Tokunbo cars to cost more from January 1, 2015 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 31 December 2014

Tokunbo cars to cost more from January 1, 2015

As from first of January 2015, prices of imported used cars otherwise known as Tokunbo or second-hand cars are expected to go up as the second phase of the national automotive policy which was announced in November 2013, will commence.

Car dealers would be expected to pay the federal government 70% duty on all imported cars. FG had in 2013 introduced the national automotive policy with the view of encouraging local assemblage of automobiles in Nigeria, increasing the import tariff from 22% to 70%. The first phase of the policy involving the payment of 35% duty came into effect in February 2014 while the second phase which would have started in July this year was postponed to Jan. 2015.

123 comments:

khemorah said...

Blah blah blah!

No WWalah, Custom officer's for Cotonou Go get big Tummy na.. All way leads to Cotonou..

.Disclaimer:: Raise Your Words, Not Your Voice. It Is Rain That Grows Flowers, Not Thunder..

Jonathan,u will die before our very eyes.Nigeria will not crumble.u are just making ur life miserable and hard by the day..

Na wah oh. Wetin person go come do?

The we settle for a new one

Hopefull. said...

Dey no wnt mk I buy car?

And you still want me to vote jonathan. Maybe garri sellers too will start paying federal government

Na wa Oooo,everybody don change finish Oooo,na new year money sha...........#Gmooore'sTaLk

Joy Monique A said...

Na wa oooo

Dave Mide said...

Trust me, nigerian would still buy the ones from abroad irrespective of the increment in price. Naija made cars ?? issokay ...we dey watch

No wahala

Wen u still hav our CVs stored in ur database...or left wit d gateman...ur talkng abt car price...na leave we go use buy?? mtcheeew!!!

We will start buying naija Used Cars thanks to Cheki.

D Grace will be upon us also to buy Brand New Ones

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

But I will catch a grenade for GEJ. Holla at me if u feel d same way. Comment signed,sealed and delivered by DatShapiboboy

2015 must be easy for all Nigerians.Dat is my prayer.

Aaronxy said...

This is a very stupid idea n means to generate income to em pockets... Re 9ja made cars made to be good? Stupid idea.. Bad leadership.

Not driving any shit assembled in Nigeria...

Thank God for my legswagon o.

This people want to make live miserable for the less privileged who can't afford to buy a new state-of-the-art cars. Have mercy! Bikonu!

These is absolute wickedness, from 22% to 70% lord have mercy, its not as if Nigeria is doing good in the manufacturing of this cars, so way pass such a wicked bill

Great! We need to learn how to promote our own. Great initiative. D only thing Nigerians are good at is to condemn. With all d disasters in other parts of d world (like USA where police av been killing blacks, Asia with the plane crashes), av not heard dem calling d names of their presidents. Its only in Nigeria dat d only thing we are good at is condemning d Govt.

No be small tin

wow!

The Thing That Eats People Up ( You Just Have To See This)

dis is crios

The ‘Side Chick’ Death Trap | Is It Worth
the Fun? ( A must read )

Ds na serious gbegeh...

MR EDDY said.
This ain't going to be favorable at all.
^™THAT EDO BOY.COM~wishes u merry Christmas and a happy new year.

Na only God fit help us chai. #Folayemi#

Drat

duchessofnothin@yahoo.com

You can all see why those in the automobile industry donated heavily for GEJ campaign. Just making life difficult for the common man.May God help us.

Na wa for Nigerian Govt... Our Govt bad ooo dem no wan give gutto man job oo. Anytin wey poor man do for dis 9ja Govt no dey like am

Bad Govt.... Jonathan no dey try at all

Hummmmmm.......its well o

Lol....Naija

Nigeria na dustbin i swear no doubt......

Wow..... Dats a lot of tariff increment... But it's gud... I jus hop those locally assembled cars will hav standard...

CHERRY said...

Okay!

So where the local cars wen dem don assemble nah?

Clueless set of people.

