Queen Elizabeth II down to her last million due to overspending | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 28 January 2014

Queen Elizabeth II down to her last million due to overspending

According to new reports, the Queen of England is down to her last $1.6m in reserves after royal overspending. She was once the richest woman in the world (in the 80s) and in 2010 Forbes mag estimated her net worth at around $450 million and now she's broke? Nah!! Read the report below..

From Eonline
Perhaps Queen Elizabeth II could learn something from her thrifty granddaughter-in-law Kate Middleton. The 87-year-old monarch has been overspending the royal family's famous fortune, according to a report published by the Commons Public Accounts Committee on Monday, Jan. 27.
Following her courtiers' advice, Her Majesty the Queen's reserve fund has fallen from £35 million ($58 million) in 2001 to just £1 million ($1.6 million) in 2014. The report states the royal family is "spending above their means and dipping into the reserves...the balance now stands at an all-time low." Continue...

The report also reveals that a number of palaces are in "dangerous or deteriorating" conditions. Forty percent of them, in fact, are "below acceptable standards." It's not exactly new information, as Queen Elizabeth II knows that there's an $82 million backlog in repairs due to tightened government funding.

Taxpayers fund the royal palaces in Britain, comprised of more than 300 buildings. In 2013, the public spent about £31 million ($51 million) renovating and operating the facilities. The report urged the treasury to "get a grip" and help the royal family to prevent "further damage and deterioration."

According to the report, royal staff members have been forced to catch rain in buckets to protect art and antiquities in some locations. Queen Elizabeth II's "antiquated" boilers are more than 60 years old.

"The Queen has not been served well by the Household and by the Treasury," said Margaret Hodge, the labor chairman of the Public Accounts Committee. "We got the impression that they just haven't tried to make greater savings. Here we are, we're all in it together, but they are failing to eek better value for the Queen. They are dipping into their reserves in a way that just isn't sensible."

"If you look at the Tower of London and its visitor numbers it makes you think that there's potential there. Have they done their darndest to maximize value for money?" Hodge wondered.

The royal household has pledged to introduce a 10-year maintenance plan to resolve the backlog. It has also pledged to increase the size of its reserve fund. Married to Prince Philip since 1947, Queen Elizabeth II has four children and eight grandchildren—including Prince William & Prince Harry.

158 comments:

From grace to grass

FAMMIE said...

Queen Elizabeth broke? Asi Ocha

iPhone 6 reportedly to feature solar-charging sapphire glass screen

Uk version of emir of sokoto

Lol.. spend the money jor lol

Her pain is felt

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Ogbanje don kom. Sowie queenie

Oopssss

So dy now have her bank details? Tseeeew.

C33

dhobiz said...

I don't believe the story

Wetin she dey take money do?

nellylynd said...

Gud 4 her!!

Over spending tax payers fuNds I guess, please tell your family to go get jobs instead of living large on others expense

The rich also cry.

AnnMarie said...

What are they doing with so many palaces? spending so much to maintain art and paintings. these white people sef

Wetin concern me

Hum...... Bad market

SNOWYTE SAY S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡

MISSPERFECT said...

Spending without replacing can empty some1's account,but she can't be broke haba

Okay we have heard, at keast she has the million...See secrets about a famous actress here!

Doesn't exactly say she personally spent all the money! But things like this you only hear in Nigeria, funny it is coming from the British isle, the thriftiest people alive. How did it go past them?

Don Bizzle said...

Walahi Na Lie!

Don Bizzle said...

Walahi Na Lie!

Ibinabo said...

All na lie

orch said...

Ehya.....bt money stil de sha wiv $1.6m,she aint broke

mimi pearl said...

Guess its time to take a chill pill Queen..enough of the excesses biko

This is Crap. She is down to her 1.6 million from the funds allocated to the royal family from Tax-payers money for the Up-keep of the Palace and other government related duties. She is still worth billion from her personal cash.

Abeg wetin dis old woman dey tke moni do?

This is trash, I do not believe this story at all.

Fallacy,doubt the credibility of this report.

Mikun said...

Heya... I love that second picture dou.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Better ogbanje

What a sleazy article!

This is pineapple flavored zobo! Mama charlie don broke? If I hear!

