. The way the Josephine woman is even going about it is somehow. After all she didn't know the content of the bag until it was searched by the airport officials. She doesn't strike me as a woman of integrity.

Emeritus said...

Linda you forgot to state that fraudsters are trying to take advantage of her honesty. Such NGO should be disbanded with immediate affect

Linda biko. Don't oo its fraud.
Besides you are right. That act is called civil responsibility which she carried out.

Fumfum said...

Well said linda.. Its good enough that she was honoured for her honesty. She's not begging us for sympathy. She has a job and a family. There are millions of people who are honest, who don't get rewarded for it.

You deserve commendation for your honest opinion Linda!..its very possible some folks r even trying to use that as an exploit means for themselves .I couldn't have agreed more to what u think!

I agree with gifts but raising money is illegal and thiefry jobless people want to feed off her. U can go there ask after her and give her money shikenah

Welldone Linda,am 100% behind u.

Prinzey Since Day 1 said...

You did the right thing linda, we shouldn't over praise her for her well doing, increase in salary, promotion and other bonuses she might have received is okay. The Ngo are trying to use her to make money for themselves.

I think u did d right think besides our people need to stop this self center attitude, and for d lady she should thank God that she got a reward self haba.

I strongly agree with u on dat

the gofundme people are interested in what they will make out of what will be donated . after collecting the money they will give the poor woman peanut knowing fully well that she has not seen such after all she was earning only 7k b4 the incident.

Yahoo boys @ it again.Crazy mofo's!

My linda your action is right please don't agree to open the fund page because those insulting you for this are having other plans please don't so they don't come back to give you a bad name....

Mesky Da ImoFirstSon said...

Linda dnt mind them,u are right jare

Linda bear that in mind

Linda, I agree with you 100%. You are a very intelligent lady. Maybe they have ulterior motive, because it doesn't make sense to start raising money for her because she returned money that doesn't belong to her

very well said linda! she did wat she ought to do and was duly compensated. setting up a gofundme page will be ridiculous and being naive.

Actually you're quite right...never thought of it like that. Anyways, I will email you this week about a charity my colleagues and I are looking to support. Hopefully you are able to help publicize it.

You are right for saying no.
It's probably people trying to use her story to get money.

right move Linda.
the woman probably wouldn't see a dime of that money.

....THE ARCHITECT....

Linda, I support your decision. You did the right thing. I think these people have their own motives and are just using this situation as an opportunity. All these NGOs self. most of them are fake

Flora said...

If I hear... D gofundme peeps are tryin 2 fund demselves rather... Dis isn't evn smtin dat one shld argue abt... Raise funds 4 her ke, evn afta gettin rewards 4 returning d money, plus she's a salary earner.. Given, mur dan 70% of peeps, esp Nigerians won't return dat moni, but she did, and she's been rewarded, so, wat is gofundme's issh??

Pele Linda. That's the reality of the world we live in. People don't want you to say no to them. They can't handle it. Many people believe they are always right and just cant seem to see things from the point of view of others. Its your blog. You dont owe anyone no explanations. Do what you think is right and life will be much better than when you are trying to please others. Its not worth it. Don't worry Linda, be happy.

Gelobs said...

Linda u did d right thing

ayodolapo said...

I think u lost it on this one. Many people won't return that money. Girl, this is Nigeria, in my opinion u can't call her a thief because she didn't steal from anyone. She did a noble thing by returning d money and so therefore she deserves d reward she's getting.

It's good u rejected it who knows may be after collecting dat money, they will not give it to the woman. U know some people use opportunity to steal from people. Is a good thing she did n has taught us moral lesson. God bless her.

the govt can dash her something or give her a better job if she's capable of doing it. enough of this story already, gofundme is not necessary here at all

Engee said so..

Via Techno

don't mind them, i suspect they might 419 using the woman as bait

It's good u rejected it who knows may be after collecting dat money, they will not give it to the woman. U know some people use opportunity to steal from people. Is a good thing she did n has taught us moral lesson. God bless her.

