Man accuses Chinese boss of brutality in Ogun state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 31 January 2014

Man accuses Chinese boss of brutality in Ogun state

According to a report by Punch, a 40 year old man is accusing his Chinese boss and his cousin of brutalizing him. Full report below...
A newly hired employee of a Chinese firm based in the Sagamu area of Ogun State has accused his Chinese boss, Mike Jackson, of brutality.
The victim, Adeleke Owolabi, told Punch Metro that Mike and his cousin, Tony Jackson, brutalised him during an argument in Mike’s office.
Owolabi said he had just been hired by Mike to be a marketer in the northern part of the country.
The 40-year-old victim said, “I have been self-employed for a long time and I met Mike sometime last year. He offered me a marketing job in his company and asked me to resume in the first week of January.

"He produces PVC, a roofing material, and said he wanted to expand to the north and since I needed the job, I accepted. I went on January 6, but he told me to return the following day. However, I could not make it because I travelled. On January 8, I returned and after discussions, he said I should go get a sack in which I could put the PVC into.

“I bought a Ghana-must-go bag of N500 with my own money and one of his former marketers showed me how to package them. I loaded 200 pieces into the sack and I was set for my travel to the north. But Mike said I should proceed to the production section to learn more about the product.”

The graduate of Mass Communications from Olabisi Onabanjo University said when it was about 4pm, he told Mike that he wanted to leave so that he could arrive Kano on time, but an argument ensued.

He said Mike became violent and descended on him.

Owolabi said, “After pleading with Mike, he said I should remove the PVC from the bag and return the bag. As I was doing this, Mike kicked me in my private part. I asked him why he was being wicked to me since he was the one who offered me the job.

“He said I was not handling the PVC properly and they could break. He then slapped me, so I held his shirt in order to stop him, but his cousin, Tony, smashed a bottle on my head and beat me up until I fainted.”

The father of two said when he woke up, he was covered in blood. He said a lady took him to the Makun Police Division from where he was referred to Idera Hospital for treatment.

He alleged that the Chinese men refused to visit him at the hospital and did not offer any apology.
He said the police refused to press charges against the Chinese men.

“The police said since Mike and Tony were foreigners, a lot of things would be involved. I then reported the matter to a human rights organisation and the case was taken to the Nigerian Immigration Service, Ogun State Command. Mike and his cousin came on January 17, and that was the first time they apologised to me and promised to help me secure a Chinese visa,” Owolabi said.

Owolabi said he had been having medical challenges since the incident occurred.
“These days, I find it hard to sleep at night. The doctor said I should do a brain CT and spinal cord     X- Ray and it costs about N45, 000,” he said.
He  urged the government to ensure that Nigerians were not maltreated in their respective places of work.
Attempts to contact Mike on the telephone proved abortive as he did not answer calls made to his telephone and also did not respond to a text message sent to the phone.

Police Public Relations Officer, Muyiwa Adejobi, who confirmed the incident, said the case would soon be transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department, Eleweran, Abeokuta.

Adejobi said, “The matter was reported at the police station and the lawyers of both parties decided to have settlement talks. However, the aggrieved party was not satisfied as a human rights organisation came to register a complaint. The matter is being transferred to SCID, Eleweran.”
Update: Police detain Chinese for assaulting employee in Ogun

The State Criminal Investigation Department, Eleweran, Ogun State, has detained two Chinese nationals, Mike Jackson and Tony Jackson, for allegedly brutalising Adeleke Owolabi, an employee of their company, Jivan Plastic Company.
Owolabi had said the police refused to arrest the Chinese men due to their status as foreigners.
However, it was learnt that after PUNCH Metro’s publication, the police immediately stormed the PVC manufacturing company in Sagamu and whisked the suspects away.
It was learnt that the suspects apologised to Owolabi, who was also at the SCID to write a statement.
Owolabi said, “Yes, the Chinese men have been detained at the SCID and I am satisfied with the action of the police so far. I am happy that the media are helping to ensure that the matter is not swept under the carpet.
“I am not after money but I just don’t want a situation whereby Nigerians are treated badly by foreigners in their own land.”
It was learnt that the suspects would remain in police custody until the completion of investigation.
Source: Punch

115 comments:

I want to b d first to comment

Na wa ooooO

Linda dear! Cases like this of Chinese and Indian brutalising workers is rampant in ogun state

Mondola Stainless said...

