Met Police now demands that anyone wanting to join must speak a second language..and Yoruba is one of them.. Lol | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 20 July 2015

Met Police now demands that anyone wanting to join must speak a second language..and Yoruba is one of them.. Lol

If you want to join the UK Metropolitan police now, you must be able to speak a second language in addition to English - at least one out of 14 languages and Yoruba is one of them. The police say this is because 300 languages are spoken in London

UK Daily Mail reports 
Scotland Yard has come under fire today after placing an advert demanding that anyone wanting to join as a police officer be able to speak a second language. The Metropolitan Police wants to bolster the number of officers able to speak and understand 14 languages which are widely used across London. But the move has sparked criticism from a former officer and members of the public on Twitter.
Retired Met Police officer Chris Hobbs wrote: 'I've kept reading and re-reading it. Can't believe it. What about potential BME (black and minority ethnic) recruits who only speak English.'

He added: 'Won't this also adversely affect the recruitment of guys and girls from the black community whom we would like 2 [sic] see more of?' 

After Commissioner Bernard Hogan-Howe set an ambitious target of having 40 per cent of all officers from Black and Minority Ethnic backgrounds, only 18 per cent met that criteria when the latest intake passed out in March.

According to a report published by the London Assembly Police and Crime Committee in December 2014, before the most recent recruitment campaign, only 11 per cent of officers serving in the Met were from Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic background, compared with approximately 40 per cent of the population of London. The current BME figure in the Met is now 12 per cent.

Members of the public also appeared less than enthusiastic about the new initiative.
Simon Holdaway tweeted: 'The Met's lack of understanding of the problems it faces is stunning', while another user wrote: 'the lunatics have finally overtaken the asylum.' 

Meanwhile, Carole Hawkins tweeted: 'For £19,000 a year, this country is now getting really stupid.' 

139 comments:

...... the brain behind this must be high on coke.

Hmmmm I see a lot of Nigerians joining their police team and coRrupting it...

They want to be able to catch the Yoruba Fruadsters in London hehehe!

YORUBA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

Good for them, heard they've turned London to Ibadan. So Yoruba language becomes necessary for communication.

They're not serious....

Akukor...!😏

England here I come, gonna go join them, can speak both English and Yoruba.. #omooduduwa

They are not serious.

Yoruba kwa. Asusu ndi ofe mmanu.

Thatigbobabe(Lilyflower) said...

I don't buy that
Tf!!!
Igbo Language nko

Igbo kwanu?

Okay na

Lol! That's gud

Favour belle said...

Hehe....gbam!!! Interesting

I think it's a good idea tho
Pls visit: Nma's Space 

U can imagine and these low class bitch (willhemmna moses and nenne george) be showing hatred on Yoruba ppl. Youba rock! Lol

Yoruba of all languages..........are they mad.....I for prefer Hausa self

Interesting...!

PARENTAL ADVISORY

Igbo people nor go gree o...anybody who wants to sell in London shud be able to speak IBO sha...no any of them anyways...

Mak no sense.

#TheMonsieur said...

Good news to all my real yoruba brothers out there in London.. Unlike the fake Nigerians trying to be more english than the English.

Mihearty said...

Nt interested

Dt is cz yoruba plp hv over populated d place nd trust naija with crime rates, sme1 hs 2 understand them esp when they start faking "they cnt speak English"

N yet some sadistic ibos will come here n insult yourubas......I dnt see ibo language dere o!

O'boy! It's even #1 on d list.... Hehe. U guys bera start payin me 2 teach u. *wink

Good for dem.

Yoruba is going global
Proudly yoruba

Yes oooooooooooooooo, oduduwa a gbe won o

To carter for the large and diverse community in the country, it is a good move.

Good

nice idea

IWP said...

HHAHA TO TELL U YORUBA IS A VERY POPULAR NIGERIAN LANGUAGE

Hmm..

Of all languages...na that mgbati mgbati.

That explains why ,in London, you just hear people speak Yoruba everywhere.....check @maona_chic on instagram

Why LOL, you tribalistic girl. There is nothing funny about it.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Lol.. Ok !
ckjacob.blogspot for ficton stories

Yes na...na igbo for dey there linda,abi y d LoL....That's just to tell that Yoruba is popular more than igbo/hausa and Yoruba dudes flocks d UK...

"Lol" Really??

Yourba na u biko o

Heard? So u havent been there? Na wa o and u will come here bash ppl who travel around the world. Lib ppl be cracking me

So tribaliatic.. if not for the love of gist, I would have deleted her blog from my brain. More Yorubas in the diaspora trying to make a honest living, yes they are bad eggs but there are bad eggs in every tribe. Igbos always be acting likes they are better than others. Inferiority complex

Toronto, for your ugly mind nw, u don travel round the world Shey! Ode

Choi! Another slap on the Igbo generation. Yoruba winning all the way.