Uk is the most civilised country on earth. Can this type of news come out any where in the world? No heads will roll. And the response will depend heavily on public opinion and the good of the many. Imagine the transparency? Does patience jonathan not have 100 times more than this in her many hidden accounts? Naija we need help.

Why is Ajanaku Oluwakemi? I am looking for her o, have not seen her comment since, can someone please lend me his/her torchlight to look for her. Ajanaku Oluwakemi where are u o

So u guys will believe this story..lies,lies lies,shez leading14 nations,lie

stephen lee said...

i know you will not approved it... but try to be real...don't be a coward

Story. Upon all the taxes we all pay? She can never be broke.

Arab girl with the biggest back shakes N grind...
http://bit.ly/1f9jkkb
Checkout what these girls are Doing to themselves at the Par...
http://bit.ly/1f9jpEp
Couple caught doing something bad in a cable car...
http://bit.ly/1f9jnMJ
WTF: See what this woman is doing to her matured daughter...
http://bit.ly/1f9jpUO

sexy bitch yo said...

Watched it on cnn..same with nigerian celebs who overspend and never save for the rainy days,buying new cars and wearing designers..linda be warned too,manage the car you have and leave that heavy duty you wanna buy, save ooo...and ur sis Laura beg her to be humble..hers is too much...times like dis will tell you who frends are..at least OJB can tell us his story....

Money is nt 4ever dat wot most pipo dnt knw.

the royal family probably still have billions of pounds in land and property, the queen should turn them to cash...asap and continue turning up!

U go soon die na,spend all the money finish!if na so ur mama run am mebbe u for see am flex like dis

the royal family probably still have billions of pounds in land and property, the queen should turn them to cash...asap and continue turning up!

Ayoade said...

Linda it's cash reserve not total assets etc... Check proper info on the committee site

If I hear, Plenty dey reserve jor, Tax and all

Bra dat unlocks when ure in Love....

tuffcookiey said...

I dnt believe this story... linda dig dip..

OSHAUN_AFRIKA said...

If this is true then she is becoming an agbaya...but the saying never believe all that you read is also true

Lmao... The time is now! Hehe! I see #Broke knocking@the Door!Lmao

Not broke! Just an 2 de_mystify d queen & her influence. Rem d opening ceremony of London Olympics(with James Bond). She welds 2 much power & influence. Ogamba Chux

Don't believe everything you read in sensationist newpapers especially the likes of Daily mail.

Not broke! Trying 2 de_mystify d queen & her influence. Rem London olympics' opening ceremony (with James Bond). She welds 2 much power & influence. **ogamba chux**

Lol. Wit all dia shakara and evry evry. So dia quick can evn gt broke. I tot she was as rich as d world's richest oh. Lol #in mockery# from grace to grass lol. Eliza go beg ur govt b4 cori go kill u an dur family oh. Una wan dey show up. Lwkm. Dis a big lesson 2 all royalties all ova d world.

Mystic Falls said...

Don't believe dis story @ all..the richest woman alive nahh, the Queen has more lands than any other individual in the world plus she got her own money (printed with her face on it) so I gotta ask, where was dis story fabricated.

I will never understand why in this age and time, we are still using hard earned tax payers money to fund the luxurious lifestyle of one family. Come on now ENgland!! It's 2014!! Freaking 2014!!

I understand how she feels. I'm down to my last Naira.

@anonymous 11:29PM I know its idiots like you that will open your useless mouth. Being a monarch you think its easy,they go for boring events,always have to smile even when they are upset,they must go to events they are not interested in and make appearances,and prince william and harry are in the navy,that's a job.at least they are not stealing or begging for money from government officials unlike nigerians obas,ezes and emirs.

Obi Awunor said...

Its cynical because we all know she can decide to sell just two paintings from the Royal Household and raise close to £300 million. And to think they have hundreds of thousands of those paintings and relics...Nigeria's oil will dry up quicker than they running out of paintings to sell.

Sorry o, Liz

It's true, cnn carried this today.

fashiontinz said...

Tax payers to the rescue...

ok..if it was Africa they'll start blabbing.. Na dem sabi! Don't believe the news tho

Go on keep spending d money oku iya won ni wa San owo e.

