Federal Government gives ASUU 1 week ultimatum to call off strike | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 28 November 2013

Federal Government gives ASUU 1 week ultimatum to call off strike

During a press briefing in Abuja this morning, the acting Minister of Education, Nyesom Wike told journalist that the Federal Government has given the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) one week ultimatum to call off the ongoing strike.

Or else what? ASUU execs and President Jonathan were supposed to meet this week but the meeting is yet to hold. The ASUU strike began July 1, almost 5 months later, no resolution in sight. Sad!

The FG also said any Academic staff who fails to resume on or before December 4th automatically ceases to be a staff of the institution. Pro-chancellors of the various universities and the National Universities Commissions (NUC) have been directed to ensure compliance of this directive.

124 comments:

↭PRINCE JOBLESS↭ said...

Students should come to the UK. Rich kids like me that is.

Or what will happen?

or else GEJ resigns.... lol. nothing will happen. wike go and settle the lecturers and honour the agreement u guys signed

1WEEK... when its how many weeks to Christmas? what would students be doing in school? They should just wait and let them resume in January. This nation SMH

really sad.... linda, take time 2wish successful students of Nig.lawskol wu r being called to bar today.... I also wish dem the best as dey becom legal practitoners today!

I tire for them, i don already carry belle cef, i pray they'll extend it more, so i'd be able to deliver!!

diamondblinqz said...

yeah quite sad. very very. mtcheew

Really sad!

Na today dey begin giv one wk ultimatium....abeg mak we hear word for federal govt,ndi ala

Lol. I just really hope this really works. And so also asuu wants it or not FG has the say
actress daniella chioma okeke’s fake boobs and ass exposed! she Is full of butt Injections[pics prove]

Crystalclaireevents said...

Thank you linda you did a good one here cant wait to get back to sch

Lagos business man caught with a married actresss popular actress here God help us all tired of reading ooooo. please support my friend

Chinedu said...

Na today???

Lol even d guy in dz pix tire pass me,,ASUU don do us strong tin walai d good part is dat @ least I don chop 4months salary

#didi

I pray.

Rough Diamond said...

Or d FG sack all them asuu executives n replace them!

Igor said...

ASUU please call off this strike.My cousins staying at my mother's home have started constituting themselves into troublemakers.The longer the strike continues,the lesser the goodwill previously enjoyed by ASUU becomes

9jagirl007 said...

We heard this same story first week of July, next???

Dis is d kinda story I wanna hear,ASUU are over doing it, asking for 4month salary without working for it is pure selfishness...let's hope d strike is called off. Way to go FG!

pipifierce said...

So na dis December Una wan cal am off... Abeg it shud continue til nxt yr Jan.

Dis asuu wahala,only God knows wat is. Happening.

HEHEHEHEHE....jst laughn

deola said...

wat shall it profit asuu 2 calloff ds strike wen xmas is approaching.

Or else

Na by warning?? Abeggi...stupid FG!!

lyk seriously how do dey xpect us to resume next week n go back home for d holidays den bak 2 skul again.dey beta leave dis strike till nxt year.

Wat a union!wat a goverment!wat a contry!

Until I get to skul n see lecturers working b4 dis whole story wil b true to me, till then...I no b doubting Thomas na Naija cause am. Nothn is real here only Jesus is. Pinky lo so bee

Or else GEJ, Patience jonathan, acting minister of education and all their PA's will resume as lecturers and VC. Good riddance

miss Jay said...

one week ultimatum to call of the ongoing strike or else......we will meet your demands! Lol...FG.

jane said...

na dem sabi

Stil very very SAD linda

wat a useless country

hmmmmmmm.....lindy wat do u tink about this

Same story every day!!! God Help u guy. Fools

I think it will be better, dat is so interesting.

This ASUU guys are very stupid and selfish! Good move FG

methinks said...

