Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 21 March 2015

Biko, my dear LIB readers, help me weigh in on this matter

So, this morning I got a stinker email from a group that wanted me to do something for them that I refused. I want to tell you guys what it is and you tell me if I was wrong. This is from me, Linda, by the way, and not a reader...lol.

You guys remember the airport cleaner Josephine Agwu, who found money inside one of the toilets at MMIA and returned it? (read here) Well, an NGO wrote to me and said they had opened a gofundme account for the lady for people to contribute money to her in appreciation of her honesty and wanted me to help them publicize the page and get you guys to donate. I told them no! Continue to read why I said no.

Now, you all know that I have used this platform to raise money for a lot of people. I have also personally contributed my own money to some of these people and to a few causes, so I'm really big on helping people and giving back but I have a problem with trying to raise money for someone just because they were honest. 

Are we not supposed to be honest? Don't get me wrong. If I see Josephine today face to face, I'd definitely give her money and a hug...but that's from me personally. Now, asking my readers to give her money when she's not sick and when she's gainfully employed and even had her salary increased recently, that one is a different matter. What was I supposed to tell you guys? Please dash money to this lady for returning money that doesn't belong to her?

Not only was her action recognized and appreciated, she was also rewarded by quite a few people and groups. And don't forget the thousands of prayers and well-wishes. Trying to raise money for her via gofundme is an overkill...I think! You don't have to agree with me.

This brings me to the question I asked those people when they sent me a mail insulting me (lol) for refusing to publicize the page. Was Josephine not supposed to return the money? Was it hers to keep? If you saw money that doesn't belong to you somewhere, would you keep it? Are we not supposed to return lost items we found? If you keep it, does that not make you a thief? If she'd taken the money and was later caught, would she not have been called a thief? Would she not have been sacked? If it was in public with uncivilized people, would she not have been lynched? Is returning lost property not the right thing to do? So why are some people glorifying this behavior so much like she did something unbelievably unheard of?

Has our society lost its morals so much that returning money that doesn't belong to you is now something that deserves to get you a gofundme page? *sigh*

I'm done. Let me move on to other things but what do you guys think?

1,024 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1024   Newer›   Newest»

They are scammers...they too need the money don't be surprise she might not get the details on this deals

TripleC SDK BlogBoo said...

IkejiLinda H R Sounding very hash

Linda I agree with u 100%....good thing she did it but that was what she should have done anyway...
And I think those people trying to raise funds for her are pushing it and trying to use the money for their own benefits...Now poor Naija people will donate money and she will stop working abi cos she was honest..I beg make I hear

Temmy said...

Linlin in dt country and in many countries wht she did was exceptional even though it's supposedly 'normal' and as such shd b encouraged. U shd have publicized it and let pple decide if they want to give or not. U cud even express ur reservations but u shd still have publized it. My only grouse is dis pple opening acc for d lady are probably doing it for their own selfish reasons. I remember seeing a 4 year old on d streets of PH wit one of dz 'humanitarian' groups. He had Hydrocephalus. I didn't give a dime but I made calls to my frnds in Lasuth to ensure d boy had a free surgery and was ready to pay for his flight frm ph to lagos. My pple do u know I kept calling and calling this group and dey left d line cold?! D head of d grp was supposedly a pastor. It was later dt one of d guys working wit me told me doc, stop disturbing urself, all dis grp want is d money. They then go ahead and share it wit d 'victim'.

My dear
I saw something like that on Facebook, where an NGO was trying to raise N12m for the woman, and yea, I think they're over hyping the matter.

Seriously Linda, bringing the issue here is not needed, they asked you and you said no, end of story. Are you trying to elicit comments from your readers to justify your reasons. Totally unnecessary.

Mayor said...

Shut up

Fraudsters !

Tried to play on your intelligence : thank God you said no.

The consequences of a "yes" would have been shattering to you and your image afterwards. Be brave girl !

Linda, i'll take your side on this one. The NGO probably wanted to enrich themselves someway. You people should leave Linda alone ooooooo. She doesn't do things right sometimes, but she knows what she's doing most of the time.

mary nwa mama said...

Linda I am right behind you on your stand. You gave the best response. You see that's the situation we are in. Nigeria is very corrupt and the people in it are too. What happened to credibility, you found a lost item and returned it, and you were commended for such a good act and on top of it got a salary increase. Is that not enough? Why don't they promote her maybe to a post of supervisor bcos of her honesty. Nigerians can use any slightest opportunity to enrich themselves by duping the public. The woman already said she's grateful for the increase in salary and would wish for a better job

He hehe. I totally agree with you

Temmy said...

Linlin in dt country and in many countries wht she did was exceptional even though it's supposedly 'normal' and as such shd b encouraged. U shd have publicized it and let pple decide if they want to give or not. U cud even express ur reservations but u shd still have publized it. My only grouse is dis pple opening acc for d lady are probably doing it for their own selfish reasons. I remember seeing a 4 year old on d streets of PH wit one of dz 'humanitarian' groups. He had Hydrocephalus. I didn't give a dime but I made calls to my frnds in Lasuth to ensure d boy had a free surgery and was ready to pay for his flight frm ph to lagos. My pple do u know I kept calling and calling this group and dey left d line cold?! D head of d grp was supposedly a pastor. It was later dt one of d guys working wit me told me doc, stop disturbing urself, all dis grp want is d money. They then go ahead and share it wit d 'victim'.