Only naive or challenged people go believe this propaganda. This report is intended to distract people from the real facts which include: Queen Eliza is a CROOK, a LIAR and a BEAST. She's the constitutional monarch of SIXTEEN RICH countries, ), her crown alone is with some of the most expensive precious stones in the world, her place of residence (Buckingham Palace) costs her "subjects" thousands of pounds yearly for maintenance and the list goes on. She's the RICHEST PERSON IN THE WORLD... but they don't want that to be public knowledge, so they claim she's just a multi-millionaire. The royal is so rich they'll never be poor/broke, EVER... because they control multiple countries, companies, estates and so on. So be deceived if you want but Eliza ain't broke and will never be.

Fake story not in a million yrs queen can never be. She rules england all the politicians will go to her before any decisions is made ti get approval. As long as we d tax payers are paying tax her majesty the queen will still be rich don't think is only england that looks after the royal family is d whole wold .

Fake story nt in a billion yrs harry alone is worth more than 29m nt to talk of her majesty d queen

This is intresting heehen

BammyQ

Greed! all those ppl wey dey kiss nyash for jand. our queen. our queen! u see weting ur queen dey use ur money to do

after now dem go say na only african politicians dey greedy

Na tax payers moni go suffer again,that's y I can't. Live outside 9ja,they pay too much tax there and everytin is too in order,that orderliness is killing

Dlapikin said...

I don't believe that. A lot of these european monarchs and old families have huge stakes in oil campanies and other multinational.. Plus with all her kids having been in fancy schools, I doubt one of them has not made any effort to prevent such thing to happen. I call it BS.

If she goe's from GracE to Grass, we'll raise funds for her.. OPERATION SAVE THE QUEEN!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Darling Happy said...

ђã†̥ do u expect frm Ç¡ royal queen? Spending spending spending to show off.

Ndaa Eliza, I believe Tesco is hiring.....might wanna grab an application!

Amarachukwu said...

It can't be possible.asi ocha.

The Commonwealth Nations should be taxed! Hermit!

Too bad

You must be a moron to believe this story. The British Royal Family is the richest royal family in the world albeit they don't like to admit this. They own investment in every sector of the worlds economy. This people own countries for crying out loud. All colonized countries still pay them till this day. Her interest in all common wealth nations is one which is still lingering till this day and as such, she can never be broke. This royals have a way of making people feel they don't own the real wealth and power, so people could sympathize with them and that way, they continue to consolidate their wealth and power bu in reality, they control everything in our world today. This is exactly what her mother claimed many years ago so this propaganda is not new. Rabbi

she be boss na

Linda this report is yet anither drivel of unimaginable proportions from you. Do you this this woman is down to her last million. My dear wake up. The way and manner that shd as an instituion is folded into the british psyche means that it is not a possibility (at least not in your lifetime)! So please stop peddling your secondrate gossip on this issue. THE QUEEN AS THE BRITS WOULD HAVE THE WORLD KNOW CAN "DO NO WRONG". HER FINANCES ARE NOT SCRAPPING THE BARREL!

Spending much without investing.. That's what's up #Mr Lucky

mccoy said...

U'v just entered a new level of dumb to hv believed dis BS

It's a lie joooooor, I dnt believe anyfin jarwe let em parkwell.... #kbye#

Mtchewww.....lindi way,hÔw is dis news she is broke nd S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡,abeg when the money totally finish ♍a̶̲̥̅̊kε̲̣̣ she carry kwanu Σφ♏ε d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ beg for kano road mtcheeww...next! Linda post M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ comment ☺h before sango G☺ visit you with thunder

Omoh......this one is soooooooo strong

If she's broke then me I'm broken. Lolzzzz!

Is it your money???

LMoore said...

I love this woman, she spends like me.

Lol... Nothing sha lasts 4eva

You think this is Nigeria where you can never know how much your leaders are stealing daily or where a vice president or president can just decide to spend tax payers money to renovate or build a new mansion thoughtlessly or just import cars to giveout to loyal friends? Or pack a community enough to start a small village,call them an entourage and all these maintained on our reserves which NOI can wake up 1 day,say we are broke then wake up the next and say we aint? My darling,yes they have her bank details and even that of Obama is known by those who should know,for accountability sake,something we've torn out of Nigerian leaders dictionary!

sammy said...

E don set, all those yeye princes go know say AC no be Fan

Zenki brown said...