Da kyau! Very good! Nonsense saboteurs of national progress, kawai! If it was indeed an industrial matter, it needn't take this long to prove a point! Ha ahn! Yes, infrastructure and teaching aids need to be updated. But does it require a 5 month strike???! When FG releases the money now, what will Asuu even do with it?! Will the students feel a positive impact in the classroom??? Or is this entire thing just a political charade on the part of Asuu leadership...?! Haba! Some issues in this country call for conscience abeg. Fear God na.

Good News, ASUU has gone too far and has lost puplic simphaty.in a country where we have thousand of jobless Msc and even Phd holder both @ home and abroad

Ah think d case is bcomin more Complicated

Wike thinnk he is dealing wt millitant

Nwagbo Henry said...

Let it work out this time

Fuck D Government,Stupid Asuu

Na so,the strike don too much jo.Besides,christmas s by d corner,they won't do any serious work in school. Infact,make students go on strike,ahaha wetin be ds jo?

Gen gen.....season film.....we Ω̴Æ ̴̴̴͡ go watch am finish....

Emmanuel said...

Wrong move.especially with your recent move of ferrying a thief in the presidential jet.why the sudden drama.in December for that matter when schools would be shutting down all over the world for the year.

The government obviously didn't have the intentions of carrying out their end of the deal(no surprises there).

Even when a well respected gov(BRF) tried it with doctors in Lagos,it took Tinubu to straighten all ruffled feathers.

Like I asked in a previous post,who is advising this man.

Or wat?or Jona will join APC

Wating a beg me I no go go back until bey answer them. Yedayo

story that touches the heart...

yedayo said...

Waitin I beg joooooo

Wating a beg me I no go go back until bey answer them. Yedayo

God wil deliver nig students from ASSU n FG hand no be dere fault ooo

It's obvious that Asuu has become a political party.Abeg! Let them go coz lot of pple r looking for job maybe they r tired of working.I wish sometin really happns for them to learn.Mtcheeew.

Or else dame jonathan go become lecturer.....but I wonder if nah english sshe go de use

Yes GEJ i wonder why it took him this long... A VERY FRUSTRATED STUDENT

U"re just a fool.

I'm soo luving dis ultimatum.... For once GEJ has beahved like ŧђε̲̣̣̣̥ leader he is supposed to βε̲̣̣̣̥....these lecturers have taken more dan theycan bite, haba..... Are they ŧђε̲̣̣̣̥ only section to βε̲̣̣̣̥ looked into in naija? Hw can they even demand they pay dem salary for job they neva executed? Abeg they shld take several seats behind....there are a lot of young job seekers who are eligible for lecturing jobs joor.... Lindiway post my comment oo.. Dunno y its difficult for my comment to βε̲̣̣̣̥ posted...

i went through my own 3months strike when i wasin unilag...to make matters wrse during that period our transformer spoilt...thankGod i finally finished in 2011

Just Me said...

So after like 3 months, Fed Gov is finally waking up to take a decisive action against these strikers???
Omase o!!! One naija go better and our govt will put the pple first and act swiftly to ensure that things go right at the right time....

Foolish good 4 nothing He-camel. Iam sure you are washing toilets over there.

who strike pass thunder or asuu

Hmmmm...thank God I acted fast and gained admission in the Uk...hmmm May God help us all inNigeria. Amen

good. FG Should grow some balls and sack as many as possible. In addition to revamping the sector we also need new lecturers. Most of these ones making noise dont know what the are lecturing. It is only Is-LM curve they know. But they can set hard exams and fail students. Am sure if they bring the so called research funds they wont even know how to conduct quality research. Just go and read most of the academic journals they write, you will be amazed and laugh at the mediocrity they call research papers. They want improved standard, can they handle improved standard? Did they tie their butt to teach where there is no facilities? A look through federal universities would show some are more equipped than others. This tells u it may be the some school administrations refusing to release the money

Prince Ol'Caise said...

When commenting on issues that has to with national development and utilization of national resources effectively, think of ur generations to come....D educational system is 4kd and this is d only strong and legal body that can fight for d betterment of education in Nigeria...What dey are asking for is to prevent anoda problem in d nearest future so that the conditions now will not be regarded as faulty....Anyways any human endeavour is subject to criticism...but i pity students who are just gaining admission..

