Amaechi blocked from meeting Jonathan at presidential dinner for security reasons - Presidency | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 28 June 2013

Amaechi blocked from meeting Jonathan at presidential dinner for security reasons - Presidency

Culled from Punch
The Presidency on Thursday defended  the prevention of Governor Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers State from exchanging pleasantries with President Goodluck Jonathan by a security operative during dinner at the Presidential Villa, Abuja on Wednesday.
It said the incident was purely a security issue that should not be politicized, especially by opposition political parties.
The governor, who was sitting two tables away from the President, had risen to greet him but the security operative attached to the President stopped him halfway.
 In order not to create a scene at the event that had nearly all his colleagues and two  heads of government (Joyce Banda of Malawi and Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf of Liberia) in attendance, Amaechi quietly returned to his seat and waited for  about five minutes before leaving the venue.
He invited him but refused to let him come near him. Choi! Continue reading

But as  the Action Congress of Nigeria and Congress for Progressive Change berated Jonathan over  the incident, the Special Adviser to the President on Political Matters, Dr. Ahmed Gulak,  said it was tantamount to a breach of protocol and security if Amaechi was allowed access to  his  boss  who  was already seated before the governor arrived.

Gulak  said,  “The President has a good relationship with all state governors and he meets with them regularly. The case in point is a pure security issue and it should be treated as a security issue that should not be politicised.

“The question the ACN and others who may want to politicise this issue need to ask is whether the President arrived at the venue of the dinner and was already seated before the governor arrived.
“Usual practice across the world is that once the President arrives a place, nobody whether a governor or not, is allowed entrance. That is the protocol. Even(Barack)  Obama  of the United States cannot be on his seat and a governor will be allowed to come in.

“If that was the situation in this case that the President was already on his seat,  it would have been a breach of protocol and security for any security person to allow the governor access to the President. Such a security person would have been sanctioned if he had done that.”

Wondering  why the ACN  was interested in the  matter, the presidential aide advised the opposition political parties to   “concentrate on issues concerning them and stop politicising everything.”
 The ACN  had in a statement by its  National Publicity Secretary, Alhaji Lai Mohammed, condemned the action of the operative and called on Jonathan to order an immediate  probe into  it.
It said, “We are making this call because we do not believe that, in spite of the reported frosty relations between the two, President Jonathan – as the father of the nation – will lend the weight of his high office to such a demeaning action as exhibited by the presidential security personnel.

“To believe that anyone occupying the esteemed office of the President of one of Africa’s most important nations will be a party to a situation in which any security aide will wilfully fence a state chief executive from paying his respect to the President at such an open gathering will be to think the worst of the occupier of that office. That is why we have chosen not to believe that this indeed occurred, and why we are calling on Mr. President to tell Nigerians that ‘it ain’t so’ “We shudder to think of what efforts are being made – including the use of national institutions – to undermine Gov. Amaechi if the treatment reportedly meted out to him at the dinner has the approval of the powers that be. We are even more worried at what will happen to a governor from the opposition who falls out of favour with the President, if a governor from the same party as the President can be so publicly humiliated.”

ACN said it was particularly incumbent on the President to clarify the report because Amaechi, the authentic Chairman  of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum,  extended an olive branch to him  by attending the dinner, despite the fact that  he (President) was publicly supporting the losing faction of the NGF, in what was being seen as a “democratic faux pas.”
The party said the President must learn to separate politics from governance by rising above petty partisanship as he steered the affairs of state.

On its part, the Congress for Progressive Change   said it was clear to many discerning minds that “the government of President Jonathan  is being run like a mafia organisation where you have the head at the Villa.”

“This is the kind of price we pay when we sacrifice competence on the altar of exigency,” the CPC  said through its  National Publicity Secretary, Mr. Rotimi Fashakin.
The party added, “We have always said it that the way President Jonathan is running this country;  he will  run it  aground.

“No Nigerian can be proud of what is happening in a situation where nations of the world are improving their democratic credentials; we are going towards further isolation.
“A situation where a chief  executive is being blocked by security apparatus of the President, you ask yourself what hope mortals like us have under the  Jonathan government.”

100 comments:

None of my business...

Poopoo said...

It's the protocol anywhere in the world. Amaechi should go and sit down. Can he approach Obama like that? Guess not. U just have an exaggerated opinion of yourself.

GEJ is not Amaechi's boss. Amaechi does not report to him.

That arrogant ninja wat will Gej meet him for. So that given the previlage he will run mad to the press and open his big mouth and bla bla bla bla bla.them never start to stop am

Quite an unfortunate incident and doesn't speak good of our type of democracy.

He is used to meeting his ACN abi APCN leader let him leave our own alone plssssssssssss

Wow! Its getting serious..

