Four death row inmates hanged in Edo State today | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 24 June 2013

Four death row inmates hanged in Edo State today

Four death row inmates were hanged in Benin, Edo State, today Monday June 24th, after their death warrants were signed by the Edo State Governor, Adams Oshiomhole.

The inmates included Osaremwinda Aigbuohian and Daniel Nsofor, whose lawyers have been struggling to obtain a stay of execution on the death sentence; and two other convicts whose identities are yet to be ascertained.

According to the Supreme Court, Mr. Aiguohian killed and dismembered the body of his victim while Mr. Nsofor forcefully robbed, tortured and strangled a woman to death.

Mr. Oshiomhole allegedly signed the death warrants of the unnamed duo last month, despite appeals by local and international organizations including Amnesty International and Access to Justice.

President Goodluck Jonathan had directed state governors to exercise their constitutional rights by signing death warrants of death row inmates in order to reduce the rising level of criminality in the country.

Henry Idahagbon, Edo State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, said that the defence team of the death row inmates, led by a civil society group, LEDAP, had tried up till the last minute to stop the hanging but did not succeed.

Three of the inmates were convicted outside Edo State and all the executed inmates had been issued the death penalty years ago, according to Mr. Idahagbon.

Source: Premium Times

94 comments:

Joycilicioux said...

hmmmmmmm.....I'm so speechless right now.

If all they were accused of is true, then I guess they deserved their sentences.

First to comment, so happy Linda,

Aww! In a democracy & heterogeneous society? Not as if am supporting hardened criminals.

***IKB***

I guess its justice served! But the equilibrium should be drawn with criminals and corrupt politicians, corrupt politicians deserve to be killed like chickens too!

Adeyinka Amoke said...

Barbaric...This will hunt him

Live by the sword,die by the sword.
I pray they comeback next time better humans
may their souls rest in peace.

Good example!

Yes oh I go wit u prince charming

Dan

Yes oh I go wit u prince charming

Dan

Great work gov adams,@least crimes wud reduce

Well done governor and I hope they will send all the corrupt politicians who have stole and embezzled money from the national treasury to your state for summary execution too!

ONYE OMA @PRINCE CHARMING.WELL SAID.BUT ADAMS HANDS ARE CLEAN ON THIS MATTER BECAUSE THAT'S THE LAW.

The will of the masses shall prevail if u kill u wil die end of story

Bobby said...

Authority stealing bad pass armed robbery - fela anikulapo kuti

I don't understand it_ does it mean ppl don't sleep in dis blog? Well, criminals must face the full wrath of Law. Remember the two that were crucified on the cross with Jesus?

Bobby said...

Authority stealing bad pass armed robbery - fela

May God grant their souls mercy

bbm 23491053 said...

Death sentence. Gov remember this proverb. Oga Landlord make u no 4get, one dey u go surely travel, and wen u travel mak u no 4get say, another landlord go show u trouble". Please Oshomole and all the Gov and the judges remember one day u will step down from ur position, plz pray u don't not be judged and be hang. But people should stop crime, so u won't be an inmate. Cheers

Constitution must include hanging corrupt government officials to curb corruption.

Is lesson 4 oda criminals..but then what shld hapns to d likes of Kabiru sokoto? He also and many more shld b on a death sentence

certified trouble maker said...

thou shall not kill. D people dat executed dem and d person who signed, where are dey all going??

certified trouble maker said...

thou shall not kill. D people dat executed dem and d person who signed, where are dey all going??

The word Ms. Ikeji is HUNG, NOT HANGED and we note your silence on he entire GTBank saga.
How much dem pay you for your conscience?

Chrisilicious said...

I feel nothing for them, they got war dey deserve

Janelicious said...

God have mercy

I go with you prince charming.corrupt Politicians should be treated the same way for peace to reign or this country will never know peace, because they have murdered the future of the unborn nigerians.

Somebody is coming to sign the death warrant of president and governors as well. He who kill by sword die by sword

They deserve the death penalty.

Nigerians and sentiments, thats why crime is on the increase daily. Let them be executed if that is the punishment for the crimes they committed. Nigerians are full of shit as far as criminality is concerned, that's why we have no regard among other nations. No one ever trusts a Nigerian! How long will we continue like this , I weep for my dear country.

JUSTICE HAS BEEN SERVED! Dats all!!!!

Ist to comment ko,ist to comment nii,abeg get a life fool.

am so sad cos that guy called aiguohian stay in prison for almost 23 years why still kill him. But why?

BY4mary said...

Gud 4 them. Let them start reducing hardened criminals,even kidnapers and politicians who steal national & state wealth.