We're all aware of your stupidity...not surprised!

Toronto tomato u r an idiot...

Apparently, Yoruba is regarded as the mosst civilized tribe in africa.
Do your research

Of course nah! Dey wan catch all the numerous yaruba in UK into yahoo yahoo and other numerous scam deals. Nice move scotland yard.

They want to use that catch iyoro people with their credit card fraud.

Idiots from Alaigbo, go back to your gully erosion region

Good news ke? Name really bad news. No secret againiooo

COLLIN said...

Yoruba ko yoruba ni...mtchew

U'r obviously d retarded person! Attention seekin goat. Bcuz of LIb's 20k u sha wan gain cheap attention. "Ebinna"... We knw ur type, very soon u'll fade away frm LIB. Whr dem "omo-iwo", "prince charmin", and rest of dem dey??? And u neva do reach quarter of "attention stunts" dey did. Wit dat ur face dat luks lyk a cross-breed of Shrek and rotweiler. *eranko jati-jati. (Madam Linda, post my comment)

like dey share money to those that travel around the world.

You so tribalistic *yawns* ..... SA princesses

Wilhewitch n all her ibo cohorts, eat ur hearts out!Hehehe

Yes o wilhewitch,,,,,na mgbati mgbati, no b stupid nna, nne language wey dey be lyk fight!

Die of jealousy if u want.....no one will miss u, of dat am sure madam wilhewitch!

Yes he hasnt been. ..what is he looking for thr... u dat have gone wat did u gain... onuku as if London is heaven... big fool

Keep deceiving urself. .. bole

THAT IS BECAUSE THE UK IS FILLED WITH YORUBA PEOPLE AND THAT IS WHERE THEY ALL RUN TO!!! ITS NO SURPRISE. AND NO THERE'S NO BEEF.

Effiezy.com said...

Yoruba is the biggest spoken language from Africa in the UK. So it to be there. Working as a cop is a suffer man job, it's good joining the MET when you are 18yrs after 25 years you retire (then you are about 43yrs) you get a good pension, then you can work as a security consultant. That's what the smart guys did. For a young guy or lady 19k salary is good, But overall is not an easy job, but very good pension. I will advise young people to go for it.

Yorubas full London doing 419 scam. Thats why

To catch a thief you have to speak their language. Smart one met police. Most crimes in London are committed by yorubas not Igbos or any other tribe.

Toronto keep shut! Because u were lucky to have survived the road trip abroad. Lets have some peace.

Omo Yoruba ni mi o, swagger!

When we told them to keep their heritage , they did not listen to us. We have kept our culture including our language over the time. It can only be better.

To my Igbo people that are envious of us by saying it is meant to arrest the Yoruba people, are you saying they want to arrest the Jews, Arabians, etc too? You don't see anything good in others, why? Just because of your hatred. You cannot beat the reach. We were there before you came, hian!

I once spoke in Yoruba to my spouse, and my American realtor, standing close by asked if dat was Yoruba. I was surprised. He said since we are from Nigeria, he believes that must be Yoruba

Una yahoo yahoo don shake the world.

Meaning ??

Dis happened 1. Bcos of yoruba population in London 2. Bcos a good number of this population are proud of their language and speak it wherever they find themselves. I don't know if other tribes do d same.

U think oyibo care 4 any Africa thing. It's just that they think the # of nuisance & crime committed by ppl speaking yoruba is 2 much, so they want 2 zero in on that community.
The olodo mgbati ppl r singing alleluia, give me a break.

They are very serious. They know what they are doing. Nigerian crime cartels (majority of which are Yoruba) are very active in London. Therefore recruiting Yoruba speaking policemen will enable them to eavesdrop on conversations and even deploy undercover agents etc.

A lot of Yoruba guys in London will not discuss "business" over the phone with you in English because they are paranoid (understandably) that their conversations are being listened into.

OK I hear una ooo

Espirito Sancty said...

Hmm, this move is meant to do away with those yoruba cyber fraudsters that have been stealing from UK SUGAR MUMMIES.

Sancty said so.

Is that how you see traveling ? You just bashed yourself

Ghen ghen! Yoruba haters, where u@? Una go soon drink sniper

adeoludt said...

rep

At this stage in your life,you are still filled with hatred my brother we are all Nigerians please I love every tribe in Nigeria.