Linda but dis one na CHINKO trade mark na.

LINDA said...

I jst can't fathom why ds crazy ppl do stuffs Nigerians can never try in their country without bn prosecuted! Our govt is sick!

Even in our own country we are being marginalize god help us in this our joblessness

He promised u a visa and u said okay sir, coward, in ur own country. U can die for all I care.

This story is fractured, it doesn't say what led to the argument! Somebody is lying

Pls all this foreigner that comes 2 our country and claim ownership make God help us

Mich said...

What manner of incompetence from the Nigeria Police Force...so because they are foreigners "a lot of things will be involved"?
These Chinese inbred midgets come to your country and give you a good ass whooping and that's all the bloody police has to say?
SAD!

olababe shakirat said...

Nawa o for our own country oyinbo get power pass us, hmmmmmmm

Am not supriised.D way Asians treet Nigerians employees.My concern is it didn't happened in Lagos.He would been sure 2 get justice.Sorry Nigerians.They maltreet us both home & abroad.What a pitty!

vivian obey said...

Dis is wickedness,God pls remember everybody,so dat nobody will serve each order,imagine a graduate

So we will continue to take beatings from these bastards in our own fucking country like the monkeys that we are......right?

Owolabi you are the biggest fool of the century,two hungry midgets from China beat you until you fainted and you want Nigerians to clap for you ? would you have allowed a fellow Nigerian to even talk to you that way without picking a fight ? now because you could see that their hair is like sponge for washing dishes and they have this stupid dirty fair complexion you people back home see as white then you fell apart and allow them deal with you in your own country. My advise to you is,burn down the pvc factory to teach these idiots a lesson.Nigeria and the leaders in it are all useless !

Justice should be done pls!!!!

First of all how is it that a Chinese man's name is Mike Jackson???

Wicked Chinese...but my question is, " he promised to help u secure a Chinese visa" for wat? As in did u tell him u wanted the visa or what? Am confused becos we Nigerians are always belittling ourselves hence all these embarrassments.

Dis brutality z got to stop, dis is cynical mehn...

Photo of Beyonce without makeup.Hot or not ?...

Zenki brown said...

†ђξ rate ☀f wickedness is on †ђξ increase ooo. Sowie Mr Victim

For smashing his head with a bottle.
1. He said the police refused to press charges against the Chinese men.
2. The police said since Mike and Tony were foreigners, a lot of things would be involved.
As in how? "Nigerian police" which side are they on... The law (justice) or the lords (injustice).(1world♥)

slimzyose said...

Can u imagine d level of inhuman treatment by dis spineless quivering swines,dey shld b sent back 2 their country joor,smelling pple,in short I think dey shld b sent 2 jail here in Nig so dat wen sending their sorry asses back,dey will go om wiv different diseases as their gudbye packages,fools,bloody bastards,arrogant goats,awon oloshi

teriible linda

SEO Tools | Black Hat Seo | Software SEO

Swaggs isimemen said...

Guy u 4cup big time, chiness beat u break ur head kai see go arest d chiness man first becos u suppose 2 fight 4ur right 4 d first place be 4 calling d police u will make sure u beet D guy seriously be 4 anything like police.

Its one thing to get s Visa its another thing to buy plane and accommodation tickets.
m sure the guy must have been thinking the visa = green card (or whatever color Chinco's card look like )

Swaggs isimemen said...

