Dear LIB readers; How do you cancel a wedding you've already paid for? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 12 November 2013

Dear LIB readers; How do you cancel a wedding you've already paid for?

From a male LIB reader
I'm not asking if I should cancel my wedding because that has been decided I am only asking how do you go about canceling it and letting invited guests know that this wedding will no longer hold. My ex-fiancee's friends have already paid for the aso-ebi, the wedding invitation has been printed, the hall for the reception booked but there will be no wedding. My wedding was supposed to hold this December but I'd rather commit suicide than marry this woman. I won't go into details about what she did but understand that no man cancels his wedding except it's serious. My parents have been informed about the new development but her parents are yet to be informed. She has refused to tell them, insisting that I do it since I canceled the wedding. But her parents are the least of my worries. How do I tell excited family members, friends and colleagues that this wedding will no longer hold? Where do I start?

318 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 318 of 318

Send them text first, switch off ur phone for a while cos you'll have a lot of explaining to do then meet them later on and tell them about it. Your parents should be able to tell ur family members.

1st anon is on point

What makes you think she's not glad to call of the wedding too? If u must know she's also releived. You cheat. Chat and clear

txt mgs

Nina said...

U no wan explain d cause of the problem how u want make we give u advice,eh Linda abeg another gist. If u wan call am short send bulk Sms,everyone understands.

ojimsclaxic said...

U̶̲̥̅̊ ĵust can't wake up one mornin and tell families nd friends dat ur weddn has bn cancelled wifout letn dem knw some of d reasns if nt all....all 'm sayn is U̶̲̥̅̊ let dem knw some of ur reasns  guess it would b easier 4u..10x

I know u who want to marry a two minute noodles like u,u aint a man u shud seek help instead of acting like all is well with u, she has moved on, imbercile

I guess you should send an SMS using your phone.

Okay...this is difficult but necessary ..
You should just send a very polite email or SMS to ur friends and family abou the change of plans ,not necessarily going into details as some things are better left unsaid and private..
Everybody goes through difficult times ,I'm sure they'll understand...

The same way you sent them invitation, just send them an uninvite

Rosie Said....Just the same way you announced the the date,de-announce it or better still,say it with your head on floor and your two legs swinging in the air.

Call Lady V @dream 925fm and she will help out, do dat 2day coz 2day is a nite of secret

My dear, here is my number just call me and I'll gladly replace her. Waiting

Hello, well my advice - JUST TELL THEM. My wedding, traditional and white, were scheduled for February and April respectively. One thing led to another and it was cancelled a few days to the trad. How? I resent text messages to "people who I knew for a fact will attend", apologising and craving their indulgence. So, since urs was to hold in December and u are certain u wanna back out, send the messages now and word will spread. Trust me, this kinda news spreads like will fire. Its a difficult road, but one must be sure. All the best.

Guy u funny oh!

The President said...

Just don't show up on the wedding day. #OKBye

A cancelled wedding is the most painful thing ever and its very difficult to get over. U don't owe any1 except family and very close friends an explanation. U can get some money from the reception hall bcos they won't pay in full. U can send text messages saying due to certain circumstances, u had to postpone the wedding to a later date. Then for those who haven't sewed their aso-ebi can get their money refunded. U don't need to go into details about what happened 2 every1 bcos most people are there to mock u. I understand how u feel cos I've been down that road too. Like they say a broken relationship is better than a broken marriage. Goodluck

D lord is ur strength...ds is so sensitive!..send bulk sms dts d cheapest way 2 tell dem..its well wt u o!

Ehyaaa...this must b very hard 4 u. U need 2 call 4 a meeting with close family members,esp ha family n discuss d issue..at least u owe them d honour. Then send bulk SMS msgs 2 friends n colleagues.
~AKWA IBOM'S FINEST~

Just send bulk sms,do media broadcasting,(newspaper,radio,etc)call the girls parents.

TELL THEM THE TRUTH. JUST LIKE ME IN THE MONTH OF APRIL, WAS MEANT TO GET MARRIED BUT I HAD TO MOVE IT FORWARD BECAUSE OF SOME PERTINENT ISSUES.
TELL THE TRUTH, SHAME THE DEVIL.
THE TRUTH SETS YOU FREE

BBM broadcast and mention that the recipients pass it on....such news travel faster

Just tell them, better to have a broken engagement than a broken marriage.

Aw did dey get to knw u're having ur wedding? U told dm. Same way to tell dm u're nt again. It's dt simple. It's ur life n u've got be to unapologetic wn it comes to certain issues of life. Wish u well.

Gen.shun said...

I've nt had a gd laff tday.

Gen.shun said...