These UK people are smart. They need d police to be able to speak d languages that a high population of d citizens can. It's going to be easier that way to get intellects and fight crime. U.S. is just making noise as d greatest, these UK people are wiser and calm

May our lord Jesus deliver you from your hatred amen

Lolololololol @Finest... Don't nail Oga Nnags na..

Yes ooo...BEEEEEEEEEEEF....

seyi crown said...

Wow, yoruba is really going global...white mostly wear yoruba attire, they come here to learn our culture, they learn our language...u guys have to give to yoruba's

Yimu! They have measures in place to prevent all that rubbish

Oh Yes of course....Yoruba no.1.... Even haters agree, that's why they are hating..

Swerve said...

Hahaha, the guy is deeply rooted in Enugu. No leave or transfers.

Is that hard? Then add Hausa to d list urself...

Shinelle said...

When did going to London become a prerequisite for speaking one's mind?

You must be a low self esteemed bufoon! Mr toronto

Somebody said 'yoruba rocks' this simply means the crime rate of people from these tribes is high...Don't get excited yo!

London is now called the 38th State of Naija. It is just an upmarket version of Lagos. Name who is who in Naija and you can meet them freely on the buses/shops. Most Asian shop keepers now greet you in Yoruba, the met police is catching up. Diversity in action!

Black Belle said...

Lol too many nigerians in UK.. and the Nigerian music

Black Belle said...

She isn't being tribalistic.. she is just surprised a nigerian language is becoming so important to their police

London is now called the 38th State of Naija. It is just an upmarket version of Lagos. Name who is who in Naija and you can meet them freely on the buses/shops. Most Asian shop keepers now greet you in Yoruba, the met police is catching up. Diversity in action! Most Hospitals, Barclays Banks, Job Centres translate also. London is an extension of Lagos.

Issokay nah, kosi wahala. Linda take note!

2009. Fuck. I had entered a bus without tapping oyster (no. 25 bendy bus). Stupid me. Instead of beign alert o was playing with my dslr. Checker get on d bus nd i got caught. No biggie ba? I was sure i wasnt gonna pay that fine so i lied about my name. They wrote the ticket and i was about to be on my way. Until a police officer walked up to me and asked where i am from, i replied; Nigeria . He calmly said I gave wrong name ( I remixed my name). He casually bundled me to d station where I spent the night.

I know I was wrong sha, it won't have cost me anything to pay the fare or the fine.

FYI THEY NEED YOURBA SPEAKING PEOPLE TO CATCH UP WITH THEM.... YOURBAS R D ONES COMMITTING CRIMES UP N DOWN IN UK. MENH THOSE PEOPLE ARE LOUD TURN WOOLWICH TO LAGOS... PECKHAM TO ONDON..... ME I FEAR THOSE PPL. NO HATE AM MARRIED TO 1. U NEED TO C HOW LOUD THEY R WEN THEY R TOGTHER U GO THINK SAY NA WAR.

Is only Yoruba language on the list? I don't know why some people don't know how to use their brain just because of hatred you are becomeing brainless

As in ehn...lol

It's just track down yoruba fraudsters in UK.

It's just to track down Yoruba fraudsters in UK.

Gabby said...

Yoruba people have turned the place to Ibadan na. Yoruba is now a necessary language..

BEHIND THE MASK

Lmao

Kaiser said...

Need I say more......

kay said...

Before... nah yoruba people get UK nah... nah dem full there... buh believe me if it were to be China, Italy or dubai. . My igbo language wud be required!

DeVita said...

It's not difficult to figure out why Yoruba was included.. Majority of Nigerian criminals in London are Yorubas..and can barely speak English.

I would say he is high on emu oguro but you know potato potarto

People really don't understand the motive behind the move, all the other languages beside English are languages considered high on crime. So knowledge of them will help bring down crime. Yoruba people, una try ooo

See how igbo people dey envy yoruba because their language was not recognize in uk!!!.....Yoruba will always come first...Lagos state of mind!

That Girl said...

Don't you know Yoruba was included because there are many Yoruba fraudsters and killers in London? They want officers that understand the languages mostly used by men of the underworld. You understand?

@ wilheminna, Sowi o. It will soon be the turn u igbos. Tribalistic bigot like u

Keep hating n see how much u get paid thereafter

PURPLE said...

Shots fired!!

PURPLE said...

I'm not yoruba but u gatta agree, its d sweetest language in Nigeria! So yoruba all d way! Hehe

PURPLE said...

Shots fired!!

