US rapper Wale explains why he's never been to Nigeria until now | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 November 2013

US rapper Wale explains why he's never been to Nigeria until now

In a radio chat with Toolz on Beatfm yesterday, Wale said the reason he's never been to Nigeria until now was because his parents, who are both from Ondo state, were so poor they couldn't afford a bring him home.
"I grew up poor. We lived in DC, in the projects. Getting a ticket to Nigeria on $20, 000 income yearly, to my family that wasn't really... you know...like I was a 15 year old with a decent job, I'm not going to save up to go to Nigeria. That wasn't what I was thinking when I was that age. And then I was in college and the money tight right then. And then I get this record deal when I dropped out of school, you're running around so much you don't even have time to see your own parents"

141 comments:

Who is he ?????

Bootylycious diva said...

i love me wale

Look at toolz looking like Oprah, a 60 year old woman.

I love your sincerity.....

Igor said...

What a touching story.A lot of Nigerians living abroad have similar problems but they are not truthful enough to accept it.I've a relative who had a similar problem.He later married a Nigerian nurse whose income was able to support their trips back to Nigeria.Welcome to Nigeria Wale.

i can start taching he is from ondo state as well

Wale be talkin rubbish...shaarraap dia...we nigerians hate u!

Fammie said...

I can relate to that, It's understandable...

SUCCESS PAYS!

beammiealhaji.blogspot.com said...

it hits hard everywhere #damn. Kaabo!

awwww! quite saw reasons with him.

Sizzle said...

Okay we hv heard
Next pls

Sizzle said...

Okay we have heard
Thank you for telling us d story of ur life
Next pls

In Nene leaks voice; ooooooook. Snap!!!

Oyemen said...

Now that's a real Person*Smiles*.thanks wale for sharing that with Us.Welcome Home and we hope yo have a wonderful experience to take back with you.

Lol,gud view

Ur welcome Wale, ur a real person

Wale is being real..I luv him 4 dat.

Finally I break ma gurl virginity*congratulating ma dick*welcome wale

People in diaspora ..who can lie lie..una dey hear??

THE GIFTED WALE I LOVE U DUDE

woshico said...

He resemble kanye west for dis pic! Anywy I like ur openess

I respect your honesty Wale. Welcome home.

How far he's come. Nice rags to riches story.

And som silly peeps here kip criticizin u.Dats y u dnt prejudge ppl

Good to know we are from same root in Ondo state, Nigeria. I love the fact that he was sincere and he's not shy of his true self. In the end he's now making money enough to give his parent a good life and life his own life to the best. Now he has make a name for himself, his past matter no more. Welcome home brother, Enjoy your stay home. *ThatFunctionGuy*

Princy said...

Ok,Next pls

He's your father, if u don't know him don't comment, you're trying to form like you don't care.

Wat a touching story wale, who says u cannot be rich born poor...

Hw person go leave their own country cos of hardship still go suffer for anoda mans land na wa o, anyway sha thank God for using their son as a source of flight ticket back home. Lol jeje #honey khan

Eiyya I like him for being sincere, well home son. Bbm hug symbol

Touching!

APPLELIPX said...

I READ THIS SAME INTERVIEW LAST YEAR FRM A MAG......

HE'S SO SINCERE TO DA CORE. ITS SAME REASON HE GAVE; TOT HE WILL BLAB
#Ơ̴̴͡.̮Ơ̴̴̴͡ I love me some wale

My awesome walay!!

Honero said...

He is a choir master....*sighs*

Hater.. thats why nobody will ever know you either. Rubbish somebody

You aint got to explain to nobody boo.

nasir el-rufia said...

see his eyes like he is high on drugs

Na wa for boys o lol waitin wala do....

At least,my father has finally shown up unlike you that are still searching for yours.

Come weti dey worry u. No be only sizzle na Suckers!!!

THE GREAT ONE said...

A REAL RAGS TO RICHES STORY. NOW THAT HE CAN AFFORD IT,LET HIM BUY A ROPE MADE OF PURE GOLD SO THAT HE CAN TIE HIS TWO LEGS TOGETHER AND PRETEND TO BE A MERMAID.

