Obasanjo lashes out at president Jonathan again... | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 5 January 2015

Obasanjo lashes out at president Jonathan again...

Former Pres. Olusegun Obasanjo today took another swipe at the administration of Pres. Jonathan, accusing him and his government of depleting Nigeria's oil savings which according to him was at $45billion when he left office and had depreciated over time to $30billion. He made the accusations while receiving some South-West women leaders at his residence in Abeokuta, earlier today
"Our economy should not have been this bad. When I was leaving office about eight years ago, I left a very huge reserve after we had paid all our debts. Almost $25billion we kept in what they called excess crude. The excess from the budget we were saving as reserve for the rainy days. When we left in May 2007, the reserve was said to have been raised to $35billion. But today, that reserve has been depleted! 
Today, that reserve has been depleted. The reserve we left when we finished paying all our debts, our debts that was about 40billion dollars, that is including debt forgiveness, the remaining debt was not more than $3billion. Our reserve after we had paid off this debt was about $45billion. As I said, they continued till the end of 2007, I heard that the reserve increased to almost $67billion before the end of the year. Our reserve now, learnt is left with around only $30billion. That is why the Naira has been falling against the dollar. What would now happen, I learnt if you want to buy a dollar now, it’s about N192 or N195. What it means is this, what you have been buying at N150 to a dollar, now you need N192 or N195 to buy it. That is the real situation. Is there any remedy? There is, but it does not come overnight because it means we have to give up all the bad things we have been doing. I know that God did not create Nigeria not to be rich or great. Is it that the people he created in Nigeria are not knowledgeable enough or not intelligent enough? Or is that they don’t know their rights? Our problems in Nigeria, let’s look at the foundation of our leadership. In the profession I know very well, the military, what we normally say is that there are no bad soldiers but bad officers. If you see a situation where the soldiers are not doing well, we need to examine the officers in charge. So it is in the family, the community, the town and the country,” he said.
President Obasanjo said his remarks about the state of the nation was not in any way an expression of a personal grudge with the President
"I have no grudges against Jonathan and I think Jonathan equally has no grudges against me. I’m not quarrelling with Jonathan but all I know is that whatever is good for Nigeria, that I’m ready to die for. I emphasize that whatever is good for Nigeria, is what I’m ready to defend with my life. Whoever, I emphasize, whoever says he would not do anything good to Nigeria, even if he says he’s ready to go ‘konko below’, I’m ready to square it up with such a person. I say again, whoever that person may be, I want you to get that correctly. If this country is going to change for the better, it would start from the top and if it’s going to be otherwise, it would start from the top, too,” the former president stressed.

238 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 238 of 238

@ royal piece of shit!, this dude has got to be the most irritating thing that happened to Linda's blog. Constant verbal diarrhea!! Jeezzz!!!

CHISOS!!!!!,My fellow LIB youth i hope we all have ears to hear him, no be when FEB go come naw, we go sell our FUTURE OOOOOO. Osa bole gbe mi, semi bo se bami.

When it's was his time he didn't Nigerian's how much we have in reserve and now he is out there trying to black mail GEJ. I don't believe in pdp nor acn I pray to God that the righteous will rule

You are mad .....

King Jaja said...

This are known facts $35billion disappear in 6 years. For all the people supporting GEJ @Royal P.& co,is it because u can browse or cos u can afford to run away from Nigeria? there are now several thousand refugees in their own country who do not have a place to stay and the president is doing nothing sorry he's busy eating with N500million.

I want u to read and remember this, Jonathan will complete his 8 years, when obasanjo was president what did he do in the south west?.even his home state Abeokuta and why was he busy clamouring for 3rd tenure ? Jonathan is a very wise and Calculative man and he would win the election sweetly with out headache all this social media rant

You guys r to most stupid idiots I v ever seen, what he said is just the basic truth, obj is trying to stay relevant , who killed Bola ige? Smh

GEJ is reallyin trouble this time BUT i pray that God will give him victory come Feb 14

CHECK OUT HOW TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE

Ode people, who believe all they hear from the mouth of thieves...because Jonathan refused to let him stay. relevant

OBY U ARE MAD MAN BECAUSE JONATHAN NO AGREE WITH UR EVIL ADVICE AGAIN STUPID MAN

More reasons still come out day by day for us to chose and vote wisely

jeez all of u should keep shut. Obansanjo was a worse leader than Jonathan. am not into this political nonsense but truth be told. Jonathan is a true Democrat and Obansanjo is just an attention seeker right now. I was born in government and I know how all this rubbish works. gosh they are really playing u guys for a fool. they quarrel in front of u guys and pop champagne behind u guys. jeez all they are doing is dragging u all along with em. to believe watever it is they want u to believe and u all sit here to make comments that u urself don't understand. stop insultin Buhari or Jonathan. its not easy to be a leader or public figure. u don't know the kind of hard decisions our leaders have to make sometimes. some of u just sit back and criticize. meanwhile if they put u there, u cannot even affect the life of a chicken. you all should pack well jor. lindodo Happy new year. I missed u o.

