Rivers state university student expelled for speech & hearing challenges, returns to the school | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 22 July 2016

Rivers state university student expelled for speech & hearing challenges, returns to the school

Back in Febuaury, LIB reported about about a Rivers State University of Science and Technology (RSUST) student named Jane Ottah, who sued the school for expelling her because she has speech and hearing challenges (Read here).

Jane, a first year student of the Department of Educational Foundation at the university, was expelled on January 30th 2015, over claims that she had speech and hearing challenges.

She approached the Rivers State High Court and instituted a N20 million suit against the school management, challenging her expulsion and also demanding a perpetual injunction restraining the university or their agents from discriminating against her in any way.

The case has now been resolved. A Family memeber revealed to LIB that Jane Ottah agreed to an out-of-court settlement with the University. It was however not on monetary basis but on educational basis and she would resume back to school in the next academic session by September.

20 comments:

Better!

Thank God
LWKM. Laugh at Nigeria's funniest pictures here

I remember her. Congrats to her. Linda take note!

Yay!!!.... you Go girlie.... rubbish schls.....jes be playing wiv pples lives any how.. mstchewww

EYAAAAAAH... THANK GOD SHE'S BACK TO SCHOOL

K-REX said...

Wicked University, why discriminating? Only in the militant and so-call Avenger states such inhuman happens. Yeye people

That's nice gurl... always strive to better yourself.

*Grachi Dynasty*

Thank goodness shes back to school. I suppose that's what they want the public to know, that the out of court settlement was not monetary but on educational basis.

Who RSUST don help sef?

Am happy to hear that

SHE CONCUR

AUNTY LINDA👩

👍👍

My dear, chill, we all read the story, we weren't there, so stop the hate, no sch is out to be wicked to anyone, there could've been a mix up somewhere ok, we are all learned, watch your words.

Ask Google dear, they have produced so many great and successful engineers, geophysicists, educationists, lawyers and the list goes on and on, i'm a proud graduate of this prestigious no nonsense university ok, the school with the best E-system of learning. There could've been a mix up in her case,no university is out to victimise anybody please, you need a reorientation!!!

You sound like someone who is not learned, and full of embedded hate and anger, you are discriminating,failing to understand that every university have their policies, there could've been a mix up somewhere, judgemental and irrational people like you are the ones that have kept this country the way it is, because you are yeye that's why you're calling others yeye, mtcheeeeewwwwwww.

Hope she was also compensated financially

heya

Good news

Linda! What sort of English is "returns back to school" Please correct the headline quickly. Thank you.

You are jst too Pathetic.