Do you guys agree that D'banj & Don Jazzy built the ent. industry we have today? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 November 2013

Do you guys agree that D'banj & Don Jazzy built the ent. industry we have today?

Don Jazzy was a year older yesterday and from D'banj's tweet, the two former Mo'Hits execs hung out. D'banj also made an interesting comment that I want to make a topic of discussion. D'banj tweeted that hanging out with Don Jazzy made him remember what they built, 'The Industry today'.

What do you guys think of that comment? Do you agree that they built the Entertainment industry that we have today? Please share your thoughts

223 comments:

1 – 200 of 223   Newer›   Newest»
eva said...

SMH,, wat abt 2baba?*space booked* brb

Skillz said...

Linda, they contributed their ow quota. Only one person cannot claim he/she built an industry, not even eidrees abdulkareem. cheers!!!

Oluwabibs said...

Nah lie joor
d industy as bin existing b4 dere arrival
remeber d time of plantainsion boyz,remedies, daddy showkey, baba fryo and likes.

I disagree, how were they the only ones that built it? Tu face, kennies music, and co did what?

BLAZER said...

MAYB YES MAYB NO.....BT DNT LET EEDRIS ABDULKAREEM HEAR U O! LOL.........U GUYS JST GET BACK TOGEDA.

Which day dem born them wen na dem born the industry?

I totally disagree jare...where dem go put keke and D1

D'banj obviously is exaggerating. if Donjazzy and Dbanj built the ent. industry we have today, what abt the likes of Pretty and Junior, Keke and D1, Remedies, Plantashion Boiz, 2face Idbia, Daddy Showkey etc these ones built what? Dbanj should take several seats back. i guess he's high on something when he made this comment or he's just trying to get attention

Dbanj should suck on an orange, what should people like madators, remedies, kush and tribesmen say. Have 3 seats dbanj, eat humble pie and get your mojo back.

Very True.. They kinda paved way for likes of them bankyand mi .. Etc. The overseas returnees

Abeg easy with the arrogance ……… The music industry was built way before you came in, and will still be standing tall years after you fade. You built nothing , not even the greatest naija artist

You only contributed a bit of your quota , that’s all ……… In your own words Dbanj “don’t get it twisted”.

BTW its glad to hear you both are hanging out and resolving past issues

2face shld be d one making dis comment.

teewai said...

No dey didn't build anytyn,they aren't even part of it..they came in when kennis music,psquare,2face,faze etc had set tins straight..they are jst an addition..this dbanj sef..with d noise he makes,favour is jst on his side

Dbanj's mouth runs like tap water. His bank account is giving him that impression. Pls Dbanj take plenty seats #TeamDonjazzy. Ms H

emekafaya said...

So you dont know the likes of keke and D1 ? When them born you ?

juliet said...

Kind of agree wit him,d new generation industry

I no agree oooo.

No I disagree

Dis D'banj sabi brag... If they built the industry, what of the Plantashun boiz, Kennis and the rest who have been in the industry before their arrival from yankee... He should shut up jooor!

juliet said...

Kind of agree wit him,d new generation industry thy r 100percent part of it

they made it a proper showbiz, in term of money inflow, endorsement etc

juliet said...

Kind of agree wit him,d new generation industry

How?

Yes they did,cos they brought swag,dress style n good production...minado master HBD.

Hellllllllllllll nooooooooo. 4 wetin nau. Where kennis music come dey & other labels.. He should calm down.

as far as am cooncerned dbanj and donjazzy are not the builder of the entertainment industry,the industry was built by the remedies and the plantashion boys,dbanj and co just came to make those money.

YES!!!!..........They built the MO'HIT Industry.

Amos Umoh said...

It depends on what he meant by "building the industry". I can't seem to lay a hand on any specific thing that D'banj has done to claim "building the industry". For Don jazzy, hmmm... he has done a couple of things to bring budding talents to light, etc.

All in all, the so called "building the industry" is more of a cumulative effort of all the stake holders - not just ONE or TWO people. **iRestMyCase**

juliboh said...

hmmm...nt reqlly

😜👀👀👀 said...

