Vibrant lady allegedly killed by a medical doctor's negligence | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 9 January 2015

Vibrant lady allegedly killed by a medical doctor's negligence

Some of these things that I don't have full details on, I like to just post the way it was sent to me. This one is from a friend of the late woman. May her soul rest in peace, amen.
Find attached photos of Owoedimo Inyang with Facebook page name of Imo Inyang whose brilliant life was cut short by a medical doctor at a government hospital in Port Harcourt. She studied MBA in Human Resources from the prestigious University of Wales in England and graduated with flying colours in 2012. She returned back to Nigeria in February 2013 and got a job with an Estate firm in Uyo, Akwa ibom State.
She was admitted at the hospital in September 2014 for CS ( Cesarean section) operation which went wrong as her intestine was cut in the process and stitched up thereafter. 

She only got to know few days later what the doctor had done. All effort by the family and friends to save her vibrant life proved abortive and she died in the early hours of 31st Dec.2014 and was buried on  7th Jan 2015 at Port-harcourt cemetery after a brief  service at The presbyterian Church,Port-harcourt.
Imoh was a lady full of life and strive to leave a positive influence on anyone that came in contact with Her. Just hope the family will pursue the matter in court for Her to get justice so that Her gentle soul can rest in peace. Her son survive and is being looked after by her parents.
Thanks for publishing this story

144 comments:

Murders in white garment.

That doctor should be sanctioned.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

I keep saying it that the health situation in this country is in a big mess! What kind of negligence is this? If you have money to go abroad for health issues, pleas kindly go!

Omg....may her soul RIP.

So sad.

Chibunky said...

D Woman Set Die, shaa Mistake Frm D Doctor, May Her Soul Rest In Peace

Though it looks like a mistake but that mistake is too costly.
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

Sad news....R.I.P and condolences to her family
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

RIP...
Sth should b done abt our health care system dat breed incompetent doctors.

R.I.P
--------------LIB prince--------------
--------------LIB prince-------------
--------------LIB prince--------------

Awww.... ..RIP!! Takes The GRACE of God to survive that CS Thing!!

How can a medical doctor be so negligent to sow up someone's intestine?! I also blame the health sector especially the government hospitals are death beds for people! Its unfair!

Ahh so sorry oh may her soul rest in peace Amen

Sugarvie said...

May her gentle soul rest in peace.
***SUGAR***

Awww rip

This is sad,RIP ma'am *waiting for pple to blame president Jonathan for this* lol

Amarachi said...

Everything happens in Nigeria

Is well ..rest in peace

Na only God Almighty dey save pesn 4 dis we obodo naija. Our medical institute & personnels na zero. Linda take note!

RIP. Linda take note!

The Dr's we have in the country ehn, all they do is trial n error. Na God dey save person for Naija. Daris all

SUE

I think doctors should be more careful now...May her soul rest in peace

sad sad sad. May her soul rest in Peace #jojo#

Oh my!! This is a sad story indeed. May God console the family. Mistakes happen, but I wish it wasn't on a human life.

Hmmmm..D doc is supposed to be locked for life..speechless..R.I.P...............................#KingOfKings #6God

So sad. May her soul rest in peace.

omegdeluxeinteriors.blogspot.com
An interior design blog

Health sector

eh...sleep on

7F098C19 said...

RiP. Engr Emy

SO SAD RIP,GOD KNOWS THE BEST"""JC

Akwaugo said...

May her soul rest in peace

Lib ugegbe

Hmmm.. May her soul rest in peace!

Bella j said...

May God rest her soul amen...

Oh, what a pity.

Mao Akuh (Oriflame) said...

so sad

Ruby said...

Omg!!!!! So that's the story behind her death. Imo was a friend and an old classmate at Fegocal. It's so sad, so sad . RIP Imo.

We all must look for a way to push these quack doctors out and eb Jailed,What a horrible tragedy,May soul rest in peace...

luvlyn said...

University of Wales is in Wales not England.

ofonmbuk asanga said...

This is as true as Day! Attended the burial! Still pissed as F**k at the infrastruture in dis country! She was indeed a special breed! God knws best sha! May Her Soul be at Peace!

Haa! Na wa oo God. Just imagine d negligence! I pray d court finds DAT hospital guilty.

What a waste. RIP

D Most Complex

Na real wah oo.alot is happening in dz country

MR EDDY said.
Very sad news. I pray the lord grant the family the fortitude to bear the loss. may her soul rest in peace, Amen.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u happy new year.