If u don't hv what to say must u talk see ur fat leg and small bdy with big head

Daram said...

Ehya! Wanna cry...Honesty! Honesty! Honesty...shoutout Wale we luv u in metropolis(Lagos)

Because he said he is poor?

Ode....dont see it, go and beat him up

Janelicious said...

As good to be urself i like u for dat mr wale

Y don't u speak 4 urself n wat ryt do u av 2 hate ur fellow human?

Make sure u marry her oh!

So he's frm ma state yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeh, love him 2 d moon n bck hz name WALE.... Bur fink savin his moni den ws d bst fin 4 him tho

Honestly, Linda ikeji should give you an award for always commenting on every story..

No my dear,rephrase ur comment "me a nigerian hate u"........who gave u d authority to speak for every1,oponu!

Ayo said...

How can u ask who he is? He is ur school principal na ode!!! BTW Toolz look like a 65yr old woman.. Looking old

zim star said...

I understand d fact that he was pained bcos of dt..Nonetheless, his remark isn't appropriate. U don't go on a social network and use fowl language. U av kids,rmember? Be a good role model to them.
Na my 1kobo be that.

Notice me somebody like u, ur comment is obviously for attention.

Sweeet!

Aphrodite said...

Wale we understand, and we Love u, or Beta still I Love u, enjoy ur stay sweetness! All haters can like to Take a leisure stroll to timbuktu or share a passionate french kiss wit a python! Pathetic losers!

He's the man scared the dog dat chased the cat who killed the mouse that ate the akara that was in the kitchen where I work.
*the cook*

Wale abeg do and go back u r starting to look like a proper yoruba boy. Naija weather no good for you pls. See as e open mouth like omo ita

Wale is a famous American rapper of Nigerian parentage.

Speak 4 urself, u weirdo!!! I luv yu Wale!...
~smart BARBIE~

Lmao! Linda ow do u cope wt ur funny readers? Its not even d jist that brings me on hia.. I just love to read comments.. So linda thank God for em, coz wtout em u re nothing.

Welcm home hun ...L♥√ع me som u. Muahhhh....

Smith is that you? @anon 8:35

A.C.FRANKLIN.W. said...

My Bro,I feel u,tnx.Im happy u love nd respect ya country,Wale... I see u......Hey Nigerians ds dude is a Gentleman..... can y'all copy tat?

to anon @ 8:16 p.m - he always effin looks like that. i've never seen him close his mouth like p diddy.

A.C.FRANKLIN.W. said...

Welcome home..

He's d man who got ur mum pregnant and she conceived u! Ur fada!!!

@ anon 6:39 , wale was born and raised in washington dc he didnt leave nigeria to go "suffer" . Growing up and being born in the US doesnt automatically mean life will be good. people have to stuggle here too. it may be different than the way others struggle in other parts of the world but still.

Wale tho...I respect you mahn!! Double M G!!

Akintimehin said...

I will like to attend your show,in respective of the distance. Wale remain Akintimehin Son!!!

Nice 1! Linda if I no see ma comment ehn! I will go $ hug lion!

Akintimehin said...

Wale Akintimehin, welcome back home... I will like to attend any of your show.

Please get out! Trying to speak english you don't understand

Tank u miss linda for always makin my day with ur post. I wan laff die for pple comment. Ur blog is always gud to read to ease stress afta d day's work. Kip it up

We luv uuuuuuuu bruh!

Wale my boo u dont need to explain yourself, u dont owe anyone any explanation.

I second dat motion d comments na comedy show on e own.

I have noticed it 2 he is Ur number one fan

You won't kill me with laughter@7:23

Etch said...

touching story...*wipes a tear* dnt lyk any of ur songs tho..mxcept d collabo u did wit lady gaga...

What's with Toolz's face, bad contouring or bleaching?

Big shout out to WALE double MG maybach music

4rm grass 2 grace guy u 2 mush i also luv ur sincerity **almighty-kiz**

U guys can kill some1 with laff!!keep it up Linda.

