Tonto Dikeh risks jail term for posting weed photos on Instagram? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 29 June 2013

Tonto Dikeh risks jail term for posting weed photos on Instagram?

For posting the marijuana photos on her instagram page, a representative of The National Drug Law Enforcement Agency is saying actress Tonto Dikeh faces jail term.

NDLEA spokesman Mr. Mitchell Ofoyejus told Punch
“Our attention has been drawn to the post quite frankly and I can tell you that action will be taken on it. The law is clear and NDLEA has been very clear on the issue. No one is permitted to sell, use, cultivate or encourage the use of Indian hemp in Nigeria. The weed is one of the banned narcotics in the country.
“NDLEA Act Section 14 (b) states that any person who conspires with, aids, abets, counsels, attempts to commit or is an accessory to any act or offence referred to in this act shall be guilty of an offence under this act and liable on conviction to be sentenced to imprisonment for a term not less than 15 years and not exceeding 25 years.
So if you get 15 years for posting a weed photo on social media, what do you now get for selling and distributing? And what about those who sing about it? I don't get! Continue...

“Investigation has not started as of now but definitely, a step has to be taken on the matter. Ignorance of the law is not an excuse; so, it is obvious that the actress stands the risk of 15 years jail term. The appropriate department is meeting on the issue for necessary action.”

The NDLEA spokesman, however, declined to give any hint on particular steps the agency would take in its investigation, citing reasons bearing on ethics.

215 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 215 of 215
SIMPLYCOCK said...

The NDLEA dude is talking rubbish. He must be a fool. When did your post of mere pictures on social media establish a basis for criminal liability? They couldn't even secure the conviction of Baba Suwe, who they claimed they caught red-handed with drugs. In fact the court even awarded costs against them for breach of the fundamental right of Suwe. The guy is sounding more like an imbecile than hilarious...

Obviously u really lack love, n wiv a gal like u, love isn't enof

This is quite silly. For one she did not post a picture of her smoking weed so all of this is unnecessary. There are much more bigger things to deal with than to this weed pic. These people are just looking for trivial news.

ITS A PITY THAT MOST PPL HERE ARE SAYING IT SERVES A YOUNG GIRL RIGHT TO GET JAILED FOR 15YRS FOR HAVING A PIC OF A ROLLED UP CONTENT ON HER INSTAGRAM. YET WE ARE THE SAME SET OF PEOPLE THAT CLAIMS OUR GOVERMENT TRASH OUR RIGHTS AND OPPRESS US. TONTO DIKEH IS A KNOWN CONTROVERSIAL CELEBRITY...THERES ALWAYS ONE AND THERE ALWAYS WILL BE. SO ITS UR DUTY AS A PARENT TO KEEP YOUR KIDS AWAY FROM HER MOVIES. TONTO NEVER PRESENTED HERSELF AS A ROLE MODEL SO WHY ASK IT OF HER? HER RIGHT IS BEING VIOLATED ON MANY COUNTS. NIGERIANS DO NOT TRY TO ACT WESTERNIZED!! AM SICK OF HEARING THAT! SOME OF U STILL HAVE THE SLAVE-N-MASTER MINDSET. MOVE ON ALREADY! FELA SMOKED WEED OPENLY IN HIS TIME, THE SHRINE IS FILLED WITH WEEDSMOKERS, ELEGUSHI IS THE HAVEN OF WEED SMOKING. SO WHICH WAY NIGERIA? WHEN ARE WE GONNA COLLECTIVELY FACE OUR PROBLEMS RATHER THAN FOCUS ON WHAT AN INDIVIDUAL IS DOING? THESE ARE NOTHING BUT MERE DISTRACTIONS. WHEN ARE WE GOING TO MAKE THIS PLACE A COUNTRY RATHER THAN THE JUNGLE THAT IT IS. PPL ARE DIFFRENT WE CANT LIVE IN COMFORMITY. I DONT HAVE TO BE CONSERVATIVE JUS CUZ U ARE!OR PRETEND TO BE. LET US STOP KILLING OURSELVES FROM WITHIN. ESPECIALLY THE FEW THAT MAKES THIS COUNTRY A LILTLE MORE LIVABLE BY ENTERTAINING US AND EXPANDING OUR GOALS. IF SHE WAS THT BAD OF A PERSON SHE WOULDNT BE A CELEBRITY. TERRY G SMOKES OPENLY, FELA SMOKED OPENLY, SHRINE AND ELEGUSHI ARE OPEN SMOKE UP HAVEN. JUS CUZ U DNT LIKE SOMEONE! THEY AUTOMATICALLY DESERVE 15YRS OF THEIR LIFE LOCKED UP! DO U ANIMALS THINK? MEANWHILE EVERYONE OF U HAS AT LEAST ONE RELATIVE THAT SMOKES. A SMALL FINE WILL BE BETTER...AND NDLEA WILL STILL GET THEIR MESSAGE ACROSS. THOSE NDLEA PEEPS INDIRECTLY JUST PROPOSED A BILL AND U FOOLS GULLIBLY SIGNED IN FAVOR OF IT! AND FOR WHAT? A GURL WHO HAS A PIC OF SOMETHING THAT MIGHT NOT EVEN BE WEED!YOU NIGERIANS DONT WANT TO HAVE ANY SURGE OF FREEDOM AT ALL. OR, YALL WILL GIVE ANYTHING TO BRING DOWN SOMEONE THAT'S ABOVE U. WHICH EVER ONE AS WE'R WIDELY KNOWN TO CONSTANTLY EXERCISE BOTH. EVERYONE NEEDS A LITTLE BIT OF TONTO IN THEM. IT REMINDS US THAT WE ARE MORE THAN THE ROBOTS OF LIFE WHOS GOTTA LIVE HW HES 'PROGRAMMED' TO LIVE. THATS WHAT NIGERIA IS. SOON ALL OF YOU WILL BE MUSLIMS BY FORCE! U KNOW WHY? CUZ URE EASILY DISTRACTED FROM WHAT UR ACTUAL PROBLEMS ARE. A MAN WHOS ATTENTION IS EASILY DIVERTED, CAN NEVER STAND UP TO ANYTHING. @ TONTO...GURL IF U'RE READING THIS AND SOMEHOW U END UP BEHIND BARS? WE WILL FIGHT FOR U AMNESTY WILL BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO WELCOME ANOTHER EPISODE OF NIGERIANS FAILED JUSTICE SYSTEM. YOU ARE FUCKED UP...TRUE...BUT NOT FUCKED UP ENOUGHT TO SPEND A SECOND IN JAIL FOR THIS ACCUSATION!

