…And We Ran Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 29 November 2013

…And We Ran Lagos

Over 2000 athletes ran 10km from Onikan Stadium to Teslim Balogun Stadium. The race had everything; music, fun, a thirst for glory, new friendship, pain but in the end we conquered and winners emerged.

Williams Kefaf of Plateau State emerged the winner of the maiden edition of ‘Nike we run Lagos’ 10 kilometer race put together by the leading sportswear manufacturing company.

The race which was flagged off at the Onikan Stadium by the Lagos State Commissioner for Youth and Sports, Enitan Oshodi, saw the Police officer dictating the pace from the beginning to Teslim Balogun Stadium where it was terminated. Continue...

He recorded a time of 31:10  seconds to beat his closest rival Lawrence Osheku who returned in a time of 31: 34 seconds and Adeyemi Olaoluwa who recorded a time of 32: 44 seconds to place third. In the female category, Olowora Aminat clocked a time of 34: 55 seconds to come first while Pereira Oluwabukola and Doris Wudus returned in a time of 37; 15 seconds and 38: 23 seconds to win the second and third positions respectively.

With this result, both the winners of the male and female categories will represent Nigeria at the” Nike we run race” in Johannesburg, South Africa later in the year, while all the first three winners will be entitled to free Nike products for a year.

Speaking shortly after the race, Kefaf noted that he has been training for the race for the past one month, even as he stated that the win will enable him develop more confidence towards putting up a good performance at the forthcoming Obudu Mountain race which he hope to participate in for the second time.

The race which was organized as part of the company’s efforts to connect runners around the world and forge a new global community of athletes through Nike’s most connected series saw the first 75 winners in the male category as well as the first 25 winners in the female category and the last enduring 10 to get to the finish line going home with a pair of Nike shoes.
Visit www.werunlagos.com to view the top 100 runners list and the enduring last 10 as well as downloand pictures of the event.

12 comments:

Daram said...

Chai! I for run win moni....jst frm onikan 2 teslim Balogun stadium....na eko bridge we go pass na mtcheew

Dat was kul...."We run d race"

Dbarms said...

They should race of charity as well, would be nice

Dbarms said...

They should race for charity as well, it would be nice!

So nA only shoe dem give winners! No be small thing o

Congrats guys, I wish I could run...hmmm

Olivanjaz said...

Exercise is quit good for body.Showoli'blog

One Gud Chick said...

Congrats to the winner

Olivanjaz said...

I wish i can run the race too

Congrats to all the runners

Chai! Aminat Olowora was my junior in secondary skool o, dat babe is good in all sports I swear, way to go AMINA!

When I saw the finish line, I just wondered "where are the other athletes? lol" See gap abi dusting.