Who is dis persn dt talks of mermaid all d tym? Anywayz,Wale,m sure if u saved d monies u used to draw err tattoo on Чuя body,U̶̲̥̅̊ woulda bin able to pay 4 Чuя ticket to Naija...*just musing*.Last Duchess.

Lmao I think toolz needs a stylist

Well it is not suffering, they couldn't just afford the luxury of traveling to Nigeria.

Funminuro said...

Welcome home Wale. Your story is that of grass to grace. I thank God 4 what u are 2day.

Wale u chop!

U're boring A*F @Anonymous 8:15pm. Take it from me.

-Person Pikin(sue me if ur papa get the moni)

I like his sincerity not cause he said he was poor,but cause he identified and admitted to the fact not trying to be like our latest naija celebs that form like they don't use the John

URL said...

You and who? Better speak for yourself you hater... Fool....Poor dude like you can't even afford agege bread and you r hating. Better go for rehab.

URL said...

Lmao....smh for some people,I can vividly say that you don't have a vision.... Go for a check up later...

I bow for dat guy !!!na by force to speak english!!wia broken plenty like fragon!!

He is Wale Folarin broda not Akintimehin #famzer of #life,no be only Akintimehin. Shebi na ya papa yonga sista broda pikin wife born am?. In other news,Wale sounds original not lyk som oda dudes who afta getting d money and fame,tush up deir names to somtin u myt not even be able to trace back to Nigeria. Welcome home and enjoy ur stay

Shey u see all the insults u have collected for bein stupid? Dnt blame me sha

WHy do u hate him? Because u are now the poor one from Ondo State?

chocolata said...

Is dat an achievement u fool??seekin 4 notice wit ur small cock dat looks like my index finger

Are u sure you are ok?

Am xo xo happi seein a Yoruba broda makin it big....Igbo or ibo haterz go die...#Tongue out#

Well,go apologize to DJ Humility first

black poet boy said...

It's refreshing to hear such candour from one of us. He is new to me. More like him pls.

A new fashion blog dunniefashion.blogspot.com

Beats me o... @anon 7:26PM

intelligent answer @Kehinde... That swine can't even understand what he is saying/writing ..... Oponu oshi !

Pa James or wetin you call ursef.....his name na Wale Akintimehin. you can Google it. Ode

koye said...

Apple u dense no be small

Una fit kill person with una crazy comment.Naija, I hail o.

Not every1 knows wale.some1 asks 'who is he?' and u insult d person.what does dat make u? A FOOL.

I hate u nt we hate. You've got no ryt to speak for no one so watch ur tongue

Wat do u expect?? Toolz is dating someone old enuf 2 be her father....

FYI:
FOR EVERY DOCTOR, NURSE, OR OTHER HIGH LEVEL PROFESSIONALS LIVING AWAY FROM NIGERIA DOING VERY WELL I MIGHT ADD-THERE ARE 100'S OF OTHERS LIKE WALE'S PARENTS LIVING FROM HAND TO MOUTH IN THE PROJECTS..

THE PROBLEM IS EVERYONE ENDS UP BEING LUMPED TOGETHER AND SOME OF YOU UNAWARE NIGERIANS IMAGINE EVERYONE IS POOR AND PRETENDING TO BE DOING ALRIGHT BECAUSE YOUR POINT OF REFERENCE IS WHETHER YOU RELY OR YOUR RELATIVES (LIKE WALE'S FAMILY TYPE)

STAY IN YOUR CORNER OF THE WORLD PEEPS:)
SMH...

aka_nastee said...

Lol...you guys tho

They made over 4M per annum. Thats decent considering sm families dnt evn make half of that per annum in Nigeria. Its nt like they were poor,travelling to Nigeria ws a luxury they cudnt afford.

Abeg! I wan masturbate O.. Make una help me hold my waist!!

Make him come ask linda out nah!! Chai..

Abeg! I wan masturbate O.. Make una help me hold my waist!!

MENA said...