Guy u 4cup big time, chiness beat u break ur head kai see go arest d chiness man first becos u suppose 2 fight 4ur right 4 d first place be 4 calling d police u will make sure u beet D guy seriously be 4 anything like police. Nd do u no u can't try dis in their country?

This pple wey cum naija cum dey hold ground mk una be careful o
Sallysmart

@anonymous 5:55pm And the useless government and useless nigerians say imprisoning gays is more important.

omg so nigerians r treated badly by other races in their OWN country??!!!!

Mystic Falls said...

After all the chinese movies u have watched as a kid, u still went ahead 2 fuck with a kung-fu master. Abeg sue am maybe u fit buy marwa

And what do you get from that?

i will kill them both.........

Adedayo said...

Owolabi mehn this is your mother land, no idiot I repeat, no idiot has d right to come from no where to assualt u. I will advise a jungle justice should be applied. Those mother fuckers needed to be tot a good lesson.

Hmmmmmmm this brother done hammer... He should sue them for everything the owe..... Yeye fowlsdiscussion

Chinese people are now treating us like slaves in our country.

Chinese pple again

Chinko people wan kill us, in our own country.

I just wonder if ‎​Ʊ av a brain with this ur comment. ‎​Ʊ need to be examined. Retard

That's what they do when they are going to an English speaking country. They give themselves English names so they can blend in

Linda, this is the second time I will write this, and if u like don't upload it again....in my company, we see far more that this in the hands of lebanese, but who do we report to....mind u, in some few days to go, there will be a news that staffs of a lebanese company producing Gen revolt and shut down the company and send the lebanese out of nigeria...God I hate this country

well congratulations you just did

until nigerians bit one of these stupid useless white pigs to coma dey wont stupid beating nigerians. since dere r many tinz involued. smh fr dis lawless country.

Me sef tire for the name o...

Amarachukwu said...

These chinese men just dey behave any how for this country.

In my own country? I pity us º°˚˚°ºoo if nah ♍ƺ i Ƌ̲̣̣̣̥o̲̣̥п̥̥̲̣̥'τ̲̣̣̥ care what will happen for Ɣ☺u to beat ♍ƺ that way maybe i don destroy somefin or bite Ɣ☺u hard! POLICE if Ɣ☺u say omefin is involved&u aint taking any action God will punish Ɣ☺u i swear! Owolabi Ɣ☺u fuck up º°˚˚°ºoo i swear, Ɣ☺u'll get justice ä♍ sure.

Harnikky

Foolish nigerian man. U said ok cos of chinese visa. Na china he for go kill u finnish. I no pity u o. Go china na idiot.

tony13 said...

My brethrens I tell you this can never happen in Onitcha Anambra state, if any foreigner dares that in onitcha you will see umu out doing jungle justice immediately, I heard that a lebanees push an igbo man down from 2 storey building and got free. These guys should be careful.

Chop Chop said...

Oyinbo can get away with anything. The other day, I saw two chinese men smoking heavily inside car with a/c and my country man was driving.

Chop Chop said...

Oyinbo can get away with anything. The other day, I saw two chinese men smoking heavily inside car with a/c and my country man was driving.

Lol. Ur comment is too funny. You must really hate them.

Anyway, owolabi is a big mumu. He dey expect chinese visa. Na kill on arrival dem go do u n trust me, nothing will happen. Trust me.

U are so confused! How can u be talking abt lying when som foreigner. Has so dealt with ur countryman infact these white ppl beating up their workers anyhw somthin seriously shud be done abt them the otther day it was one that beat up his factory worker until she lost her. 7mnths old pregnancy

AGB said...

I'm going to be harsh with my opinion.
"This is what you get for being zombies. People get what they deserve & so this is what we get as Naija folks cos this is what we deserve. This is what we get for being so damn mentally lazy & always screaming "unemployment" everywhere. All Nigerians want to "work". By "work" I mean being an employee. The average Nigerian's dream is to work & become rich as opposed to starting your own company or ish. We don't see our potentials cos we all want to "work",foreign investors see our country's potentials & come invest in our country & they become employers while we become "employees" & that's how you get treated as employees." Anyways, if this story is true that boss of his should be sued to court.