Lindodo i agree with you all the way.Go fund me ko,Go fund me ni!Thats how people just keep encouraging bad behaviour everywhere.Nigerians are so morally bankrupt.Really sad

Hmm I agree and disagree because although what she did was the right thing a lot of people would not have returned the money . I think starting a go fund me page will be an example for people to do the right thing. Remember the nigerian society almost condones cheating, it is as if when you cheat a wealthy person out of money you are 'shining your eye'.
In addition remember her salary #7000 a month and I'm pretty certain she works long shifts in poor conditions . She deserves a GoFund me page!!

I like your response Linda. Overkill is bad. She did good by returning the money but please it's enough. The Woman has been prayed for and rewarded,let's not overdo it. Nigerians always looking for ways to make money off others. Very soon someone would come and say the same amount she found should be returned to her. I won't take what isn't mine not even food if I'm starving to death. Let's learn to know when to stop. I won't fund any damn account for such cause sue me.

Chioma Ijomah said...

I think you are right Linda.👍👍
You did the right thing too.👏👏

The only thing you forgot to do was to post that useless email address, for me to let them know what I think too..
So, please post it now let me drop it like it's hot..❗❗

reward her for her honesty

Linda you have said the right thing. I also want you to know that this group might be fraudulent. 419, they get people to pay money in that account and they do a scam.
It is enough that the woman has been repaid physically and spiritually, the reward is in the future for her.
Don't be bothered 'bout this

A fan from
Manchester UK

Chioma Ijomah said...

I think you are right Linda.👍👍
You did the right thing too.👏👏

The only thing you forgot to do was to post that useless email address, for me to let them know what I think too..
So, please post it now let me drop it like it's hot..❗❗

Diamond said...

U did the right thing, y shud I send money to sm1 cos she returned another's? An act of which she was shown appreciation for. I believe the ppl who mailed u are thieves & trying to use the situation to enrich their pockets.

but u know he earns 14k right? after returning 2.5 m. its ludacris

Linda

Francis said...

It goes to tell you how the country has deteriorated so much nothing works and people tend to use this sort of opportunities to make money for themself . You are right for not asking your followers to donate .She did the right thing and has been praised. May God see her thru

Omotayo said...

Am sure d gofundme pple have their percentage and it's paining them cos libers would ve given them so much if it had been publicised. U did nothing wrong Linda.

Gbenga said...

I very much agree with you Linda. Our society has lost its moralty and we all need to have honesty and integrity as our default mode.If the NGO is soo keen about giving let them give from their purse.

You have every right to refuse. You've Worked really hard to get were you are. For someone to have a solution on your site even for a "good cause" and you refuse, is not grounds for pugnacity.

Techstori said...

I think u're right Linda. Dont giv dem shit. Doz gofundme ppl or watever prolly jus want to fund their pockets.. #My2cents.

Our society/generation has lost the tru definition of morals.

Don't mind them they are trying to drag you into shit and later point finger at you,they have a hidden agenda my dear

Linda, this is my first time commenting on your blog. I read everyday but never comment. I must say, you got me thinking seriously with these questions you raised! You are totally correct! You couldn't have stated these facts any better. These are simple values we should have as human beings. Its enough to recognize and encourage good morals in whatever way we can, but not to make it seem like it's something extraordinary. What's extraordinary about not being a thief?! You should not be a thief in the first place! Thank you Linda for this insight. Carol.

neni said...

Linda,exactly my thoughts. U did ur bit by publisizing it. Dats fine! @ least I got to hear d story from ur blog. Don't mind dem. They want to open a ministry on top smone's else's kind gesture,cos I'm sure d lady may not evn be in support of dat plan.

Ndi ara _u did well Linda

Your point is very valid Linda but beyond your point, at what point will they stop raising the funds? Why must it be a financial reward all the time...and if they really wanted to give her a reward why involve the public? They are rogues!!!

Let ur moral metre guide u....if ur conscience is free as a bird, then pls u did right. Putting myslf in dis scenario, I'd say n do d same thing n sleep wit my two eyes closed. So, dear Linda, u did no wrong in my eye. Bless u

You were right!

MCSHEGZ said...

Linda, I respect your hustle ma.
I have been an avid reader of your blog but decided to comment on this topic because for the very first time, this article comes off as not only condescending but impossible to stomach, i'm sure that's not your intention because the vibe i get is that you're angry at the people who insulted you just because you refuse to toe their line, hence that anger leaked into the description of an innocent Josephine's action :-) pele Linda. E no easy
But it seems as if we keep trying to measure Josephine's selfless attribute in Naira terms, that's not only impossible but impracticable because no amount of money can suffice. We must also remember that Josephine did not seek for this attention and glory we clearly intend to endow her with. Correct, she did what any responsible human would do, she wants and deserves no compensation; but why shouldn't we try to appreciate her with all we've got, why shouldn't we let the world know of this beautiful lady's actions despite her perceived situation, isn't this a story worth celebrating to the high heavens. We have to use our position of power to the benefit of people like these; honest, selfless, and righteous. Lets just make sure the gofundme account is legitimate and that Josephine' s cognizant of it and receives every penny; it wouldn't hurt, or?