Queen Elizabeth broke, finding it difficult to believe

What did they want us to do? To contribute? Mbanu ! If she like let her finish the entire UK budget/reserve before she died, greedy woman. That was why she doesn't want her son to take over. We that are suffering nko! Linda, give us better news joor.

wuumy said...

Apa buruku

Quennie y u dey disturb us na? If PM no give u den go borrow

As so? rubbish..

Queen has purchased a massive load of sex toys due to Philips lack of limpopo

choi my ACCA subscription o!

Mama Charlie!!!!

OMG she is also expressing it.. The rich also cry chei

This just be false. Besides let the new younger ones make money instead of relying on mama and grandmama who has carried them for 60yrs.

Lassy said...

That's a joke. She can sell only one painting on her wall for a million pounds. She can sell one of her crowns for much more. The Queen can't go broke. Never

LEecia said...

As in ehh dis pple don de craze small small,which kind spending b dat na.

And nawaoh,d British people be forming ish when one old woman n her family are spending d money gotten from 'em by taxation. They need a revolution jor,everyone in that Royal family should go n get a work even d queen sef. Infact would love to employ her as a nanny sef*wicked grin**

Abeg joor it's just a great lie......hw did dey knw.

Swaggs isimemen said...

Royal members staff hv been forced 2 catch rain in buckets dis is serious hmmm

Swaggs isimemen said...

Royal members staff hv been forced 2 catch rain in buckets dis is serious hmmm

Which grace to which grass?? How wld u believe sum1 wit her face on the currency wld go broke... Her broke no be our broke o, don't be deceived.

Enoch said...

Don't be deceived, d queen isn't broke. What are secret bank accounts for? She is d 'economy' of UK.

Hmmmmm::no be small tin "ooh"end time sha

Queen broke ke?
Its a lie, â„“̊ can never believe dis.....

~ALATISHE say so~

Perhaps she realizes ecclesiastes preaching of vanity at her old age.She's tryna spend all she's got before she join her ancestors lol

1.6milllion is broke? I don't think. When she has only 20£ someone should call me.

Admiral said...

Hahahahaa she will get back to her fit! This is no news!!! Lol!

Let her come and borrow from the Excess Crude Account..............letter he can pay it back to 9ja.

Broke ass fellas.

Fulfilling the Bible scriptures the royals treking and servants using horse n ridding

Igor said...

For the records Linda,Queen Elizabeth is the richest woman only by name.She holds in trust,artworks and monuments valued at 12 billion pounds for the kingdom.She started going broke after the British started cutting down on their expenses due to inflation and economic recessetion.A lot of Britons are yet to forgive Cameron for spending 40 million pounds on Prince William's wedding.

The woman wants to finish the money before she dies. Her children and grandchildren should make their own money. Lmao

Otuochha!!

Maybe she want to finish al her money before she die..eyaa queen abeg remain small for ur family biko

She's an old woman, and not in the best place to take a lot of decisions, and I think some so called advisers are capitalizing on it and exploiting her.
It doesn't make any sense. A lot of those buildings can have some parts commercialized, but they'd rather let them fall into ruins.
How much can this old woman who's always reliving the good old days in her head possibly spend?

London bridge is falling down...Falling down.. Falling down..London Queen is fallin down...
Sips ma kunuuuUuuuu!
~noraFab

QUEEN ELIZABETH BROKE? IRO NLA

Chantel. said...

I don't believe the Story.

It's 'Sultan of Sokoto' dimwit!

They should keep deceving themself she has the most expensive and largest diamond and platmum collection and the tons of other rubies,just formalty she can never go broke

captain cutie said...

Abeg make the woman spend the money, cos it won't follow her to the grave.such is life

nwancho jerrismoore said...

who is fooling who? Queen Elizabet 11 broke ke, pls go 4 a farming to replace de moni akuko ifo.

@zinny said...

From Prada to Nada

Im highly obsessed with this British Royal Family. I can pledge part of my salary if it gets sooooo bad for them. Just to be sure they are ok. Long live the Queen

Grand mah chopping her money and beside, mama don old nw like very soon she go still queench. So chop it when u still dey alive jor.....

