Ex-NBA player Olumide Oyedeji rants on Twitter about being turned down by Nigerian High Commission | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 November 2013

Ex-NBA player Olumide Oyedeji rants on Twitter about being turned down by Nigerian High Commission

For those who don't know who Olumide Oyedeji is, he's a former NBA player & current team captain of the Nigerian Basketball team. He's hosting a charity Basketball clinic for kids in London this weekend at the Damilola Taylor Centre in Pecham and from his rants on Twitter, the Nigerian High Commission in the UK were not interested in partnering with him on his charity project
He seemed really excited as he made his way to the embassy (tweet above)...and they burst his bubble lol. See his rants below and after the cut...

132 comments:

U see what we'r saying! This country doesn't give a hoot abt the common man. All he went there for was for them to acknowledge the positive impact such an endeavour wud make but the idiosyncrants up there shoved him off,,

U are a nobody so dont be bothered!

BEN said...

Omo this guy dey tweet o! All those tweets in 2mins interval..| and to the matter, it's a pity our gvt officials are'nt willing to change for good..ride on bro, God shall bless and reward ur hustle.

Its quite unfortunate bruh,they won't regard nor support you coz you're of no use to them come 2015.
If you are not going there to lend your support for them come 2015 then you are at the wrong place.

Nigeria has never taken things like that serious. We loose our people to other countries.

Wyou should see what they did to a woman they caught stealing weavon. too badt! Try and check it out

It is finished. Oti pari!

Daram said...

Hear o! 4 kids in london...y cant he do it in 9ja 4 9ja kids...nonsense! No be only support u go see na Rapport

Honestly its bad and very shocking,I've retweeted a couple of his rants though,he said we all shd retweet till every nigerian home and abroad get d msg n knw wot our reps abroad are doin.

Daniel Abba said...

Baba dey vex oo :p

Nigeria is a BIG JOKE. I hate this country with every pint of blood in me. I wish i have more to write but words are failing me at this point cos of the anger i feel. This post just spoilt my good friday feeling.

This behavior of Nigerian Embassy Officials in foreign countries is not new; yours is not the first and it may not be the last!!!

Nigerians don't support any project dat dey won't gain from, financial gains I mean..laughs in wille wille voice and disappears...welcome to niger bro, dat ngwa babe

Why am I not surprised? That is why this country is not moving forward......most of the Nigerian embassies abroad are just there feeding the Nigerian civil servants with fat seta code allowances....they do nothing for citizens......even if you cannot help, come out and talk to the young an and encourage him.....after they will claim to be ambassadors, they no nothing about human relations and diplomacy....

Those are the kind of stupid officials we have!

That is why it is so difficult to love this Country, how do you love a country that has no love or regard for its citizens? SMH

A big shame on Tajudeen!

Where is dat Abati? Come n debunk dis one. God is watching all of u. Wat a shame. Prince Tajudeen Adeniyi, may God punish u n ur family n ur useless country

what a shame, Things like this make me ashamed sometimes to say that I am Nigerian. I so look forward to the day when I am eligible to get a second international passport, as I am sure a lot of other Nigerians would like the same. FACT OF LIFE!

Nigeria Embassy dem no send your father, he thinks hez the first to be denied Visa or support or what ever he went there for... Make somebody go ask Aspire Africa

ZeeZee said...

Too bad that something he is so passionate about and willing to HELP with was shot down, I feel your pain but things like this are done in Africa friend... we are not surprised

Everybody wants to be in the news.

Infact dt high commission shld be send back to Nigeria fr nt representing us . Nonsense!!

Wat a shame!!!

Keep doing the good work, don't let their negativity spoil your day and the positive work you are doing for you community country and young children all over.
God bless you.

Kenyan babe

Bembem said...

Sad!! D denials and rebuttals will soon come rolling in. Naija we hail thee

Kurtis Adigba said...

Shameful and tragic. The other time, the High Commission hosted an Independent Day party in London and they had no food and drinks for guests. The restroom was an eyesore. That Adeniyi need to lesson few lessons on dealing with people.

no be today Nigerians r being heartless to eachother esp abroad, so Mr.olumide leave those Dic heads n focus on ur charity coz God will soon judge them soon. fukin hate this country sometime

sad! Really sad! I shake my head in disbelief.
Thank God we don't need the Nigeria government for oxygen(air) to breathe. SMH

All dis one u ar sayin is stori,we ar use 2 them,dey just care 4 themselves alone,nig is one country dat hate 2 b brother/sister kipper,they wil surly pay sumday,pls kip doinin ur charity works,God. Will definatly pay u 4 ur gd.