«Ushering my belove Linda Ikeji & fellow LIB Readers into 2015»

Henceforth, u wil move from glory to glory, anything u lay your hands on shal prosper, ur dreams wil come to pass, ur plans wil succeed, ur destiny & desires of ur heart wil b fulfilled.

In 2015, money wil know ur name & address. May outstanding health, prosperity, joy, success, peace, love, blessing, favour & happines b double portion 4u & ur household.

I decree 2015 as ur year & season of breakthrough, upliftment, promotion and change of status.

It has b so wonderful & fun b part of LIB.

Linda Ikeji, I fondly call u "Lili", God bless u abundantly & increase u frm coast to coast & may u b solution & blessing to our national problem's.

Lili, job well done, more power to ur elbow & thanks 4d lovely giveaway's & cash gifts to ur LIB Reader's.

WISH U ALL ~ HAPPY & PROSPEROUS 2015...
#Royal Priesthood#

Ok heard

jommie babe. said...

It is development in the right direction. They should've done it for cars at certain age cos 2012 model car is still a new car. Hope the new ones can be afforded by an average struggling Nigerian.

From 22% to 70%?? Who brings all these harsh policies sef? Kia!!

Why not just stop importation so we know we dealing with the ones assembled in Nigeria...who's going to suffer for it?...

#Omoh

Chocho said...

So this Jona government is hell bent on making d lives of Nigerians difficult. You have not assembled up to 500,000 cars in the country enough to carter for 2% of only Lagos population and u r increasing d price of Tokunbo cars. Even d assembled cars how many is in ur convoy, how affordable is it for ordinary Nigerians. You just lost my vote thank you

Alagbado-ode said...

Another heartless policy attack on the middle - class?

Alagbado-ode said...

Another heartless policy attack on the middle - class?

Okay oo, for those with the intention to buy tokunbo car nah

jonathan will fail cos of this

Nothing comes down in price in this country. It always goes up.

I am not surprised..naira has no value anymore..

Inspired by sex mp3 by Tb Joshua

kush baba said...

Let them continue to implement anti people's policy without making adequate provision to cushion the effect, How many Nigerian's can afford to buy a brand new car? What is the fate of the people whose means of livelihood is through importation and sales of tokunbo cars? There are loads of people's oriented policy that needs to be attended to, please set your priority right and stop acting as if Nigeria is owned by you guys! Days of reckoning is around the corner.

Gashonx said...

Oho! who cares. My God shall supply all my needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Nothing do me I tell you.

Gashonx said...

Oho! who cares. My God shall supply all my needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Nothing do me I tell you.

Na so...

Where are the locally assembled cars...we can't even find it...what happened to having a site where they showcase their garage...and how sure are we it is affordable,if it was we could'v stoped buying toks...this country sef na wa

So this this is true. I was told some months back that is gonna increase next year

Aymii said...

Y'all see what we iz talking about........????
In a country ravaged by poverty, No strong middle class. 70% of the population living on less than 2$ a day and we're supply to be buying brand new cars?????

This is " Fuckery!!". Straight from Gej's government....and were supply to cast our votes for the mofo one more time init??

Hell No! Sai Buhari!

On 2 the Next!

The suffering continues. ......countdown to get rid of GEJ. Amen

That's their business not mine....
¤
¤¤¤GUTS OVER FEAR¤¤¤
¤

burberry said...

Nawa ooooo

Aymii or whateva d fuckness u are.. stop being myopic in thought dis is 1 of few brilliant initiatives of dis present administration dat ur primitive minds will only appreciate when it's too late.. think well n fast b4 u live or speak

BlendTalka

Lmao! What's with this bastard man's government and January 1st sef? His cult must be really evil to always come up with policies that affect the masses negatively on a day they're supposed to be happy. Why not on January 5th? Will those 4 extra days kill them? Same thing the bastard did with fuel subsidy. Evil man!