Seriously, our govt is stupid and a monster. So had ASUU called off the strike, it would have been the same story of the more you look, the less you see. God save us in Nigeria. You are giving ultimatum when you are at fault for not keeping to you side of a bargain. See what will happen, they would bring a register at the schools and the lecturers will gladly sign. Who wants to be put of a job. Students will return and will keep roaming around in schools, going to party and nothing will happen. A hungry man cannot teach. Its not even logical. Its a very disastrous move and it will ruin calendars of school and then you won't have the moral right to appeal to their conscience

Me I'm on strike oh! How will I return to skul wen my bday+ Xmas is coming up, dey did nt give dis ultimatum for nearly 5 months?! Ndi ala! As 4 ASUU na una know wetin u dey find, ur requests are hardly eva granted bt u still suspend d strike, bt in dis case u hv just bin delaying unnecessarily, weda one udura politician Don pay una, I no know. All d strikes u hv bin going on wetin e Don bring, nxt year dere will still b anoda strike! Greedy mofos! Na d same lecturers dey sleep with students, collect money, etc abeg all of u should rest till January Cos I hv already forgotten my mat number!

Some students still talking of Christmas holiday... i seriously taya for una o. Abeg ASUU strike should be over and i do not support the 4 months salary they are asking for.
happy thanxgiving y'all

I wish sumtin culd happen

Kaka said...

Stewpid minister, he need to pull his head out of his **s so he can reason properly.
Who will teach if you sack the teachers? Your grandfather?? This is what happened when you put illiterates in charge of serious ministry like education.
God help this country with people like this handling the affairs of the country.

@PRINCE JOBLESS GO SIT DOWN 4 DIRTY.
Rich kid my foot....Mtchewwwwww

Threat, intimidation or arm-twisting cannot proffer solution. As the Federal Government has realized that ASUU has a proven case for embarking on the strike as shown by her understanding to inject, in the next five years, a total sum of N1.1 trn, this in itself, is an admission of wrong-doing to ASUU. The strike was a last resort for ASUU but I advise that both parties discuss and meet themselves half-way with respect to payment of arrears of salary. In the whole wide world, there is no place or time where violence or obstinacy has ever amicably settled squabbles or wars. Instead, such situations are exacerbated and at the very long last, dialogue which should have been used abinitio, becomes the way out. ASUU/FGN prove us wrong now!

Must you show yourself big fool empty brain ode am sure you are still in naija helping your mother fry dodo rich kid my asss oloshi you are indeed jobless

Ewu ohia! We go clap for u say u don already carry belle sef. Wat a public display of nzuzu

sack of lecturers long overdue !
they either shape up or ship out ! For once the President is showing he has blokos !

Petro... T said...

What shall it profit the students if ASUU call off its strike in December...?

ijay abosi said...

it's about time!!!

Aww the thing(Asuu strike) has even affected your English and spelling.

how you are jobless, how come you are jobless?? @students, forget school this year, ASUU nah next years oooo. I'm serious

Only Celebs Sca

That can't happen not even in Nigeria

FG is bluffing nd dey knw it!

That wont happen not even in Nigeria

Ode! Pauper like you. UK rich kid ko, UK rich kid nii...you're a jobless old fool who is probably in AJ or Aba.

Four months don waka, we still dey carry go student don waka, lecturers go solo, federal goverment our case oh by your grace oh

3 weeks isn't something in ur dictionary? ??? They will be making up for lost time, u stupid fellow!

THOUGHT THEY SAID JONATHAN WAS ONCE A LECTURER??? HOW COME HE HAS LITTLE OR NO VALUE FOR EDUCATION???? S.M.H

Don't you read thru the lines Fool

This is what FG should have done all the while...les see how Asuu smiles to this now.

