Rio 2016: Nigeria's Top Athletes reveal they were asked to buy their own travel tickets, Presidency responds | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 23 July 2016

Rio 2016: Nigeria's Top Athletes reveal they were asked to buy their own travel tickets, Presidency responds

Seye Ogunlewe, Regina George and some other top athletes that are supposed to represent Nigeria at Rio Olympics, revealed that they received messages which directed them to purchase their own travel ticket for the Olympics at Rio 2016. This has forced some of them to cry out in an attempt to raise funds. The Digital Strategy and Engagement Unit in the Office of the President has responded. See what they said after the cut...

42 comments:

**********************example of serving Nigeria with all ur strength ******

Like seriously

...chai Nigeria is a big Joke, whatever the presidency claims to act. I think I am now convinced that APC has failed. This govt can't even fund ordinary Olympics competition. SMH!

This is just the beginning
WHAT DO U EXPECT FROM 85 YEARS OLD MAN WHO DON'T KNOW WHAT IS CALL FOOTBALL
HE WILL SAY THAT NO MONEY IN NIGERIA WHY HIS CHILDREN HAVE CELEBRATED THEIR GRADUATION PARTY FOR 1 WEEK WHY ALL HIS INCOMPETENT MINISTERS ARE FLYING FIRST CLASS PLANE
NIGERIA SUPER EAGLES WILL SOON DIE LIKE NIGERIA ECONOMY WATCH AN SEE

This is just the beginning
WHAT DO U EXPECT FROM 85 YEARS OLD MAN WHO DON'T KNOW WHAT IS CALL FOOTBALL
HE WILL SAY THAT NO MONEY IN NIGERIA WHY HIS CHILDREN HAVE CELEBRATED THEIR GRADUATION PARTY FOR 1 WEEK WHY ALL HIS INCOMPETENT MINISTERS ARE FLYING FIRST CLASS PLANE
NIGERIA SUPER EAGLES WILL SOON DIE LIKE NIGERIA ECONOMY WATCH AN SEE

Really disgusting

Ladun Liadi said...

It shouldn't just end like this. Someone should answer for this embarassment. It seems provision was made for travel expenses but someone got greedy.

HRM Paul said...

Is it that bad are we as a nation dat broke abi dasuki don pack all. Moni

Zarah K said...

It only in Nigeria that this type of shit happens, athletes will pay from their pockets but gov officials sponosor themselves and their girls with gov funds.

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

I reserve my comment

LIB REP (中华人民共和国) said...

I reserve my comment

Ashanka said...

Buhari regime !!! 😂😂😂 Stingy

Nigeria wit dere change

Hmm

this govt is a scam from day 1

pke

Shame! Shame ! Shame!

Only in Nija

They are really on a long thing

Chizoba Aniedu said...

Shame on this stupid president and his routine of propagandists!!! Olympics vent started and our team is in psychological/emotional disarray! U all kno the meaning of that, don't expect any miracles oo

Whaooooo!

Akn Media said...

You guys should better find your way to Brazil because at the die minute this useless government will tell you guys that Avengers have crippled the economy so no money...To cut the long story short APC will disappoint you..If you don't want to go to Rio listen to them that they will pay your air tickets

Fuck the response from.
This shit is jst too pathetic

junia said...

Na wa oh God help Nigeria and Nigerians

Dats better! Linda take note!

Pathetic govt, we're talking about Olympic here...!!!

Genny's Blog said...

Can u imagine?

Disgraceful!!!!!!

NAWA O

But can't somethings be done rightly in Nigeria why always falling one's hands

This is sad

Ajoke

Shameless old cows!!

This government is a joker. They don't even want the progress of ordinary citizens. Everything is on the increase without corresponding increase in wages. It's so sad. The people that we hoped to come and deliver us are the one killing us. I am just too tired.

Let's not comment ignorantly. It is not the governments job to take athletes to the olympics there are bodies to handle that. The government is only stepping in to save us the embarrasment. Let's support their efforts. You'll be shocked to know these bodies have been paid to get athletes to the event but want to "chop" the money. enough of the insults to our president, he is not sports minister.

No athletes were ever asked to pay for any tickets. Any sincere observer will immediately realize that this is just a cheap prank to scam the athletes or a wicked mischief cooked up to deliberately discredit the government. It is good that the athletes exposed it. Stop believing everything you read on social media. Wise up.

Joe said...

very Shameful this is to show that they are not capable of leading this great Country APC has failed simple, let them go!!!!! their way of life is Lies and propaganda

Chuks Bruno said...

After Buhari lied that he has released the money for them...failed government

Glad to hear the athletes are not paying themselves.

OKORO UPGRADED

U are a Dog. the tell u that is the one said that, the tex massage is 4rm u brother, is not 4rm presdency go an ask them the no that send this tex an see if is 4rm presdency. Is ur brother that did it, 2 sabotach Buhari, is God that bring hem not ur father. An he will deliver this cauntr 2 a beter country Amen.

Sorry is only a donkey that will here this an said is tru. How presdency will promise 2 relised the fun and fell, cut me Buhari will not promise an fell. Pls make we stop this sentimen an face the truth. So that thee country will move forwod.

Go back to school. My grammar is disgusting.

Go back to school. Your grammar is disgusting.