You were right! But you have inadvertently promoted the page here.

exciting lifestyle consult blog said...

Those pple want. A way to make money out of the innocent woman! She might tink they want to help her but they a in it for their own cut. Mitchew!

I totally agree with you linda. What she did was good and commendable but them again it was the right thing to do. She got a lot of reward for doing good and generally that's what happens to people that do good, the prayers will go a long way too but she doesn't need a gofundme page. She's a grown woman who is working to earn a living. If everyone who was honest got a gofundme page, almost everyone would be rich! So linda yes I agree with you and this just made me have even more respect for you as a person!

Correct talk Abeg! That gofundme sounds like a scam tho

I think you should have done it for her. Returning it was honest but we all know not everyone is honest. It gives more people the incentive to be honest and continue being honest.

God blesses people in different ways and maybe her blessings were meant to come through you.

You posting this has already publicised it even more so I hope she gets her reward. Take this example,a child passes their exam and their parents buys him a present. The child should be passing his exams of course but that present may motivate them to pass more and even try and pass better next time to get another present or an even bigger one. That's the power of reward. Don't be the judge and let her get the good coming her way

Gaia said...

Actually I couldn't agree with you more Linda. Yes she did a good thing, yes it's commendable. Does it have to become a cash cow? No! Funny thing is that group will probably just exploit her. I would dash her money too if I met her at the airport, provided I have money lol.

Hello Linda.......i am Uche Ukeoma from ph. I think what you took the right decision. I believe we are going to over flog this matter by making such a donation. I believe that cleaner is not the first person to have returned what does not belong to her. Please fellow Nigerians, let us keep upholding our good morals. Besides, many fake accounts exist....though I don't mean that gofundme is fakeoooo abeg

Justsayin said...

You sure say the people wey dey vex no won chop their own share of the raised funds and what better platform.Well done Linda,some folks just have no idea what is acceptable behavior.

Lols they want to defraud the public with your blog..hence the abuses..bad market for them!

eka said...

hmm,
this is dicey situation and a delicate one too,
well, personally i did u should have posted d link
then allow d masses 2 do their wish...

Good job Linda. U asked them a good question. They wanted to make money with d woman's name.

Very well said Linda. Well done.

lyte said...

We have lost our value so much that every good deed is like the Virgin birth. That's why our politician will dramatize every thing they do as if they are doing us a favour.

Go fund me should be for people in need. The NGO is looking for a way make money for themselves. The woman did the right thing and applauding her is where stops.

Lolz dem no well ni... No be only contribute

Yes, you are right Linda! We should all be honest even though in our world, it's not a 100 percent possible because there would always be bad eggs.

ItsCephar said...

I think you are right on this one linda. But i'm very sure the group want to encourage/motivate her and other in doing same. You are both right

This is bullshit, why should we contribute money4her?

@lindaikeji you are so much on point. I dont know wat else to say cuz u've said it all.

Maybe u should calm down @Linda u sound angry..

Lolz dem no well ni... No be only contribute

They can like to do thanksgiving service for her

My sister u did the right thing by saying NO. I believe those people are scamers and they are brunt that their plan didnt work to make easy money that's why they insulted you. Abeg no mind them.

taking into perspective,there's absolutely nothing wrong in rewarding/celebrting honesty to any lenght,She's done the very write thing and there's no amount of reward too much.My uncle had been a victm,the his driver had the oppurtunity to return the money,The driver never did(did not do the right thing) and my uncle never recovered from stroke untill we lost him 24th dec 12.Showcasing her is just to let this "society" know that honesty too can bring you to limelight.
My concerns is the intent of the so called NGO.hope they are not planning to reap where they did not sow.Fundraising for what?

Please Anty Linda i got something here you said "they sent me a mail insulting me (lol)" Please can we ask u a favour post that email here,let insult and course that person that sent you the mail.

Anybody that insult you have insult me.and i will not take it likely with the person.that person that insult you is a big thief and he will not go far in life.

Stupid NGO

Linda u did d right thing, maybe dey want to dash her CBN for been honest. Let her reward be God n not way of making money 4 dem self

LINDA I AGREE WITH YOU 100%

daddy2 said...

@ linda,i salute your courage.am sure these people wants to use the poor woman's situation to milk innocent Nigerians.dont let them turn your blog to a scam site.for standing your grounds,you have won my heart.++ for you.remain blessed

I thinks ur wrong tho...

But you were being honest by declining them so why cant they respect that? She was recognised etc why are they setting up a gofundme page for her anyway? Kmt YOU DID THE RIGHT THING

nife said...

It is bullshit, arrant nonsense. Y gofundme wen she's not sick or have any disability. Mehn ds is a sick decision for anyone that donates.
She feels comfortable returning d money dats y she did so she should not regret her action.