Does are d representative Jonathan sent to look @d affairs of Nigerians overe dere so sad bt if is a Jonathan criminal(Asari Dokunbon) now he would be given a presidential treatment or fast action.wat a shame

Smh... I'm sure the yeye special adviser thought he was going to ask them for money. No come pour sand for their gaari by eating into the money they plan to embezzle. Its a shame sha... haba!

no be today Nigerians r being heartless to eachother esp abroad, so Mr.olumide leave those Dic heads n focus on ur charity coz God will soon judge them soon. fukin hate this country sometime

My brother, u nova see anything yet. U just dey start....

Okay at the stage this country is at the moment, why should a citizen be arrested for criticizing his President. My opinion is that Goodluck Jonathan is not worthy to be called a President, instead he his a scam and a puppet. Lets call a spade a spade. Ebele Goodluck Jonathan how experienced are you, how exposed are you? ,what are the qualities that you exhibit as a leader/President?.

Who gives a damn about you walking to school with no sandals, there are millions of kids out here today that are going through the same ordeal, instead off helping them you are making their situation worse and so is everybody under you.

Lives of Nigerians have become of less priority to so called leaders, all they want is self gain and nothing else for their people. The President is the opposite of his name. Justice as become a board game, embezzling from public office and there is no one to blame. What happened to Stella Oduah? Why is she still in office? Where as the case gone?."out the window". Why should the President travel out of the country for a medical procedure?
That is because out Health sector is fucked up, hospitals look like morgues, that stink when you walk in them. The unwelcome and unpleasant looks on the face of Nurses and Doctors. I understand why it is like that. Out nurses and Doctors are not happy.

Some students have been out of school for almost 5 months. Some are suppose to graduate this year but no, they have to wait for another year and still there is no head way. Some cannot even get into schools, not because they have bad grades or they are dull, it is because some students are getting exploited. "You have to pay to gain admission"

Not to forget the problem of insecurity in this country, What as been done about Boko Haram?, Why should they be given a dialogue? and apart from Boko Haram, we still have other bodies terrorizing the citizens of Nigeria. Yes! ,the Nigerian Police, so called SSS, the military, EFCC. I have heard enough stories and I have seen enough. No law enforcement body should take matters into their hands, let the court decide what should be done.

All we want in Nigeria today is a solution. No more crying, no more pain, no more sorrow, no more agony. If this so called President should win another term, I wish him and his office DEATH!!!!!!

PLEASE STAND UP AND LET US MOVE THIS COUNTRY FORWARD !!!!

Peters said...

I swear this na pikin

Nigeria

CDLohwan said...

Lol eyah xowi

sweetie said...

I weep 4 my country

Jade said...

Bros,calm down.

Butterseed said...

Even beyond d shores of naija, our representatives are all the same. Shame

Sad!

Dear brother we know dis things, please take heart for de disappointment. You 4 carry 1 or 2 fine ladies along with you to de office,that's when those old men go attend to you ooo. Naija na wah

I don't know why they choose fools for official appointments. People who are saddist arogant and can neva be happy for any good thing coming. Bro don't mind them just go ahead and do ur thing. Smh for Nigeria.

Soooo sad. What exactly does our country stand for?
Na only corruption we sabi

eeeya sorry. I can imagine the embarrassment.

@super_dee01 said...

No time to read all the rants...too long!

linda u hav to think on good title dis is not a rant, osiomole or what evr his name is called just told a widow to go and die now high commisioner saying shit as well r dis ppl rily representing d citizens?

Not surprised about this at all, keep up the good work Olumide.

Glammo! said...

Lol...Welcome too Naija!

Its Peckham Linda you should know better that he spelt it wrong doesn't mean you should too

Pls dis london eva tell dis guy dey needed sponsors???they are fine,and dnt need help,afta all dey kip deporting nigerian every now and den,so I dnt blame d nigerian embassy ova thr for not gvn him their support,anyways kudos to you for gud job,i knw so many guys u've help gt a life abd career thru your #olumide basketball camp# being held in lagos.
.most of dem in high school in the U.S,playn for their basketball team
...more grease to ur elbow dear,but b sure to gv help to those who really need it!!!

TL said...

This is terribly sad.

Met Olumide in london..D. Guy is so humble.

Fatimah said...

In other words, they are telling you to go and die!

Our officials (who ordinarily are supposed to be answerable to us)keep fucking us up. I guess only Oshiomole was crazy enough to do it to our faces.

One day, one day, hmmmn....