Your father stupid....you kids should get sense o..seriously yur becoming more foolish

I pity you

WHY ASUU NO O DEMAND FORE MORE MONEY??? ABI U THINK SAY DEM NO DEY SEE AS OUR POLITICIANS DEY LOOT THE NATION DRY???? ABEG PAY THEM...WE HAVE THE MONEY

Nigerian students, most as lazy and unserious like their heartless lecturers. Does it matter if the strike is called off in dec or nxt year? Pray it is called off, then d plan of getting back to school weda dec, or nxt year b anoda issue. There is noting so serious if u have to spend your xmas in school. Most of nigerians go to school cos dey feel education is in vogue. Real students don't look at what season there spend in school, cos they knw is temporary. As for those supporting d heartless ASUU, if they are really fighting for the good of the educational system in Nigeria, they would have rejected the 4months salary even if govt. Offered to pay them to express their dismay. Instead they r asking for money they didn't work for that shows how lazy and selfish they r. Who will pay the students for d months lost?

Petro... T said...

What shall it profit the students if asuu call its strike off in December...?

ASUU should use the period of strike to elect a new president. This current president is not effective at all. An effective leader is one who will apply wisdom while achieving the results in the shortest amount of time no matter how difficult the situation is. Their new leader should be someone with good persuasive skills and negotiation abilities

APPLELIPX said...

ASUU IS NOW A POLICAL PARTY WITH GREEDY OLD MORONS

THOSE AGAINST GEJ ARE USING DIS TO MAKE HIS GOVT LOOK AIMLESS

IF YOU ALL SAY D SHOULD WAiT TILL NEXT YEAR U R OYO

WE R NT EVEN SURE IT WILL BE OFF 4 DA NEXT 3yrs LEFT 4 ASUU

D TIN SHUD B OFF DIS YEAR EVEN IF WE DNT RESUME SO WE CAN BE SURE oF SCH NXT YEAR

AM TIRED OF BEING CAGED @HOME; I DON BECOM TAYLOR BY 4s

Its either this FG suffers from acute amnesia or they have bad advisers. Did they not know when ASUU engaged even the military govt of this same our shameless govt?
ASUU has every right to continue with this strike since the FG cannot save us this embarrassment & redeem an agreement it willingly entered into with ASSU.
Nyesom Wike strikes me like an empty vessel. Or is it the stupidity that is inherent with the stupendous wealth they acquire when they get into govt that makes him think he can threaten ASSU?
Please some body should help us tell him that he is such a small fry when it comes to fighting ASUU who as bonafide citizens of this country are free to express them selves through their union as we have a very irresponsible govt who only care about them selves.
The pple in this govt are among those who benefited most from the well organized educational structure of this same nation that they all are running out of to pay millions of naira for their children to get better education while our education from all levels rot. Shame to this govt. ASUU you have the support of the concerned citizens of this country to never surrender until the aim & goal of this strike is achieved. SOLIDARITY FOR EVER.

Rough Diamond said...

Wetin u dey talk sef? Olodo like u!

Ghen ghen! Pls mk assuu no call off d strike yet o cus a dn 4get ma matric numbr o n perhaps a dn lost ma skul tags also...n despite dat lacasera company jus employd me lst mthn so i hv enuf salary 2 chop dr...pls mk FG holdup dr statemnt o

Hav u observed dat since ASUU strike startd, we avn't seen girls dps in hotels nd classy cars of 2013 dat der father can'nt evn buy... Evn PH loading,Abuja on point,party on my mind, Paris is d best place 4 ur shopping,calabar was fun... Lol everybdy dey huz. Una nev c anyfin...snap pictures 4 ur huz na make we knw who b who or ur papa flat boot mecerdes Benz 1989 model...lol... No moni 4 brazillian hair,all babes dey no washin nd settin... No more shawarma... Na bons nd akara... Una nev c anyfin... Christimas don reach ooooo... Una go barb punk dis tym...

SISTER said...

You just took those words from my mouth. ASUU is as corrupt n inefficient as the FG

That's called making good use of the situation, Hehehehehe. As dem nor wan teach u book na, u don go learn bedmatics swallow pikin? dts alright... Abeg ensure say ur papa collect dowry o, nor throway all d money wey he don dey spend on u since...