Let's agree to disagree 😜

For where na? the industry was there before them Plantashun bois, Maintain, Remedies etc were all there. They have only an impact, they didnt build it oo.

Yup they made big moves

Not really, would like to disagree on building the industry would've preferred raising the standard even at that they are not the only ones. On building the industry would like to name a few:junior and pretty, eedris abdulkareem, remedies, platation boiz etc.

Who d hell is he!!claiming 2 build d industry....as a matter of fact,deymade it worst by introducing d use of naked gurls in deir videos***

For where na? the industry has been there before them..Plantashun boiz, remedies, Maintain etc were all there before them. They only made an inpact they didnt create it.

dbanj is just a dreamer... Built ke, built ni.. Oloshi buruku

Disagree...

they met the industry. but have contributed immensely...

Its an emergence of illuminati jare....I even tot don jazzy was not in support before

P Square, Plantainson boyz, Baba fryo, remedies them built the industry. Mo'Hits harmonized it and made it what it is today.

Big lie credit goes to Keke and D1

adechillinh said...

The turned naija music into d cash making factory it is 2 day wif their style of music and d swag they added 2 it

Dey changed the whole game, like it or not

OMO T said...

Although I hate kenny ogungbe with a passion,I have to state that the entertainment industry as we know it in nigeria today,was largely built by kennys music. They brought all the hype,did all the promo and developed most of the packaging. I remember the remedies,plantashun bois,Maintain and trybesmen were the in thing then

Wande said...

I've always disliked dis d'banj, he's too full of himself, mtchew, very stupid somebody, if u don't av anything sensible to say just keep ur mouth shut... Even tuface has not made such statement, who d hell is d'banj?

Naaa , the industry has been there way before. The only thing they did was create their own style.

Flector said...

HMM....DBANJ, NO GO LET OUR UNCLE EEDRIS ABDULKAREEM HEAR YOU OO.. SHIT TALK WILL JUST SHIFT FROM DON JAZZY HEAD ENTER YOUR HEAD STRAIGHT! SAY WHICH INDUSTRY YOU BUILD ?

Pure lie,the foundation of the industry was built by the likes of plantasion boys,remedies,baba fryo,daddy shokey etc

This ur English na die oh . Oluwabibs of life.

bitchplis said...

For where?where u wan put dem kenny n D1,remedies,plantashun boiz n even trybesmen?

Linda abeg leave Dbanj joor
Built what Entertainment Industry!!!
If they did, that means 2face set the foundation 4 them.

Mz Beckhy

BOTH OF THEM BE FOOL NA THR FAULT NO BE PEOPLE WEY DEY CARRY ENDORESMENT GIVE DEM CHE BI IT IS BCOS EVERYTHING IN THIS COUNTRY COMES WITH POLITICS..DEM BABA KEKE CAME IN WITH NOTN STARTED WITH AIT JAMZ THAT PUT NIGERIA ON THE MAD THE MOVEMENT STARTED FROM THEM THEM CLINCHED THERE WAY INTO THE INTERNATIONAL LEVEL OUT OF NOTN THEY BROUGHT OUT SOMETHING DISCOVERED REMEDIES..THEN SOME BOYS CAME UP WITH BLIV FORMED PLANTATION BOYS,AZADUS CAME IN,RUFF RUGGED AND RAW CAME IN ,ARTHQUAKE,DEM PAUL PLAY CAME IN..WHAT OF MC WEIRD,COOPER VICTORY A LOT OF THEM DR FRESH ,RUGGEDMAN BIGLOO,2SHOT,TRYBES MEN JJC ALL OF THEM KEPT PUSHING HARD KEPT PUTN US IN THE MAP..THEY ONLY CAME IN WHEN THE SOUP DON DON WHEN TECHNOLOGY DON ADVANCE AND CHEAP WHEN INTERNET DON CHEAP WHEN ALL GADGETS DON DEY TO FINISH THE JOB EVEN IF ITS A LOW BUDGETED ONE..IF THE GAME IS PLAYED WELL ALL THIS SMALL BOYS WONT BE RUNNING THR MOUTH THEY GIVE THE ENDORSEMENTS AND SHOWS TO THEM FORGETTING THE PIONEERS...WELL IT IS WRONG FOR THEM TO OPEN THR MOUTH TO SAY THAT COS THEY ARE THE ONE EATN THE MONEY

Igor said...