Sir, did you offer the guy money. You know our govt officials, if you are not greasing their palms...they don't want to be a part of your endeavors. O and please, you are not a subject of Nigeria..what in the world.

don't blame them our people have no credibility so its better to look before you leap.

@Anon 5:29pm...is he doing it for London or for the Africans in London. People should not be typing fast just to comment. Read and understand e jo.

Do they have to support you cos you have a project?just imagine how many Nigerians have good ideas? When you represented nigeria was it free? More over the
project you are ranting about aren't you going to make profit from it? Abeg, pull over.

One Gud Chick said...

That special adviser Mr Gbadamosi should be sacked! This are the people that doesn't want this country to move forward. Bullshit!

We got lousy embassy staffs in the world,lousy Ambassadors,lousy leaders, untrained people,manner less individuals. They even act like is their personal office they do not believe the represent us. When our president is useless how do u expect his works to be good? People
who do not care abt the need of citizens. If u re a Nigerian u re the last person to receive audience from ur embassy in any part of the word if anything happens to u.
madam better post my comment bc I know u re GEJ supporter.

*more power to ur elbow* ni o

Linda u so unserious and why the lol in ur report or U don't know when to use ur sense of humor on a sensitive issue as regards damilola Taylor , it's funny tat it's bubble was bursted! Learn how to use the right words okay. We r disappointed at d high commission besides he was not asking for sponsorship he was only goin there to drop the basketball and let them aware of his doings!

More grace to you am a fan linda abeg help me ask if the guy still single? Lol..

Walai u are a born throway! Its retarded thinking lyk urs dat has dug nigeria deeper in misery till date.jump off a fucking cliff SOB

Trust me, this kind of behaviour is not restricted to just the high commission in London. E neva hala

U are a mad person for sure,idiot lyk u?did he ask ur generation for money.malu it is pple lyk u dats causing problems in ds nation with ur backward thinking

Loyola,Loyola...the best in every way.

Ayodeji u are so onpoint. U hit d nail on the head seriously.Kudos 2u.so many people will nt accept all dis fact u av here,& i will support u with more evidence. Can Jonathan please tell us where the oil subsidy thieves are? If I don't know @all I kno 2of dem. Bamaga Tukur son& ahamadu ali son both PDP chairman past &present. Can Jonathan tell Nigerians who is Madam Charity that she has to be given a state burial @d rate of $44million? Can Jonathan tell Nigerians where d money that was transfered to Mallabu oil was from & who owns Mallabu oil?

U are just a fool. Did u nt see dat is charity match? Am sure u don't kno dat wen charity matches are played d funds are taken to less priviledge or other helpful places d sponsor of d program don't spend d money. Do u tink everybody wil be as corrupt as your leaders that can loot money anyhow

glammo! said...

Welcome to Naija!*

Reno Omokri where are u? Come n debunk dis one mumu man, d only tin u knw how to do is to ask stupid questions abt dead PHCN n nigerian roads? Is it better or worse?

Ode! Read his tweets and see what he has done in about 3states in Nigeria.
If you are too busy to read, then don't conclude.

Well said..nothing but a puppet and now a bully..

@daram. You are so stone-aged. If u care to know this dude has organized B ball klinics across the country over the last ten years. Not less than 10 indigent kids are in various American colleges on his scholarship.
Tell me why u are different from from someone who can't read?
Olumide 'tallest"- u are appreciated.God bless,bro.

In as much as we know that our embassy is very useless, but you also should do things the right way. If BBC and other bodies are supporting you, did you just walk into their offices or you channel things thru the right way? Nigeria High Commision here is very useless but we should not jump on the wagon, we should try to do the needful to avoid embarrassment.
Thanks
Pure Water Tutu

U r quite stupid for that statement.

Seriously, ur type dey die poor. U ar sooo senseless.

Jonathan is a fool, I swear

Arise.....courtttttttttttttttttt. #best eva# I support.

Expectin this since, Linda is gettin confused

Being away too long, that's how Nigeria works. They no send us.

Like seriously,do u know how to read?he has done it in 3 states(Osun,Oyo and lagos)....So what are u saying?

Jennyking you're so daft

@daram. You are so stone-aged. If u care to know this dude has organized B ball klinics across the country over the last ten years. Not less than 10 indigent kids are in various American colleges on his scholarship.
Tell me why u are different from from someone who can't read?
Olumide 'tallest"- u are appreciated.God bless,bro.

Dint u read his tweets? He has done the same in Lagos Oyo and other places around the world. Nigerian embassy in the UK is supposed to support Nigerian projects in d UK.
Are u learned at all? Ugh.

