Billionaire businesswoman Folorunsho Alakija profiled in Essence magazine | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 25 November 2013

Billionaire businesswoman Folorunsho Alakija profiled in Essence magazine

Below is what the magazine wrote about the billionaire oil magnate in the latest issue of their magazine where they listed women who are big players in business all over the world
"When financial magazine Ventures Africa tallied the fortune of Nigeria's wealthiest citizens, oil tycoon Folorunsho Alakija ranked 4th on the 55-member list. Having enjoyed success in banking, fashion and literature, Alakija leads the Rose of Sharon Foundation which offers a second to her country's widows and orphans. Now, with a fortune estimated at $7.3billion, she holds the title of Africa's richest woman'

84 comments:

Well deserved

sdk's first lady said...

I hope 2get 2d top sumday...amen

Yay to the source # moi!

Make money, make a name, make a name, you make the news.

NUAHALL said...

7.3billion nt million

Mrs E said...

I'm next

she's an inspiration, makes me know my dreams r achievable... *ONYXGODWIN *

OMG!WOMAN said...

Nice...we are coming :D

I shall get there

Mich said...

They failed to mention how she ventured into oil and became a "tycoon".
Sad part is a whole lot of loose screw heads are just gonna conclude that one is a "hater" even when you are being a constructive critic.
Mrs Alakija is enjoying the wealth of an impoverished people from the Niger Delta,that was handed to her by TY Danjuma on a platter while the real owners of that wealth don't have access to any basic amenity.
Nigeria as a country doesn't have the balls to probe her or her "Over-Lord Danjuma"...I kinda like how you can go from a seamstress to an Oil tycoon or from a tout to a top political figure.
Don't we just love Nigeria,where anything is possible?

Iheanacho Darlington C. said...

$7.3million???? Linda don't u hv dat much? Lol

JORDAN said...

Linda, is it $7.3million or $7.3billion

Ah, o ga o!

Ah, o ga o!

EL LOCO said...

aunty linda, it is 'magnate' not magnet. except, of course, you mean she is a dollar magnet!

Is that her net worth?

$7.3million? Linda don't u hv dat much? Lol

She worked hard for it..she deserves it...I tap into that anointing of hard work not siddon make money fall from sky..lol

These foreigners can like †̥o feel superior sha, ​S̶̲̥̅Æ ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ they report than Angelina Jolie spends 12Million plus dollars on an island for Brad pitt's 50th birthday but "Africa's richest woman" is worth a miserly 7.5milliond dollars? Smh for these peeps. Dem № natin!

Mtscheeeeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.They are all thieves

million or billion? Cos if its million my grandma must b richer than her.

Wow. I so much this woman. Now the richest black woman in the world this is cool keep it up Maam

cool this be real? See what this very old grandma is doing too bad.see pics

Linda, its magnate not magnet. Thank me now

ME said...

Is she Rotimi Alakija's mom?!? So I'll start to plan n strategize how to marry dt niggah ;) lol!! Kudos to her, wen I grow up I'll be like her

Ego na ekwu. No be only men now. Chineke ole mgbe oooo!!!!

you mean billion right?

What connection did she have with litrature, is it $M or $B? Linda put your mind into it!

7.3 Billion you mean? Billion with a B

$7.3 BILLION and not just Africa's richest woman but richest black woman in the world !!!

Lady Stelusy said...

God abeg me too successful o!

Lady Stelusy said...

God abeg make me too successful o!

Dangote na still her fada

Billion not million

I pray to me on top

Women are now on point.....so proud of u miss....Ninja no dey carry last!!!!!

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

PLs the daughter of this lady, add me up, I'm good looking and responsible, inshort even if i catch u cheating, I will apologise for not knocking lol

Wow... Well deserved!

The mag says billion and u write million

@ Mich. I totally agree with you. Those that work hard in the country are the second class citizens. Is so sad how we celebrate the people who have mortgage there conscience and welfare of the people.

Stop lamenting!

Raising my two upper limbs in d'air while kneeling down $ singing; aye mi dowo re,igba mi dowo re,iwo lo lagbara,iwo lo nigba atakoko mi o,aye mi dowo re o baba mimo,maa to sise mi lo........thanx for joining me to sing,see me @ d'top!

Banning Islam is the best thing the Angolan Government can do for the country. The best news I have heard in years.

Yes

qweentee said...

I just love dis woman i bellive I wud b greater Dan u one day!.....

Igor said...

The first time that I saw her name listed as the richest black woman in the world on LIB,I begged my fellow LIBers to please enlighten me on how Madam Alakija went from beign a tailor,to the richest black woman in the world within such a short period of time,my comment was not posted.I guess I will rely on Mich's comment as a yardstick.However,it is only in Nigeria that a person becomes a billionaire,and in dollars overnight.Please bad mouthed LIBers,I meant no beef or disrespect to Madam Alakija.I was just beign inquisitive.