Fammie said...

Let them settle ASUU, nothing will happen...

Man dies while using iPhone 4S

So asuu wud call off strike dis December, oh my world i hope they won't go and start giving us exams immediately cos ever since i came back home i have never opened my books for once oh G od wat will i go and write ....... pls dey shuldcall it off next year and not dis year abeg

happy's chic said...

Abeg, fed govt abi na wetin una call una self, make una stop dat play o. Wetin una want make chics wey don go dubai 4 biz trip do? For ur info, dem must sell their market finish o and d once wey carry belle must born b4 una fit call off dis strike. Shebi we dey beg una b4? Now we too don vex. Yeye pple

On point joor

I love my own lecturers sha.
None should be sacked.
But my dean can be sacked for all I care.

None should be sacked.

Bastard lecturers! Getting paid for four months of strike.

None should be sacked.

mike neji said...

Wike should be sacked.Does he think he is talking to Amaechi? Did the lecturers do wrong for demanding that federal government should honour the agreement which they had earlier reached for over 4years? I won't blame the "oga's" at the top because even if they recruit touts as lecturers it won't affect their children.They are all schooling abroad.President Goodluck should need be reminded that rigging or no rigging time is coming when Nigerians will stand up and say enough is enough.

Dex said...

Now the battle has JƱڪτ̲̅ begun. Let JƱڪτ̲̅ sit tight α̲̅πϑ enjoy the fight. Hahahahaha

These men will finish Jonathan. They called the bluff of G-7 governors and they lost now its lecturers. Okay o. Me don siddon to watch this movie to the end-newyorker

Hmmm I'm just surprise is turning out this way....we need change in this country and it has to start from the top...

Tiana said...

Jesssss! So u get brain like dis? Dis is xzartly wat I told my course mates on our group chat in watsapp. Its nt by force to return to skul wen hollidays are over, so is d strike, u cn stay 4 anoda 10mnts or even defile ur addm if u so plz, bt @ least u knw skul is open and on section for u any time u choose to come bk. How can one be spending d xmas happily seeing ur frnds nd class mates in states skuls move to anoda level nd ur nt even sure of wen ur own skul will open? Althogh d last tym I heard dis 1week altimate news abt asuu I blved nd even waited till 2am dat tuesday 4 jonathan to finish d meeting nd bring me good news he fail so dis one I am nt so kin on blivin dem but I pray it works!

trying to use stupid powers shey! after una get tyme dey buy rich woman bullet proof cars,. and refuses shit! mehn naija education is waked!

UNFORTUNATELY, ALMOST, IF NOT ALL COMMENTS HERE ARE JUST MADE WITHOUT ANY SUBSTANCE. ASUU DEMANDING FOR 3 MONTHS SALARY IS CONSTITUTIONALLY RIGHT.

PLS TRY TO DO SOME READING ABOUT ISSUES INSTEAD OF MAKING COMMENTS BASED ON SENTIMENTS, CURRENT STATE OF MIND, AND WHAT THE SCENARIO LOOKS LIKE FROM THE VERY DISTANT, CLOUDED AND UNINFORMED PLATFORM UPON WHICH YOU STAND

Why are u people wasting ur time on someone that is jobless? Is d name not enough proof?

Smh!!!!God helps us

Fg is stupid to threaten asuu,as for dat waka he should get a life this isn't ikwerri land

Really we need change n it has to start from d top

sad indeed... although their threat is meaningless... if they all refuse, who will teach? FG should meet the demand, Nigeria has a lot of money, just because their kids aren't affected by this ASUU strike!

Oh God of creation direct our noble course,guide our leaders rgt n help our youths d truth to knw...we need God in dis country, evry sector is jst collapsing!

Na ‎​Ʊ be FG, abi y the tin ∂E̶̲̥̅̊Y̶̲̥̅̊ pepper ‎​Ʊ for body? Oloshi e no go better for ‎​Ʊ.