Waoo pls help them and post it so that this can motivate our people to do the right thing

That's what our society has turned to where everyone deserves respect or mouthpiece for doing what's normal. When u use your platform to celebrate politians who are meant to repair roads,hospitals ,how do you think they won't ask you to do this. It's sad that a nation like Nigeria is now begging for recognition for every good that comes out in the open. We shd all default back to being honest and good,and not demand to be celebrated for doing the right thing. Sorry they sent you a stinker . Have fun

Debora chidume said...

Am not sure they are genuine ,may be a circle of fraudsters decided to use that platform to dupe innocent people. Dnt mind them
visit deborachidume.blogspot .com

Heard it was a set up. Just making herself popular. No declaration of loss b4 and shes d only staff who is always finding money as if it is kept in her custody. Anyway or anyhow, man must chop

I agree with you linda.

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

U did the right right thing

How are we even sure the gofund peeps are genuine.

Might prolly be some group of miscreants wanting to make cheap money

Rubbish

Well if you didn't want to publicize the "gofundme page" then you shouldn't have come here to seek your readers opinion on if your decision was right or wrong.
It's your decision my lady, stick to your guns. You don't need anyone's opinion to justify if it's wrong or right.......

Alex said...

u ve said it all o... its as if we have sunk to a level where no one is honest in this country again... Or some pple are looking for how to make money from this???
i think the latter is the case, we have many honest pple in this country.... so lobbying for this is just a case of lost values and greed....
gofundme.com should even disqualify that account, its not just justifyable

I bet the NGO felt it was a smart way, playing on peoples sympathy to make some quick money, how are we sure all the donations would go to her. Why didn't they just ask for the lady's account number and donate whatever money they want to to her after which they can seek her permission and place an advert to other well wishers who want to donate!

Share the 'stinker' with us

yetty said...

For me I don't support the fact that they want people to donate but not for your reasons. It does not just sound right and not an ideal thing to do. Shez not even the one asking for help it a group asking on her behalf, it just absurd!

Krix said...

Thank u Linda on this matter! Personally I dont like to be praised when I do what am suppose to do. I've seen good money (well wrapped dollars)in an airplane toilet sometime ago when I was traveling to China for business, the only thing I did was to give the money to an air hostess who after consulting with d pilot, announcement was made for the owner to come for proof and take his money. even d owner of d money don't know who picked his money from d toilet coz I chose to be anonymous. Last year I lost my BB Porsche in a train in Germany , when I called the number, a German answered and sent it to my friend by post. This are d basic things we should do for our fellow man. Believe me those guys that insulted u are scammers,opportunist,their motive is to reap where they did not sow.

Krix via iPhone 6 gold

First, if you help this group in question, some of us will support it but same time if you choose not to, we should not crucify you for it. Your kindness and generosity should be appreciated not taken for granted. Almost all of us will agree you have shared your riches with quite a lot of people, I am even one of those that thinks its getting too much. Yes a honest woman can be appreciated and rewarded which already happened, I don't remember a group or a government unit being responsible for dashing you this platform, people should not feel they have a right to tell you what to do whenever they feel like it. The group can contribute money and send to the woman, they can also advertise in any newspaper if they want, contribution to a honest woman should not be forced on blog readers, we respect her, we thank her, and we are happy she got a lot for her honesty but its not like she is dying, there are a lot of people poorer than her with no employment. Linda you should have a thick skin by now, insults, I'm sure comes with the job, brush it off. God bless the honest woman, God Bless ya too o jare Linda. Anybody can diss me, I dont care much and I dont think you are wrong Linda.

OlayinkaSmatt said...