Keke and D-One in collaboration with Tuface,Remedies and Plantashun boys revolutionised the industry.Mohits and Psquare only liberalised the industry.That is to say,they turned the industry into a vocation for entertainers,an euphemism for what we now call swagger.Keke and D-one deserve the greatest praise for what we now call the "Nigerian music industry"

I think is a mistake,he wanted 2 write what they built in the industry,and not what they built the industry,a single miss out in english can change a sentence.

True....they funkified it!

He is beinging to sound like his boss my west

Dis Dbanj na Mumu wey just get class, Cos where he put 2face who started evrything international for us, Or Psquare who are equally Legends like both of them in the game. All na cheap media hype, #Unfrosh.

well not really true..we had kenny music wt tuface and storm records..the two just work together to bring out hit songs from dbang n mo hit records..xo they just made their record known..they didnt mak today ent industry!

Though d industry had far existed b4 them but they brought a touch of value 2 d music industry.

Keke and D1 built the industry.

In his dreams.d entertainment industry has been existing before his arrival.tho,its good to dream big.

na lie

What exactly did he build oo, Later una go say Linda dey cause wahala for industry, when our celebs sef dey crase per second, Abii whr he put 2face and Psquare wey even get money and fame pass am.

Pride as usual. You built yourself not the industry......

Tony Nwajei said...

I think Kenny Ogungbe and D1 Adeneye revolutionised the entertainment industry in Nigeria if we must face the truth.

Ignorance to such #Beclouded thought is usually the best option.....

Gbam

fikky babe said...

Agree with u. Not single handedly built but they did add a lot of cement and bricks.

See Dbanj mouth building the industry. Dbanj of ystdy. Linda â„“̊ nor fit shout. Plzz let him visit the archives Kenny's and co

DaGalTohBad said...

Did dey? ¤DaGalTohBad

Yup. Dey did...dey brought up the in flow of. Talentless musician and artist

Wande said...

Pls tell 'em

Apple Berry said...

I really don't think so.. Like the industry wasn't existing before they came in or wat

KEke nd D1 spoilt the industry and also made it for their selfish reasons.. Where are those stars from kennis. 2Face is d only man standing bcos he knows who he is.

Apple Berry said...

They all v made their contributions tho..

Apple Berry said...

I really don't think so.. Like the industry wasn't existing before they came in or wat

Which industry? When do they joined d industry? Kennis music & 2face built it

Enroe said...

They didnt build it...they met it..they only made their impact..

Professional jobseeker said...

Don Jazzy and D'banj only came into the music industry after the path had been created for them by the hip hop pioneers.
Build ko? How many albums has D'banj dropped? He came in 2006 and has been blessed but he and Don Jazzy did not build this Industry.

They just were talented and as well fortunate.

BTW: Did Don Jazzy give anything out on twitter yesterday to mark hie birthday?

*Going back to prepare for tomorrow's interview

lekan oyeyemi said...

Where u put idris abdul karEem, tuface, style plus, kennis music. Dbanj stop tweeting nonsense.

BOB said...

Kennis Music together with 2Face built the industry, explains why they're still in the game today.. Don Jazzy nd D'banj haven't done badly too.. They're icons of the Nigerian music industry

They sold it out . And brought the devil of the western music industry

they contributed largely to what it is today, so YES.

Gistyinka Blog said...

those two guys are behind the struggle of exposure will have today..

It's only a fool that's talks abt ilumunati..idiots there Notin like dat

Big fool....naija mentality...wetin concern illuminati wit wetin dem dey tlk for here...animal

Oluwatosin Olayinka Adu said...