CHERRY said...

RIP!

J Wilson said...

Total negligence! May her soul RIP

Lol. Univeristy of Wales. In England

We ve two mistake's people in Nigeria, one Nigerian police, two, & Nigerian Doctor's, until government looked into this group of unintelligent people things like this will still happen, RIP sis.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

Blaq said...

Huh Rip Lady

So sad to hear... Though the only claim of negligence would be that she was not informed of what happened during the surgery... It's a possible complication (damage to nearby organs) and every patient signs a consent form after being advised on the procedure,prognosis and possible complications of the surgery.. Hopefully the family will get some answers as to what exactly happened.. May she rest in peace though

Veevee said...

Sorry for the loss. May her soul rest in perfect peace.

Ndo, mana iju Amu, asigi no gbara ka. Imawota, rapu nu di doctor. Ndi befa ejillu go ya ju aja.

Visit www.blessinghammed.com

Not to sound insensitive but, details of an autopsy report would have made the allegation fair as we can only get oneside of the story.

May her gentle soul RIP. What a loss.

@Sophia Stephen

It's really sad, only God knows what really happened. RIP

Eastner said...

Lord,this is so sad...May her son rest in peace...Awww,God be with her child...This is what happens when our govt doesn't put in place a good health sector and we have incompetent doctors with no strict monitoring body...so sad.
It's God that's helping each and every common man in this our country

This is sad.........OMG, got the chills right now

R.I.P

O MA SHE O.....MAY HER SOUL REST IN PEACE

hmmmmmm Negligence...May her soul rest in peace

Linda I like your blog and enjoy the information you share but there are some that are too sensitive and require confirmation before you share. We are in the age of evidence.
Apologies to the dead, but there is need for evidence to prove the death was caused by an error from the doctor. I am trying hard to reason out how this error could have occurred. More so, was there any investigation done to prove the intestine was cut through at surgery? Agreed an error at surgery could happen, I am not trying to excuse any negligence from the Doctor but there is need for proof. I have put a link that shows a real caesarean section for you to watch. There is no intestine in the way.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LobvrbVV9AA

May her soul rest in peace AMEN!!
So what about the doctor kwan????

Eyah may her soul rest in peace amen

Wow! so so sad, one silly incompetency & a loss of valuable & vibrant life. RIP.

Favour belle said...

so sad. rip eyen eka

This is unfortunate! Deaths as a result of Doctor's negligence is fast becoming the order of the day in Nigeria..the issue can be brought to the attention of medical and dental council of Nigeria who is the official disciplinary/regulatory body for doctor behaviour..I pray God gives the family the grace to bear the loss..

Rip..it is well.

Oh my days! This is sad.. rest in peace dear.. one day.. God will deal with all these wicked doctors.

I shall give birth like the Hebrew women, Amen. RIP

Mrs .M said...

Jesus! Rest in peace , it is well with our Nigeria doctors.God help us

Awww! May her soul rest in peace, amen...

Eyaaaaaaa. Sad
May her soul rest in peace.

Eyaaaaaaa. Sad

So sad! she sure look vibrant despite her size. May her soul rest in perfect peace after d doctor is behind bar. AMEN

RIP! Its time we begin to sanction this doctors and run autopsy on every death reported in all hospitals so as to be sure if inocent patients die of negligence on the part of d doctors and those found guilty will be punished.

*Tspark*

So sad. I think doctors should be reading this. Human beings are not lab rats. Carefulness is d watch word. May her soul rest in peace. #vexed

Some people are just heartless

SunnyBriggs. said...

RIP. Sad story.

iyke cindy said...

OMG!!!wat a world ....some doctors can kee 4 Africa *** wat bizness does d intestine av wit d lower segmnt where cs is conducted?

Kai! I hope they have enough evidence to nail that doctor. He should face the wrath of law

Wow!
God is our only help from all these doctors...I was operated four months ago for appendicitis and now I still feel pains on the left side of my stomach.
If I had been operated I would have said it's appendicitis..now I don't even know what to do except pray bcos I can't go tru anoda operation again.

lami said...

That's my cousin......RIP sis Imoh, may ur soul rest in perfect peace. I witnessed it all, the pains my cousin has to go thru cuz of d mistake of dis doctor.

Rip my dear. God help your family at this time and forever.

Poster please don't jump into conclusions though. As I can tell from the pictures attached, your friend was a lil overweight and that someone ones poses difficulties for doctors in the theatre. A thorough investigation is required to ensure this doesnt happen again and justice be served.