Linda, im 100% in support of ur line of thought, opinion and ur stand on that. Perhaps, whch bloody NGO cld dat b ? I bet they want you to do that jus to earn themselves cheap popularity via your plattform nd im sure you get a lot of such bizare mails.Lol. She "d cleaner" did what is right and not what is outta ds world....not like ders not a srzconsequence if she did otherwise. It is well....
On a lightter note...u inspire me...Lol.
Smatt.

I 100% support you. Honesty pays.

You're spot on Linda, very well reasoned-out and absolutely no contest.
On top of your logical rationalization, I can assure you that a single Kobo of such money raised will not even find its way to the woman in question.Trust me.
So well done, girl.

Krix said...

Thank u Linda on this matter! Personally I dont like to be praised when I do what am suppose to do. I've seen good money (well wrapped dollars)in an airplane toilet sometime ago when I was traveling to China for business, the only thing I did was to give the money to an air hostess who after consulting with d pilot, announcement was made for the owner to come for proof and take his money. even d owner of d money don't know who picked his money from d toilet coz I chose to be anonymous. Last year I lost my BB Porsche in a train in Germany , when I called the number, a German answered and sent it to my friend by post. This are d basic things we should do for our fellow man. Believe me those guys that insulted u are scammers,opportunist,their motive is to reap where they did not sow.

Krix via iPhone 6 gold

Dejojo said...

Ure right Linda, pple bring up all sorts of petty reasons to raise funds for unjustified causes.

Do not concede to this idea, Nigerians are hustlers and would end up sharing that money amongst themselves and finally giving the honest woman peanuts. #justmyopinion

You re very right linda..dont be surprised that they want to use the avenue to steal...

And its now a big deal to return what's not yours? Naija, corruption is d order of d day, dats Y dey r reacting dis way, too bad, good u refuse, I just don't get, and a lot of pipo will b wishin dey saw it, so dey'll become rich overnight, y d owner will suffer d loss, too bad...

linda you have just gained another level of respect from me
you go girl! talk about principles

Linda, you did the right thing and I totally agree with you......Alot of people are so funny and maybe the caused factor is the level of the way we think nowadays......when someone does what is right and correct, people are amazed!!! Take for example when a sitting government does their normal duty for the people, they think its a favour and make alot of noise about them, WHat is really our duties as individuals, citizens, and government of this great nation?........Linda, I so love your blog, please dont let the greed of some people kill it 4 you oooo...Great work, pls keet it up...

You talk too much Linda or what are you called.

Golden Fortune said...

'Er we not supposed to be honest? ' Linda said so.

Dear miss linda, I think you did the right thing. The lady in question had only two choices when she found the money either to take the money and later get caught, sacked, humiliated and probably arrested or to return it and recieve gratitude. She made the right choice (for herself) and was even rewarded for it. So please are we supposes to pay perfectly sane woman money for making the right choice for herself? Please it's not like she is sick. People can be so annoying. Insulting dear linda just cos she wont reduce the potency of her blog. Miss linda if you had done this people who really need help in the future from your blog will probably not get it cos your readers would overlook the post

U are very correct Lindodo. Y should dey b askn forr moni . Abbegi make dem go rest n look for sometin beta to do wt dere tym

You are definitely right Linda. You did the right thing

I think they are 419ers with fake NGO. Trying to use ur platform to milk ur readers and fans.

#anything can happen

Instead of them to give her a good reward, they have her less then 10k naira increase,.,Now they want people to contribute, it's good you didn't put it on here cos it doesn't warrant contribution but she's a very honest woman though.They should give her correct money and stop using brain.

Linda,u r so so right,she has got enof reward.
Chy berry

sophia said...

Nigerians can be funny donate money 4 wetin,bcos she return money,but she no sick naa

Baconyx Chris said...

My Dear Linda, I am 100% in support of your actions. Infact, I am much suspicious of this so called gofundme page and people. They could be scammers trying to use the opportunity of the media foray on the lady's good deed to dupe people. Please, don't oblige to such request because, for me, what the woman did, is more on her morality and her conscience and I know she wasn't expecting anything in return, but as it turned out, that people appreciated her, then I believe she is content. if the so called NGO was so in need to appreciate her, let them give her from their purse and let you be.