The problem is that we are quick to criticize. The pple executed committed bad and horrible murder. One was and armed robber and the other was the one that killed someone with matchet. I think Justice needs to be don to show pple that crime doesn't pay. I encourage other Governor to do so and stop encouraging muder of any form. Thumps up to Edo satate governor for taking his constitutional right seriously.

It is not babaric. How can you dismember the body of someone and you want to live? Isn't that selfish? Common!

BABATUNDE said...

Not really a fan of capital punishment. But if they really committed the crime, they just got served their piece of cake.
I just hope and pray the innocent don't go down the hangman's line...

JimCaddy's Blog said...

Crime doesn't always pay.. I hope this serves as a lesson, but first, corrupt public officials need to be executed before we talk of common criminals

http://jimcaddy.blogspot.com

African China said it all... Politicians kill, steal and destroy yet no justice. If they really committed d crime let justice prevail

ONYE OMA @PRINCE CHARMING.WELL SAID.BUT ADAMS HANDS ARE CLEAN ON THIS MATTER BECAUSE THAT'S THE LAW.

Death sentence is good at times like this...

what is the identity of the other two
Is it the truth buried?
Is it the innocent destroyed?
It is not alright to judge 2 in the light of known crime 2 others committed,
The death row is 4
What crime did the other two fallen men commit?
Am not trying to indict Adam
Just wish journalist say it as it is #CompleteStory
I implore d readers not to judge the fallen.

Bullshit!! Shey una dey collect money 4 dis ni?

Edo state is a really hardened place, you need to see what's going on right now, I support second chances but I feel for the level of indiscipline, the Govt has done the right thing.

Well they deserve it!

kunle said...

Death warrant, this got me thinking. Is life sentence not better? What of the boko haram people and suspects that have cause sadness and damages beyond measures? What of other grievous, bad "virus" like act in our society? This death warrant as a form penalty and punishment need critical study to ensure it is executed to the best and fair standard in our justice system.
In US that I flimsy aware, they use base on community pressure and how grievous the spreading tendency of the acts may seem. Just my imperfect opinion.
Learn the secrets to burning fat and eating healthy

Did u say hunt him? What if d woman they said one of them strangled happnd to be ur mum, wld u still be behind d criminal? Idiot

i dont suport crime or criminals bt if it wz a pdp governor dat signed dat even oshiomole wil rant..wat hapen 2 respect 4 judicial process

Olodo, ow will it hint him?

If dis can continues like dat,it will creates fear in d mind of pple dt want to carry out evil. Kill by sword and die by sword. Lawyers,religion and language ar nigeria problems.

Legal said...

After all the credible evidence by the prosecution and the rulings by the supreme court, I think the death sentence is legal....

Check the detailed court judgement @ osarenwinda aiguokhan Vs. The state....per Iguh Jsc

In this case, the accused person pleaded the defence of mistake, but such did not avail him.

Legal said...

After all the credible evidence by the prosecution and the rulings by the supreme court, I think the death sentence is legal....

Check the detailed court judgement @ osarenwinda aiguokhan Vs. The state....per Iguh Jsc

In this case, the accused person pleaded the defence of mistake, but such did not avail him.

Abeg whu don c my swt @UCHE FACE

Eve said...

They got what they deserve, its high time all governors follow suite, maybe all this heartless killers would stop. I say Justice served well.

Now every body is crying fowl cuz they wanna execute em, not forgetting they killed someone too.

patalex said...

People say all manners of nonsense. Do you knw that the only time a court delivers a death sentence is when an accused person commits murder? So what about those persons they have killed? Don't they have rights? Where they not entitled to life? Where they not in our so called democracy.

If you kill you must be killed that's the Nigerian law. Maybe you people should wait when they kill you people, you'd knw how painful it is and why these criminals should die.

If you deem it fit to kill, you deserve to die, simple! Greedy politicians didnt kill anyone, so death isnt the answer!

nice one evil people should die

How can you rob, torture and strangle a person? Are you an executioner? For me, they deserve the death sentence. I am with the Governor on this one. If all they got was death by hanging, then their judgement was actually light. I just hope in future, corrupt politicians will meet with the same fate as done in China. They are the most deserving of such judgements. IAI

I don't know what to say,but those they killed will welcome them to world of the dead_

Good for them.

Very good it shall not b well wit d wicked dey deserve it if d report was true kudos 2 osho u r a true & courageous govnor it high time 2 separate d seed 4rm d chaff

@ Adeyinka amoke, wats barbaric abt killing pple who have also killed innicent pple? Abi u be one of them? Berra repent bf u end up like them.

So executing these prisoners what good does it do to the society and the victim's people nothing. TO TAKE A LIFE WHEN A LIFE HAS BEEN LOST IS REVENGE, NOT JUSTICE.”Bishop DESMOND TUTU! I DO NOT SUPPORT DEATH AS CAPITAL PUNISHMENT I DONT CARE WHAT THE PERSON HAS DONE. No human has the right....let God do the judging!!!