The Woman Is just one of the various looters of the Nigerian economy but I guess my Yoruba folks will definitely disagree...right???

stroyland!!!!, na him all the tailors wey dey my area never hammer finish! abeg leave all these charade, some people are reported when they attempt to commit a crime whereas some others are celebrated while committing the crime...doubt me??? then ask Bode George the roll call of dignitries that attended his release from prison, even your ex-president OBJ was present...

What foolish inspiration is that? Some received an oil well as gift and now became rich, na inspiration? Better look for a good role model to inspire you.

Thank you jare for writing exactly what I was thinking. For all these people admiring her "success" how many have taken the time to look into her background?? Let us not fool ourselves here. Mrs Alakaija has ties to IBB supposedly through his wife, for whom she was a seamstress. She is NOT a self made billionaire but rather a beneficiary of Nigerias corrupt system. No two ways about it. But alas, na naija we dey so people will gloss over these facts and continue to praise her for her "accomplishments." Likewise, Nigeria I hail thee..mschew

@ mich, please get your facts right before displaying your ignorance! It wasn't danjunma but the babagidas specifically Maryam babagida , who she was friends with.

Mich, hw I luv ur sarcastic mind!

@Oye Ogbeide or whatever ur name is,its nt 7.3million,its 7.3billion.read before u write.or check her out on the net.thnk me now nt later

Danjuma, Obasanjo, Babangida and countless others; will one day pay for their financial crimes and sins. It is easier for the Carmel to pass through the eye of a needle than for the rich to enter the Kingdom of heaven. No be me talk am o!

Fool your blind. Aren't you literate ?

No she isn't,her sons're nowhere near as good looking as rotimi...I believe they're 1st cousins paternally

No we won't

SisiTiti said...

It was TY danjuma...actually he owns the oil well(s) but had2 hand it over to her cos of her loyalty in d past..so she gives TY Returns..TY does not want eyebrows to be raised so he gave it2her..she's lucky tho that's why its gud to be loyal.

Thank u anony 4 d reply 2 d clueless onyx. See late ibb wife's taylor wey dem dash oil wells as gifts don bcome role model...naija na wao

Why do Nigerians like to celebrate greed? She accepted something that didn't belong to her...exactly how has she given back? The Angola lady is richer than her by the way. Awon oloju kokoro

Abioo,role model my ass.afterall ateke tom & asari,jimoh ibrahim & a host of oda thieves goes abt givin inspirations 2 youths who lack depths. Hard work,dilligence,perseverance & God factor has been thrown 2 d gutter...

Anon 10:39 you hit the nail on the head.

Never worry about what anyone might say against your constructive criticism! Mindsets like yours have always ensured that the world sees the light. You are not alone!

Igor said...

Too bad,her only daugther got married to Subomi Balogun's son years back.

Rotimi, is dis you?

I'm getting there too

My guess is she was one freaking hell of a deligent skillful hardworking seamstress who always got the job done well. If GEJ dash you oil well, you would most likely go broke in 10 years! Should she have said no to the gift? I think she's a hard working woman with fantastic relationship/interpersonal skills which has brought her to the position she's in now - this is also the story of Dangote - hard work and relationship management, tshikena! She nor steal!!!

And she used to be my inspiration o. Na wa 4 naija.

dats really motivating. women shud get on their feet & work!

There is a rule that says 'whatever u want,u bless it'... i am the next.

Fammie said...

Let the money do the talking for you

Notin but robbers....notin to lain

Hpy 4 her,I pray 2 b on d top sumday,so help m God.

rose said...

Wow!! Really wish 2 b like her her one weda by crook anyhw shaa diz country no nid pitty at all

DATS MY DREAM.I ADMIRE HER

sdk's first lady said...

Biggest fool ever! May God punish any who tries 2attack me

Sorry, but how does this relate to Alakija?

Which was exactly wat she did, 'siddon and money fell frm sky' or hw can a mere tailor make $7.3 billion overnite? Na our oil wells we dem dash am dey breed dos dollars.

$7.5 billion......not million

how she take be richest black woman in the world?? where my OPRAH come dey? i stil lyk her though shez very stylish;-)

linda beta post my comment o mgbe niile gi n'eme pasha....

leah said...

Hmmm I throw away cap for you o! She does not have a daughter o, she has four sons and a grand daughter, so @blogthug u can wait for like 20 years and your wish will come true ! Buhahahaah.

Mich *eye lashes* IBB not Danjuma. She still remains my role model kos she does a lot worth her charity tho d oil well get k-leg sha. Can't imagine IBB thanking me, 4 putting needles n thread into a fabric, with an oil well