Once again, God grant you the fortitude to bear the loss of a beautiful soul

Sad story

Linda continue, God is watching. Linda take note!

Shut up! More people die from doctor's negligence than any other thing if you don't know. Moreover, Linda published the story with a caveat, coupled with the fact that neither the doctor's nor the hospital's name was published. So, why beef Linda?

Chyke
City: Unknown.

Whenever you have an opportunity to speak to an obstetrician, you may want to ask this question. A video may not provide answers to your argument

Liflblog.wordpress.com said...

such a sad loss!
pls visit my blog...

Liflblog.WordPress.com

LIVE YOUR BEST LIFE EVERYDAY!

may she RIP.

Daralohi said...

Sorry abt ur loss@daniel ikuku,may her soul rest in peace.

Miss indomie says so.

My thots exactly. I can bet its complication relating to her obesity. Most time its difficult operating on fat pple. Then imagine CS on her in our low equipped hospitals.

You raised valid point but then again this is Nigeria where people die from practically everything. We all know that most of our hospitals and medical professionals are incompetent!

Dr. O said...

You need to get checked again. I've heard stories of how some people just open and close especially in Akwa ibom but the appendix is always on the right except in very rare cases. what you have may be a diverticulitis

I agree that we all make mistakes. But I consider it a criminal act where the doctor knew what went wrong, and didn't bother alerting anyone else. Obviously he/she was trying to cover tracks and protect their license at the expense of some else's life. Whatever happened to the Hippocratic Oath he/she swore. Let God be the judge.

painful & sad. RIP

bold en beautiful RIP

MISSvee

Doyeen Aliyu said...

That's where u are wrong iyke. Mistake is unacceptable in medicine. You must be conscious of what u are doing @ all times cos a doctor job is to safe lives. You just can't afford to make mistakes. Sorry to say this but naija doctors don't give a damn about their. Patients health all they care about is money.

RIP lady and may God grant your family the fortitude to bear tis irreparable loss. Speaking on the pur1ported cause of her death anm a little taken aback by the facts,moreso by the ignominous ignorance displayed by a lot of commentators here. Firstly every patient signs an 'informed' consent before going under any surgery. this consent leaves the extent of the surgery including handling any intraoperative complications and aberrations of anatomy to the discreation of the surgeon , whom the patient must have adjudged competent in the first place. Secondly , assuming that the intestine was inadvertently perforated , the simple panacea is to suture[repair] it and tailor the post operative protocol to accomodate that. People have been successfully treated with perforated gut of several months old and they survive so i don't understand the facts being represented here. Unless the lady visited a quack or a non-specialist who failed to admit the limits of his/her know how. Those not medically aware will see every thing a doctor does as rock science. If the ladies caregivers are serious, they would have called for an autopsy to acually discover what happened. However , I must admit that no body is above mistakes including the doctor and medical training advises that a doctor who meets an impasse in managing a patient should call for help from a more experienced collegue or a specillist in the area.

Administrative Officer Needed : APPLY NOW: http://bit.ly/1tT7sPG

Absolutely agree, Pls go abroad to have ur baby especially if you may be likely to hv a c section..nigeria is not place to be having surgical procedures. I,m sure she could hv afforded it cos she spent more than that on her education in the Uk. Her soul RIP.

Nawah. Nigerian dostors sef. That was how one stupid doctor robbed me of my baby all in the name of treatment. May her soul rest in peace.

Dr Akinsowon Olusegun said...

It is a pity I live in a society where people critisise doctors for every death or morbidity that occurs in hospital, even when it is obviously an unavoidable death as in advanced stage cancer. the only process that would have unraffled the cause of death is postmortem exam. it is not likely that this patient would have died from gut perforation as claimed. accidental gut perforation during operation when carefully repaired as claimed by this report will not lead to death. this patient has an obvious risk factor here, the obesity which can lead to her death. one of these is pulmonary embolism which this woman was a candidate.surgical complication occured every where even in developed worlds.some celebbrities even our leaders are victims.This is why consent is always taken before surgery. Please be fair in your comments on Nigerian doctors.

