Latvia PM resigns after supermarket roof collapse that killed 54 | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 27 November 2013

Latvia PM resigns after supermarket roof collapse that killed 54

The Prime Minister of Latvia, Valdis Dombrovskis, resigned today Wednesday November 27th after saying he is politically responsible for the collapse of a supermarket roof that killed 54 people and wounded at least 40 others last week, the Associated Press reports.

The roof of Maxima Supermarket located in Riga collapsed on Thursday November 21 killing several people including three rescue workers. 39 others were seriously injured. The supermarket collapse is said to be the worst disaster in Latvia since 1950.

Dombrovskis, who was the longest-serving prime minister of Latvia (2009 - 2013) felt so guilty about the tragic incident that he resigned. Let me type that again... Dombrovskis, who was the longest-serving prime minister of Latvia (2009 - 2013) felt so guilty about the tragic incident that he resigned. Our people dey hear? Lol

81 comments:

Great leadership example

Sooo sad! May God rest their soul in peace.

I wish our politicians can learn from this but their own na No leave! No Transfer!

If na 4 naija nw,na gobe b dat.

Abeg eee, the guy don tire before. Be like say stress generally too much.

Mrs E said...

Na latvia u call am nah

Even after typing it twice you failed to notice the 'TYPO', It's "TOO GUILTY...." NOT "TO GUILTY...".

Pretty said...

Linda, you know our people na, they are so rotten deep down to the roots and dead to all conscience. Always looking for someone to blame when it was clearly an act of negligence.

Was dat d reason 4 him 2 resign?there's must b sumtin wrong ..

chilli said...

Linda, nor mind them jare, na to call am an act of God or some other bullshit if na nija e happen. May their souls. RIP though

I love the whites,so consciencious.

GEJ! I hope say u de hear. If gEj be like dis, im for don resign tey tey

DR ANTHONY said...

D man doesnt like his job. Dis is d time ur pple nid u. All dis white leader resigning during crisis, i see it as a sign of weakness n we Africans see it as gud leadership. A king is tested n fights during crisis, a king doesnt run when crisis shows. He shld hv resigned after everytin is ova.

Mich said...

Latvia is a nation state.
Nigeria is a country.
No way our leaders are gonna be as politically responsible as Latvia's.
Until public offices are made unattractive,Nigeria is gonna be on a perpetual nose-dive!

Butterseed said...

Our own people have no guilt, no shame and no sense of responsibility towards the people of Nigeria. If it was here, GEJ will 'condemn' the collapse and set up a panel to probe it. End of story.

oho! GEJ, what are you still doing dia, how many pple hve so far been killed by boko haram, wia is that gov whose convoy killed a prof sef, you too still dey office?

I'm impressed.

This is how a responsible government behaves...I won't say more

What is this first comment thing all about??

That's a man with conscience. ... Aja mbene! 4 naija ifi like make all their family die go, naija man maintains his hard earn position with strong face. Zion.

Nigeria W̶̲̥̅̊È‹̊ƪƪ never resign even if it killed half of our popuulation, the only thing U̶̲̥̅̊ W̶̲̥̅̊È‹̊ƪƪ hear is I symathpatise with family n pay a condolence visit

Nice move

BARRY9ICE said...

na waooo, longest time in office? jst 4 yrs, as if dt was not enoff still went ahead to resign cos of a collapsed supermarket roof dt kill 21 people, when for naija uncountables life has been taken since 2010 till date yet my president still wan die for power, waiting for 2nd term. may d lost souls RIP

Dats a civilized country. The ones who claim dat "plane crash re handwork of God" dats their god crashes planes re there bleaching their skin to perfection, stealing money and sucking blood on d runway. God punish dem all.

Djaguar said...

Resign kee in 9ja.it cannot happen let alone for d minister to feel guilty ko ko..#jesus swept#

Aneke ikenna said...

Oyibo Mentality and our Darkie own no be the same.. if na nija.. Na then im go brief media say im wan extend im Tenure by 54years so as to immortalize the 54 people killed in the disaster...ahahhaha... Naija I dey hail

Our people they will turn deaf hear to this type of stuff

It only means the leaders are truly there to serve and their is no thiefery going on.. Hence no struggle to stay in power...also taking responsibilty for a construction job badly executed while people are dying everyday in Nigeria due to permanent goverment neglect on basicly everything and insane corruption... We really need to be ashamed and that's for both irresponsible leaders and gullible and laid back followers that don't know how to demand their rights

Na wa

If you are †o these politricians that we have in naija u just dey waste your time! All these old fools no go gree resign! Na only God fit help us 4dis country. #Missy#

dede said...

Wierd!!I no believe!!sure. Derz mur to dz story

When u c stories like dis u wonder wat kind of brain our leaders av, u wonder what their agendas for wanting to rule us are, u wonder if d africans cnt do anything right in d place of governance. Till 2mao there's not been born or revealed an african with profound leadership style, principles with obvious n world acclamed results like mandela of south African. Civilization is said to come frm african yet we r nt civilized at all n all d problems in the war torn african countries depict dat fact. Rather u av politicians buying jets nt jet oh bt jets on oour wealth, senators throwing punches n chairs, lecturers striking bt neva will u hear dat senators striked for nt being payed. All these our politicians forget dat after all is said n done dis same land dat they desecrate with impunity will receive their decaying n lifeless carcass n nt d over seas they run to for vacation.

There constitution no get provision for setting up a committe or a panel of inquiry ?. He should have asked GEJ how to do it.