Na mike jackson be hm english transliteration! Pple wey no get permit for this country......

Mike Jackson, Chinese man?!?!?

This is why am so against the chinese "helping" nigeria so much or Africa as a whole in fact, they already treat their own citizens like crap with their crazy laws, what makes you think there going to treat us better, there probably try to steal our resources and for what, a good infrastructure! Chinese people can be much worse than the white people and with our stupid government just sitting being dumb idiots! Nigeria needs to start helping our self than asking for investments from other countries!

Stupid man! They should have broken your head to pieces and promise you many more visas! You have made yourself a slave in your own country! Pity.

So Nigerians are not even safe in their own county????I tire ooo

peperina said...

Your 100k wil be given to you. Dnt stress you slf tlkin

An so what!!!

Igor said...

The time has come for us to take the laws into our own hands.After my Law school in 2008,I got a small paying job with a Lebanese construction company in Owerri, the Idiots preferred I called them master, instead of sir.I slapped the youngest for calling me an abusing my sick father whom I travelled to visit.I was harrased by the Police.but legal aid came to my rescue.The C.E.O was so embarrased that he had to settlle the issue quietly. Fellow Nigerians,if you are physically abused by your Asian employees(Indian,Chinese or Lebanese) just make sure that you live an indeliable mark on his body.That way,he will learn never to insult you again.

OSHAUN_AFRIKA said...

i expect the police to look properly into this case and expedite justice accordingly...either to this man or to the bottle swinging and head breaking snakes in the monkey shadow!

I don't get how chinese men ans mike jackson wtf nigerians are slave right in their country n also abroad ahhh we don't have govt our govt dey lick oyibo ppl nyash wtf bull shit

This is rubbish ahhh something blacks can't do in their country,are the police scared of torching them ni,

I no no wetin I do Linda oh!!! She no de eva post my comments again.

Best answer hands down.

Lmao

Hahaha... I was thinking the same. Illegal entry into Nigeria? These Chinese people have turned into leaches. Soon the will have the chinese gangs and Nigeria will have real problems on their hands. Its early now to start curbing it, otherwise, they will get out of control.

Its doesn't matter who is lying there is only one man with blood all over his body who needs medical attention...yeah its d black man and the other two? Yeah am guessing they are just fine!!! No matter how upset he made them they shouldnt have done that to him in his own contry and feel it cool and A-Okay!!!...if na ur brother dem do dat one to u go still dey find d lying mouth for d matter abi? Hiss!!!

Oai

This story does not add up at all. Owolabi, did you steal part of the PVC? I have been dealing with some Chinese and I can vehemently tell you that they reliable business partners only if and when you are credible. Trust is the word here.

Badoo of Toronto, I don't love u, it's not by force mbok

ARCHIE said...

This is bad.the other time we heard about the one that happened here in lagos now ogun state.what's happening for crying out loud.the nigerian government should please look into this matter cos I can't imagine this foreigners matreating nigerians.

ms k said...

I weep for my country.

When u want 2 b d 1st 2 comment, please say something reasonable.

This boy na proper mumu, how yeye chinko go break bottle for ur head and u go call police? When u know say naija police loyalty na to highest bidder. You should have called boys to help u burn them down, bastard people.

rejoice said...

Linda, what is the latest on the woman beaten up at by a Lebanese manager in Lagos??

I can't see this twice

@Esteelle Congrats

They promise you China visa and you agree..Are you stupid?

If oyibo man try dat rubbish wit me eh he go smell his yansh bcos I wil sure I comit moda #my fatherland again hmmm

This is not just acceptable. I believe , I believe , I believe someday I will be raising 5 million entrepreneurs in this country by the special Grace of God Almighty in Jesus Christ Name AMEN! These Chinese will now look for labour in Nija.