No way! What nonsense! Nigerians sha. Mtchewwww. When they r dozens of helpless persons that needs such funds. Hypocrisy won't kill Nigerians sha! Oye oshi

Dats tru. It's an honest act bt nt something dat require donation frm oda pple, cauz she was suppose to return dat money for her own gud

Don't mind dem jare, dey r also doing it 4der pocket jare. If dey do dis successfully, it means dey wl do it 4 anoda person nxt tym wh is wrong. R salary as bn increased n sm NGO's also gave r smtin, I think dat is enof jare . Wt all dat v bn done 4 dwoman, it wl also motivate odas

hotgirl said...

dont mind thewm..
thieves...at the end of the day they will give her change...opportunists.

I support you 100%. u see that is why people abroad do not want to come home, the society is traumatised with indecent behaviour, so much that when somebody behave with sanity, like that lady, it looks extra ordinary. well I suspect foul play, those people might just want to use her name to get money in their pocket.Those are the bad egg ruining the society. Linda follow your heart.

They should rest biko! Not like she's sick or dying. God bless her for her sincerity.

You did the right thing Linda. Well done

You did the right thing Linda! It is only God that can bless such honest people in His way. It is really not a big thing if one return a lost item. The world is so corrupt that's why people think she did the impossible by returning the money.

LINDA LINDA....why are you disturbing yourself? You took the perfect decision.....imagine how stupid the who fund-raiser will sound.....oya I have been very honest for a while now....please I need your donations to keep it up.....linda next time they mail you....open it and dance shoki then delete it!

True what she did is what we all are meant to do if such arises am happy people have shown appreciaition to her sincerity but a fund account for being honest????????????????????????????

NMaa said...

The gofund wateva na theives. Na she send them? Ndi oshi nwuru awu

Linda, I have never commented on your blog before but this write deserves a comment. The lady did exactly what she was supposed to do - return the money. You did right by declining to help raise funds. Disregard the silly NGO folks. Their request was plain ridiculous!

Linda i think you did just the right thing. I mean why should we take this out of proportion. Honesty should be a lifestyle and not an avenue to exploit others.Like you said, Nigerians and even her employers have sang her praises, i think that is the best celebration on can get.

Linda u responded well hare no mind dem. She returned money dat dint belong2her so u shld not be forced 2do wat u personally don't want to do

Jasmin said...

Linda, you're absolutely right in your thinking. The very fact that people are demanding a reward for simple honesty shows how low we've sunk in this nation. Please ignore the little minds who disagree with your sound understanding of this matter. Simple honesty should be the rule, not the exception.

oneheart said...

even though i am an ardent follower of your blog and several times i have had words on the tip of my tongue to comment on some topics i found interesting but i never got around to doing it.
It is a moral obligation on every individual to be honest, however in this hard times when one has been honest despite personal needs and societal influences that does not encourage honesty it is necessary to encourage individuals to be honest.
Another case in issue is that the said lady is the breadwinner of her family and is now currently on a meagre salary of 15000 which you and i know cant even take an individual far, talk more of someone who is the family's breadwinner.
furthermore the lady in question has been exceptional as it is reported that this is the third time she is exhibiting her honesty and she does this without expecting anything in return, remember she is not the one pleading for money but some people are doing that on her behalf.
Finally, certain times in life, nature throws at us certain people whom is our responsibility to uplift irrespective of our own status because in uplifting them we uplift a thousand others to the overall benefit of the society.

Bashy said...

I tink the best thing the NGO should do is to help her get a better job than dat of cleaning.Bashy said so

Linda,

I think you are an AH. Believe me.

She tried. ..but opening a fund raising page is actually too much. ...u did good to turn dem down...We re suppose to return items that are not ours...so its actually not a big deal mehn.