@ aka_nastee wats lol u guys tho? U dey learn talk, Wale welcome back home, no place like home

MENA said...

@ aka_nastee wats lol u guys tho? U dey learn talk, Wale welcome back home, no place like home

ken said...

Ewoooo

Yorubas always desperate for relevancy. Does Wale even acknowledge you dirty people?

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

The nigga so real. Thats why am gonna hold him high up anyday. Love u loads folarin + #noHomo
#MMGfinest

MENA said...

Linda I dnt no y u dnt like posting ma coment ooooh

MENA said...

U dey post anyhw talk dey live d beta 1 abi? Linda, Linda, Linda, hw many times I call u?

All this yab na because???? Is it not possible that Apple doesn't know Wale? You guys should not take out your frustration on others abeg. Any yab directed at this post shall return to you a thousand fold.

Let Wale save us all those "I wore no sandal to school stories" and do his tap thingy. We've seen beta

Y don't u let him reply 4 himself? Some ppl can lyk to drink palm oil for another person's poison. U should have just politely brought her attention to it instead of using the word "ode". Chai! Nigerians and bad mouth

N7 said...

Wale I love u.....U're so open n truthful n guess what u re gonna be greater than this I tell u.

Do not say "we" Nigerians talk for yourself... I don't hate Wale I am Nigerian
I know pple that love him too.

If u truly like Wale u will know that was not a complete story...Yes his parents had triumphs as any family would. However, his fam is far by poor at an age where if the opportunity was given...He coulsve travelled back home to visit. His parents have travelled back to Nigeria...in the beginning it took him a while to grab on to his roots as some kids raised in US struggle with.

Wale had scholarships to go to college. No I do not blame him for the choice he made to finally drop out the third college he attended. Additionally in order to live in the section of MD he lived in growing up your folks had to be breaking bread. I do believe he forgot to mention his brother who is a big shot at a record lable in US...and he's related to a famous Nigerian actor in the US.

My only point is please dont prey upon the innocent and fool the listeners in Nigeria.

I'd had more respect for him to simply say: I wasnt ready, it wasnt his time yet and also once he strengthen his craft of music and actually saw how as Nigerians we will follow our brothers and sisters in support of us being one as Africans...and it helps that Naija artist are making money...crazy money that of course he wants to take into...that it has finally finally made him come home. Now his image is Naija 2 claim...

In a nutshell please make your forefathers proud and cut the spill...and keep it real.

toyin oghuan said...

Oloriburuku full DZ blog °˚˚°
Bcos of wale una wn kill ur self 4 here nd d guy no snd una com awon monfos

muffius said...

Yh welcome home

muffius said...

Yh welcome home

muffius said...

Yh welcome home

Nack me egede, you too much.
Jjaluta

LHL

CEO/ PRESIDENT said...

The person that said "They made over 4M per annum. Thats decent considering sm families dnt evn make half of that per annum in Nigeria. Its nt like they were poor,travelling to Nigeria ws
a luxury they cudnt afford."

How can you compare the standard of living of Nigeria to the United States, its a shame you had to convert $20,000 to Naira to determine it decent???? LIKE WTF

In the United States we have what we call the poverty line so making $20,000 a year for a family is way below the poverty line. For instance in Boston, MA USA where I live a two bedroom apartment goes from anywhere between $1100-$1300 a month that's roughly between $13,200 - $15,600 plus other expenses like food, clothes, heat, light bill etc a family that only has an income of $20,000 is considered very very very poor. So please next time you compare two different countries with two different economy states please do some research.

And thank your Wale for giving them the reality of how it is to live in the United States because some people think America is full of bed of roses even some think money is waiting for you by the time you get to America.....THIS IS REALITY CHECK.....wherever you are or country you are YOU HAVE TO WORK HARD TO BE SUCCESSFUL.....let them naija people know and they should stop sleeping at the US embassy trying to get a visa....US embassy is getting rich off your ignorance.

Oga professor, go skool. Nor lecture for here. ASUU strike is over already

Download hot music by Wizkid's Cousin...he's a promising new act, guess music runs in the family