Ur generation is brainless. Coward like you. Bastard son of a thousand fathers

Whaaat? and what is d mayor of that state doing? this unbelievable.If u trace d Chinese guy bk to his country u would learn he was worst than a scavenger and arrived Nigeria in a wheel barrow. This is sad, and what are community youths doing? all u all just sitting around watching? are we bk in the era of slavery? youths should learn to be self employed, u guys can start very small and make it big.

Lol y r u guys yabing mr Alloy Chikezie, haba!!! LOL... Its funny anyway.

#GIFTEDhands

AnnMarie said...

these Chinese men sure have guts

which way nigerians,how long r we continue to be maltreated in our own country by foreigner,it beats my imagination.the useless politicians no dey see these ones.i weep 4 naija.only God can save us.

Jay said...

Dats Nigerian police for u,its just crazy I tell u.

Why you don't mention the lebanese company name ? If you are afriad shut your mouth from the begining is better for you

@ Estelle.. I'm sure you wish... stop seeking attention. You are far from my type. U of all girls. I will rather date a man than a girl like u.

They come wit money to set up companies which is nt moi moi.

This is becoming rampant. We can't allow foreigners oppress us. This calls for immediate action to curb this menace totally.

Dee Tee said...

This is attempted murder. #NewsBlist

Just burn down the factory! Case closed.

Please Owolabi my fellow Nigerian. Listen to this word of advice. Do not & I repeat! Do not venture into any where near Asia let alone China with the visas those criminals will help you get.
This is because you would be dead & probably your organs will be sent to any part of Europe & the Americas to several organ seekers with ready cash to part with.
I blame our country for passing down this inferiority complex to its citizens.
Imagen a 40 year old! Its quite a pity. Sorry. Linda don't post this Inugo oh!

this is pure insolence and no respect for the laws of our country, can any nigerian do this in china and still live? they have to face the full wrath of the law and let it serve as deterrent to others who might be doing such thing or having plans. they also have to pay serious damages.

And was that a comment! Dumbo!

Mr gay,how did the govt say it's more important than arresting gays! Poor misfit!

sisi tranz4mers said...

Kaiiii walahi dem neva born d mofo wey go try dis rubbish wit me!..abuse in any form is a no! no!!..its not any diff from wen i was working @charvet(power horse) somwer in oshodi lebanese,syrians n indians r d bossess der.as d BDM,in one of d monday meetings,1 of d syrians hurled "sharamuta" wen it got 2my turn 2address som issues.i didn't care wot dat meant not until anoda colleague said 'madam he just called u an Ashewo' gosh i lost it..as if wen i asked y he called me dat wasn't enuf he threw a mouse @me!..guys i displayed africa magic 4him d way ashewoz bhave..b4 u knew wot was happnin,my 6" was flying across d room towards his head he quickly dodged.omo i climed d table heading 2wards him 2sample som 'man o'war' training 4em body..if not dat d HR mgr n som colleagues held me, am certain dat guy go de intensive care..d tin don pain me i didn't touch him..quick quick i picked my cell already mobilising boys from ikeja to beat him blue black dat day afta work..if not dat d owner of d coy was later informed n he came personally 2apologise.day after, human rights were @d office pressing charges wey i no report oh. Choii com see begging..dey treathened 2also involve immigration.i was stunned!..i just let d mata slide cos i not too long had joined dem n didn't want 2 start on dat note.so pls we all shuldnt 4a second take any form of abuse.i de treat 4kup on d spot oh den we can judge later!...awon chinko oshi!.*adjustingboobsnhissingaway*

Badoo of Toronto, I don't wanna wash ur dirty linen online cos I would insult u in d process n I don't want a 5-year jail term, lol

Linda, pls give us the mad monkeys address. let's occupy it until they are expelled from this country. common Chinese keke napep riders

Nigerians have serious problem of Inferiority Complex! They're very easy to en-slave!