Emmanuel Jack said...

G.e.j is the worst president nigeria has ever had his in competency is beyond words and for ameachi the money you don thief never do ...GREEDY POLITICIANS

The more they pick on Amaechi the more I like him(call it the underdog theory). Truth is none of them is clean, but when you publicly humiliate a man that clearly won because he won't back down, then you're shedding light on a dictator-esque light on yourself. That translates into not declaring someone who won a free and fair election but instead imposing your candidate. 2015 is going to some show!!! Amaechi:No retreat No surrender!

Amaechi, dem no block you reach...dem for give you hot slap! You arrived after the President was seated, and he refused to lift the golden scepter towards you abi? Like really, what did you expect? After running your mouth rabidly and acting like a petulant ill-mannered child in the past few months? You wanted the C-in-C to stand up and greet you shey? Big boi!!! Better change o...arrogance doesn't pay...
Sheybi you know many are still suffering from your handwork in NDDC? If only GEJ will list your crimes so Nigeria will know for sure. But then he's a loyal party member and wouldn't want to drag his party's name in the mud. You, u're a stick in the mud. Mscheeew!!! "Port Harcourt Girl"

Emmanuel Jack said...

Ojb is dying but this men are so rich and greedy still wanting more ...it will be hard for a politician to enter heaven but easier for a needle to cross the atlantic ocean

nydraps said...

Eeehn!! Has it come to that??...God help us in this country.

norah said...

Ok..... Dats der biz

rather than CPC and ACN to focus on the development of the state they are there talking about refusal of presidential security aide. of what good is that to the developement of country. Bola Tinubu will do worse, abeg Mr Lai and Mr Fasakin go and sleep and stop politicalising everything. Linda abeg post my comment

Last 2 comment!!!dis Is jst de begining

Why is ACN crying more dan d breaved...amechi is nt evn a member of their party...why won't they just mind their business

Hmmmm.... African Politics. Nah watch we dey watch u pple....

Lai mohammed n ur APC,r u guys so idle?just get dis ameachi guy 2 join u n let us rest a beg.gud-luck APC(association of political criminals)

switchloe said...

dats dia palava...mtcheeeeewwww

Na Dem Sabi!NEXT

PRETTY GIRL

bbdatouch said...

Linda Na wa for Mr jonah dey delay us 4 20min on Air 2day becos of presido Mennn i just dey pray inside plane ,but thank God. Portharcourt babe

Immaculate said...

Nonsense, they should settle their differences and live us alone, after all we are not there when it happen

Long Story....Ayaf Taya To Read..How Does Thıs Apprehend The Head Of Tha Boko Haram Sect...Smh**** Naıja...una Try Pass Trıangle

It serves Amaechi right. If ACN is not happy about it they can adopt Amaechi into their party! Amaechi can also leave PDP if he think's he will get better treatment in ACN.

Nigerian politics stinks! That's all!

pr3sh said...

Naija I hail oooooo

Yes I like that, why the security didn't throw slap on that rubbish rude Governor .......remember this was the person who insulted our president because he feel so endowed as if he is even more powerful than president ..........call for war then he will see war sure...this just the begining .........
Ogaoooooooooo

Na waooo for this country, this was exactly how they fenced GEJ from seeing Yar Adua the late president when he was sick.....people condemned it. Now the man we pettied for is fast becoming an enemy of the people. I see this as the begining of a free fall for GEJ.....he going down !

Wetin we no go hear 4 naija ha!Gj don't 4get u wil soon be out 4 Ameachi and fashola 2 be in oh.
Abeg ameachi no purnish gj wen ur in de villa.

ASA said...

Childish....stupid response from presidency spokesman.

Seriously Linda.. Do you have something against the president? Why are you so bias towards him? Why should this even be news? If Amaechi or BRF (since you seem to like him so much) was having such issues with one of their commissioners, would they even allow the person to be in the same room with them? Talk less of meeting them... Besides, it is up to the security detail of the president to prevent anyone from seeing the president if they feel the president's safety is at risk... Pls quit reporting on politics if you cant stop being bias.. You will start having credibility issues or even worse divide and lose some of your readers...

Jaja said...

If Aki & Pawpaw can approach the president without causing security issue then how is Amaechi now security issue? Naija na wa! Idiots in power!

I do not like Amaechi because of his very hard stance on issues!but on dis one GEJ is very wrong.We are gradually getting back 2 d days of Abacha lawlessness,nt even Obasanjo blocked pple frm seeing him.

The security aid did the right thing...Before any of you start criticizing the action of the security aid of the president, Remember that the President goes in last and works out first.....THink about it

linda i cant believe you commented ignorantly on a very evident situation. if u do not know about governance,politics or how the office of d prersident functions then u rather stick to entertainment! Amaechi should ve bn refused entrance into that hall! wat disrespect!

