Photo: Fire roast 4 children of same parents to death on Xmas day in Anambra | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 28 December 2014

Photo: Fire roast 4 children of same parents to death on Xmas day in Anambra

It was a sad Christmas day celebration for the Ofomata family residing at Umuele Umudim, Nnewi, Anambra State as a fire outbreak at their three-bedroom apartment roasted four of their children-  Chioma Ofomata, 6, Goodness& Mercy Ofo­mata who were twins, 3, and Ifeoma, 2, to death.

According to reports, the mother of the 4 girls had locked her children in the house and had gone over to the community center to collect her share of Christmas rice meant for widows in the community when the fire started.

Residents in the area were not quick to notice the fire or hear the cry for help from the children until they started seeing thick smoke coming from their apartment. By the time the door to their house was broken down, only the charred remains of the four girls were found.

Their father, 57 year old Mr Ofoamata, a vulcanizer, said he was at his shop with his two sons, Kosy, 8, and Ebu­ka, 5 when the incident happened. He said he got to know of the unfortunate incident when edhe returned home at about 6pm and saw people gather at his compound with smoke coming from his apartment. He said his wife never told him she was going out to collect any rice.

While giving her account of what happened, mrs Ofomata said she locked her children in their apartment so as to restrict their movement and that the day of the incident wasn't the first time she would lock them in. She denied claims that the rice she went to collect was actually meant for widows

“The rice was meant for everybody, not widows alone. If you like go and find out. I don’t know what caused the fire,” she said

The remains of the little children have been deposited at the mortuary.

Source: Sunnewsonline.com

132 comments:

Jesus Reigns said...

Wooooow

Oh dear! May their souls Rip

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm,its indeed really sad.i cant even begin to imagine.

RICE?? WHAT A SAD STORY. GOD KNOWS BEST

Ehya........ Really sad

goodness said...

Heart broken!may their souls rest in peace

goodness said...

Heart broken!may their souls rest in peace

OlaOluwaYimiKa said...

The Lord will strengthen the family #sad

Most often when ppl especially innocent children die in mass...i keep wondering and asking my self,why would such happened to them....when we have wicked ppl dat shld hv dies instead of innocent kids....God why must such happened

She trying so hard not to blame herself. Women should learn not to lock up children in the house. So sad
FACE~OF~LIB

“Forget all the reasons it won’t work and
believe the one reason that it will.” - Unknown

What a sad Christmas for that family.

Linda, please change the word ROAST it's coming across as insensitive. Thank you. Are you in the U.S? What part?

I'm not even judging but how can one leave children of such ages by themselves all locked up. #onlyinnigeria

Poverty!!!

obiora said...

Sad

Sad!

Oh God, that's very painful. Rip little ones

Rosie said...

She had to lock them up like that? because of rice? Wnders shall never end!

Chai! Dis fire yet again?!

Some women can be careless,God bless the soul of the little ones

So sad... I really feel for the parents especially their mother..im just thinking out loud..will she ever eat rice again? This is what poverty can cause. May their souls rest in peace and may God grant the family the fortitude to bear the loss, Amen.

What a tragedy! I dunno why i dont like the idea of locking kids at home and alone.this is why neighbours are important

LOrd have mercy

Awww, this is reminiscent to a story I read here sometime ago! Eerily similar.

Oh what a tragic Christmas. May their souls rest in peace.

***ECHOMASS***

Could this be greed or poverty? rice meant for widows. it is well with her. very sad something.

Is a pity take hart

Wht a tragic loss on a special day.

Pls mothers shouLd leaen frm dis. Hav ur kids under d care of neighbours instead of locking them up.

#Royal Priesthood#

Is a pity take hart

Dis is supernatural! Jay-B

oh my goodness, fire crisis is too much this December

RIP!

Thank God d hubby took d sons wit him.

4children lost@a go when someone some where is looking for just one child.

#Royal Priesthood#

Now everyone will say she killed her Children bcos of Rice

General said...

Mehn,nt again. Cant we celebrate witout em bad news

Sad

eyah!! RIP gals

Chai, this is not good. Our land is suppose to be richer and better than what it is. See what corruption is doing to us. One man/woman want to own everything at the expense of others. If she had enough, she wouldn't have gone out to collect her own share of xmas rice and meat. May. Their souls rest in peace.