?????? just my opinion??????

See why Jonathan must go! And Buhari should get rid of okonjo iweala... That finance minister is not smart and clueless. Cbn governor should be changed too. All these people working with Jonathan are extremely corrupt and mean no good to this nation

You are a fool! It's like seeing rice but yet u settle to eat sand and feces. Are u a dog?

Obasanjo should go away already!

Not interested jare

U are probably blind or just naturally stupid for asking that question, u mean to tell me after what Nigeria is right now u still don't appreciate Obj and Yaradua s tenure, u really sick in d head.

@femi fex you are a retard. All of you that will vote for jonathan, just remember that the national association of witches and wizards endorsed him too. So you are no different from them. Evil people.

MOTOLA said...

Baba u talk well ojare, u re always on the side of the truth, if u did not do anytin when u were there, but u paid our debt and left reserve, and thanks to u we can blog on LIB, beginning of GSM was the beginning of social media.just imaging the rate of dollar now, is it until we start buying a dollar for 500 b4 we knw wat we re into. Pls we need CHANGE!!!!GMB2015

obiora said...

And Goodluck ain't someone 's father. Idiot!

How dare you sir! you have the audacity to come and open your mouth and cast aspersions at your own evil creation and you think Nigerians are gullible enough to fall for your foolery? How shallow minded and vain you are. When the going was good, yours was the strongest back on which he stood. Now, you want to white wash your image at his expense. You truly must realize that everyone is no longer new to your tactical schemes. Were you and Buhari not in school together? are you saying you do not know him? Time will tell! We are watching you as well.

He is lashing out at Jonathan as if his administration was any better...

@Royal , this is neither a case of Obj or GEJ being right or wrong, its neither a case of south- south or north. If you were to get on a flight, would you be eager for a tribal pilot or the most competent? I want to believe it's the latter, if so for your life, why not wish/want the same for Her( Nigeria)?

Jonathan na im steal highest, its no longer news. Linda take note!

bella said...

@will if he didn't bring gsm communication would u v been able to comment here? I guess dts something. If u want to criticise, criticise with something else......

U love a hipocrite

PROPAGANDA said...

its really sad how we have degenerated to this level, why is Baba trying so hard to discredit GEJ, drop in dollar hard to do with the oil price in the international market not foreign reserve. so much propaganda fro baba from open letters to "on my watch" and "konko below", why is he trying so hard< make we take our tongue count our teeth as we vote, naija make we shine our eye wella as we cast our vote. God bless Nigeria and give us a leader after His heart.

OBJ is just one serious clown, always makes me laugh and by the way did they not say they will start arresting people who speak ill of their president and their administration?

God bless you!

Nothing in this Life is as disheartening and shallow as saying that the only reason why a leader should remain in power is because he is from the South regardless of how woeful and abysmal his performance has been. It's an indicator that there is something fundamentally wrong with our electorate and especially this generation of ours. As much as I have little regard for the words that come out of OBJ,it will be very unfair to say this current dispensation hasn't failed us WOEFULLY
. In all honestly, the only people that still support GEJ are those who have benefited either directly or indirectly from the excessive corruption that pervades his government. A true patriot should first be interested in moving this country forward before being concerned with tribal sentiments. Whoever can rid this country of this current mess should please do, whether he is from North,South,East,West or even an alien. Naija needs serious help.

OBJ, we don hear

betung said...

It's so painful how we use our own tongue to discredit gej.we are entitled to wateva we say.ipray God gives us long life to apprecait gej.obj is notin buh an infidel,at d same time yearnin 4 relevance.kip folo folo nah una type obj dey use shine.

betung said...

It's so painful how we use our own tongue to discredit gej.we are entitled to wateva we say.ipray God gives us long life to apprecait gej.obj is notin buh an infidel,at d same time yearnin 4 relevance.kip folo folo nah una type obj dey use shine.

We need change Jonathan should go pls. APC 2015.

@ Royal priesthood I believe u was born by mistake I swear

Eddy wise, Lol u re a bad guy

If GEJ has run the country to the pit of hell, then when Abokki comes on board you all will crying in hell then,

Abokki be Abokki

If GEJ has run the country to the pit of hell, then when Abokki comes on board you all will crying in hell then,

Abokki be Abokki

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 238 of 238   Newer› Newest»