"I bought cars for all six of my children" - Actor Pete Edochie | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 1 February 2014

"I bought cars for all six of my children" - Actor Pete Edochie

The veteran actor said to motivate each of his six children, he bought them all cars upon graduation from the university.
"I wanted to motivate them and keep them away from peer pressure. Parents must be able to motivate their children and set target for them. The minimum target for each of them was to graduate from higher institution; their reward upon graduation is a car. And where I come from, it is important to keep one’s word; I bought the car for each of them. Yul who is over 30 (pictured above) is the last born and he got his too.” Pete Edochie tells The Nollywood Reporter
The celebrated actor who has been married for over 45 years said his marriage is about the longest in the industry and he never thought of taking a new wife.
“I married early and have remained married since then. What am I looking for a second wife for? I married a woman who gave me six children, what could I possibly be looking for in another woman that I didn’t get from this woman? There is no reason for it"

210 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 210 of 210

I remember Yul,although I had no idea what his name was at the time. Back in the early 90's,either 91 or 92,this was about the time Nigerian home movies or "Nollywood" was taking off with the ground breaking "Living in Bondage". Pete Edochie was still a well known actor then in Enugu and their was this buzz in my secondary school that his son had recently enrolled.This was over 20 years ago and I cant remember how Yul and I met at the School gates and started walking back home but I remember asking him if he was really Pete edochie's kid and he said "is it really that conspicuous?". I don't remember what I said back but both of us kept walking until we got to the "Gas selling" area of Uwani in Enugu and we saw his Dad. The minute he saw the man,he froze. I too froze because as much as Pete Edochie lived in Enugu,it wasn't every day you go to see him. I never saw Yul after that day and I later moved to Europe but it wasn't until 2012 and in my mid 30's that I found out that this guy is now a major Hollywood star. Good on him!

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

Chichi said...

Daaaaaddddyyyy.... i just love you. you are a figure one should look up to. God bless you sir.

Chichi said...

Daaaaaddddyyyy.... i just love you. you are a figure one should look up to. God bless you sir.

Genea said...

Pete Edochie....theres no nollywood without u. u are indeed an icon and uve raised beautiful children. thumbs up and may you live very long.

He's a good and intelligent actor. That's nice of him

EBUBEDIKE HAS SPOKEN...

Ebubedike has spoken...

Kenturky said...

A lot to learn from this. Hard work pays off.

Pls tell this generation of ours! dem eyes no dey stay 1 place. Kudos to Pete Edochie and his family.

Leo, Eva, Adam(Uche),Linc,Gene and Yul are all successful because they have a no-nonsense man as their dad.In fact after their papa na God. There are things one will do God will 4give. but wetin u go see 4 your papa side even your mama wey carry u for womb no fit do anything. He held his children tight and so what he is and what they are speaks volumes. I feel he is sending a strong message to the younger ones who cherish divorce at the slightest mistakes. If he buys a car for his children as a graduation gift that's good he didn't buy while in school. For him it was hustle like the others. Will you crucify a man if he buys a car for his daughter on her wedding day? Chief is a successful man and simply put As u make your bed so u lie on it. Make h...while the sun shines. and finally nobody will like to go to the river to fetch dirty water. He planned early and scored 99%

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 210 of 210   Newer› Newest»