U don't need to hate d country u need to try and be d change u want to see in ur own little way. We have ppl in power who don't even know why they are there. Only a fraction of ppl know the right things to do.

Daram you are just an ignorant idiot....if you read the tweets u will not come here to type rubbish with your bend bend hand.....

brina said...

What a country...this our so called president surrounds himself with bunch of delinquents...who are not fit for office...these idiots are suppose to serve but NO!! They would rather cart away our money and insult us on top of it....God is watching!!

Fucking Igbo idiot.

Capito, keep up the good job, never be deterred by govt. Officials who do not care about the good job patriots like you are doing. Warm regards.
Ajibarede Bello

Capito, keep up the good job, never be deterred by govt. Officials who do not care about the good job patriots like you are doing. Warm regards.
Ajibarede Bello

This girl is just a fool! Been noticing all her daft comments! Smh!

If he was bringing girls they would have listened to him

NA WA O!

We just have thugs and touts that mistakenly got visa to represent us,big shame! What Nigeria is going through is like a blackberry phase, the android kind of leaders are not yet around but very soon...

They are not representing us at all. I was at the embassy this October to pick my family,my wife and two kids.I asked if the guy could let me in as they are both waiting to be photographed.the guy said because i had no appointment i could not enter,while my wife was struggling to contain the kids inside the building. i was so tired after a 12 hr flight from Canada , i cursed out!!!..I said the guy was a fool. i just waited outside for hours ,because i was not even in the mood to beg him. Its a crazy place .Its just sad, 10 years the place is not changed. Its the same crazy officials they keep sending over to represent us. Useless boffons

I gave my dose to a security guy at the door just this October at the high commission. After a 12 hr flight from Canada,i was meant to pick my wife and kids who were there to have their pics taken for Nigerian Passports.The guy said i had no appointment to come through, i said he was mad.I was not gonna push it further, i stayed outside for two hours for them to finish. Its the same crazy officials they bring to that place to work or recycled the same for 10 years. Its crazy, its an extension of Lagos or Abuja where you have to beg or ask for help. They are all mad in that place.I hope they change from their ways.Its not a refuge place at all for any Nigerian.Its the last place you should expect help from.They will never help you .

How dare you!

You should go for your passport renewal in London and see how they will turn you up and down; official walking around busy doing NOTHING. Only God can save us from ourselves. Disgraceful lot. As for you Linda, you are sounding more crass by the day; what's with the LOL? What's funny here? You don't know when to shut it and when to crack jokes right? Grow up

AGB said...

This is exactly the spirit bro. We all want to see change,but we all don't want to be the people to spear-head that change. There's no need hating your country just promise your God & your country that you would give your best to contributing to the changes you want to see in your country.

I gave my dose to a security guy at the door just this October at the high commission. After a 12 hr flight from Canada,i was meant to pick my wife and kids who were there to have their pics taken for Nigerian Passports.The guy said i had no appointment to come through, i said he was mad.I was not gonna push it further, i stayed outside for two hours for them to finish. Its the same crazy officials they bring to that place to work or recycled the same for 10 years. Its crazy, its an extension of Lagos or Abuja where you have to beg or ask for help. They are all mad in that place.I hope they change from their ways.Its not a refuge place at all for any Nigerian.Its the last place you should expect help from.They will never help you .

They don't give a fuck about us. They won't even support someone that cares. Animals on human skin.

His useless country too? Are you not a citizen of the said country? Do God punish you too, right?

To Daram November 29, 2013 at 4:06 PM; Its either ure blind, deaf or ur brain cant comprehend at all... didnt you see him write about doing clinics in Lagos and other states? or are u deaf and dumb and av never heard about his clinic?
Please use ur brain before typing with fingers...

Daft idiot. U need reading glasses.

Linda u beta advice dis man we re runnin our GOVT in a wrong direction

Linda, dis one no be rant. This one na rage. Haba! See tweets

You need a life in you cos you don't have one. Badoo of toronto

Ever since I noticed this twerp , her comments are as ugly as her face... Atimes I wonder if her brain dey her mouth... Mehn ,I give it to her o, she is a classic idiot .. Oponu oshi!

Na wa o.... Another fool... Shey na Spanish him dey write wey u no fit read... #smh

Ever since I noticed this twerp , her comments are as ugly as her face... Atimes I wonder if her brain dey her mouth... Mehn ,I give it to her o, she is a classic idiot .. Oponu oshi!