Oh! How i love my beloved country. The only country in d world that a minister can boldly say an plane crash is an ACT of God. A country where old men keep recycling themselves in power and they small children lyk me we r the leaders of tomorrow. Which way Nigeria????
Linda mae post comment aaaaa,muna gi etinye ukwu n'ofu trouser. Are u allergic to posting my comments*pissed*

He resigned because of a supermarket roof collapse!! God,arise in your power and fury and walk through this land in Jesus name.

Linda's Fan said...

Linda, hear ke? Abeg say something else. Where Farouk, Stella Oduah and co? They are still in govt. Linda my sister, the list is endless.

Onkle_Gee said...

Abeg lindodo just type am one more time make I Cc @stellaOduah..she needs to read this.. See what they call discipline? Jona sef suppose follow read dis tin..infact linda just post my comment make I go carry dem come.:|.

When it's not in naija that the president will turn to mario...

In the next one zillion years, a Nigerian political officer holder would never resign nor take responsibility for such accident. When the devil is there to be blame or the imaginary political foes. Even they will tell us it was premeditated and God has destined them to die that way. Naija politicians, I carry my dry yansh for una.

Slimy said...

Wish miss stella oduah can take dis man as her role model jst 4 a sec n also resign.

Qutie said...

Story... If u like type it twice our leaders will read it and laugh over it and do the exact opposite.... Stay in power for 100yrs even if everything is collapsing....

If I hear! Stella never retire na who wan retire for Nigeria. Instead they go die put.

Oboh's lens said...

He is obviously sub-human! He should come to Nigeria and learn from leaders who are always “on top of the situation" when as many as 1,000 innocent people die— needless death!

Lmao

....therefore, Jonathan needs to resign a million times!

Sylvanus said...

This are people who came to render services. When they fail they resigns. Nigeria Politician came to make money and only death will stop them. They care not about anybody and have employed praise singers in every sectors as cover up. God bless Nigeria

APPLELIPX said...

IF THIS WERE APPLICABLE IN NIG; THEY WILL BE RESIGNING EVRY WEEK

Lol. Anon 4.54. True talk. But ur dry yansh tho? #superfunny#

for this country??? we are on top of the situation and pass the blame is the only thing hia.......

Very true, it's political office holder dou #289D55EC#

That's brave! Jona shey u dey hear?

wemimo said...

Stella Oduah did u hear dt??

Not in naija

famonzo said...

Even if 1million people dies in d north, Jonathan will neva resign.

People die in plane crashes almost yearly in Nija. Deaths from road mishaps no get number so tay GEJ inlaw self die. Yet all this sectors have ministers incharge. The day any nigerian official resigns out of guilt or anythings else 4 dt matter, dat will be the day satan will repent.

Anonmynous 4:54pm, u said it all.amazon

True

Dis can not happen in Nigeria

Stella Oduah,president jonathan,una don hear?

Janelicious said...

EVen if boko H should wipe out the whole northerns I bet GEJ will not even think of stepping out.

Janelicious said...

EVen if boko H should wipe out the whole northerns I bet GEJ will not even think of stepping out.

Don't always judge from the surface. He also might have grabbed this opportunity to resign. Over something else not related to this atall

See ppl with hearts,,daz y dy'll ever be better dan us

#didi

Facts

I've met quite a number of people from Latvia, they are so emotional and lovely. It's a small community(country)

kunle said...

Sincerely, it takes enlightenment for a leader at whatever level in this country so called Nigeria to do what this ex leader has done. They want the western people to teach them in class the principle and art of governance. Bloke head is a true title for them. No lie. I am not left out as well if i am a victim.

Atutuboyoyo Says So said...

If na some useless Aviation minister she go say na "Act of God".
God dey o!

Don't wish they can't do this. Never ever in their life.

The only politician I know of that has ever resigned in Nigeria is Kayode Otitoju as a Commissioner sef in Ekiti state. Resignation nah abomination for Naija politicians o. So far over 3000 people don die for Borno alone, nothing go remove the evostic for GEJ's yansh. His girlfriends Atutupoyoyo Oduah thief, nah lie, Deziani thief, nah play. Yaraduah sef wey don die tey-tey before we hear am no leave the seat, his wife gladly stepped in as president. Many Naija politicians go dey think say these Europeans over-sabi too much. "How can dey change the situation if they resign to be on the outside?"

Wow, see level of concern. Gej no send u 4 nigeria o, u dey o.y.o

Yeah when they invaded Africa and the rest of the world, enslaved them, and colonized them they were conscientious then abi?? Silly nigger

There's a lot of reasons why African countries are the way they are and a lot of it has to do with these "responsible" western governments. Wake up and have a fucking revolution if you want things to change

Y.R.E.W said...

dat shows d sign of a gud leadership.people with knowlege and courage.

This is nothing but leadership at its best, Nigerian leaders can never resign, abo ti resign ni...

GEJ no send u msg, na only shoke de catch am if something bad happen.

Bros or Na Sis u be, e be like say u need glasses. She typed "so guilty" not "to guilty"

Abi O! Correct jare

that girl said...

Aunty Alicia, apparently them no colonize us well, cos we are just to much of a disgrace.....just saying. The whites def have their downs, buh no Western leader can try wat naija leaders do...if I hear say d citizens no scatta tins.

bola said...

Really? And the strong Nigerian ones that don't resign what have they done?

bola said...

Not necessarily, western leaders do it all the time.