Gofundme my a**! First of all, its yur blog. U hv d ryt to say 'no' or 'yes' to whoeva u want to... N secondly, it doesn't make sense to me either... #jorgepower

Linda, I support you 100%. Since the woman is not incapacitated or disabled, I don't see any reason for funds to be raised for her. In addition, I recommend the Federal Govt should give her a National award for such outstanding behaviour.

What we do not realise about the whole thing is that the lady dint even know what was contained in the bag when she took it to the FAAN security's. so whats the force about her "honesty".

Nothwistanding, i think she should be rewarded - and this has already been done.

This NGO just want to exploit her..in my opinion.

What we do not realise about the whole thing is that the lady dint even know what was contained in the bag when she took it to the FAAN security's. so whats the force about her "honesty".

Nothwistanding, i think she should be rewarded - and this has already been done.

This NGO just want to exploit her..in my opinion.

Electronic City said...

D money is not for Josephine but the NGO wants to use her. Moreover, if there is ever a post like that, won't contribute coz it really does not make sense. Ndi mmadu sef, odiegwu!

Endydecency said...

No mind them, there are not genuine people. They just what to use that avenue to swindle money from the public for there own interest. Fraudsters.

Linda really like what u did. Nigerian's are just so annoying when it comes to begging. How does being honest got to do with ppl contributing money for her . As for me it's a big NO

Anderson FOX said...

Lind, I wonder why it is difficult for you to identify 419ners. If 419 idiot ask of something and u hesitate or refuse, they are always so easily thrown up in anger and next they start talking like ashawo.
So do good and report them to EFCC for proper checks on them.

Linda try to post this comment. You are so crazily selfish. Everything you do will benefit you one way or the other. Thats your life. Very manipulative. Very selfish. But I need not worry. You will get what's coming to you. Stop deceiving people.

Dr Pure said...

#trutalk problem is most people dont have morals to lose which is really sad

The Lady said...

i think u did the right thing, Linda. They probably might not have given the money to her eventually afterall will the account be open in her name and would she have direct access to it. Please shift+ignore the NGO.....mayb we should even investigate them sef !

I say Good choice on turning down their request. it may have come from a good place (or not) but it's misplaced. Rewarding people financially for otherwise simple virtue is not a good idea. So of I return a wallet I should get a gofundme page? I don't think so. A sincere 'thank you' would suffice and that would be the last of it.

That you were 'insulted' for your refusal to publicise is laughable.

Keep on Keeping On

amina said...

Well said ma dear....yh she did d rite tin by returning d money,soooo pple do such tinz everyday,are dey even trying to spoil naija by implying dat its rare for 1 to return missing money n wenever any1 does we shld open a "gofundme"page abi lmao...those pple
are looking for a way to make money out of d issue....i knw a napep guy dat returned 500k bck to a passenger he carried n refused to collect d tank u gift d guy offered..... seriously a "gofundme" page..nigerians sha.

Obviously yhe motive is fraudulent

Linda are u not a Nigerian? Pple don't return things.My phone fell frm my car n d person who picked it said it has cease to be mine. What d woman did is a big deal. Very few pple wil do dat especially as a junior staff. Recall dat her salary was 7,500

Linda are u sure they are not scammers re u sure the woman knows what they re even doing with her name ...

Obviously yhe motive is fraudulent

Blaaady idiats....fools all of them....what raabbisssh!

Ya'll knw josephine regrets returning dat money ryt ?? Remember she did not know d content b4 she called security
Onyi diesel

Ralph Ufere said...

Linda u actually did the right thing...The problem with some Nigerians is that,some people are gud in taking advantage of every opportunity dat comes their way...jst like the missing Chibok girls...the bring back our girls campaign was actually 4 gud...but trust Nigerians...some made money and fame out of the campaign...Some even used it to settle political scores...

#raphealufere@yahoo.com#

Efemena Sowho said...

LOOL...Ds z sooo #Laughable...smh,Linda..u did d right thing jawe!