Too many haters on lib. Most of you dont even own a passport lol. Stupid mofos

Willie. I know you are not well traveled. It is not an insult. It shows in your interventions. Fact is: English is an official language only in the UK in the whole of Europe. Germans speak German. French speak French. Ditto for Spaniards, Greeks, Italians et al speaking their languages. Yorubas speak Yoruba everywhere they are both within and outside Nigeria. Not meaning to be rude but Igbos even in Lagos pretend not to understand Igbo. They think it is an inferior language. It is not a crime to be proud of your language. Policing includes understanding ethnic minorities.

What a bunch of self deluded fools. Smh.

So it us not a slap in the face of Hausa, Ashanti, Swahili etc? Your deranged Igbo paranoia is laughable. Please leave us out of your petty and pointless gloating.

Most civilised tribe in Africa? Of course, more civilised than the Egyptians etc? You think being vain, extravagant, arrogant and showy equates to bring civilised?

Besides, this dual language requirement by the Metropolitan Police is a ONE MONTH TRIAL PILOT SCHEME. And by the way, the highest ranked black police officer in the UK is an IGBO man!

I am not surprised at all at this development. What do you expect? The yorubas earned the recognition in London by their been law abiding and been the largest African tribe in UK. They lived in harmony with the British and ensure education is priority. I was not surprised when a Yoruba man bought Gatwick Airport. For those of you who do not know they have taken over Dubai already with their honesty and integrity. Go to the gold soup market you will hear the Arabs speak yoruba to you. I wish other African tribes like my own Ghana tribes can emulate this great people. We other Africans know the Ibos are the problem of Africa with their love of money already that's why they form majority of criminals in Ghana prisons.

Cos they know I guys r iliterates and retards. Lmao

If it is true that Yoruba language was included as a second language because they are considered for negative purpose, then all the other languages too are guilty of same. Why is it so difficult for the Igbo brethren to see anything good from other tribes or languages?, why are the igbo so filled up with hatred? why are the igbo people so destructive in their criticism?Why do the igbo people have this bring them down syndrome?I am not surprise anyway, even within themselves too, they do discriminate! a confused race! an error nation! a mistakenly conceive tribe!!!

Zukk3i said...

All you people that are happy with Yoruba being on that list are not thinking of the implications. It means that the Yorubas are now notorious for crime and are now targeted by the police. And you people are jubilating. I pray that no other Nigerian language gets on that list. Looooool.

Can see your pain, but no igbo person made you a frustrated soul, die with your bile, idiot

several CCTV footage have been able ,over a considerable length of time, associated the sound of Yoruba language in the street of London and crime.
I still believe if London police should also add Igbo and Benin language,then crime might have been nip from the bud.
However,since its impossible to speak Yoruba language QUIETLY,even when crime is involve,then their language have to be added first,not as part of official language,but as a strong tool to fight crime. Please Igbos were not part of that decision.

Yorubas in London can't speak good English. No shade. Just look at the list of languages. Most people who speak those languages have English as their second or even third language.
To even suggest that a Yoruba person is inherently civilised is a joke. Their prefered living conditions and the FACT that as a tribe they do not wipe their anuses after defecating is testament to their uncivilised state.

Chop knuckle,my sister!

Shoroniyen?

Ode..yoruba lo type yi now..lol

hehehe so much hatred filled comments...sha ko ni change fact wipe YORUBA was at the top of the list!!!!! *tongue out* to the haters o...n tribalistic people who keep insulting

Yoruba haters plenty for this blog ooooo chai.....I can't deal. So that means other languages listed are also fraudulent in the UK? Mind you Yoruba is one of the most popular languages you hear in the UK hence its inclusion. I was on my way out of ASDA one sunny afternoon in a hurry and one white guy was trying to sell SKY TV package to me, I hurriedly brushed him aside, the guy shouted after me "shoti jeun laro yi" which means have you eaten this morning? Trust it had an effect on me as I halted my steps and retraced it back to the guy and he further engaged me in Yoruba language. I asked if he'd been to naija before and he said nope but that he has lots of naija guys as friends.
Once oyinbos see any black man, d assumption is the person must be a Yoruba man.

The other time, we were disembarking from a Virgin Atlantic flight into London and all the oyinbo crews were greeting the passengers "ese pupo, odabo'' and one ethnic Ibo bigot had d audacity to shout on the crew that he's not Yoruba and that Nigeria has over 300 languages, I felt like slapping his mouth for making a mockery of the crew's effort cos in my mind I felt like if your obscured language was that important, it would have been given the recognition he thought it deserved

Nigerians and tribalistic thinking.

Totally agree.
U r the greatest of the Anonymouses. As Yeye as they b, they r all celebrating about this.
Like sometime ago, it was said that Awo was 'the greatest president Nigeria never had'. the entire mgbati hit the streets dancing & celebrating about this cynical commentary, including their professors. They can b so dumb.