*then

well, is a way of boosting and encouraging the local automotive manufacturers

That policy will favor some while others won't
@Mr Endowed via Lumia phone

But why do you lie so much? People call for Obama's head everyday!

well, is a way of boosting and encouraging the local automotive manufacturers hopefully I will not be needing tokunbo in my life in 2015!!! Flips hair works away" JC

For that case let's patronised our own Innoson Motors, it's an opportunity to appreciate ours.

Well said

Linda's Intern said...

And they had to wait until today to announce this? What better way to define wickedness
I've been patiently waiting for January to buy a tokumbo Toyota from all these "I-wanna-gonna's" that come back to show off cars in December and sell them off before travelling back in January.
They'll get this info now and increase the price outrageously
I'm deeply hurt by this seriously

Ladipo you will wish you were dead before Jonathan's very eyes.
Ewu poverty.
people like u are why we are were we are now. tomorrow you will say there is no job. stupid.

Linda's Intern said...

Oga I was hoping this your epistle would end without you thirsting for freebies but no! YOU DISAPPOINTED ME!

Ladipo you will wish you were dead before Jonathan's very eyes.
Ewu poverty.
people like u are why we are were we are now. tomorrow you will say there is no job. stupid.

olu said...

We can't "promote our own" because the Federal Government does not institute laws in the interest of the Majority.
They have a habit of putting the horse before the cart (partially driven by stupidity, but mostly driven by greed).
You don't institute such a stupid law when you haven't stabilized things like electricity and efficient mass transportation.
How many Nigerians can afford to buy a brand new car? (which is what the assembly would be churning out)... We definitely can't go to the banks for loans for them.
How will the assembly plants function efficiently when there is no constant electricity?
These plants will run on generators... Which run on diesel... Which would also be reflected in the final price for each car.
Only people that will be able to afford these cars are the people that won't mind paying the 70% anyways.
I don't see it as being sustainable, cos people will simply stop importing (legally)... And the boys in Customs won't get their "small chops" anymore.
If we're already starting the year off with this grievously STUPID law, I wander what the rest of the year holds.

I am a fan of jonathan and pdp but with this policy he just lost my vote he should reverse it if he need the vote but can leave it if he doesn't. In UK you clear car with 100 pounds not upto 40k what is it with nigeria stealing money, I bet you if they implement this nonsense revolution will commence and I will be the one to start it thanks

Why re you people complaining. you said you love him,just make mistake and vote him in 2015,don't be surprise when he will sale this country. I want you to know that GEJ is not doing this for local car makers but for himself,I was a peugeot expert before,this the same person,stop buying federal cars from peugeot that made peugeot company a mess,they stop production and sacked thousand in kaduna plant,check all the government official you will not find a peugeot or any nigeria made cars in there entourage wicked people**EMZEALLOUS**

Shut up Ur mount.Ladipo has a point you fool...how many automobile companies assemble here,just 3 or 4,and we ain't even seeing them.Are we all supposed to use same cars because we Wona be patronage...God help Nigeria,GEJ na wa oooooo

Don't worry about that. Stolen cars prices are still going very low. Just be at look out for such ocassion.

Damochedxb said...

Oh my God. You are an idiot. How many cars are made and assembled in Nigeria? How many people can afford to buy those brand new cars? These fucking dumb looting ass government haven't fixed the roads or provided stable light they are there busy talking shit about promoting Nigerian made or assembled cars??? Honestly this is the dumbest shit ever. Why are they bent on making life difficult for those that are struggling to take care of them selves despite the neglect from their useless government? Vote GEJ and his cohorts out now...

Damochedxb said...

The man is an idiot. Honestly, very foolish president...

mtchewwwwwwwwwww nonsense

Damochedxb said...

Honestly God go punish Jonathan and his gang of blood sucking demons, sucking the blood of the common Nigerians who are struggling to survive the hardship of the land. Imagine 70% duty .. haba!!!

Damochedxb said...

Anonymous i am pretty sure you are one of the benefactors of the corrupt Nigerian system, if not i dont understand how you think this initiative would benefit the common man. Nigeria hasn't gotten to the stage of taking such bold step just when majority of its population are in the lowest of the lower class just as Ayim put it.