I've nt had a gd laff tday.

Gen.shun said...

Lwkmd.

Princess Dee said...

Cancel the wedding pls instead of committing suicide.Speak with a large number of ple u think u can reach.You're lucky u've not tied the knots yet!

It's better you made up your mind now than be sorry later...just call them and say 'NO MORE WEDDING'!!!

End of story!!!!

D earlier d better,do not wait until it's too later since U̶̲̥̅̊'ve already made d decision.

Heartbreak hotel

Lmao....go on air

post it on your Facebook, twitter and all the social media!
Also go to church so the pastor will announce it!
yeye dey smell!!!
buhahaha!!!

Y u nor tell us d reason sef,abegy,I nor go advice u jor,only God knws if u want 2 break d gurls hrt 4 no jst cause dats y u dnt want2 tel us d rizn so we wunt criticize u,bt linda u funy o,see d animatn u made 4 d broken weddin,lolz,so funy

Since your family member knows already wat happened ur family will be d1 to look for a way to call d friends from dere side dey av invited dat d wedding as bein cancelled for nw due to some circumstances & u will call your friends that it is no more possible. Dey will ask u y & talk to u dat are u in your right senses bt u must be bold enough to tel dem is cancelled. A broken relationship is better dan a broken marriage so allow d babe tel her parent & if she refuse to tel her parent she will be the one to face the shame from her relatives & friend dat come dat day.

dee! said...

It's not my intention to trivialize this issue, but your comment had me ROTFL...bulk sms?

BULK SMS WILL DO D JOB,AS FOR UR PARENTS INLAW,TAKE UR EX ALONG TO THEM,D SAME WAY U WENT TO TELL THEM U WANT TO MARRY HER,THEY DESERVE D HONOUR AND RESPECT,(NO BE THEM OFFEND U) BUT SURE OF UR DECISION AND ONCE U DO,NO GOING BACK.

Boma said...

Guy,the toughest decision u pulled off was canceling the wedding,so informing the invitees in earnest shouldn't pose any problem.

Thesame way you told them all.I'm sorry about this,I can't say I know how you feel now,I can only imagine.Be strong.LatinoPINKY

Just let D cat out of D bag. Cos marriage is btw two people dat will become one as God stated in d Bible and even ur frds and family's won't be in D marriage with u two dey will only come for d wedding.

Aww..

Idiot

Same way u told them about d wedding, I guess. I don't know what u saw, but I'd say, better a broken engagement than a marriage.

Just do it. Ços there's no way 2 sugarcoat this one... cancel d hall & other things that can b canceled sharp sharp so u can get some refund.
no sentiments

You catch her with another man fucking her abi? She isn't a virgin when you meet her either. So go with your wedding - shit happens.

prettyJ said...

must u cancel it,if yes den simply tell friends due to circumstances beyond ur control,dis weding is d4 called off period.

whitefalcon said...

My dear,I can understand your plight but it is better now than never but first pray about it and visit your pastor for proper direction.

So sad abt that..

@bulk sms...*gbam gud one.. @go on air, newspapers, social media, etc.... Nawa 4 u oo... na everything be play 4 ur side... mtcheeeeeew..

So he shd die na abi? It cud be d best for the lady too.. so, stop being sentimental. Kmt

You have posed a really sensible reply. I hope the guy takes this one.

See this stupid mumu. So u would see a pit and fall into it. For guy who, on his own ,decided to marry someone and later decided to cancel it, u think he doesn't know what he's doing? Forgiving someone doesn't mean being stupid. Btw, he hasn't even started anything. Ode oshi @Stephluvly

What if the reason is more than just being a "runs" girl?

he doesnt need to tell the story. He doesnt need ur opinion as to whether to cancel or not. His mind is made up on that already. He just needs advice on how to do it.

Your advice would have made some sense but from the msg above, it is clear that the lady is unrepentant. The guy may forgive her, but marrying her may and would not be a good idea.

You are clearly immature. Such a big decision to be taken and all u care about is "embarrassment" to ppl who are probably only going to make side comments abt the issue and then forget it completely? And this guy is the one who is gonna marry the girl. Or u think marriage is sth that is done over and over again? nawao. Check your head.

@Omalicha: will the 'new date' ever come?

You must be really dumb. The guy probably made a lot of considerations before deciding to stop the marriage and all u can say is "rubbish"? pls be considerate. If he decided to marry her and later decided not to, he must have his reasons.

1stly,u have to forgive her...pray about it.... n if at d end of d day,u realise dat dis is wot u must do,then,u'l have to end it d way u strtd it....d way u went to meet her parents to ask her hand in marriage,is d same way u'l have to tell them ur calling it off..make sure u go wit elders...after uv told d parents,d nxt step will come after......