Am so grateful to God that my family and I had a wonderful christmas day...may their souls rest in peace

See wht poverty can cause. Bcos of mere bag of rice, 4 future leaders were lost.

#Royal Priesthood#

Rip......#GmOooOore'sTaLk

God hav mercy but d woman was careless and very careess@dat.

I can't imaagine wht she went thru during labour mostly 4d twins children and she lost them just bcos of mere bag of rice.

#Royal Priesthood#

Hmmm may their souls rest in prefect peace. Wat a painful ordeal

That woman need to b stoned to death.

Am very angry. Dis is too much to bear as if am d one dat lost those precious souls.

#Royal Priesthood#

Tragedy, may God console their parents.

Sad

Hmm, na wa. With all these happenings people stil find it very difficult to learn. One doesn't need to go school to know certain things. Haba! May d souls of of these innocent children rest in d bosom of d Lord, amen.

Really tragic!

Everything Rosham said...

May deir gentle soul rest in peace

Oh!so sad....

Trendyify said...

Because of Christmas Rice ?God punish poverty

Rip to the dead

See wetin poverty dey cause,abi I go say see wetin rice don cause na wa ooh**EMZEALLOUS**

Chai! maka rice? May their souls rest in peace. Amen

Choi! Y lock d children up nah. Nt blamin her but she had other options

rip guy am sry 4 dy parent

OMG! What a sad Christmas for this family *sobs* this is a great loss indeed 'smh' I feel big time for this family it's so painful gosh! Rip to the them *tears drop* #onelovefromSnow#

Locking children in the house has never been a good idea

Princess G said...

Rice for Windows na u go collect mean while u get husband. Hmmmmmm, the death of those kids we forever hunt u. Rip to the dead

Chai! C wat rice has caused

Sugarvie said...

Very pitiful... Mothers should stop locking their kids inside, its nt wise.

Cynthia Tasha said...

black Xmas

miss Sparxz said...

Oh God! May their little souls RIP

HEW! MY GOODNESS! THIS IS JUST TOO TOO BAD O. POOR WOMAN! WHERE TO START? KAI! KAI! KAI!

Chai! My God! I dunt no wot 2say!

Tbam said...

May their souls rest in peace!

How could a woman that her husband still exists go for widow rice. Anyway may the soul of the departed children rest in peace

OBEYA FRIDAY's Official Website said...

MAY THEIR SOULS REST IN PEACE. THAT WAS A PAINFUL INCIDENCE.

joy jin nwasoka said...

Imagine restriction.......when their suppose to pay visit like the other children their stupid mother locked them up just to collect one cup of rice in exchange of four lives...........poverty have caused people a lot.......may their souls rip...

God on xmas day. RIP guys

May we not witness dis kind of trouble. Why did she lock them up . She ought to have kept them with friends or family.Na she sabi

So sad

Eya,xmas rice to feed d family. Wat a pity,RIP to da dead.

gbemsco said...

If only she had....Nigeria Government you can see

PAVOUR said...

Nawah ooo so sad. RiP

prettiyz said...

Oh my God,may their soul rest in peace

MR EDDY said.

^watin even carry their mum to collect gifts meant for Windows. Women sef.. Rip to the lovely girls.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Ohh what a tragedy.may God grant the family fortitude to bear the loss.Amen

Sad news. But rice meant for d widow where the husband is still alive. Some times we cause our misfortune wit our hand, may their soul RIP

Nigerians and freebies... God is watching...

Blaq said...

Smh what a mother mtcheww
Rip to the poor girls

So unfortunate *rip

ADAOBI said...

Rip to the kids...

This is terrible! Very careless of the mother. U don't leave kids that young at home with out the supervision of atleast a grown up teenager or an adult.

What a tragedy...R.I.P to those kids and my sympathies to the family of the deceased
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

Linda PLEASE choose your wordings wisely. The word 'roast' is not appropriate for this sort of news! those children were not chickens, neither were they potatoes...PLEASE! May God rest their little souls and comfort their family.

Very sad😂😭😢

Thank you for asking her to change the word. Linda Ikeji, please stay away from the common parlance of our uneducated media reporters in Nigeria. I studied mass communication in university and many times I cringe at your headlines and news stories. Please get an editor. The word ROAST is very insensitive. Food gets roasted, not people.
L.S.