2baba did a great job in making the industry to world class and d'banj and don baba j bring nothing but competition and fake life style

Ibudeh Steve said...

Nobody, I repeat nobody has contributed to showbiz when it comes to the African Music Industry like Okolosi, Keke and D1 and Obi Asika.

Don Jazzy and D Banj are in the 3rd generation of Show Business Men

Engr Oge... said...

BABA Keke and OTUNBA D1 laid the foundation of the class and hypes the music industry has today in Nigeria BUT credit should also go to the MO'HITS founders as they built extensively on the foundations laid by BABA KEKE and OTUNBA D1. D'bang isn't too far from the truth.

They raised the bar mehnnn.

mrs opaleye said...

Ɣξα̲̅h; D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ change it ......

He is obviously clueless about the inception of the (money making) Nigerian music industry.

I think they took it to the next level. Let's not lie. Before Dbanj and Don Jazzy, no one was coming back to Nigeria to do music. Now, all the Nigerians wey sabi sing want to be based here.

Emem said...

I think that credit should go to the likes of TuFace/Plantation Boyz etc however Don Jazzy/DBanj have contributed immensely....

I like both Dbanj and Don J,but Kudos goes to Kenny and D1.Imaging playing 9ja hip hop song at the club in early 90s was a taboo.It was when Kenny and D1 came that entertainment industry change in Nigeria.Ask ALEX O,ALEX ZITTO,BLACKKY,JUNIOR AND PRETTY,DANIEL WILSON,MIKE OKRI.So disagree with DBANJ on this.

Professional jobseeker said...

They didn't build the entertainment industry. They met a ready audience that had been prepared pioneers when they got back from their UK sojourn.

What would them OJB and Kennis say? That they created music??

BTW Did Don jazzy give out any goodies yesterday on twitter?? Me i need money o

*Dusts CV and walks away

Mo'hits breaks Kennis Music monopoly interm of concerts & endorsements. Entertainment was built by Kennis Music & rebranded by Mo'hits.

Amos Umoh said...

It depends on what he meant by "building the industry". I can't seem to lay a hand on any specific thing that D'banj has done to claim "building the industry". For Don jazzy, hmmm... he has done a couple of things to bring budding talents to light, etc.

All in all, the so called "building the industry" is more of a cumulative effort of all the stake holders - not just ONE or TWO people. **iRestMyCase**

To me Rugged Man really changed the game...he exposed those wack mcs back then...Don jazzy and D'banj just added flavour thats all..

Nal lie joor... Seun

Kudos to Kenny and D1.Dbanj must be on cheap drugs.

I think mohit contributed to d growt of d industry as oda artists dat have come and gone and I want to say one person cannott lay claim to it its #na contribution of many rice for pot make pot full#

Not neccessarily true buh dey are gud

JOKY said...

Though it was der bt these 2 guys brought in smtin different dat made it what it is today. Take it or u leave it

Not really but they kinda contributed so much to it

Agree! Kenny and D1 built the industry

Mal@yu said...

Dbanj don craze. Where you put Innocent Tuface Idibia 2baba. African queen for me was the first song by a Nigerian that was accepted by the rest of Africa and some part of Europe. I dont think its Dbanj Mobolowowon. he should take several seat.......

Shallow shallow shallow."illuminati" seriously? Grow up! Ugghhh

Let's not forgt Idris Abdulkareem , tony tetuila...

dede said...

Serioisely hw can u even ask. Sucha qtn..ayt.if dbanj cn make d stupidest mistake of sayin dey built d industry so we're duz he lv d lyks of tuface d plantashun boiz,eddy remedy eedris,daddy. Showkey nd d lyks..pple shld plz fear God

the only refunished the industry

He was a year older yesterday" yea we know dat but did u caRry d news? Una de quarrel? I no de ansa anytin lin..... U make me vex! If na tiwa and genny u go carry 4 head like heavy load!