This lady has done well, i think ,they should give her a flight ticket to travel to Dubai or any country of choice on holiday.

i always tell my friends that there are still some good people among Nigerian,

BUT they think, there is no more good people.they think we are the same super duper, it is not so ,

it is depend on how you want to re educate yourself.

i live in London , some people think that all the Nigerian were addicted to birthday parties celebration

but , i have never done any party or celebrate birthday or anything , this is my thirty two years in UK.

i just prefer to live my life quietly , i do not want anybody to help me calculate the day i was born .

so i do not celebrate birthday.
BECAUSE ,i have my own way of celebrating , by painting MY HOUSE AND MAKE MY KITCHEN LOOK GOOD and buy myself a very good bed sheets and sleep there like a kitten,

there are some of my friends who hire an expensive hall to do heavy birthday party ,

but find it difficult to change the dirty carpet or the useless pot they use to cook food to their mouth.

You are so hopeless @ enabling comments

hadibams@facebook.com said...

GBAM. I agree with you 100%. As laudable as her action was, it should not be over-glorified. I also suspect some dishonest element trying to fleece the public with that site.

Hmm actually ur ryt linda she could have kept the money but the ryt thing to do was return it the whole world can't pay someone for not being a theif

My take on this is She needs to be rewarded to encourage others to do same. At least a sign of appreciation. I was once in sure situation, years back 350k, only #500 was given to me, so I regretted returning it because I was badly looking for the owner for weeks and wasn't appreciated the way I expected it so I guess, appreciating encourages others to do same

Linda u are correct and ur actions are right,she did the right thing so let's not make a big deal of that.

Berry said...

They're thieves themselves, they're just pushing cos the will benefit and gain recognition

Linda u are correct and ur actions are right,she did the right thing so let's not make a big deal of that.

#Lindaalltheway.... God bless ur soul

Fortune Esiobu said...

For you to have put it up on your blog means it is news and not ordinary says my common sense. That your instinct refused their request doesnt mean you are right! You would ve as well given 100 reasons why donations should be made for her if ur instinct was affirmative. Everybody is bloody right!

Linda you wouldn't have replied them walahi. The are mad people looking for how to get money for themselves. Nonsense people. She would've kept the money na if it's her father's

My dear, don't mind Nigerians.
It seems honesty is unheard of here that's why they are overreacting.

Now they want to exploit the general public because of a good deed. Does it still make it a good deed?

Na dem get their mouth #strolls away

Dear Linder, you did the right thing. 'Go and rub powder abeg.' People would want to use any means possible to enrich themselves. Believe me you, those guys want to make some money for themselves. This is the fact- the TRUTH. Let us all stand for justice! God bless Mrs Josephine. Everyone learn from her!

Dr Pure said...

#trutalk, problem is most peeps dont have morals to lose in the first place

Wow. Linda, this is amazing, not only that you're right, u also gave enough reasons to ponder on, why to do right always. Yes it would have been worse if she stole it and later caught. She did the right thing and her kind gesture didn't go unappreciated. Donating money to her by the public is an OVERHYPE and highly overrated.

Linda! Ask dem na LIB money she find? That NGO must be 419 group or they don't know their priority abeg. A won oponu.

Is she the first person to see money and return it......so why should people raise money for her.....linda thank God you didn't accept the offer....what rubbish

Yes O sister Linda am with u on this one. They have given d woman what they have and they want public money. Which one will she nw receive from God? I think does NGO needs money too.

Linda!!!
Nice write up
Seriously if God was human e would have said what u said also
Dats just d best tin u did
Case dismiss
#lobatan

Yes O sister Linda am with u on this one. They have given d woman what they have and they want public money. Which one will she nw receive from God? I think does NGO needs money too.