Yes she did a good thing but God will reward her. Don't be deceived Linda! Those people are scammers. The money is not for her.

DONT BE SURPRISED THE PPLE PUSHING THE FUNDS JUS WANT SOMTIN FOR THEMSELVES. BETTER U REJECT IT

linda ikeji it is ur business not to poblise thier account but dont ridicle the good behaviour of this nice nigerian . it is do demeaning to your person

Otunba Pumba1 said...

Well I don't blame dem cos considering d fact of our country n dey r trying to create a forum where people will be moved to return things dat don't belong to dem for dis same benefit cos in naija it's a big deal n many wont return d money except dey know it hard to get away wit d money... In my own view it's taking it too far considering d fact dat she might be scared of taking d money cos of security concern n thought it well to return d money n be compensated. Notin goes for notin as far as naija people r concerned...
GOD BLESS NIGERIA!!!

Linda you have a point and you did well. Didn't really see it from this angle. You're such a smart woman..ignore the NGO and move on to better business.

AnonymousLondoner said...

I would like to think that they would want to raise money for a woman who was raising a family on N7500 per month and not just because of the goodwill she had done. Yes we only know her because of the good she did which many SHOULD do but most WOULD NOT have done but I don't think you should deprive promoting helping a woman who earns in a month what for some of us is peanuts. I really think you should have left your readers to decide and just posted it as a regular informative news item than decline the opportunity for people to donate to this woman because of your own views. People over the world we're donating money for someone to go to Miami yet just because you think that she did what someone should have done, you are not allowing people like myself (an international reader) to contribute to a cause that actually makes sense to me.

My dear Linda u did well by refusing, cos it makes no sense, she has already been rewarded, Wetin she want Mak we do? Buy her car Abi build her house bcos she return money Wey no be her own, abegi we ve so many issues of pple who really need help biko.

Linda I totally agree with you. Your decision is right. And beside if one needs to appreciate I think it should be voluntarily not imposing on somebody.

True

You did the right thing Linda. She has been rewarded already.

TheLazyNatural said...

Please ignore them.

Jayluv said...

U did Jst d right thing Linda....dey prob trying to raise moni for themselves😔#jstsayin

respect

Funmi Aiyenuro said...

Linda the people are after their own pockets not the woman at all. They are corporate thieves. Since the woman is physical okay & gainfully employed . There is no justification to this. Linda keep the good work. I really appreciate what you're doing.0

chizzy said...

Linda!!! Just reply them with OYO MUSICAL VIDEO By D'Prince. Is anything wrong with her hands and legs? the stupid NGO officials are plain stupid.

for the first time, linda you have made sense. the society has lost its morals. no morals whatsoever in this country. This is why we need change. imagine a president pardoning people convicted for corruption, crowning riggers as ministers, saying stealing is not corruption, paying criminals money to disrupt society etc. why wont the society lose its morals. Linda dont answer those people, they are scammers, assholes.

They are idiots.

You're very correct

Linda u re actually ryt after all

Well Linda if u ask me i will tell you that you are 100 percent right for turning them down. The groups intentionm arent pure atall. What on earth is that? Well thats the society we leave in.

I share your view linda...Haba, an increase in her salary is okay,which one cm b say mk wecomeey contribute money again?? Abeg jare

oiza said...

Linda don't mind them that money is for their pocket another business strategy

...they shud eff off!!! u did ryt Lilly...Senor

I posted a comment here bt apparently u publish only favorable ones. This aint the first time

What u did is rite, do not allow people use ur site for selfish interest. i like ur judgement

Linda. honestly you have done right.. i wonder the kind of hatred i would developed for you and your blog if i had found such here.. Anyways, nothing goes for free cuz after the whole thing something still falls back to some pocket for job well done.

Tee said...

they are thieves. i know the GoFund me page is a SCAM/Fraud

Linda what she did should be glorified. That actually isn't the problem. Your anger is misplaced. What you should be concerned about is relayed to the people who brought up the donation. Don't you think those people are looking for a way to benefit from the "donation". Don't you suppose the woman was an avenue to make money by the supposed people. Out of all the donation she might probably just get 2%. Just saying, ur anger is misplaced. If anyone wants to personally give the woman a billion naira, she actually does deserve it. Because in the this our very bad economy that people are trying so hard to survive a woman finds millions and returns it, trust me she deserves every single gift. You should rather be angry with the people requesting for donations to be made because they are looking for a cheap way to make money for themselves. They are scammers.

Are they mad?.....Yes!

Abeg Linda free dem.....bunch of wayo ppl full ds country sef!

Lilian chinomso said...

U said d right thing..

I superbly agree with u dear Linda! Debbie_Over says so

albarry said...

you did the right thing though. Plus how are we sure its not just some sort of scam.

Linda, 1 or of 10000 Nigeria a will not return the money. The request is so that people can be incentivized to do good. There is nothing wrong with it and your argument has merit. However, as morally bankrupt a society as we are, we should give loud applauses using mesns that matter to nigerians such as money to demonstrate that it really pays to be honest. Now instead of giving her a lot of cash that relatives and friends with purported terminal illnesses will come to finish, she can be asked about her aspirations and helped to get there. She needs a lift for her to be working the toilets at MMA. She will make an excellent housekeeper for the very wealthy in Nigeria for example because she is trustworthy. I am assuming they pay their keepers . ...like 100k a month.