The guy man a mistake. If you had gone to the Embassy with dummy pump actions and Bombs, they will give you money to sponsor 20 country's basket ball charity. Or better still, tell them you're organising Jonathan 2015 charity basket ball, you don hammer be that! People wey no pay Keshi for many months, nah dem go send you?

Jennyking is a failure.

This girl y r u so foolish pls linda shuld stop posting ur comments useless human being

No name said...

Really dis country is so fucked there are no jobs and yet those in office steal from us imagine immigration asking for 1k for registration, it's small when one person pay it but imagine when hundreds of jobless Nigerians pay it and still till now nothin from dat angle and we have a leader smh

i have been there too, that embassy is a shame it shows how Nigeria can be

StapleJ said...

Always take a second look at issues like this. Govt knows that the event is not about getting kids off the streets. It is where he will recruit the next set of children to abuse. Pedophile are full of many tricks. He is Nigeria and basket ball greatest pedophile of all time and his victims are in all the countries he has played. Investigation is going on and govt knows about it. He is gay pretending to be living a straight life but having sex and molesting young boys at any opportunity. Parents beware!

Don't worry jennyking I pray the same happens to you, then u'ud knw how it feels

This gurl is a dunce... See her ugly face,,,
Stan bee#

I love my british passport

Nigerian Forum said...

He could have received the blessing has he hosted it here in Nigeria.

I have a different view. I did not see here that an appointment was made before the "stop over". How many of us will go to a friend's or in-law's house without calling just because we know the address and we are in town. Photo-ups are usually pre-arranged. Let someone help this and pre-arrange things for him. Get a PR firm or at least a PA to make appointments for you and let this be a lesson to we Nigerians who don't like to plan. If a look-alike of Mr. Olumide Oyedeji has enter the embassy with basket balls in hand and our ambassador take photos with him, what are we going to say? Many Nigerian do things for our country without looking for cheap photo-ups. You are in another country to promote Nigeria, before you pick a venue, you should have agree date, time, venue solicit for the embassy's support if you need it and not stop over a day before the events and you ended up trashing the embassy, the ambassador and the country you are trying to "promote".

The event may be charity, but the expenses from it is to help Mr Oyedeji reduce has tax liabilities. That is what "celebrity" does. You want support for that, then do better planning. If Mr. Ambassador has knock your door without notice just because he is Nigerian Ambassador, will you like it? and if you do, will you gay partner like it?

How many of us will like Olumide to "stop-over" in our office or home just because he is a super star without a simple courtesy phone call or text that he will be stopping? We all hope Nigeria will change. Are we ready to change the way we do things? What if the ambassador is in a meeting, a conference call with some other ambassadors or is simply not in the embassy at that time.
Let's face it; if you work in that office and Olumide burst in demanding to see an ambassador for an event for Nigerian kids in London with no prior knowledge of it and is starting less than 24hours, how will you react?

Softly softly oh. I hear this guys hand no dey too clean. Mr. Ambassador and his staff may know more than we know.

Coker said...

Fucktards!, if its not bribe they arent ready to hear sh*t! go on brother, they won't see it coming!

Don't mind them bastard people, that's how they behave until you hustle and you are BIG, then they want to affiliate with you and announce that you are their own. But they will spend all their money in London hotels fucking small girls up and down.. Fucking idiots!!!

No form of support, their citizens are slaving in Britain and its no concern to them

God will punish the annonymous person that posted that comment about booking an appointment. What ever happened to telling him to come back at a more appropriate time or book an appointment???? Y'all had to tell him to go to another place for support!! When you bastards spend more on small girls in london and go to their flats to sleep over, do you book appointment?? Bastards!!

In reply to a posting Dec 1, 2013 at 4:49 PM. Be objective. If you want an Ambassador to support, get him on board. Afterall, the venue was booked in advance, participants we notified in advance, sport kits has been order in advance. Why should it be the country ambassador that deserve a "stop over" the day before?
On a lighter note, even the small girl you mentioned in your posting would have been informed to get ready for sleep over. Not be so?

Wow...what a pity...you said it all Olu that you dont need there money and i know that and those who knows you.Its a pity cos you came in with a good reason to represent Nigeria and promote her image even in England where Nigerians /Africans are looked down upon.Move on Olumide we appreciate your doings.Great Nigeria son.

Life and Times of a Fresh Graduate said...

@Daram, may I say to you....you are a complete idiot! If you did not hear of the basketball clinics that Mr. Oyedeji organised in National Stadium, Lagos for years sponsored by Milo, then you should just keep your mouth shut