PRETTY GIRL said...

This is just really fucked up...Johnathan's government is very inconsiderate to the average Nigerian#Too many stupid policies#But I'd still choose him over Buhari,the man's got a wicked heart

@AK, i have been to the website of Innoson website and i have not see them put up a particular price for any of their cars. i for one would love to patronise a naija car if it can last for at least 5 years b4 i fink of getting another.

If i were a boy said...

Lol. As in oyinbo sef never get am right. Ford n toyota keep calling back there cars talk more of Nigeria. Cars would just be dismantling on the high way.

Damochedxb said...

How many brands are even being assembled in the country for Gods sake? This is really a foolish move...

Look this policy is stupid, the change the law cause they friend is making innosen car. He's providing 1000 jobs for people in the east, what they forget is the Tokunbo car business is providking over 3,000,000 Jobs. Because of one man we all have to suffer. Same with electric, cause of 50 importers of DPK , 140million don't HV electric. Say yes to change

This guy talking to ladipo u will dead and Jonathan will dead too Amen

prettiyz said...

This is well defined way of showing wickedness

So basically if you want a ride, by it ASAP, if not OYO!!

:( and i was planning to buy one come feb14 for my gf

Yes grace will come but do we need this in a democratic system? As a citizen we should have freedom of choice not imposing baseless policies on us. More than 70% are not supporting this but why should the government still implement it? Very sad.

Even america have chinko market, why can't we have both tokubo and new in the same market here and allow the citizen to make their choice? God open the eyes of our lawmakers. We need to set up a petition website for this baseless polices so that this administration can see how many Nigerians are against their negative polices.

Dear damochedxb, kindly Google d price of a brand new innoson vehicle.. dat stuff sells for as low as 1million naira with good insurance n warranty u've got no problem now consider d cost of tokunbo and obviously things u have to correct if not replace in d vehicle when it arrives.I got a tokunbo vehicle last year December making it a year older dis year and within dis interval all four tires have been changed 1 shock absolver etc bro. Point is Nigerians kinda prefer a fools errand whrby u think got a good deal not knowing d loss u wud end up incurring. Cool if u tink I support PGEJ,cos m actually sitting down in my father's parlour soaking garri n wating for my time to rule. Peace bruh

+BlendTalka

Every great thing starts frm somewhere and mostly wit criticism. PGEJ just has to watch ovr his shoulders n trust no one he's obviously got thieves and position loyal scavengers arnd me(i kermit this)

+BlendTalka

What car assembly? Make an enabling environment to have the assembly plants first and when t can compete then add the import tax. I feel bad for the masses.

ELENA (HER MAJESTY) said...

Lol @dismantle 4high way...i dey tell u,when we don't even have highly trained mechanical engineers na who wan come do d cars?

Hahahahahaahaha....

Swaggcino said...

What make of car does he drive again ??? This country sha no hope for d poor... God dey sha

It's Good for Nigeria. Sebi u voted for a clueless president, so Deal with it

Many of u on this blog are block heads. Ur so shallow in ur minds and very short sighted in ur vision. When are we going to start creating our own things? Shld we wait till all the roads are fixed or power generation has has reached 50kmw U want to keep being a slave to Japan and Germany and the likes?

Not only cars, every other thing will.

mummy3 said...

Okay so wat happens 2 d millions of people in d port(agents), d container drivers, the off loaders, the towing vans, the photocopying people @ d port.
Stage 2 d panel beaters, painters, mechanics, upholstery, air bag people, igbo boys dat sells part in ladipo, battery sellers, tyre sellers,rewire etc.
Stage 3, the staffs in car shop and d marketers( baranda).
All these people will become jobless soon Becos of 3-4 assembling plant, those it make sense??????. I don't see anywhere the cars have being tested am in d industry and blive me the nigerian cars are not it @ all.

mummy3 said...

