Say what? Zimbabwe outlaws Nigerians from trading in their country | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 26 November 2013

Say what? Zimbabwe outlaws Nigerians from trading in their country

According to news reports, starting from January next year, Nigerians trading in Zimbabwe will no longer be allowed to. Zimbabwean authorities said they have given foreign shop-owners, mostly Chinese and Nigerian nationals, an ultimatum to shut down their businesses by January. 1, 2014.

From Integrity Reporters 
A top official of the black empowerment ministry said only Zimbabweans had the right to run shops that have sprung up across the country and are termed foreign businesses targeted under the nation’s black empowerment laws, the state-controlled Herald newspaper reportedFriday.
Those laws, passed in 2007, demand foreign businesses to cede 51 percent control to local blacks. The foreign shop owners have been criticized for taking retail trade opportunities from Zimbabwean traders by selling cheap imports.
Poor townships and city flea markets have in recent years been inundated by shops run by foreigners. According to state media, shop owners who fail to comply will be arrested

81 comments:

Waaat! this man is mean,hated by international community to worshipped and loved by his people.
Atleast he makes policies that benefit his people,unlike the chinese and lebanese we've here forming engineers but don't know what a retaining wall is,to the detriment of our jobless youths.

kimiphibia said...

They should comply to their laws or come back. When in Rome, act like the Romans.

Mich said...

Robert Mugabe is at it again.
When he chased out the White farm land owners,he categotically stated that people from other countries will be next so this shouldn't come as a surprise to anyone.
Besides,what are Nigerians doing in a country where the economy is ten times over worse than ours?
Can't blame the Zimbabwean government,they are simply tired of having foreigners take their oportunities...what's our government doing for its people?

Hmmmm...strength things happening,a small-poor country like Zimbabwe,they are not even grateful for having foreigners investing in their countries economy...lol.......sent wit Nokia touch-light

Can't blame them really, must we go to other countries and spoil them? Improve your own land and stop galavanting around!

Fammie said...

You can imagine, country wey them dey try help, now how do development come in there when foreigners, Nigeria inclusive are prevented from having any sort of investment in the country

Samsung Launches Galaxy Grand 2 with Android 4.3

Am tired of seeing these mushroom countries taking Nigerians for a ride. This is just the reason why I like angola as a country, try such with angolan citizen and they will flog ur ambassador 100 lashes of cane b4 deporting him back to ur miserable country. Imagine Zimbabwe biko nu. Small time now they will be shouting african unity. The best thing is to treat their citizens in Nigeria the way we treated the south africans when they deported Nigerians.

Ehh as strength thing d happen so naa u no like am, pray for weak things abeg...sent from ur phone.

Mtcheeeew stupid country wit a dumb president and beside wat re nigerians doin there for heaven sake. Sent wit nokia 3310... Sir alpachino. 28A8A848. PiNG me on my nokia.....

Paapaa...! said...

I don't blame them at all...,everybody carry your bag go your #Country...,and invest in your #Country home...!

Dee Tee said...

Zimbabwe of all nations ejecting ever industrous, ever vibrant Nigerians. Hmmm... No comment

thats why their country forever remains poor. awon ode

Sure edet....na torch light na y u spell strange as strength

Isnt this funny? How could they. Mehn different bizarres dis is too much o hmmm.
leaked photo of uniben bathroom na*ked photos by room mate.

Lips sealed #spooninmouth ¤DaGalTohBad

Jobs In Abuja said...

that very bad.

Miss J said...

Huh? What's so good abot the poor country anyway....can't be compared to kaduna, talk more of lag. Abeg Next!!!!

Abeg make them no come back oo, if they do now and there are no jobs here, they would start stealing, killing, kidnapping all in the name of making money
God help nigeria

OYO for dem Ooº°˚ ˚°ºoo O

Dis is mere BEEF, Left 4 Zimbabwe's alone do dey think dey would ever progress. No man is an Island.
Oya nah come back 2 ya fatherland

At timothy, strange not strength, thank me in secret

Why won't they? Before u no it the nigerians there would start claiming that they own 80% of zimbabwe or that zimbabwe is a no mans land! Shiooooooor

Mugabe has assets and investments in other people's land even in China, so why are they acting funny. Anyway, they can migrate their businesses to nearby countries.

Lol Nigerians look 4 greener pastures in every country irregardless of d bad economy..

Victor Vames said...

Nat fair!

Crap country. Pls my brodas, come bck home

Oga Mugabe! Arrest ke u hear so, Nigerians park well o

Victor Vames said...

Nat fair!

Milly said...

Nna na wa oo. They are just beefing Naija. Who God has blessed, No country can curse. We arer the GIANT of Africa. Like it or not.

ANYA IKENGA said...

yeeeeeeh! up mugabe. make every body stay him place and make national money circulate for nation.