Oh Lord have mercy. The children died in pains, pls parents stop locking up ur kids ; its has been said several times. Thank God the two sons weren't home

Redcandy said...

Parents, especially mothers, please stop locking your kids in. I have seen first hand where a mother locked her 4 kids in their apartment and left the gen running so that they could watch cartoons while she was gone. Soon, the kids were yelling for help. A fire had begun in one of the bedrooms and was spreading fast. It took almost all the security guards and male neighbours on the street to break down the burglary proof gate first, before they could break down the door and save those kids. When the mother was summoned, she was asked where she went. She was too ashamed to say she went to her friend's house within the area ( to go and do amebo I'm sure). Please and please, take your kids with u. If you can't, then stay home and delegate whoever to run your errand for you. God help us.

Redcandy
****www.idoncomeagain.com****

dami said...

Really unfortunate...... May the souls of d kids rest in peace.

what long throat will cause ehn....chai! now she has used those children as burnt offering, God have mercy. may we and ours witness the new year in Jesus' name.

A poor vulcanizer yet he has 6 kids. Wow some Nigerians need education on family planning issues. I don't blame the mother for going to collect rice intended for widows. She can consider herself a widow but she shouldn't have locked the children in. RIP little ones. Linda, the word "roast" is a bit harsh here.

I do lock my kids but I let them hold the keys,with strict instructions not to open for strangers,but to use it to open incase of emergency,I do not trust neighbors .On my kids matters.
Please nobody should blame her,it's what poverty has brought into our life's.lets all vote for responsible people to represent us in government.May their gentle souls rest in peace Amen.

So tragic..an unfortunate occurrence..i pray heaven accepts their souls..Amen

Guy..it happens everywhere..its no bad thing to leave ur kids in their room locked up and run to the market..would you rather leave such young and growing up kids out considering the season of year we'r in..?..kidnappers are loitering around mind you..the rich do it and the poor also do it..perhaps she left the television On for them with a cartoon on display..

prittyog said...

Chai! May their souls rip

Ha God!!!! Ha! So sad.SMH. R.I.P to them.

So sad.God pls help us

ElsieNene said...

Oh Lord! too many death news :( may their souls rest in peace, Amen.

purity C said...

May their souls rest in peace Amen

Rip

So sad.......Rip kids

Ohh. This is so sad. May God comfort them.

Oh my goodness!

linda...are you ok?why would you use the word roast..na wa o

Sylvonce said...

Despite all the negative news of "lock nd key" we've heard, parents still fail to adhere to instructions. God give them strength to bear the loss.

May God accept their innocent souls.
P4dworld@gmail.com

Ms Ikeji I think the caption or headline: 'ROAST' in my opinion is rather insensitive...(Pls look it up) they're NOT food or Chicken, I know you won't but pls change it...show some respect.

UK TOG

PS: So Sad...May their souls RIP

Roast? You can't be this insensitive!

How will she get editor when she wants to chop alone and die alone...plus show off on Christmas give away...like come and comment when u get your alert...I blame Nigeria government for d unemployment rate.

INDIGENOUS LIB said...

See what Level of poverty has caused this family.. She locked them cos she wants to collect rice, is she that foolish?

Shut up already...careless how?

roast is an inappropriate word to use Linda.

Exactly, please change your headline. It's an inappropriate word to use for people.

What a tragedy? May dia souls rest in peace!!!!

***lustreangel2002@gmail.com***

The woman is very wicked why would she leave lock her children in the room n go to collect mere food..

What a loss, God give the family the heart to bear ds loss.

Locking children in is all shades of wrong! One day one day monkey go go market e no go come back

So sad! RIP

Please don't use the word roast. It's so insensitive

This is hrt breaking oh God....bless dia soul.

This is horrible, am so sorry for the poor siblings and family members, I just don't like the word roast Linda Darlin. The made humans sound like animals.

ChincoBee said...

awwwwww so sad

See what their mother caused....So sad! Why on Xmas day?

"Fire roast..." for you to eat abi? #lindawithbadnews #smh

The woman was so careless be cos of rice. May the children's souls rest in peace