I'm a woman, but permit me to say that you are very mad and sick in the brain for that comment.

fresh swag said...

I ve been wondering wat dis babe did dat is un4givable.... I ve not heard frm rough diamond & her husband ejike... Biko udo adikwa ?

Thirty one years ago I cancelled a wedding also meant to take place in December. Wedding invitations were printed. The hall was booked. Cake paid for. Friends had bought the Aso ebi. Introduction of family members had taken place.So I know what you feel like. No need to go into details with anyone. You'll just whip up unnecessary rumours about yourself. Do what I did. It worked for me. I just told everyone who asked that the wedding had been post-phoned to the following year, that I needed time to settle my job. (Cant feed a wife on nothing). And so it was. Till today. I am happily married to someone else today. I have grandchildren. And I'm thanking God everyday of my life that I had the courage to call off that wedding thirty one years ago!. And I thank God for my wonderful parents who gave me cover that period-in spite of the fact that they were very disappointed.

Good luck.

If u know hw u invited them than do d same again. Sms will go better if u hv their numbers.

chitastruth.wordpress.com said...

Ol boy see GOBE! the truth of the matter is that this is the most comical article in terms of comments that I have read on this blog. Oga over to you, call your family members and break the news, take the same set to your ex's parents and settle that as well. Buy a cheap vacation as I can feel the impact of the wedding plans on your accnt to get your self back and avoid the calls. I bet you bad news spreads faster than spilled kerosene. meanyl I strongly know calling it off is the best decision cos its better than going into what you didnt bargain for. Check out chitastruth.wordpress.com for the truth of the matter.

Her parent shldnt be the least of ur worries oga... Tink of how to tell her parent bcus they go chop u raw nd I hope they don't hate u for it tho. Just probably send ur guest msgs that the wedding is been called off. Moral lesson: abeg, find out well abt whoever u want to get married to before u do. See as u just waste money go. Sorry pal.

Like serious what on earth have she done,that you can not forgive,if u are in her shoes and u were caught doing that same thing you will expect the lady to forgive you.really don't know what wrong wit this africa mentality.... First time to comment.

anonymous7:53 na she be the woman. He has just dump her ass.

Send SMS and email stating the wedding has been postponed till further notice, call vendors asap so you can get at least 2/3 of your money back. Once you tell 5 friends and family and 1 workmate, it will spread and you will just confirm same. I do hope you do not disclose what ever the lady as done. Make your peace, take a break away and get on with life. I wish you the very best of luck. It may seem tough now but it will end in praise.

If you think her parents are the least of your worries and you do not have the decency and respect to tell them honorably then I think this girl is better off with someone else that an irresponsible fool like you......if you really loved her and had respect don't you think u will do the honorable thing? It shows you have no respect for your seniors and for nobody.....you went to their hand to ask for their daughter if you are no longer interested y not go back and tell them your reasons? Nobody can force you to marry and they cannot kill you but if you are not man enough to tell them then you don't deserve respect.....then if you are canceling the wedding cos you saw her with another man it's fine only if you have never cheated before......cheating is not a male birthright........

IT MUST BE THAT BAD.I WONDER UR
REASONS...

Derah O said...

I agree with anon 3.30pm... He/she said it all... My only addition wud be for u to use ur honeymoon destination if it's already booked n paid for as a place to go n chill n decide wot next to do.... U can switch from a honeymoon suite to a normal ocean view suite n jno I d moment before u return to reality n dance to d tune of d drums... N beliv me... U ll b fine

LMFAO see these tatafo LIB people telling him he must divulge the reason first. Bulk SMS saying you do not wish to go into details but it's been cancelled, you're very sorry and thank you.

So it's here you came to for advise? You cant man up enough and face your issues you lily-livered one-minute man mschewwwww. Just like I told you, the ball is in your court,you have to tell my parents.

Best Answer!

if its what i'm thinking you are being nice self
a groom actually went ahead wt d wedding, when it was time to make d toast d guy busted everyones bubbles
forks,knives were dropping like Brazilian weaves
bride fainted, parents in law hurried out n shame
she shd count herself lucky

If u can just tell 3 amebos like Stella, Linda and Ladun in ur family, the whole world would hear.

Lolz.... Like seriously this same issh, jst happened 3days ago to my cousin after the clothes nd IV had been sent nd paid for plus de event Center running into several millions... The crazy guy 3days to de weeding this week said he saw a vision nd the wedding can't hold. When people had booked their flight ticket.."errhhhhh" chai god saved him he doesn't pick up calls if not he wud hear de story of his life bastard scame.