Give the kodus to Baba Oloye (Dayo Adeneye- D1) and the World Famous (Kenny Ogungbe- KeKe)

Thank you, they have contributed a lot. What will Fela, Daddy showkey, Onyeka onwenu, and King sunny ade now say?

Na una sef una build nt music industry! Na ya papa haus? U built my foot! Wake up! After building it, why una collapse? Mtchew! Mumu talk!

They gave the music industry levels. Forget o. D credit goes to them.dbanj and don jazzy

Ds d best contribution. IMO

THEY FULLY DID, NO DOUBT ABOUT THAT

U all don't understand wat he meant by d word,it means they both built their entertainment industry togeda b4 wande coal,da prince and d rest came.....dat is d meani

Anon 1:6pm Illuminati ke ? Have u really. Cared to know d meaning! So in this vast age u are still dumb! Take it or leave it dat stuff dosent exist as u think

So if they built wat re we goin to say to 2face na, Africa queen is still a hit

I agree with them Kenny Music..2face opened it all and make it profitable for the MCs

thsi is the smartest comment on here.

Na craze dey worry am nah...where hin go put 2Face, Eedris, Modenine, Eldee,PSquare etc?

They built their own industry not nigerian music industry..mitcheeew SHM

you did what? smh. nigga don't flatter yourself!

I didn't hear abt dem even whn tubaba sang african queen dt launched my interest in naija hits...dey came afta d industry had made a gr8 turnaround hoohaa
***otunba,u***

They contributed shikena.

ebimor said...

I totally disagree jare dbanji no gt wetin 2 tlk jare kenny's muzik built d industry 2 wat it is.2dy

Couldn't care less

These guys introduced a new business model to the industry and that is what has revolutionized it. Also they weren't satisfied with being local champions, and this dissatisfaction has brought a lot of interest and exposure from foreign acts to the local industry and its players

I vividly remember Remedies song " Shako mo" and it shook up the industry.

Pls share your endometriosis stories @ endochallenges.wordpress.com. Let's beat endo together!

Did u guy's understant simple english, I No if 2face say this u won't complain.

They tried....but Kennis Music na baba

Month hits crew played a significant role in d industry but sayin that they built it is way off d mark

Whc mumu industry self??? Mtchwwwww....person dey sing nonsense e dae tok say he build industry....*mumu* na industreet mtcww!! Wia 2face/psquare dey? Mtcww...

The guys at Kennis Music,Keke and D1 that made it possible for them (Dbanj and Don) to come to Nig to meet an industry what will those ones now say? Dbanj just like saying plenty rubbish big mouth..he better give honour to the Kennis music guys and stop saying nonsense out of that his big mouth

OmoAkin said...

I totally disagree....It was built by Idris Abdulkareem &co....quite un4tunate dey're not d1 enjoying d goodies.

WTF is that?

You are right, I even remember the days of them going to the Grammys every year just so those ones there can know what Nig music industry is.. Dbanj is foolish for this

See this "tolo tolo!" Oya go and sit down @Dbanj... U for like to thief!!! Even Idris deserves more credit than you...If no be "booty call" wey una copy "make it rain" hands down who for dey halla Mo'hits? U did your bit, but industry was way before you bro! Think Remedies and Plantashun boiz...and yes Keke should be the one mouthing off...not you!!! "Port Harcourt Girl"

yea rite,build ko, Style plus and co came before them.

WSS said...

Obviously D'banj meant to say the industry we took to a higher level. That's diff from building. Good/right intention, but poor representation/interpretation.

Real Talk said...

D'banj is serving himself more than he deserve. Tuface - African queen did more good to the industry than D'banj's catalogue. And oh I haven't even spoken about KeKe and D1.

Am sure dbanj wants to remind don jazz dey both build mohit which is nw mavins and not nigeria music industry...

saheed badmus said...