Who d hell r these"go fund me" people. If ur a charity, n u want publicity or funds show wt you have done in d past n good meaning people will fund u.
Why capitalise on dis woman , as if all d money recovered will b given to her. Am sure she isnt even aware. Though d money for her good wrk myt nt equal wt she found, wts d fucking pt of doing gud if ur looking for an equal reward.
Who d hell r these "go fund me"? R they a registered charity? Mke dem go take several seats. Retarded people every where ....long hiss .mke dem go tell d money owner to de gve her salary till she die cos she find lost item

NEKKY said...

Crazy people! Linda ignore them.

You were wrong. It's not the fact that she returned the money that's the issue, it's the fact that here is a woman who despite doing eveything right in her life is still making breadcrumbs in a society that can afford to pay her more. Even with her raise she's still making breadcrumbs.

She is an inspiration to others in a country where corruption is king. If a lot of money is raised for her, it will serve as inspiration for others, and inspire them to be honest, and hardworking.

You were wrong for doing what you did because your blog is a platform to help raise awareness. You are a woman that worked hard to get where you are, so why not help to lift another woman up?

Linda think about it long and hard, and stay humble.

Just my two cents

Ben Okoye said...

Nnne, you are spot on on your refusal to do their bidding.Them wan open office for the woman head

My dear u did well they ar just looking for an opportunity to defraud people dont mind them there insults will go back to them

Sylvonce said...

I think u did d right thing Linda and because there are just few good people on this planet earth, it's nice to b alarmed by d gesture of "these few gud people". Am sure d lady in question is not even bothered abt d reward. It's those that are looking for hw to squander money dt are drinking panadol for her. Her reward is great in heaven. Honesty pays. U might not get d reward immediately but wen u do, it comes out big.

Linda we must not argree with u all the time.in a country like Nigeria and all its corruption a country where our politicians steal billions and walk freely.Mrs josphine deserves more Linda,we need to encourage people how to be honest and appreciate the ones that do, such that people can learn from it.I as an individual will donate should you decide to put up a page and account details for such.however that does not give the group a right to insult u as u are entitled to your opinion as well as what u choose to put up on ur blog.let's all learn and appreciate gud people around us however little.the so called increment on her salary ain't gud enough.she deserves more.

Why u complain u lots the say u understand ur selves

Am very sure the woman in concern doesn't even know about this nonsense, well said MsLin, the prayers and other things she got is enough.

Lol. Some people can be funny sha.

lolllz, linda dear I love d way u say things as dey are. I support u full time on dis issue. Really our society has lost value

Ur tot is my tot! Its actually weird to hear such from people who would have stolen the money if they were in her shoes. Ndi one chance

don't mind them.. hatterz..

Wooow Linda I agree with you. Not only that you're right about the stand but you also gave us enough reasons to ponder on. She did the right thing and her kind gesture didn't go unappreciated. Donating money to her by the public is an OVERHYPE and highly.

SMURF said...

Linda atleast u shld have tried to tell ur readers and not assume for pple if there are willing to give her, then you would have specified if u are willing to dash her pls do!!!

Linda you are 100 percent right. Glad to know there are still a few principled people around. When you discuss with a lot of people you really fear for this country's future.

I think, the gofundme initiators just wanted to cash in on the lady's honesty to raise some money and definitely get some cuts from it or even embezzle all of it. Lots of scammers everywhere

A simple no as u have said is enough, but going tru all this process spoiled everything, there are some point u raised that is very annoying, is more like u are proud and blowing ur own trumpet...... U effed up very well, we no u are rich but u don't hv to paint it on our face...........ppl get blessed in various way, maybe its her own time, u making it sound as if she did nothing good, wch is all wrong...... Like i said earlier, a simple no would hv been better, u didnt hv to involve the whole world

I agree with Linda, it will be an overkill. Honesty should be applauded as has already been done with the lady, it's enuf for that side....there are people in need of money biko those ' NGO' people should raise awareness for sick and real poor people if they are looking for work.

Royal Priestfool said...

Linda, that's what happens when 99.9% of a country population are criminals including leaders.