Na dem sabi

i hope all the money you made from the comments on saveojb will be donated to him if not, i see peoplwe begging for you soon linda.

Amaechi u neva see anytin yet

for security reasons; the guard was right! u dnt beat protocol! especially with a highly placed person like GEJ/any president. Rotimi got what he wanted 'cos am sure he was only looking to score a cheap point.

DEAR LINDA, DNT BE PREJUDICED!!!!

Am sure is juju priet to him not to shake ameachi.

mtschew.original power miss road!we shall vote you out come 2015 Mr lecturer.

Gmoney said...

F**kn Power tossle..isn't obvious! Amaechi shud ve seen it comin even thoo d aides did their job well.

U can neva post my comment dis linda gurl,u re so annoying...mchewwww

We need a Nigerian spring in Nigeria. are we not educated enough to know our rights?

Sharrap ode,u papa na PDP member abi,that prevents u from saying the truth,asewo!

election is getting closer....politicians are getting more cautious of their enemies..known or suspected.

Jbankz said...

Na dem sabi......Rubbish thieves

Both.of them.na fools p or g make dem go joor Linda post am if u like Choi & thx

Both of them are fools p or g make una go die joor Linda if u.like post am if u like no post am Choi

Finally she has posted it *kisskiss*U rock

@EDDYSYFAR said...

U can't compare goodluck with obama.

No need for fake hugs. na so dem dey do. shake ur hand while plotting to block u. amaechi go n sitdown. wish him all d best

**uhm did gej exchange pleasantries wit anoda governor @ said time n snubbed amaechi?..much ado bout nothing. **lindy pie post dear tnx

sure person said...

Obama is a president in his coutry same to Goodluck, what's the difference? Can Amaechi walk out of OBJ the way he did to GEJ? Nigerians should learn how to speak out the truth.

This response Is crap! Dont we see pple approach d président and whisper in his ears when Is already seated,govs and ministers do it all d time.

EDDIE~SYFAR you are a foolish illitrate. Goodluck Jonathan is our president and Obama in Nigeria. Fool

Anonymous 11:40; you are a big fool. Port harcourt girl said the truth

what is opposition issue with Jonathan's refusal to greet Ameachi...Nonsense

nydraps said...

Yφυ are very stupid. How i̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊ ojb's case related to this??...always apply wisdom in Ɣ☺U̶̲̥̅̊R thinking....mtcheewww...

Dem dey foolish,

prissy said...

Y can't he r they not both presidents

Is obama God?

Amaechi shuld respect protocol,he embarrassed d president 4 comn lately,nigerians,lets obey d orders rather than sentiments

Guptha said...

Eddie~Syfar......W̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊t̶̲̥̅̊i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ d̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ worry U̶̲̥̅̊‎​ Fø̲̣̣я̅ dat statement? It ȋ̝̊̅§ ‎​Ūя̲̅ own personally ideology Ãήϑ opinion if U̶̲̥̅̊‎​ see urself less important τ̲̅ȍ ‎​Ūя̲̅ Colleague. UNDERSTAND DAT MY DEAR!

Hot igbo girl ur right none of our biz make thunder fire all of dem. Do they care abt dis country? All dey knw is 2 steal moni nd send der kids abroad.useless politicians

Cekohski said...

GEJ is being pulled into a terrain he is not conversant with by these stupid political animals aka sycophants

Alexies said...

Y'all should shut up about dis OJB is dying m sick of it, dere are lil children in dis country who havnt tested alcohol or smoked a day in their young lives wiv kidney problem n no one says shit, n all we hear is OJB dis OJB dt, y'all are even worse dan d so called politicians u complain about, dere are some LIB readers in here who can foot d bill buh no u rada cricize oda's....just STFU m sick of it

Every head of state is number one in his country I'm sorry that u c yourself as less of a human than an american.....u should have been sold in slave trade

@immaculate, abeg wait oh, anybody hold you for cloth??

ForexPro said...

Linda leave matter abeg. Amaechi is a pretender. Why should he arrive after the president. It is simple protocol. For Amaechi to have been allowed into the venue after the president was already seated is enough respect to him. He should not over-stretch it. You want to go and shake the president when he was already seated with other presidents? c'mon..

There is so much fuss about this issue. It is political too. The security men were following orders and doing their job. However, i do not feel pity for Gov. Amaechi. He also embarrases people in his state. HE now sees himself as a President whose place is with other Presidents from other African Countries !
"Pride goes before a fall and a haughty spirit before destruction"

Sharon Obuns said...