She shld be jailed for life, becos she did what? Ure vry stupid. As if u hvent done worse. Yeye

PETER_CARTEL said...

Laff don mk me break me my iPhone 5 ooo!!! Naija ppl no go killi mi oo

patalex said...

You sound like a lawyer. Quit impressed with ur explanation, I usually don't, because people will not understand.

Linda u upstart!Do u seem to be leaning to support or encourage that fool with a dysfunctional,syncopate lifestyle?Thats the problem with us in this country,condoning stupidity and mediocrity all cos those involved are notable figures.Values are fast eroding and the next generation suffers

Ok, some legal perspectives.....
1. Did y'all 4get dat Poko Queen is an actress, den wot if d pix came from a scene of one of her numerous movies?
2. B4 she can b put bhind bars, NDLEA must get d very weed on d pix, duly tested n certified to b it, if not case goes into judicial lagoon.
3. Aidin+abettin+purchase+use+etc of weed must b very positive acts dat go byond snapping a picture. Odawise, all d musicians are criminals den, and all d girls dat have ever had an unclad picture or one wit very skimpy short+top must go in for charges of prostitution or aidin, promoting and abettin prostitution.(esp our dear Cossy)
4. As regards her reply dat d pix is a fotoshop and posted by someone, yet it was on her acct. Well, dat argument holds no water cos if wot is in d pix by any chance turns out to b marijauna, den d fact dat she didn't post is is useless. Wen a stolen property is found in ur possession, it doesn't matter dat u wia not d thief or dat u merely picked it, u hav abetted d stealin.
5. Nonedeless, it is NDLEA's job to investigate and prevent d use of illegal drugs where dia r REASONABLE grounds to so do. In my view, Poko's pix witout more is far frm being a ground 4 investigation, let alone a reasonable one. Shld dey indulge in such frivolous and attention-seekin venture, NDLEA will ony end up wasting our (tax-payers) money.
Finally, l conclude by sayin dat Nigeria and Nigerians shld desist frm appointin mediocres to b at helm of affairs, esp in strategic institutions such as NDLEA. One wuld hav tot dat d NDLEA shld simply kip mute until it gets a concrete tip as regards Poko and Weed. As he said, no step has bn taken at all, yet he is olredy in d press, openin his cavity. Dis is lik a police officer tellin a criminal "wait 4 me, I'm coming". Wot will d criminal do? He will take off, simple. So, dey shld pls b taken tru trainin on intl best-standard practices of state craft and security watch. Dat is y we r in a hapless security lagoon 2day and heavily sinkin deep.
l hope Mr. Jona sees dese things so as to knw d pedigree of persons he entrusts his govt in dia care. Thank u 4 reading.

Ade said...

God wan punish them?!!...pikin of ndlea people sef dey smoke weed...WTF!!...fuck that shit joor!!...for the first time tonto,I'm right behind you....NDLEA,you get many people to take action against ooo...first go to shrine in alausa...wetin dey worry una sef?!!...mad people...weed doesnt kill...abi una see who e don kill before?..abeggi joor!!...poko on...I am waiting for the first person to tell me crap!!

I'm glad this is being addressed by NDLEA

D ndlea made a mistake they should have investigated b4 posting

She was in possession of the illegal drug. She spelt the word "poko" with it.... that's enough proof!

Remi said...

blah!blah!!blah!!!!,moving on pls.........

When a Celeb, becomes a star, it gets into their head and they forget the laws of the land. Hey Tonto you are not bigger that the law, and being a star does not give you the liberty to do any how, I beg NDLEA i don scold am make una forgive am she no go do am again. na my sister i beg.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 215 of 215   Newer› Newest»