Well I bliv dbanj just made a comment but no matter wat any1 says, D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ̴̩̥̩̩̩̥ all av to give Thanks to Eedris Abdulkareem..although dere av been lots of musicians in Nigeria b4 eedris bt he fought for every one of Ʊ..if not for eedris we would still b listening to dem american musicians..he opened way for Ʊ all and with is help,a law was made dat b4 any foreign music can be played on radio or tv stations,at least 80% of Nigeria music shud b played...Dats how Ʊ folks start to D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ̴̩̥̩̩̩̥ release song anyhow..so to me Eedris made d industry..Kudos to Ʊ Nagaisheiku master,jaga jaga boss oko asewo1..post by santoma

Kelvin said...

Dbanji I can only tell u dat soldier come soldier go barracks remain so the same way u and Don J contributed and is still contributing dats how others did and still doing so park well.

saheed badmus said...

Well I bliv dbanj just made a comment but no matter wat any1 says, D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ̴̩̥̩̩̩̥ all av to give Thanks to Eedris Abdulkareem..although dere av been lots of musicians in Nigeria b4 eedris bt he fought for every one of Ʊ..if not for eedris we would still b listening to dem american musicians..he opened way for Ʊ all and with is help,a law was made dat b4 any foreign music can be played on radio or tv stations,at least 80% of Nigeria music shud b played...Dats how Ʊ folks start to D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ ̴̩̥̩̩̩̥ release song anyhow..so to me Eedris made d industry..Kudos to Ʊ Nagaisheiku master,jaga jaga boss oko asewo1..post by santoma

T̶̲̥̅̊H̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥. Banj all wot eva yo name is pack well jor!! U 4 talk say na u an yo co member introduce illuminanti in music industri all yo son dey wack an nois!! Take plenty chair sidon jor!!

What u bulit together and can't keep together is not what talking about

i guess you guys misunderstood him D'banji n Don jazzy change thd face of nigeria ent.industry.

The only thing I can credit D'banj and Psquare for is that they let many musicians know that you can start your own label and still make it.
Prior to their arrival, all the musicians wanted to be signed to Kennis Music.
But now, everybody don they get their own Record label and still they make am small small

Dbanji b4 dem born U......Ur mama and papa don dey Dance SHAKOMO by Remedies (Eedris).... Dont let ur account balance deceive u..... DBANJI......pls dont 4get dat ut account balance dat makes u brag is someone offering.

where did they put keke and D1

Tenx. Dbanj and attention. I guess they are even hanging out to spite wande coal. Big ups to keke and d1. Dbanj can bang for all I care.

shady said...

i wont say they built it cus they were plenty others before them but i do think they revolutionized the music industry

Di and kenny ogungbe the answer.

Exactly, just dt he just broke up with his girlfriend while know just proposed.

Kind of.....

They more of contributed their quota to the already rising music industry.

tola said...

This guy must be a joker,let me even state the people who were there before him.junior and pretty, Remedies,plantashun bois,maintain,trybesmen, rough rugged and raw,azadus,paul play,rasky,lord of ajasa, tripple b, eldee xtra large,psquare, Dr fresh,ruggedman, nomoreloss,mr kool,terry da rapman, 6foot plus,ruclean,overdose,mode 9, sound sultan,baba dee,zule zoo,sasha,2shots,big lo,abounce,style plus, marvelous benji, kuppa victory, black reverends,black trybe etc. All these people were in the industry before them so what fucking industry did they build?

Folarin Akin said...

Bro you're right on point...perhaps he said that because he is looking at the industry from he's perspective, probably from the time he came not the time befeore. which ever way, you comment says it all.

see as una just d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ argue about who build industry or not, the boy d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ house d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ chill for AC with one glass of ice cold hennessy una d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ here d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ discuss their matter......... Abeg una don find food eat this afternoon?? Rubbish!! #TeamDbanj #TeamDonjazzy #Team2baba #Wizkid......

First of all,linda post my comment oooo, I no sabi Wetin I do you, now back to the matter...... Dbanj is high, so where will one place the likes of Styl_plus and Tuface??? just because u are flying high now no mean say you'll always be up there, The likes of styl-plus and Tuface paved the way that you are treading easily on.

tuface faze and blackface are the pace setter, d industy as bin existing b4 dbanj and don jazzy arrival
remeber d time of plantainsion boyz,remedies, daddy showkey, baba fryo and likes.

