Minister of Health, Prof Isaac Adewole, who disclosed this in a press statement issued on Saturday, April 1, by Mrs Boade Akinola, Director, Media and Public Relations, said 328 deaths associated with Meningitis have been recorded since November 2016.
Prof Adewole assured Nigerians that the Federal Ministry of Health under his purview would nip the outbreak of meningitis ravaging some states in the bud.
He made this assertive conviction about the capability of the Federal government after his ministry issued public advisory warning to Nigerians. He also spoke extensively on efforts employed and deployed so far to curtail the further spread of the epidemic.
"We have started working with all the affected states in
specific areas of collaboration on massive awareness and sensitization,
laboratory investigation and analysis, proper documentation and disease
surveillance techniques through the National Centre for Disease Control
and National Primary Health Care Development Authority (NPHCDA) who have
been of tremendous support since the outbreak. We are in constant
discussion with World Health Organization (WHO), UNICEF, E-health Africa
and other international health agencies for supplies of vaccines and
injections.
"Through
our initiatives, we have secured 500,000 doses of the meningococcal
vaccines from WHO which will be used in Zamfara and Katsina states while
additional 800,000 units from the British government .By next Tuesday,
there will be a meeting with the International Review Group of The World
Health Organization (WHO) where request for additional vaccines shall
be approved, as part of practical and medically certified efforts to
stem this ugly incidence.
"Even
with the tunnels of accomplishment made, we are not relenting on all
the progress made, as we have been assured of millions of vaccine doses
through other notable and international donor agencies. Unfortunately,
Nigeria had always been bedevilled with the stereotype A in years past
but this new strain of the bacterial disease, Meningitis Stereotype C
which the vaccine is not commercially available in required quantities
and can only be shipped to the country by WHO only if laboratory
investigation confirms the existence of the strain type C.
"Our
ongoing spirited effort is geared to upscale through nationwide
immunisation campaign while navigating the menace using a combination
vaccine by conducting active case finding, strengthening surveillance,
case detection, verification and communication management, performing
lumbar puncture of suspect cases in a well coordinated atmosphere under
NCDC. Our partners are already re-training physicians on the effective
collection of cerebrospinal fluid for diagnosis.
"We
are equally advocating for prompt diagnosis and have issued directive
to all Federal medical facilities and PHCs to treat all cases of
meningitis free of charge. All Nigerians especially residents of
Katsina, Kano, Kebbi, Sokoto, Niger, Zamfara and Jigawa states are
advised to seek early attention when discomforted with symptoms of
Cerebro Spinal Meningitis (CSM) and avoid clogging together in
unventilated and over-crowded rooms."
9 comments:
This calls for more pro-active measures, good to see Ministry of Health doing their best, but I think they can do better.
I have 100TBC if you have 15k come and take it asap.first come first serve. contact me on whatsapp or call 07018379521
Hmmmm,story for the gods,he his looking for a way to eat money.
I think they should make clear statement that people should ventilate their rooms and air it properly.
Na wen ur neck begin to turn like chicken own u'll know dat it's not about ways to eat money ode... dee
Linda.. please post this oooo. It's not only in the north ooo. A boy in my compound died cos of it last year. In Anambra state. Nobody knew what it was even the first hospital they took him to. It was at the last stage when he starts fainting alot and talking like a mad person that he was taken to another hospital where they said it's this disease.Sadly, he died. He was only 16yrs old.
Thats why i opened this news oo. Cos the name caight my eyes and I had flash back of what the boy passed through before he died. I had to browse the name of the disease after he died cos it was a strange and uncommon one.
So.. its not only in the north ooo. Just be careful everyone. . Plus this is heat period... He fell sick during this kind of heat period oooo. And they were treating malaria not knowing it's something else.
Well... I thought everyone should know. Rip dear
Forgive my typos... I was typing in a hurry
Linda.. please post this oooo. It's not only in the north ooo. A boy in my compound died cos of it last year. In Anambra state. Nobody knew what it was even the first hospital they took him to. It was at the last stage when he starts fainting alot and talking like a mad person that he was taken to another hospital where they said it's this disease.Sadly, he died. He was only 16yrs old.
Thats why i opened this news oo. Cos the name caight my eyes and I had flash back of what the boy passed through before he died. I had to browse the name of the disease after he died cos it was a strange and uncommon one.
So.. its not only in the north ooo. Just be careful everyone. . Plus this is heat period... He fell sick during this kind of heat period oooo. And they were treating malaria not knowing it's something else.
Well... I thought everyone should know. Rip dear
Forgive my typos... I was typing in a hurry
nawa
Always North. Majority of this outbreaks always starts from the north. Go school and learn how to protect yourself them no go gree