Just inform them that the wedding has bn postponed, easiest way out and no need to answer plenty questions

Woman go see you run o!

beautiful blackmail.

Are u for real?u don't care what even happened?like Criously?*confused face*
U are a punk ass coward!gtfoh!

Queen Bee said...

Lol!roflmao!
Hahahahaha
So many psychopaths on Linda's blog.
this blog and the sometimes non compos mentis commentators will always make me roll on the floor laughing!
@poster this is the perfect advise

Amebo

Do u know his story?!

U dnt even know wat hppnd and here u are spitting out nonsense abt men. Nonsense!

@ fikky, there is no English words like thirdly or. Foutly. You make use of 'furthermore and moreover.

I think have got some answers to my question. I thank you all. //hugs//

Be honest. You can plan for another party such as your parents anniversary or turn it into a birthday celebration or charity fund raiser. These days people are very understanding and would rather see you cancel a wedding not meant than to see another messy divorce.

Chop Chop said...

wetin she do?

haha. funny lads, cancelling the wedding shouldnt be an issue. its very simple. itld be sorted as other normal issues when the time comes. my brother deji just take heart o.

ndi uwa

you will jump and pass. u will be happy. no long tin.

- Arsene Wenger.

twitter?

Olodo. Why didn't u say women are just too wicked. Didn't u see the guy is pained in doing this? Who calls off wedding a month before if there's no cogent reason?

Pray to God for wisdom! U need it

Lmaooo 😂

MissVee said...

Correct! I too like dis reply. Shey na u call am off, tell her parents. I wonder if u even have respect for her parents, for u to have said they r d least of ur worries. U Neva c anytin.

janetfashionsandstyles said...

tell them the wedding has posponed till further notice

Bro, just do it if you think its the last option. Family and friends will not kill you; they will only hear and later believe when the date has passed. God be with you.

Jus send a bulk sms about Canceling d wedding,dt was how mine was cancelled and make sure ur fone is off for sometime,u can get a new sim card and use for some time just to keep in touch with some pple, til u get over it.I've been there and done that......

@PEALIE: i expect you to have the maturity to respect people's decisions cos u i doubt if u are even in a serious relationship let alone plan to get married anytime soon. According to the story, the lady in question actually does know about this and consents to it. obviously she must have erred seriosly which the 'storyteller' decided to save rather than tell. So please before you condemn people, make sure ur future is secured. If you know things girls do in Nigeria.... sometimes getting married scares me! #Joshe El-Mero

Tell family members and close friends personally, send text messages and emails to others. If you do not feel up to the task of answering questions that will arise, travel out for a while till everything dies down

dinky said...

I have witnessed one before. The Wedding ceremony held, but the Marriage did not hold. Not everyone was aware that the parties were no longer interested in getting Married. since the hall had already been booked, musician and caterer's paid, people came on d appointed date, ate and danced, but there was no bride and groom.

hmmmmn.....dis is really disastrous

Print an I.v stating cancellation of wedding. And send to all dat got the previous I.v apologising for the inconveniences and u wud refund what dey paid for aso ebi

sdk's first lady said...

Exceptional comment!!!

AMEBO, the reason for cancelation is irrelevant here marriage is not a do or die affair. The question is very straight forward.

Auntie, haven't you heard this saying that broken engagement is better than broken marriage? It's good he ended it now.

U seem to claim she did something very wrong .... then why are you worried about telling her Parents ??? Tell her parents what she did jare but dont go there alone U shld take three of your family members, siblings or cousins with you

Look at u! Pretending to marry someone u can't live with? What do u think marriage is sef ? Pls use ur head here! He should divorce her after 2 weeks so her family won't be mad? U r very wise

SIMPLYCOCK said...

No be for my mouth you go hear how to go about calling off your wedding....
You have made up your mind...
I respect your gut feeling...
Do it your way...

D guy dat posted dis mail is my fiance's friend his anger was dat he caught his wife to be wit her school daughter practising superipe-- @ their bed.com.ng

i have witnessed such.we got text messages inviting us for a wedding and just 2 weeks before the wedding we got another stating that wedding have been postponed and new date will be communicated. that was almost a year ago and till date we are still waiting for the new date. my advice? borrow that style lol

kidnap the bride *wedding automatically is called off*

(twitter/instagram)

Shut up! Do u knw wat the bitch did?

Hear ur self!

SMSexperience said...

This is so unfortunate. The easiest and cheapest way is to send bulk sms, then switch off your phone.
Switch on after 2 weeks and try not to explain to everyone.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 318 of 318   Newer› Newest»