My 2 Cents said...

The truth is she did exceptional because the average Nigerian wont return it. I very likely wont if I earned 7k5. Yes it might look ordinary but even in well developed societies like the US people like this are rewarded. So Linda am your fan but lets be real things like this never happen and you are wrong On this but again its your blog and can say to hell with contrary opinions.

What I would have done if I was you was find out the authenticity of the NGO. If they are genuine and do not have a percentage from the money then its ok to post if they dont have a cut and its genuinely for madam honest then the least you can do is post. As your readers you wont be saying go donate because you dont control us but posting wont hurt and if anyone is touched they can donate to her.

98% of Nigerians wont return yhat money. She did exceptional and this shouldnt be a case of argument you should really do it. Because if they paid you 50k to post it you will post it. So its a case of should you post it without collecring money or should it be a paid post.

My question to you is if they paid 50k will you post?

Ryan said...

Don't mind them

They want to make money for themselves not her don't mind some of these NGO's did she beg them what you was right

Y abuse someone cos she refused buy ur idea? It's not by force to publicize such. Moreover, it could be an avenue for some guys to rip innocent people off; all in the name of trying to help the woman.

uwa said...

Linda nwaanyi oma , you've said it all .
Insulting you ? now that's childish . I think some people were out to open a business deal with the good lady name and dish out peanut to her .
Madam, please be careful, don't let them use you because your name not their will be hurt most . Keep being you dear .
Linda , you are right for refusing . Their going out of their way to insult you means something hidden was behind it and your refusal knocked them real bad .

Miss linda what you did was right and don't need bother about it..... Keeep moving for no amount of hate will brings u down.... A positve mind is always a successful mind.

you are definitely right linda. you've shown good initiative

I would like to think that they would want to raise money for a woman who was raising a family on N7500 per month and not just because of the goodwill she had done. Yes we only know her because of the good she did which many SHOULD do but most WOULD NOT have done but I don't think you should deprive promoting helping a woman who earns in a month what for some of us is peanuts. I really think you should have left your readers to decide and just posted it as a regular informative news item than decline the opportunity for people to donate to this woman because of your own views. People over the world we're donating money for someone to go to Miami yet just because you think that she did what someone should have done, you are not allowing people like myself (an international reader) to contribute to a cause that actually makes sense to me.

I think it would have taken anything out of you to post it it, your blog visitors are not kids they would decide whether or not they want to donate you cant make that decision for them. They have not right to send you a stinker but i dont think your excuse is valid.

joy Egbunu said...

There,s nothing wrong in wanting to raise money for Josephine really. As much as the money she returned wasn't hers buh was a lot considering how much remuneration she gets frm her office and she chose to return it, it,ll send a positive msg to ppl out here. Honesty really n truly pays

Linda, u did d right tin. Am sure the gofundme group is a scam. Honesty has its reward and she has bin rewarded. Why tell pple to donate 4 her? Smh 4 some pple.

dontJme said...

Linda are u serious?? Are u in Nigeria? A poll was carried out asking Nigerians if they were a taxi driver and a passenger forgot about 5 Million dollars in the cab if they will return it.. Linda, if the response were 100, 85 of them said they would not, 10 would,but they will insist on being compensated handsomely and the rest mentioned that they will return it unconditionally. I get your point though, but i need you to understand that majority of us in this country are morally bankrupt. so if we have an outstanding citizen such as that woman, maybe not by using the gofundme platform but by any other means she should be celebrated and rewarded. #my 2kobo

olulana funmilade said...

Linda, I support your decision. I am actually worried about their anger. Your refusal and questions are harmless. Who knows what ulterior motives they have? If they are genuinely persuaded that this woman needs a further encouragement, let them push for a national honors from the government. This is how to encourage honesty, and patriotism; best practice world-wide. Let the Federal Government celebrate this woman moreso it happened at the National Airport.

I think for the first time you made sense.

Tunde Fatoki said...

Linda, personally I do not see anything wrong if an NGO decides to raise money for the honest lady. From what I have read, her salary was a meagre N7,500.00 and for her to return N12 million, she surely deserves more that just prayers and praises. Moreover, I doubt if the NGO was asking your readers to donate money to her from what you've written but just to use your platform to promote the cause.

Too long... cnt continue
Am one hell of a lazy reader... buh Linda, u may or mayNOT ""lol

#architect

Linda u ve said it all. Me self I wonder y ppl keep saying much abt it. She did the right thing and ve been rewarded so why re ppl still making noise abt it. 4get dem jare de wan make money 4 dem seLf

Linda u r WRONG! It takes nothing frm u to do dat "little" publicity. In dis day & age, whr such morals r down d drain, it's a wlcmed development to appreciate such honesty, financially of other wise. U don't have d right to say how much is enough to be given to her (cleaner). I'm sure u r yet to give d said lady (cleaner) a dime. Pls dear reader, encourage such honesty anytime u cum across such acts, it serves as an encouragement to others who may be in d cleaner's position. Rili sad linda ikeji wud think this way...sad.