Ta! Stop it Dbanj, u r talented and all no doubt, but hold it dia, the likes of plantashun boiz, remedies and styl-plus nko, especially styl-plus, Olufunmi was and definitely still a banging tune

I agree, bunch of noise makers naim full everywhere, so disgusting, Linda,linda,lindaaaaaa,post my comment o

SLEEKREEK said...

Dbanj just like to dey blab at times......where do we put the likes of Eedris Abdulkareem,plantashun boiz,tuface,daddy Showkey,remedies,.....Dbanj only came to enrich his pocket from the foundations those ones built with their struggle and labour.....those were the ones who worked,,,dbanj and others only came to enjoy...

Facts are facts. He did. ..k bye !

I know they contributed immensely to the maturation of the industry but,did they build it? What do you say about people like P-square and Plantation Boys before them? I would rather say they were great contributors to the industry and for that we shall always remember them

YES THEY CONTIBUTED TO IT BUT THEY DID NOT BUILD IT FROM SCATCH BECASUE IT WAS ALREADY THERE.

THEY ADDED THE FUN FACTOR.

THEY OPENED DOORS FOR MUSICIANS WHO CANT SING BUT CAN STILL MAKE IT USING AUTO TUNE.

THEY OPENED DOORS FOR SENSELESS AND MEANINGLESS MUSIC.

THEY BUILT ON THE CELEB BLING BLING LIFE STYLE WE HAVE TODAY.

ANY YES....THEY PAVED WAY FOR OUR INTERNATIONAL BASED MUSICANS LIKE BANKY W, TIWA SAVAGE WHO HAD TRIED FOR YEARS TO MAKE IT INTERNATIONALLY BUT COULDNT. BACK IN NIGERIA, THEY ARE TREATED LIKE GODS BUT INTERNATIONALLY, THEY WOULD`NT HAVE BEEN AS SUCCESSFUL IN THE ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRY.

.....THAT ABOUT COVERS IT.

I think I agree with the comment He made, He did not say they create or started the industry, the comment is what "We built" as they can build on what Remedies, plantainsion boyz, Daddy Showkey etc started. probably what He meant was giving it a new look.

He's wright, with few others thou

Mrs E said...

No mind Dbanj joor. It was always there, just that Don jazzy took, psquare took it to the next level. Dbanj was just fortunate that the Don used him. The worst singer would be a star with d Don's touch.

Mrs E said...

Dbanj would have remained a nobody without the Don

Sorry Don Jazzshit..u didn't build naada...in 2006, u and debanj came back from jand trying to do a collab with every known Naija artiste you had seen on BEN TV in England, u guys were almost signed to Storm records(which moi and my guys were performing shows with at that time) for 1 million naira, u were hiring cars an forming 'big boys' stance, when Debanj did his album launch in the white house...now u are saying you built what industry??????
The likes of Storm Records, obi Asika, Question mark records's kevin and Keke and D 1 for instance should talk about things like that!! Please don't fool this young ones; all of you including the likes of weird Mc, kween and a lotta others came back from jand while some others came back from yankee to bum-rush the industry that was already taking shape. Also props to Howie tee for instance who brought out P square and so many others who haven't laid claim to building, so bros relax ok?That's the problem with Nigerians, we lie too much. For instance the term' red carpet' was first used popularly in Naija when Storm records used it at Dare's launch at the Eko Hotel! I think people like Obi Asika can lay claim to such, spicing up what Prime time already laid down, oga jazz please don't talking jazz........THE GREMLIN DEY VEX O!!!

Congrat tu D banj! He's the most stupid creature of his generation!

Oga DEE said...

To an extent, d'banj is not far from the truth. I think Kenny and D1 laid the foundation. Dbanj and Don Jazzy brought the glamour which is why we see every artist trying to be image conscious today.

Shut up D banj. Kenny ogungbe did.