This is serious brutality. We need to put a stop to this.

Oga gan ooo,Lord pls help us in dis country ooo b4 tins go Worse dan dis

Bravo! You v said it all.....rather than looking inward and start something on our own, everybody want a white collar job thereby enslaving themselves to others in the name of the peanut they call salary. Things like these will continue to happen until we stop selling ourselves cheap.

see wot our greedy leaders (politicians has turned us into. a slave to foreigners in our own land. TOO PAINFUL, TOO PATHETIC

Von Da Boss said...

This is the most reason I respect the deltas, try this with us? You are dead what kinda of rubbish is this? In my own country again?? Aaaaaahhhh this not fair at alllllllllll please Linda next time you post this kinda of message, try and include the company's name and address fuck the government we are the Nigerians not animal to be brutalise by some chinko men

@Estelle. I swear I hate fake bitch like you. Are you stupid. Where and when did I make a move to you. You dirty things. Don't provoke the devil in me ok. Since you got 10, 000 from Linda, you ve been acting crazy. You are just insane. Bitch!

He Promised u visa and wen u get thr u will see more tony and Jackson dah we beat u thr if u lyk no stay 4 naija

This is total rubbish and wickedness against fellow human. In fact I'm really aggrieved in my Spirit. Tell me which right do they have to do such an act to our own Nigerian blood brother, can they allow that in there own Country. Owolabi should not accept any offer of going to that Country China. Meanwhile, this should be a Challenge to our Law Enforcement, Human Right Commission and Immigration Department to ensure that all these So called Foreigners that come and misbehave here in our country do not go free. Otherwise, citizens will start attacking the so called Foreigners. These guys should be dealt with as a scape goat.

This is so painful and sorrowful. l weep for Nigeria. This clearly shows that Nigeria has descended to the lowest of lows in the estimation of people the world over.Not even apes and monkeys can be oppressed like this in the forest. lmagine Asian nonentities coming to enslave us in our own country and the police will be reluctant to act because of yeye foreign currency. They will say the police is your friend when it is obvious that the police is clearly our enemy. Those two bastards must be deported. Thanks to the media and human rights groups that exposed this.wickedness. Until we start treating these Asians the way ldi Amin treated them in Uganda, this madness will not stop.

I want to tell you my experience through this foreign investors in Nigeria.

Concerning this Indians,Chinese Lebannese work which people are debating and contributiing On.We Nigerians causes this slavery for ourselves,had been this Indians,chinese and Lebanese works alone they would never see blacks that encourage them but some of our people are Agency that brings workers for them.come to think of it this Indians are heartless they rely on this Agency how I wish you witness their attitude in the factory they do as if they made us themselves because they knw sacking people has nothing to do for them since Agency are there to ship in job seekers.Concerning my own experience We do work from 7am-7pm weekdays and Saturdays 7am -5pm and less pay,their is no provision to do other things we get or try to go to school to further our study,the moment we get home we are tired hardly for us to other things so I think it is the high time for FG to bail us out from this slavery work even our Basis Salary is very small to sustain a living most of the time people work in this factory for 2 years and 6 month to save up get themselves Motorcycle and quit the job but before buying the Motorcycle we implies hard labour, fasting and solicit to Save up,what I meant is making contribution every month at least 5,000 naira to achieve our goals.We are using this volume to plead to our FG to implement concrete constitution concerning our hard labour and eradicate this long hours of work so that we would be someone in future,most Talent are wasted in this slavery work because they have no sponsor er to help through their study and this employer hate to hears we need weekends to attend school it get them furious;that is they want us to serve them for years.

Oh God.. pls we need good leaders and not wash wash leaders

where is FANI Kayode, let him come and defend his people that CHINCOS are making Charicacho of. Or is Ogun State not part of yoruba land.

these idiots use to live in my estate. dey constitued a great neusance and menace to that area. am not shocked @ all.