Linda how are u so sure they are not after their own hungry pocket.. just saying tho........... first time to comment on ur blog.. Linda observe

JJ said...

Of all the causes this gofundme group can champion, it has to be the one of an airport worker who found and returned money that doesn't belong to her.

How are we sure gofund is not looking to pad their own pockets. Charities are known for using social causes to pad their own pockets. Linda, you are right for refusing to publicize the page. If I need to give the lady any money, I will contact her directly.

This NGO should go look for worthy causes to champion, like eradicating bribery, corruption and online fraud in Nigeria..ha ha. They can start with themselves.

No! Don't tink dat way Anty Lin. U r right dat that is wot we r supposed 2do but wot i c dat dey wnt 2encourage d young ones! But dat doesn't mean dey av 2 open a *socalled go fund mi* dats out of it knoing fully wel dat shes already been gifted! Hmnmmm.......I tink dey want 2chop d money!
N besides u av d right 2refuse dem or anybody so wot d heck!

U did d right tin jare!
Make dem go hug transforma! Scumbags!

tessy said...

Abeg forget dis n move on dis is not even something u shld ask anybody about... on to a better topic abeg

Obioha Nnamdi said...

You Heart and the Reply are soo on point... You are a sensible woman. Kudos.

In fairness they supposed to respect Linda's opinion on the matter. It's her blog and she has every right on whatever happens on here.

Come on Linda! Why waste your time on this,you have said it all,don't me those 419 Guys. Must we reward honesty with money. I am damn sure those Guys are looking for Fast and free money.yeye olé people!!!

The group is suspect.if you make the mistake of endorsing g them and you later Fi d out they are 419 what will you do? Moreover I think they are trying to cash in to situation because what is their background and records? Simply put they want to make money off her using you

I agree with you Linda. I bet those guys are making money from the funds raised. They are in it for personal gain. Do they draw salaries from the NGO? If so then there are purely after greed and this has clouded their judgement.

lami said...

I think the group have their own ulterior motive.

Lilian chinomso said...

If really they are even donating the money to her,maybe they want to make cash out of her,u never can tell.#naija

Come on Linda! Why waste your time on this,you have said it all,don't mind those 419 Guys. Must we reward honesty with money. I am damn sure those Guys are looking for Fast and free money.yeye olé people!!!

You did right by refusing.
What they are asking for is ridiculous!
Don't be surprised that the said woman is not aware of the so-called page, and they just want to use that avenue to enrich themselves.

I went to the ATM to withdraw some money a few days ago, was debited but was not paid. Within 48hrs they reversed the money 5times. What did I do?..I went straight to the bank and told them about it. Why?, to free my conscience and not for any reward.

Abeg they should work hard up the ladder like some of us and not expect handouts.

Linda i back you up on this. Go fund me ko go fund them ni. I'm a doctor and I save lives maybe I deserve a go fund me too. Lol.

You did right by refusing.
What they are asking for is ridiculous!
Don't be surprised that the said woman is not aware of the so-called page, and they just want to use that avenue to enrich themselves.

I went to the ATM to withdraw some money a few days ago, was debited but was not paid. Within 48hrs they reversed the money 5times. What did I do?..I went straight to the bank and told them about it. Why?, to free my conscience and not for any reward.

Abeg they should work hard up the ladder like some of us and not expect handouts.

No one should hold you up for anything because it is your Choice .This is my personal opinion , Is it right for people to support her Financially ? Yes ! #7500 per month raised to a meagre #15,000 is still a meagre salary for a full blown Adult. Corruption is the bane of our Society that is not news anymore issit? A good reward for a good deed is a direct way to promote such rare Deed. I have read on Social media ow people lashed out on Her for been stupid enough to refund such amount of money . With your utterance(Linda!) Im sure anyone in her situation wont return such ever again!! Charity begins at home. Earning 15k per month in Lagos is Criminal!! I implore people to support the Woman . GOD Bless Her Loadz

claris Davids said...

Aunty Linda.. You did well by not accepting it. They are just group of fraudsters. Looking for someone's image to destroy. There insult means nothing. God bless you plenty for helping bring the CHANGE we need by teaching us some good moral.

Don't bother with these other people talking shit, you do your thing I fully understand where your coming form what do they want you to say "raise money for the honest worker" like seriously sha every one sha has their own way of seeing things can't blame them just keep being you

Miss B said...

Just ignore them like a bad habit abeg..Corporate beggars.

I couldn't agree less linda. .. that is soo on point.

I agree with you,i don't see why doing the right thing will now turn into something else after all it is just the best way of life...

Victor said...

if she had a hand in sending the mail then she would have just kept the money she found at first shikena.....na Niger we dey every one wants to make money off anything...lol

I couldn't agree less, dat is soo on point linda .

I think you have a point. I would rather second efforts toward getting the government especially NOA to accord her some sort of recognition.