Many things and circumstances around this unfortunate event were obviously left out or not understood by the writer. Caeserean section is a major operation with high risk of mortality unlike what average person thinks. it is more so in the presence of other comorbidities such as obesity. the picture of the woman posted here was taken most probably when she was in her best, perhaps , non pregnant. The obesity would have been worse with pregnancy. the babies of obese women are larger, more difficult to extract from uterus. it is usually the very reason for opting for c/s. the anterior abdominal wall is usually thick with fat and makes access to the uterus difficult in the obese. wounds heal badly in the obese. superimposed on this is the risk of blood clots blocking major organs such as lungs, kidneys or brain. it is difficult to pass blame here. injury to the intestine recognised during surgery and dealth with immediately by a qualified surgeon very unlikely to be the cause death after 4 months. was the surgery planned or did the patient come as an emergency having laboured somewhere else before coming to the doctor with complications. this is the usual scenerio in this country were pregnant women reject planned caesarean section because it is not their portion and on the advice of a prophet or pastor or minister or even mother in law and labour at home or church or at a facility without the requisite manpower or gadget to intervene on time only to appear to an unfortunate doctor who now battles to save the mother's life at odd hours when the patient's reserve has seriously diminished.
People lump everybody in white coat together as medical doctor. While I recognize that there are bad eggs in the noble profession of medicine, they are few in number. A lot of people who have nothing to do with medicine have all dabbled into it in nigeria unabashed and operating under the cover name of doctor.regretabbly, society has even accommodated them even when aware they are quacks. two thirds of 'doctors' in the rural areas are fake. the worse culprtis are male paramedical personnels who dangle stethoscopes on their necks and misled the unsuspecting public.

SHADYBRIAN said...

Sow ko reap ni....idiot.

So sad dear.... may her soul Rest In Peace..... Daniel Okuku

Linda plz nd plz post my comments...... plz am begging

Mrs O. said...

Mr anonymous,this is Nigeria where we have so many quack doctors. This kind of mistake happened to someone in federal med.centre keffi, the doctors cut the woman's intestine and she died some hours later. Bunch of unqualified medical doctors all over the place. You meet some and after diagnosing you,you feel like slapping there brains back to factory settings. So bloody annoying. RIP madam and may God keep ur baby.

Damsel lohi Tnkz 4 u concern.... the sad part of d whole story is d pains is felt nd her baby she left behind.

Awwwww.....RIP

God bless you Anon 4:47.there is always more to a story bt pple re always eager 2 jump to conclusions even when they re not well informed.....RIP to the dead.

I am a labor delivery physician in the united states. This was negligence. I have done many c sections in my residency and never have we cut sometimes intestines. Her obesity had nothing to do with anything. The only thing that can be dangerous would be anesthesia.. So my dear sir educate yourself... Don't be a waste.

Mistake radarada wo...wat rubbish.

Every surgery comes with its complications...inasmuch as mistakes re not tolerated in medicine,no man is perfect and it happens both in US and d UK...May her soul rest in perfect peace.

AdaM said...

Why wont ppl kip dying? when students buy their way comfortably all tru the university. Educational system is crumbling everyday. Don't we hv ppl in dt sector who are meant to uphold the standards? No, but all they do is scramble for money to share amongst themselves. Ds too na Jonathan cause am. If every individual in their little corners n spaces would do wat is right, ds country would b a better place. Na Jonathan say make Doctor dey negligent n less concerned about the human lives that they r supposed to protect. See the pretty lady dt one nonsense quack doctor has wasted now. RIP pretty lady.

May she rest in peace but people as fat as that usually die in the theater room from complications

So sorry, she has to pay . RIP

egowein said...

There is nothing more painful than a mistaken death.......

Ohh...this is a terrible mistake...

badasschick said...

You all should shut the eff up.... Until an autopsy is done you can say what actually killed her....for crying out loud she is obese which can make her prone to numerous complications.... If the writer has said her ureters and bladder was damaged I would scream get the doctor but the intestines is not close to where the incision would be made...

And before you fools come at me you all should know that when you malnourished idiots have an abdominal surgery and something goes wrong you all jump and say the intestines were..cut...bunch if fools

Is the poster the witch that ate her friends intestines abi na she be d doctor wey cut am take do pepper soup

badasschick said...

Taaaaaa shatap Oya recite that oath and explain... Pssst.do you even know ya father let alone the oath... You sound like the result of a pregnancy pinned on another man

I tell u

Mackullen said...