Oga DEE said...

To an extent, d'banj is not far from the truth. I think Kenny and D1 laid the foundation. Dbanj and Don Jazzy brought the glamour which is why we see every artist trying to be image conscious today.

NO NO AND NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

alphAbEE said...

well, i think they just did their best and it was remarkable. they rocked together joo!!!

NEVER, I remember Remedies, and afta the split, Idris, with rugged man dissin idris in his song "y u 2 dey rap like mumu" vividly. Tribesmen were dre, plantainsion boyz were dre. without 4getin kennies music.

Those are the people who should say they built the industry not dbanj! he's a 2nd generation artist in Nija music family line!

mayb u shud ask him where he was when Psquare sang senorita...

That guy no gt sense

SHUT UP Dbanj..........MOST OF THE CREDIT GOES TO

KENNY MUSIC & D1

those were the days of good music .

Igor said...

I don't mean to sound derogatory,anybody who faild to mention the Kennis duo of Keke,D-One and Tubaba as the pioneers of the industry has not really said anything.

Igor said...

It was even Keke and D-One that started this endorsement thing.Remember when MTN branded their hummer jeeps,and Tuface's 20million naira endorsement with Guiness.

Linda, share our thoughts, ιƨ it the one Ʊ ɪ̣̝̇â„“â„“ publish or the one Ʊ are gonna use αѕ a toilet papper? Anys let ♍ε̲̣̣̣ air Ðœ̣̣̇Æ” thought. I believe the industry he ιƨ talking about ιƨ that of great sound. Beatings that pierced people's spine and made them wanting for more always. And helped boost Nigerian *music* industry. That made the likes of genevieve, omosexy etc. Who has the gift of acting wanting to shame their personality by singing. *runs away*

Dee Tee said...

Hmmm... Lol ... No comment

good to see these guys together.

TWITS said...

Last time I checked, P Square older than DBanj in d music/entertainment industry; P Square has more albums than DBanj; P Square more famous than DBanj; P Square sells out more concerts than DBanj BY FAR!,P Square richer than DBanj...DB seems 2hav an ego ailment. May he b healed.

Best comment so far!

He never said they single handedly built the industry, but they made a huge impact which is undeniable

Well I think Nigerians started paying more attention to Nigerias Afro pop music scene after the plantation boyz broke up.... The Fame started from there... people also wanted to see what they (PB)could do individually... BUT No doubt The don jazzy and d'bang's era came after... and they enjoyed what plantation boyz, The Remedies, Trybes men built... Mo'hits indeed made hits...

Hell Noooo!As much as I love them both,they are not even close to being regarded as building the Yaba music industry not to talk of the Nigerian music industry.No artiste did that not even Tuface or Baba Fryo...it was a series of events that created the industry like influence of foreign artistes,democratization of mass media,youth culture,urbanization,the emergence of night clubs,etc.If there is any person(s)that should be credited at all for blowing up the music industry,it should be the PrimeTime Jamz trio of Kenny,ID and D-1.When ther was no one to talk about the artistes,they did it first.They allowed us to know their music,love it and spread it.They pretty much started the Nigerian music industry.I give that one to them!Chikena!(I don't know them for Adam ooo,lol))
-Adanna King.

D only musician dat built d music industry is 2face. He started wt d plantashun boiz, his music video was d first 2 b played on mtv n even in a movie called fat girls. First 2 win an mtv european award, first 2 b payed millions 4 less dan 30 minutes performance on stage n endorsement deals . Dbanj only came in bcos of d money

They are the ones that brought big money into the industry. Before D'banj, who dey collect even 3,4 or 5 million for show? Wasn't D'banj the first to get big endorsement deals for millions of naira? 2baba and plantain boys, showkey etc were there but they weren't commanding huge sums.

Wamisauce said...

D'banj really doesn't know how to talk sha...he built an industry dat was around before he was born? Hmm...enu e po broda. Trust Michael, he will totally exonerate himself from such a comment.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 223   Newer› Newest»