Why can he not compare? Are they both not the Presidents of their different countries? He's comparing them based on their positions,not achievements.

Sharon Obuns said...

You are not such a good Nigerian yourself. Did you not read in the holy books that you should pray for your leaders and those in authority? All these bad-mouthing doesn't help. There's power in the tongue.

Sharon Obuns said...

Why can he not compare? Are they both not the Presidents of their different countries? He's comparing them based on their positions,not achievements.

Amaechi u neva see anytin yet!

why cant u compare goodluck wit obama,dats how u cant value wat u have,who is obama?is he not a humanbeing?

its dem let dem handle it, no smoke wivout fire.

its a good sign of leadership, do to odaz wah u want 2 be done to ya,am sure rotimi wuld do same to odaz so he shuldnt be vexd.

Seriously, what did you expect. It is simple protocol. He even came in late. Linda, you need to be enlightened and be more objective. Sentimental politics won't get you anywhere

9japikin said...

Bt GEJ is d boss of d security personeel/protocol officer, so he has d right to do wat he did...n mind u,..d president follows d 'orders' given to him by his protocol officers. Dts d norm.

Esty said...

That is an insult to Aki and Paw.

Our Government,Our life,Our God in save hand whr I ask is our future

Dy can't bring u dwn $ dy ll nva bring u dwn bcuz ur God has nva kwn 2 u.everydy I pray 4 u 4 no reason,I tink I lyk ur SPRITE

Dream Job said...

PDP will fall, come 2015 election

Dream Job said...

PDP will fall, come 2015 election

PDP will fall come 2015

After reading a few comments on this matter, I must say I am very impressed with the way we Nigerian's reason..Amechi is trying to draw public sentiment but he has forgotten he was GEJ's strongest supporter in terms of fuel subsidy removal, even all the AC governors including Oshiomole who was once Labour Leader all supported GEJ when they were promised huge sums from the subsidy funds....It baffles me how these selfish people think they can deceive the masses..Lagos state has practically become Tinubu's personal property.I think this so called opposition might be a lot worse than the incumbent government...Frankly Speaking!!!!

Amechi is a desperado let him go and sit down, I don't like anything about him yet he seems to be very ambitious and rude too. Can he attempt to shake Obama like that? make CIA fall him hand!

i m sure u hav failed jamb 8 times.fooool

u people should keep quiet if u dont kw wat to say politics is a dirty game and only those who are into it understands it leave amechi and goodluck both of them kw wat they are doing ok

for heavens sake, let all this armed robber politician leave the presidency alone, whether they re called, ACN; ANCPN; whatsoever name they re called, people should shut their mouth, ameachi they re supporting is one heartless and wicked individual, a bigger thief for that that matter, what re u people crying wolf over ameachi of all people, himeslf and uduagha delta state governor ibori is far, far better then them so what re u people talking about, people should keep silence rather then talk or make noise to upset people mind set.

people should shut their trash, who is ameachi before GEJ: ameachi a bigger thief and wicked animal, then his boss, politicians re all thiefs. ameachi that destroyed his political enemy houses in the name of illegal struction, houses that re built in the villages re now illegal struction, what goes around, comes around. he should dance to the drum beat he started.

Are you okay? For ur mind the president is good abi? Why would u xpect Amaechi to respect GEJ when he is not doing d rite tin.. Imposing candidate on d nigeria Gov Forum. Will he be happi if he was deprived of his mandate after his election? We are watchin as 2015 is around the coner. Amaechi is the best!!!!

That Nigerian presidency seat, it is either u die in it or eventually shame yourself. Jona will get his own

Security my foot! Why not tackle Boko Haram first. Abi Amechi look like Boko Haram ni? Nonsense. All the people wey no gree make Nigeria rest will not see 2015. Amen

Very fortunate ntn is wrong wit dat.... Dats wat maks our country lawless we sud learn hw to observe PROTOCOLS

Ameachi is ova-stretchin his powers witout respect.... Is President nw is subordinate???? Is he immune 4rm protocols???? Is alowin him entrance late nt enof respect???? Ts tym opositn parties grew up wit cheap press popularity

What made him the worst president? I wonder if Amaechi could walk up to OBJ talk to walk out on him. People should learn to do things right.He as a person in position should now that his boss should not come to an event before him.

amechi left pdp and he did it unwisely knwing the sitting power made him governor and the pdp party apointed him gov. its simply a case of he bit the hand that fed him . o peesonally advised him against it

Like the people @ Nigeria Info FM and media, its like Linda now gets subvension and allowance from Mr. Lying Lai Mohammed and ANC. Such money dey run belly. Be objective about this Ameachi and GEJ matter. Common sense tells u Ameachi murdered protocol.