You were right on you stance, people should not be rewarded for being honest, it should be a minimum expectation as a human being. Because we live in a very corrupt and perverse society, people have mortgaged their morals and values in pursuit of greed, lust and other wicked manifestations, their only goal in life is to grab as much as they can without any conscience. Therefore it has become normalised. Don't let people or any group dictate how you should give and to whom let the holy spirit guide you. Enough said, I totally understand where you are coming from.

Lol.. It's a good thing you refused. It just doesn't make sense, what they asked of you.

Mayb they did that to encourage others

they are stupid , infact they are gold diggers, infact they are thieves, infact they are fraudsters, infact I don't know what to call them. pls linda dash me one bag or shoe or dress or top or pant or anything, na beg I dey beg o. Ada africa

hmmm, i like ur stand on this matter. what if it is a scam?

pamscrib.blogspot.com

To me, I quite agree with you....its not even a question of her honesty....how genuine is gofundme??? Or are they just using they lady for their own personal gain?

I think you are right. I would rather we use this platform to apply pressure on the government especially NOA to give her some sort of recognition and also give adequate publicity to her actions.

They are looking for money for themselves as well as free publicity. Please do not oblige them. Seeking to exploit the situation. By putting it up, you're also donating because they won't pay for the publicity.....and it is not by force to donate so they should go park well. No one should vex because you no gree carry your hustle favour them. That's witchcraft

Linda...o wi re!

Humphrey said...

Na thief them b, opportunist looking for a way to make money for them self, did she tell them she needed help?

You made a wise decision by telling them no. I am super proud of you and have decided to marry you, if you'll have me.

PROBABLY THEY WLD VE SAID DY WANT TO RAISE FUND FOR THEMSELVES NOT HIDE UNDER ANY PLATFORM, I SEE NOTHING WRONG IN WT U DID. THE AIRPORT STAFF DID WELL AND HAS BEEN REWARDED SEVERALLY, IF NA SO REWARD DY WORRY DM,THEY SHLD ASK FASHOLA OR JONATHAN TO MAKE HER A MINISTER NAA. MSHEW

Thats great and correct, linda you get sense.

Erm_Eye said...

If u are done, what u need our thoughts for? Oh lemme guess, u just had to blog something, I feel ya baby

Jude said...

Linda you are very correct on this one. Nigerians have become so morally bankrupt that it is now near abnormal to find honest people. What we forget here is that keeping the money would have made her a thief. Yes a thief. It was never her money. Appreciate her honesty but that is expected and normal. Rewarding her may be ok but not obligated.Just like rewarding a wife for being faithful.

Linda 1st of all i understand why you refused to put it on you page but that been said ,you know our society has lost all its MORALS, only a very few of people still do things like the Mrs did and this is her 3rd time doing this, she really in my opinion has to be upgraded. do you know what it takes not to keep such account LINDA?? ha!!

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda thunder fire them na by force to publicize them. if dey want such let them go to nta, tvc,ait and publicize it them dey find who dem wan do yahoo yahoo. thunder fire them once again. inndi asiri, ndi ilo

While I agree that Mrs Agwu should be commended for her honesty, I think that you did the right thing Linda. Who was to control that account, the lady or the NGO? I think the NGO was being clever by half. I think that the good, hardworking and honest woman is actually being embarrassed by this storm in a tea cup.

Linda don't mind them,u will not be used. Let them raise money on der on and not use this platform

toluh said...

I totally support you linda, we Nigerians have a funny mentality, wanting special treatment for doing what you are supposed to do anyway... when you do something good let God reward you, dnt come here and act like the world owes you a favor... linda very well said

Don't mind the idiots that made the gofundme page. they are probably fraudulent idiots who want to make money off of her. The woman probably doesn't even know about it or would only get a tiny portion of whatever was donated. You did the right thing jare linda. When Nigeria is not hell fire, how can being honest be such a big deal kmt.

You did nothing wrong my dear and your reasons were in order.

Linda support Honesty, It wont cost you anything to promote their cause.

"The highest form of sophistication is simplicity" Check out the Minimalist Man Home
http://goo.gl/F2lRU8

i think she deserves an encouragement not special funding...bcos she is supposed to return the money since it doesnt belong to her!. So its ok to refuse the offer...

Femmy said...

You did the right thing,they only took it personal for their own selfish gains.

Rita said...

Linda, u. Definitely did the right thing! She is not sick, neither is she handicapped. So the rewards they gave her is enough, y ask/force ppl to donate again? She's prolly even richer than some of us here lol....i.e me wey no even get work. abeg move on jare

U absolutely right Linda. Am in support of wat u sayin. Pls dnt mind dem nd continue doing wat is right to promote ur image. Nd may God bless u.

Ok.

U absolutely right Linda. Am in support of wat u sayin. Pls dnt mind dem nd continue doing wat is right to promote ur image. Nd may God bless u.

Kukere said...

Im sure the go fund me page is solely for them! they are thieves! She knows nothing about this gofundme page! U did the right thing LINDA

Hmmmm! Mouth sealed

AGB said...

Linda I see total sense in your opinion & I support you on this one.

Kponskii said...