Beside she was the richest person on we earth..... So, she don been reach level wey bill gates dey manage nw..... Mrs queen no matter any hw, hunger no go ever hungry yu.... Wey anytym yu fit vex increase tax and under must, dey go pay...

Still on still grand mah, yu better pass sum rich grand mah we i knw.... *all this praise na whether this mama fit comot me frm this naija o..... Lol..*

prince harry and kate middleton make una cut una coat according to ur sizes una wan make queen get high bp

Huh??? *Cagey*

Very easy thing to solve.... Sale some of those properties.... What do the need all the palaces for anyway but even at that the remain throat biggest land owners in the UK.... Sale some of it to the Chinese an cash in on that..... NEXT news pls

Hi Honey!
#Crush.com

Its a pity

Perhaps they can ask Bill Gates to help out. I dont see why he wont if asked politely.

Spending without receiving....wat do u expect???xoxo flynnrules

Igor said...

The paintings are artworks which she holds on trust for the kingdom. Selling them will amount to betrayal of trust.

I don't like this kind of story.How can she be mismanaging fund like that,as a queen why on earth will she be extravagant. That's means no savings for her successors,grandchildren, children, great grand children so she was want to embezzle all d money before her departure from this planet earth. Doesn't it mean she doesn't plan and invest?

MELVEE said...

Choi!!! Mama Charly don chop money finish...Lmao

Ladies Win a Free gift in this Giveaway

they go start they tax person anyhow now

Those that are sying its a lie clearly dnt know how things operate in england! It is so not a lie, the royal family shop like crazy they are in harrods almost everytime buying this and that. Remember england operates a parliamentary system. The queen is just a ceremonial head, she does not have a say has to how much of the country's money she can get. The fact that she has only 1.6 million doesnt mean she is broke, ahe has crown jewels that cost a fortune, so she is still worth a lot. Dnt get it twisted.

Please go back to school, the post said the queen should learn from kate middleton not that kate middleton spends a lot. Kate is always recycling her clothes and does not go ram on designers like the ret of the royals..

Nice comment. Na wetin dem want make we believe b dat. Wen queen dey collect percentage from people wey dey kill dem selves dey work,how d fuck wuld she get broke! Make we hear word jor!

They dont belong to her. They are the property of the UK. This is a civilised country so she cannot sell anything.

Zero. The monarch has no political powers.

ouch! abeg make una help am oh! mtchew to spend money dey sweet nah.

Can you spare 3 hours per week, If yes then join hundreds of other Nigerians for FREE who make N50,000 weekly at

masiano said...

Well,its d royal reserve,which I don't believe..so not her personal cash..karpish!

@Igor 40 million pounds WOW!!! that's truly unforgivable. But i know the monarch would bounce back

Please, the royals and their gang within the UK govt are fooling the public so they don't pay TAX. YES. THIS IS ALL TO DO WITH TAX AVOIDANCE. THEY ARE PRETENDING TO BE POOR SO THAT THEY GET MORE MONEY AND KEEP SCAMMING THE SYSTEM. THEY SHOULD KNOW THAT WE ARE NOT FALLING FOR THEIR SCAM. THE BRITISH ROYAL FAMILY HAVE MORE THAN £100 BILLION CASH FORTUNE, BUT THEY PAY LITTLE OR NO TAX. THEY HAVE CADH, COMPANY AND VERY VALUABLE ASSET WITHIN AND OUTSIDE THE UK. THEY MUST ALL PAY THRIR TAXES JUST LIKE THE REST OF US. THEIR TALK OF BE BEING POOR IS A SCAM AND WE ARE NOT AND NEVER FALLING FOR IT. SMH.

ZeeZee said...

Even if she is broke she should go away with her brokeness - what is her relevance except claiming there is royal blood in her veins - I pay no mind to her dead or alive, broke or rich because I believe that every man should go out there and hussle for themselves not just sit down and claim so many priviledges like that- but I guess it also comes with alot of pain, many people want them dead - sorry for you, you'll never win

Abi O°˚˚˚ she can neva be broke. Neva, I don't believe the story.its simply impossicant.

what is so hard to believe about this story? You dont work, no pay. You see problem is there is no county to colonize and precious gems to steal. Like everything else, money eventually runs out. Make them go fnd business or work. Those working are not foolishly insane

Hmmmmmm hard to beliv