I personally think she has been duly appreciated,
So no need for further contributions towards her been honest.
Or do want to open a foundation for honest people?

I no dey hate

Segun Coker said...

LINDA JUDGE THIS YOURSELF,HOW MUCH MONEY WAS THE REWARD IN A COUNTRY WHERE DISHONESTY IS THE OTHER OF THE DAY,YOU SAID IN YOUR LAST STATEMENT ;Has our society lost its morals so much that returning money that doesn't belong to you is now something that deserves to get you a gofundme page?
YES OUR SOCIETY HAS LOST IT ALL AND WE DONT HAVE HONEST PEOPLE ANYMORE,THEY INCREASE HER SALARY TO 15,000 WHICH HAS NOT BEEN EFFECTIVE AND THEY SAID THEY WILL HONOR HER IN A COUNTRY WHERE PEOPLE ARE SUFFERING,LINDA AM NOT IN SUPPORT OF YOU ON THIS ONE AND I AM NOT SAYING YOU SHOULD PUBLICIZE HER ON YOUR PAGE BUT SAYING WE SHOULD ALL BE HONEST AND GETTING A REWARD LIKE THAT IS UNBELIEVABLE,WHAT IF SHE TOOK THE MONEY AWAY AND SHE DIDNT GET CUT ,WE SHOULD LEARN HOW TO APPRECIATE PEOPLE AND GIVE THEM WHAT THEY DESERVE COS GIVING HER 500,000Naira OUT OF THE MONEY OR EVEN THE 400,000Naira on it IS NOT TOO MUCH FOR HER HONESTY,NOW YOU KEEP SAYING IS HONESTY NOT WHAT WE SHOULD DO IN A COUNTRY LIKE NIGERIA,that one is story for the gods linda,i can bet with you that out of 1000 LIB readers on here,we can only have 1% that will return such money,SEARCH YOUR HEART EVERYONE AND BE SINCERE WITH YOURSELF.....i rest my case.

wura ola said...

419 obviously

Perfectly correct

I totally agree with you Linda...I am so proud of you..besides the woman may not even get a kobo from the gofundme websites sef!

My dear, you are so right. Honestly should be a normal thing.

Jblinks said...

When it has come to money issue, most people won't comment. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! It's her right to return the money... did she know d amount in d bag or briefcase? how can she carry such a huge amount out of d airport without being noticed... she might hav returned it due to d fact dat she could even steal it without being caught. well kudos to her and Linda u can publish it, if good samaritans pay money to her, it's her luck. They can also give u a percentage since you blog is being used as an avenue to generate wealth. Lol

nawa o

and if an ontibo man saw this he will definately know that Nigeria is so corrupt that even when someones picks up lost item and returns then he/she is like the new jesus.

to me ... there is nothing wrong about your having to refuse

Linda u r stupid for this post. Just look at the way u r talkin abt someones mother as if shes ur mate. BITCH.

Linda you are right,you've spoken well jare....am with you on this

Linda u r stupid for this post. Just look at the way u r talkin abt someones mother as if shes ur mate. BITCH.

linda you did the right thing, i totally agree with you, How are we sure is not 419

Linda I respect you so much as a young lady doing your own thing. In this case I totally agree with your views, she did what she ought to have done. Thank you for not accepting that idea. God bless.

Ignore them Linda. They are desperate jobless opportunists who want to generate money from the lady's honesty and they want to use you to achieve their goal. So sad and sick. The lady in question has being rewarded adequately. Your decision to say no is good. They are jobless.

Raphael Ndulaka said...

I totally agree with you,d guys behind this just want to enrich themselves using this woman as a platform.

Ur view is supported, don't mind some pple dat will always want to take advantage of others.

She need to be celebrated because she is honest and dedicated. The idea of raising fund for her is a good one, this will encourage other Nigerians to be more honest. Geraldox gerry

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1024   Newer› Newest»