Queen Bee said...

He who kills a man,by the sword' of another man shall he be destroyed'....thus says the law of the almighty!
May they burn in he'll for all I care!
Mofucking murderers.
Big ups to Oshomole.

Death sentence isn't right,correctional facilities shuld b made available instead of killin ppl nd as a psychologist,I implore Nigeria to make better use of their psychologists cuz wit their help in d correctional facilities,psychopathy cases will b tackel wit lastin effect.let's not judge ppl cuz a if d trumpeth sounds,a man dat dismemberd his victim nd a man dat stole a pin will suffer d same fate,so there is no sin is greater,sin is sin

Pc I agreed wt u, a criminal is a criminal joor

Yes Oº°˚ linda y were u that silent on the gtbank thing? Pls gist us now!

pretty T said...

@ anonymous 1;53am, bloody auto correct like you. u no go go hug your dictionary before u begin correct. onye nkuzi odakpu. when it has to do with hanging a person.the past tense is HANGED and not HUNG. Linda is right.your dictionary is your friend... mtsheeeew.

Bobby K. said...

IF U CHOOSE TO LIVE BY SWORD WHEN THERE ARE OTHER GOOD MEANS,SO B IT THAT U FALL BY D SAME SWORD.OTHER CRIMINALS SHLD LEARN JOO!

xploit, ph said...

Abeg make i hear word jooor!!! Make dem die ĞO̶̷̩̥̊͡,nor be kill dem kill ppl? Wats oshio's name doin up ther? Did any one read how d accused killed their victims? WTF...diz F*kaz

Make thunder fire all doz ppl wey D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ say its wrong Τ̲̅ȍ execute dem, did U̶̲̥̅̊ guys read about d way they killed their victims? If ther isn't a penalty of such magnitude Fø̲̣̣я̅ an equal magnitude of crime, den no prison yard will b large enuff Τ̲̅ȍ accomodate murdered here, yea politicians should be dealt wit too, but W̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ shouldn't ςφ♏ε up wit all diz our holy sh*t....oshio ryd on

I dnt care a knw wat dey did.as far as dere is a God,dey deserve 2 be 4given n at least sentenced 2 lif imprisonment....

You're really dumb Anon 1:53am!! Haba!
U want to correct by force!
Are the criminals trophies that you hang on your cabinet or are they clothes to be hung in ur wardrobe? Jeeez!
The past tense for hang-(when it comes to humans) is HANGED! Objects-Hung!
Kindly accept my correction and learn to STFU bout something you aint sure of!

R u supporting d crime commited by those criminals ? I dong understand u at all .

Naijamouthpiece said...

Well, justice is good but is justice only for the poor masses, we all know every callous Nigerian is not innocent and our political leaders upholding this law are much more guilty than the criminals out there in the society. A leader who leads and turn the masses to mass impoverished nation, citizens who don't even know their right. Do you know Nigerians don't even know that government failing to provide social amenities for a better standard living is a crime againt the citizen of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and hence should be brought to court. The governor and chief judge of Edo State that signed the death toll, can they stand out with an open conscience of never being involved in any crime against the state that demands death sentence because I know all of them are cultist and have done great grievous sins undisclosed to the society. So they should know they are not exempted in anyway and someday they will all pay for their sins...

Did the people they murdered get any mercy from these criminals? When these victims were crying for mercy, crying for help, crying for their lives to be spared, did these grown men criminals have any mercy on them? NO NO NO.

@ Adeyinka Amoke its u dey wuld hunt u barbaric fool just wait d criminals dat wuld do worse are coming for u idiot

I am in support of the action taken,they truly deserve it if they have done bad.if the government continues like this,definately crime would be reduce to an extent.gbam

@***IKB***, so if democracy and heterogeneous society no stop them from killing, why should it stop them from facing the consequences? Abeg let's get real. I've bn a victim and I know na wetin them deserve them get...you kill, you die for it!!!!!!

abi o

Am short of words, God should have mercy....

I support the motion ooo.

Guess dey deserve it.

Ask d foolish bbm oo abi e get thiefs 4 der family???

Big fool,criminality runs in ur vain am very sure

I am all for Death penalty for those horrible criminals who torment our lives and society. Some people do not deserve to live with humanity. Americans should remove thespeck from their own eyes before minding other people's problems. Some American states still operate the death penalty in their justice system.

Olamide said...

Free the babe , We all hv different reasons to be happy though

Ozota Gerald said...

The edo state governor acted beyond his juridiction.HE was even suppose to adhear to d plea of those international organisation.4 lives just wasted.he use his post in form of a dictator.