Okay so wat happens 2 d millions of people in d port(agents), d container drivers, the off loaders, the towing vans, the photocopying people @ d port.
Stage 2 d panel beaters, painters, mechanics, upholstery, air bag people, igbo boys dat sells part in ladipo, battery sellers, tyre sellers,rewire etc.
Stage 3, the staffs in car shop and d marketers( baranda).
All these people will become jobless soon Becos of 3-4 assembling plant, those it make sense??????. I don't see anywhere the cars have being tested am in d industry and blive me the nigerian cars are not it @ all.

Honest Nigerian said...

All U GEJ lovers hope u guys are seeing the hardships u want to continue???

There is God O!!!

May ur collective wills not prevail. Change is a must. New Year, New Government, New Nigeria. Amen somebody!!!

Dani said...

Yet he wants a new jet to add to his fleet,why doesn't he lead the way and use the nigerian assembled cars first #voteforchange

The solution to this is to vote Buhari/Osinbajo and get rid of this inhuman and evil gang called government.

Power has reached 50kmw" so how come a lot of folks are still in darkness??! We want to promote our own so we start with cars?? Do you have any idea what that entails??

olu said...

Anon 7:17... Common sense is obviously not common. If you don't understand the importance of infrastructure then you shouldn't venture an opinion. Ur broadcasting you ignorance (guess it helps you're posting under "anonymous")... You want to build a car manufacturing plant, but have to run generators to power the plant (concept of operational cost would come to bear here... ECONS101)
You want to build a car assembly plant, but haven't fixed the roads you plan to drive the cars on (this part is just common sense... Which ur short of)
Education is more than what u learn within the walls of a classroom... Educate yourself

No matter how good they make it look, I still don't like it, its a total disaster.

Amen. Jonathan must suffer For all the suffering he put us thru

This strategy worked in India. 90% of the cars used in india are made by local manufacturers. The Govt said that the duty on parts that will be used for this purpose will be 0%. So the price of cars will come down drastically

Joshua said...

GEJ should have created an enabling ground for local car assemblage before bringing policy to harden the burden of Nigerians. where is the infrastructure for a local car assemblage, we do not even have constant power that such plant require. maybe he want only politician like him that earn big money without sweating for it to be the only ones driving cars in the country. There is God o

Joshua said...

if GEJ does not want us to use Nigeria seaport to import car, we will go to Benin republic, we will only make custom officers more richer. if he has plans to start a car factory in Nigeria, he should have started it first so we can buy from his car factory as 'Presido Nigeria brand Car'. OBJ did the same thing when he ban the importation of chicken, but his farm till date can not care for the chicken need of the country.

I think its a good idea, it will increase job opportunities, reducing cars iin family too. Imagine one family having 5 cars, its madness causing seriious traffic, maid one car, boys one, girls one, madam one , oga one. Jona , thank you Oo°˚˚˚°!

Amen to your prayer brother!
Jonathan was sent by devil to destroy Nigeria .
This man is a good for nothing beast , maybe been raised by a woman is the root of this nonsense !
Ebeledevil is the worst thing that happened to Nigeria .
I know he is just there with his empty over-sized water filled head while someone else is running the office, maybe the toad wife or half the things he adopted . ebele go back to feeding monkey bananas at the zoo, Nigeria is too big for you .
You're a very very very wicked useless man who can't run his family not to talk of Nigeria .Get your dirty weak ass off that seat for a REAL man to pick up Nigeria!

Shame on you witch Nwa -ada ebele ! ! !
Ewu ndi cross river .
If you don't crawl back to your mother's hut, hmmm...

Hahahahahahahaha @ dismantle !

Mummy3, your head dey there .
May God deliver us from Ebeleekwensu badluck !
Devil sent this toy to destroy us . Watch out, Armed robbery will be in suit & tie, the type that calls before coming & ask for expensive wine & size 6 model.
This man is indeed badluck . I don't blame that family sha , sebi na we vote for am .

Thank you Joshua !

olu said...

Seriously dude... Your pops should've pulled out