MEND meeting not to restart hostilities in the Niger Delta - Tompolo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 24 July 2015

MEND meeting not to restart hostilities in the Niger Delta - Tompolo

The leader of the Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND), Chief Government Ekpemupolo (aka Tompolo) says the Saturday July 25th meeting of the militant group in Yenagoa, Bayelsa state is  not in any way meant to restart hostilities in the Niger Delta. The ex militant clarified this in a statement he released today. The statement below...
"I am compelled to clarify issues as they relate to the meeting of the leadership of ex-agitators under the platform of MEND and other organisations summoned at my instance. The tension generated by the meeting is uncalled for, diversionary and mischievous as no evil is intended in whatever form. The nation would recall that in the build up to the Amnesty offer of the late president, Alhaji Umaru Musa Yar’Adua, there was hesitance on the part of most of Niger Delta agitators until God in His infinite mercy, granted me wisdom to provide leadership. The nation will also recall that under the Amnesty programme as inherited by the immediate past president, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, relative peace was enjoyed even as security of lives and property was enhanced to an appreciable level. Also, oil production increased from 700,000 barrels per day to 2.5million barrels per day. Put simply, hitherto aggrieved Niger-Delta youths who inadvertently became agitators, upon the acceptance of the Amnesty offer, refrained from armed agitation to face normal urban life. While some of us understand to an extent, the apparent delay in the continued payment of the monthly stipend to the ex-agitators in view of the seeming scrutiny of government agencies, including the Amnesty Office by the current administration, same cannot be said of the majority of beneficiaries of the Amnesty programme. To this extent, some of us, particularly myself and other leaders have been under intense pressure from ex-agitators commanders, individuals, parents and guardians as well as communities who are beneficiaries of the Amnesty programme. While a few see the delay in the payment of their monthly stipends in the light of the need for the current government to settle in properly, others see the delay as a template to stop the programme. The expulsion of some students (home and overseas) by their schools and training institutions particularly has heightened these fears. Hence, I thought it wise that a meeting of the collegiate leadership of the platform under which we operated as agitators could be convened to appraise the situation and possibly, explore means to douse the tension that is growing among the disarmed youths whose stipends (training allowances and tuition fees) have been delayed for months. This becomes more compelling in view of the fact that as leaders of the platform that served as midwife to the Amnesty offer, we owe the nation a duty to play our roles in order to stem a relapse of the relative peace in the Niger Delta Region,” he said.

47 comments:

Thank God o

lami said...

Good. All we want is peace and development.

Linda mbok kuyaresit, when tompolo begin speak this kind English with many grammer?

Well said... we hope there are no ulterior motives.

Well said...

This man should go rest abeg....

If you restart hostilities, you may be consumed. Beware !

It better not be.. We need peace at this point. Am tired of killing and shedding of innocent blood..

It better not be.. We need peace at this point. Am tired of all these killing and shedding of innocent blood..

Ok, I really hope so

Good to know....

Even if it is to restart d hostility to niger deltans how does affect malam nd his cohorts? Tompolo ride on wt ur meeting jareh.

Sorry, but I don't like this guy.

Etsako Pearl said...

Who cares??
Abeggi shift make i see road mbok!

Coward lol

Idiot.
Thought Jonathan said that MEND is a Fiction.
When will all the poor folks in that Region Grow up?
What have ur leaders really done with the extra allocations in the name of NNDC, 13% Derivation and Ministry of Niger Delta?
These GREEDY Fucks are only after their PERSONAL Interest.
My People, WISE up pls.

Well said

andre kelvin said...

Abegi

ONYI P.K. said...

Good thinking begets a high degree of reasonableness. Some good points in my opinion have been expressed here and it behooves the relevant FGN authorities to react and proffer clarifications where necessary especially with respect to delayed payment of stipends. The child that has been driven away for non-payment of school fees cannot be asked why he/she is not in school. Let us harmonize our positions for the good of all.

Thanks, u better advice them well to understand n work with government if not they are d cause of underdevelopment in ur area cos no body will risk the life under hostility and unprotected environment.

Ok i am watching, infact PMB, should scraps the amnesty self.

Ladun Liadi said...

Are you a woman in Abuja looking for a confidential tryst, one night stand or even the odd roadside quickie?
Hit me up at lawrencefrederick120@gmail.com.
You'll be free to indulge your fantasies with me.
100% CONFIDENTIAL!!!

Well thats what is expected of you tho,anything thats beyond that its a threath to national security!

If the amnesty program is no longer sustainable due to current harsh economic realities in the country, MEND its affiliates has to bear with the federal government. Atleast they can see how our leaders have exemplarily slashed their salaries significantly in face of the economic situation in today Nigeria. The government should however find a way to enable those beneficiaries who are already in institutions of training complete their courses even if it means with slashed bursary allowances. Other affordable programs can be set up in lieu of the amnesty program. This should be fair enough.

mn. nawah oooh.

Better, dey v 2 take it easy o, @least dey r nt deaf, civil servants dat r working day n nyt r yet 2 b paid nt 2 talk of dem dat r doing notin 4 d govt.

Make dem try am nah, na body go tell dem. Linda take note!

Mihearty said...

Ok good because we are still suffering from boko wahala so you people should not just start

Good. Better be so

Bitch

The fear of Buhari...making everyone sit up! Well said Tompolo. Asari Dokubo please take a cue and stop being childish with your "empty threats".

I know who you are. Lol! Keep hating ashewo oshi.

You are just a fool honestly. They called a meeting because buhari has not paid. You just guess what they would do if he stop the amnesty. The fear of buhari my foot.

@Anon9:30 Keep fooling urself. Buratai takes no prisoner of war. He was strategically chosen to crush rebellion from any part of Nigeria. Rebellion never worked with Ojukwu and Biafra and will never work with any militia group from any region. Don't let BH issue deceive U. Grievances can only be constructively resolved through dialogue, especially in a democratic dispensation not by rebellion or military face-off.

african kamajor said...

If you people think this new struggle will be easy for nigeria,you must be sleeping.if the amnesty programme is stopped, believe me,nigeria will not produce more than 500,000 barrels a day.tompolo is on the right part because if he doesn't call his people to calm fray nerves, the young once might start their nefarious acts.nigerian army can't withstand two battles same time.federal government, be wise.the chickens are coming home to roost soon.

Tompolo please just be a good guy that you've always been, the country has soo much on it's hand

Abeg lets hear word. Real workers have not been paid in months before Jonathan handed over which means that under his regime, a lot of state governors made mincemeat of workers salaries but those workers who have the sole rights to protest are still calm then just because they have withheld what you called stipend to people whose sole aim is to hold the country to ransom, and you are holding emergency meeting. We have not forgotten students from your area on scholarship abroad crying out that they have been abandoned and that was in Jonas regime o. Nigeria is not for you people alone o, a lot of people are going through hardship caused by past regimes so do not begin to look for excuse now to disrupt things with the excuse that the government is which hunting anybody or group of ppl.

Come o, are you a male ashe abi Wetin?

Which one dey get you like this? Are you one of them people that are taking salary for not working?

IykMezu said...

That is a good move

He possibly had someone write his speech, I guess he can afford that naaaaa, plus most top officials including presidents have people write their speeches

@ African Kamajor U are wrong to think the federal armed forces is that weak becuz of the BH issue which was largely compromised by the corrupt military officers that worked with previous administration.

" if you restart hostilities, you may be consumed. Beware!" Yes but hostilities will ground Nigeria. Don't forget what followed the"consumption" of Ken Saro Wiwa. No oil exploration in Ogoni till today. Be warned!