Abeg who send them errand? The woman dey her own jeje and the so called groups and NGOs dey drink alabukun for her headache. Abeg make dem go look bush.

jenny said...

You did the right thing Linda. nawa for Nigger. they too have the spirit of begging. Although, Linda you have your own flaws, like not carrying your fellow bloggers along. i have sent you an email severally but seem adamant to reply. thats very bad.

A number of NGOs we have in this country is fake. Can U̶̲̥̅̊ imagine. Please linda U̶̲̥̅̊ made d right decision, cos in d end d NGO would get its commission which is apparently why they want this in the first place.

Well Linda,you've spoken well;in your own point of view.I'll like us to view this in many ways.Firstly,this lady before now gets around 7,500 as her basic salary(try to put yourself in that position);money that is not enough for some ppl to spend in a club in a night.Secondly,this is the third time she is seeing this kind of money and returning it...Thirdly is that we need to understand that what she did repeatedly cannot be refered to as 'sane' in our present Nigerian society.A society where a youth at a tender age is dreaming of a way he can get to govt position and get his own part of the national cake and a poor woman who is living far below the minimum wage has the guts to return money;not once;not twice but three times not minding the fact that she was not well commended at the former times.Abeg relate this situation with yourself na,do u know how many ppl would av called her a fool the first time she returned the money.....To me,what she did is ingenious in our present society and wouldn't av rejected the offer if I were you.

moyosky said...

Lindaaa you get time sha

Gofundme is rubbish, Linda u v done well..dnt publish it

Well Linda,you've spoken well;in your own point of view.I'll like us to view this in many ways.Firstly,this lady before now gets around 7,500 as her basic salary(try to put yourself in that position);money that is not enough for some ppl to spend in a club in a night.Secondly,this is the third time she is seeing this kind of money and returning it...Thirdly is that we need to understand that what she did repeatedly cannot be refered to as 'sane' in our present Nigerian society.A society where a youth at a tender age is dreaming of a way he can get to govt position and get his own part of the national cake and a poor woman who is living far below the minimum wage has the guts to return money;not once;not twice but three times not minding the fact that she was not well commended at the former times.Abeg relate this situation with yourself na,do u know how many ppl would av called her a fool the first time she returned the money.....To me,what she did is ingenious in our present society and wouldn't av rejected the offer if I were you.

JeyAmadi said...

Linda I agree with U. But not exclusively for d reasons u stated. Pls wats gofundme? I haven't heard of them. Call me ill informed or ignorant but are they even legit? Cuz it sure looks like a fraudsters attempt to weasel money out of well meaning people. And if u said no, Y d stinker email? A legit NGO wuld write back with a thank you rather than a stinker. By the way, pls wat email can u be reached on? I am a journalist by profession and I do come across some things that you may like to feature on your blog. Pls do let me know.

My dearest sister Linda, you very correct, it's only a sinful generation that would take pleasure in what is wrong. You should remain blessed.

LKJ said...

U right Linda

Linda, i think you are overreacting! You have the right to refuse, but it's no big deal if they try to raise funds for her. People have received large sum for doing less (lottery, prize draw, political gifts, etc). How many people do you think would have returned that money? Please, don't trivialize what she did. I accept your right to refuse, but not you dismissing or trivializing how big of a deal her action was.

U dud the right thing linda. She has already been reward so that is enough. I just feel those people want to use her to make money for themselves

Those guys(gofundme) might be scammers. Scammers are always looking for ways and opportunity as this to scam people. The Josephine might not be aware.

Nawa oh those must be APC members who had already promised the woman money but can not live up to there promise!!! For insulting you linds dey must be outta there mind!!! Nothing for them awon smellos

I Support U, Linda

There must be personal interest.

Good U refuse! She has been rewarded enough, haba, its just becos of our corrupt nature, Is she not suppose to return it? Na her own? Dos group are thieves! Nigerian's are so corrupt, u return what's not your and its such a big deal?

Nawa oh those must be APC members who had already promised the woman money but can not live up to there promise!!! For insulting you linds dey must be outta there mind!!! Nothing for them awon smellos

Adeiza said...

God bless you forever Linda. I believe that group is even a scam.

Yes our society has lost its morals. She did something that is rare these days in Nigeria. With politicians stealing our money that doesn't belong to them and all other dishonesty going on in the country, she needs great commendation. Having said that, I agree with you that the government fund me move is indeed an overkill. Over flogging the issue. Let's move on already.

My dear, you are 100% right. It could also be possible that the so called NGO have got an interest in money cos wit the way they are going about it, Josephine will not receive all the Cash even when pple decide to donate.

Nawa oh those must be APC members who had already promised the woman money but can not live up to there promise!!!so they come out later and say the woman has decided to give all her funds to buharis campaign For insulting you linds dey must be outta there mind!!! Nothing for them awon smellos

Well thought of Linda.Not to worry you did the right thing.

Nonso Pascal said...

Don't mind them Linda, you suppose know say them get personal interest (419) . Linda U sharp jor

The NGO want the fund for their selves.. Josephine didn't send them msg.. Linda u re right..

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1024   Newer› Newest»