Obey d law or cum bck 2 ur country,ur motherland.

This old chimpanzee!!!

"Strength things"?, "touch light"?....omo nawa o, asuu pls na

Wetin zimbabwe get wey naija dey even trade for d country wey go even maked dem get mouth to chase nigerians

i just pray u will post my comment this tym! MUgabe has taken a great decision,its only in nigeria that every fool cums in2 trade...can't wait2 leave this boring entity jare and get useful in another country...dry fatherland

Pls naija wet dey for that country come back b/4 the owner of that country in the person of mad man mugabe imprison you b/c. GEJ no go help you oooooooh. Imagine, suffer for that nonsense poor nation that has only one man that can rule until he dies. Other men na zombie. Pls come home. Home is home.

wat du dey even tink of demslv.dem tink say witowt dem nyja man no go chop..dey ar silly folks..make una kum go bak abeg..country wey poor naturaly nahm dey gt mwt nw.

Ashmark said...

They must be joking

Anyony said...

Na wait Zim of all country many of them are here in South Africa suffering,here we know them as thieves and they are so dirty that pple use them for cheap labours here

Well, to his defense, he is not saying you cant invest, you're just not going to be the majority owner of the business. I would have thught, if he wants to go that route, he should establish a free trade zone then. Zimbabwe is not the only country that does this, other countries operate this way as well.

You're a troll. You get no thanks for being stupid and not understanding the satire. Silly kid

Choi ooo! Umu igbo is too many there.nsogbu di.

Few things, he makes trading in his country very difficult, especially because the government is very unstable.
Besides there are ways around the 51%, but what if you get an idiot as a partner? That could be a nightmare.
I think we the recent gold rush found in his country, he doesn't want foreigners extracting the money from the zimbabwean economy. This method of governance is to the detriment of his country. He must be bargaining that zimbabweans are all entrepreneurial and capitalist. If they are all not, then he should expect to see their national currency drop so badly, they wont even be able to trade with it.

ASUU affected boy, na 'strange' things not 'strength' things

My Zimbabwean visa go soon expire thank God

"Strength"thinz indeed. Lol. Linda abi u get underaged children commenting on this blog?

serious issue in Nigeria

we will be seeing strange nigerians faces soon

Isn't Zimbabwe the place where they collected or more like seized farmlands from white owners? Lazy bastards, can't start their own businesses so they pounce on already developed businesses. Reminds on some people in Nigeria here!

Adorable Jewel said...

Sir President,, BRAVO!!!! U did exceedingly well!!! Plss Deport all Nigerians in ur country***Criminality runs in dia blood big tymm***i pray oda countries will do same***SHAMELESS PPLE from a USELESS COUNTRY

@ BONARIO NNAGS,D LAST SENTENCE HAS WON U A BOTTLE OF COKE. LOL. D ONE DT BITS MOST IS DS INDIANS IN NAIJA,COMMANDING,ORDERING AND DOING ALL SORTS OF RUBBISH TO THEIR STAFF RIGHT HERE IN D NIGERIAN SOIL CLAIMING EXPATRIATE,ENGINEERS & WATEVA. I HAD 2 REMIND ONE LIK DT ON SITE,WHR HE IS & SINCE THEN TILL I LEFT D SITE SME RUBBISH DON D DEY E POCKET.

South Africa, Botswana,, Zambia, Malawi, Namibia.
All over SADC sef. And he is one to talk

.....just exactly what you want to do to the Igbo people in Lagos. Hehehe, Mugabe's brothers, backward fellows.

APPLELIPX said...

NATIONS WILL RISE AGAINST NATIONS

Mugabe is an goat trying to mount a horse. The guy is an embarrasment to Zimbabwean and African politics.

Yes, people advocated to empowerment of blacks but he's going about this the wrong way. And the economy suffers for it. Zimbabwe has one of the world's worst inflation rates. Land owner is key to wealth creation in developing countries but after giving blacks back the land taken away from them -- the wealth distribution is still sparse when it comes to black Zimbabweans.

I just hope other leaders can learn from Zimbabwe how not a govern a country.

Hello Kitty said...

Good for them. instead of them to stay in their country and develop it they will be roaming the world. Nigerian govt should do the same.

Keep calm and watch that economy collapse.
*Chayanna*

Mr Bonario, pray, do tell, what exactly do you do? Do you work in a cyber cafe, cos I don't know how you find the time to comment on every topic on LIB. Most likely you are unemployed or a student at home due to ASUU strike. You don't need to comment all the time, you can just read and move on. Nawa!

Abeg Bona's comments makes LIB more intresting

Igor said...

Abeg head no dey pain you

CHIC JEH said...