May her soul rest In peace
It's very easy for people to apportion blame to a doctor when some thing goes wrong in d health....ppl forget dat d hospital has so many oda workers dt assist d doc in his duties.....like d nurses,lab scientist,radiographers,midwives and d whole lot.......dese set of ppl have bin on strike for over 2mnths nw and ur government has done notin about it......buh have bin spendin billions on campaigns and all dat........a doc Wudnt work effectively if left to do all d work.....he/she is as human as d rest of d world...and can make ,mistakes....if he/she is fatigued.
Plus it's rili difficult to actuali sew up an intestine durin a cs wifout knowin....cos d woman isn't discharged until she starts goin to toilet......
Look at d tym diff btw d surgery and discovery...3mnths.... Nt very possible.........hu even did dis discovery and cudnt save s situation?

cutting someone's intestine mistakenly during a surgery is not a reason for death.the main gist is missen in the story sent to you.you should have shown this story to a health professional before posting.they would have advised you on specific details to ask the person that sent the info to you to include. abeg LIB is more than thid level

Nifemi said...

Pls the intestine has nothing to do with a cesarean section, lol do you know where the intestine is and location for CS??? This story is wrong, for how long do we doctors have to get the blame for natural deaths???

may her soul rest in peace ...i feel for her little baby

360mom said...

May ur soul rest in perfect peace. It is so sad that people who are supposed to save lives are the ones taking it away from innocent citizens. When I keep saying that our doctors needs to start getting sued for negligence ppl will say I don talk. This is really absurd and when nothing is done it keeps repeating itself. My people let's us all unite and save our country Nigeria. My goal in 2015 is to help spread the word so that infant and maternal mortality will be reduced. Please join me in that fight, let's all learn from each other and teach one another. It will not kill us if our country is good. U may decide to not listen and say is one of those things, but remember it can happen to anyway 2mr.Linda post my comment ohh, cos am pissed rite now

someone , probably , an imposter claimed to be 'labour ward delivery physician'!in the UK. rediculous title if you ask a medical doctor. the intestines are usually out of the way during cs. but in a woman who had done previous abdominal surgery it may be directly under the part of surgical knife and may be injured. good news is that it is mostly recognizes at surgery and repaired without consequences. for one who died 3 months after cs (after puerperuim) , the cause is very unlikely related to pregnancy and its complications. By definition, this is not maternal death. Ngwa UK labour ward physician

Bikonu,Linda, dis your story is sooo not true. I know this woman as a patient in d hospital where I work. So trust me, it was not d Doctor's negligence dat killed her! May her soul rest in peace. Advice 2 everyone, pls Obesity comes wit a lot of health issues. Try and exercise and eat healthy.

Ruby said...

@ badasschick......I find your comments very sickening and nauseating.....its like you ve lost your brains. Get a grip on yourself!!!

Ruby said...

@badasschick...and you sound like a retarded patient let loose on the streets!!!

Am a dr and this story is ridiculous but pls we need the operation notes and a witnessed AUTOPSY, for you ignorant bunch a c/section is in the pelvis intestines are in the abdomen or did she have adhesions from pelvic inflammatory disease in which case bowel injury is possible even in the best hands cos the anatomy is distorted and it was said to be repaired,so what shud d dr do not operate ignorant idiots
Nigerian patients always blaming dr's awon ode with no proof

Bowel injury is a recognised possible complication at caesarean section. Important thing is that it is identified at the time it happened and then repaired immediately by a surgeon. This woman was morbidly obese which would increase her risks at surgery even more. We do not know from the story if she had previous abdominal surgeries or caesarean sections which would also make the risk of bowel injury even more as she would have adhesions.
Lastly, it is unlikely that it is the bowel injury that directly led to her death 4 months after the operation. Faecal matter in the abdominal cavity will cause peritonitis and kill in a few weeks if not days!

Ok... So... You are clearly limited... .. The baby doesn't grow in mothers stomach. It grows in the uterus.. Which is separate from the bowel where the intestines are.... I feel for you... Your ignorance is so sad...

So true my brother

May ur soul rest in d lord, amen. I hate to see this kind of post cos it brings back bad n sad memories for me, some of the so called Doctors in nig, only God can judge dem I rest my case

blessing i bu otile.

Ndi be unu ji gi wee tu aja ya meelu n'inweghi ubulu ima na ndi enyi IMO n'anukwa Igbo! Tufia Blessing Nwa amadioha nwata ajulu aju.

jowexy said...

Ur english is f****d. U are d unintelligent fool.

jowexy said...

You even look like a thug. Mtcheeeeeew

Yemen said...

Govt hospitals have been on strike since like forever, so how could she have been operated in a govt hospital? This story stinks!! Linda pls always verify b4 u publish!!