MUMUGABE SIMPLE ECONOMY IS NOT IN IS HEAD.GUESS HE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND WOT IT MEANS TO HAVE MORE POPULATION, IS A GAIN FOR THE ZIMBABUAN ECONOMY AH NAWA FOR SOME AFRICAN LEADERS.WHO EVER MOST HAVE ADVICE HIM WLD HV DONE THAT FOR HIS OR HER OWN INTEREST.BUT THE MU MU MAN NO UNDERSTAND WOT IT TAKES TO RUN AN ROBUST ECONOMY.MUMUGABE STILL LEAVES IN THE 70'S MAKE UNA BRING AM BACK TO 21ST CENTURY.SEE HIM MUSTACH LIKE THAT ONE OF LORD LUGARD COOK,THE CALABAR MAN.GOD BLESS NIGERIA

@anonymous 6:55 in wat way is it ur biz wat he does n Hw he spends his tym? Ans me!

How does his policies benefit his people. A man who has destroyed robbed the economy to shreds and has left the country in abject poverty.

Chris said...

He didn't learn anything from d ugandan episode under Idi Amin

@ adorable jewel,cn u here urself " shameless ppl frm a useless country". Yet u visit LIB oftn (whc happens 2b owned by a nigerian), as if ur life depends on it. I wonder wat u r stl doing here in ds blog? So who is wise nw? Mtsheeeewww! May God 4gv u.

If only Nigerian govt will do the same for the slave drivers we have in this country called indians, theses are horrible human beings that could implore any harsh policy in companies they operate,paying graduates peanuts and kicking their ass at the end.indians must go!

Vivipedia said...

I think Nigeria deserves greater respect than the continued letdown we have been facing in the world

Nigerians talk rubbish. You are the people who go to India for hospital treatment. You are over populated & you think you are better than Zimbabwe. We dont want you in SADC. We are not the same race with you we are Bantu people of southern Africa. Our cousins are East Africans. If you are so great why are you deported from every country. Stay in your over populated country reading news about who bought a jeep or build a house. We dont want to be over populated by people who dont use birth control. Leave us to our country. SADC is tired so is Kenya. UK etc stay in your country you think this is NIgeria where you all talk of Dangote's success like he is your father. nxaaa We have land where everyone can get land for free dont over populate us use birth control you like mice

Brothers abeg come back home and invest in your #Country home...Guess y'all would be highly #Reverend......

What the world doesnt know is that Mugabe is fighting his personal wars and he is eating nicely and his cronies. Why didnt he say that before even the elections, he wants to frustrate Zim nationals abroad as they are supporters of MDC. Do you think if im chased out of Nigeria he cares? Never.

Qlatifah said...

anonymous 6:28 ur 3310 loss, how eh take corncern u,na ur hand him dey borrow to type*tongue out. Bonario feeling joor don't mind them beefers

thumbs up for the Zimbabian Govt. He is protecting her (Zimbabian) Citizens. All our naija govt knows how to do is make laws that kills the masses ... e.g the 0ver 60% increase in tax on imported cars... hiss

hotrosey said...

On to d next one!!!

U re just an empty bastard for such words to b uttered out of that pit called mouth of urs. Shameless pple frm a useless country and yet have the gut to comment on a naija blog? Damn! Senseless fool lik u

Ariara, Idumota, Onitsha Main Market, Alaba, oyyaaaa on your marks....

Lol that's the same reason why your SADC brothers are tired of you guys all over their countries. South Africa, Zambia, Botswana, Kenya, Angola, etc etc etc etc. keep doing your poor menial jobs all over SADC, why can't you guys stay in your country? Your country has far less population than Lagos state (13 million) yet it can't even feed itself.
Fuck outta here!

Adorable jewel aka adorable bitch..I knw ur a violent human and dnt want to promote peace...u shuld at least tink wif ur brain n nt wif ur ass hole...u cnt jst stick ur fat ass wia u r n insult a whole nation...ur brain needs to b mopped

James Ede {from London} said...

Mugabe is nearing his grave. he can't think right and his advisers are zombies cos they can't advice him properly.
What have the traders got to do with the economy? These poor Nigerians there in Zimbabwe are just trying to survive in another African counrty.
Well, the horrible man has made his comment, you better relocate before the date to avoid been arrested.
Is Zimbabwe like Europe? What is the fascinating thing about Zimbabwe{Rodisha}?

Hahahahaha@kaduna , u just made my day.

Zimbabwe has merely reserved certain sectors of the economy for its citizens. The reality on the ground is that most foreign traders will import goods and sell them at inflated prices of 100% or more. All the profits are then sent to their countries to develop them, leaving Zimbabwe grossly under developed. Trading in imports does not amount to investment, since more money goes out compared to what was brought in. The whole of Africa is free to do business in Zimbabwe particularly Nigerians, in sectors like manufacturing and energy, to name but two.