Former Borno Governor Ali Modu Sheriff buys most expensive jet for N11.5b | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 15 November 2013

Former Borno Governor Ali Modu Sheriff buys most expensive jet for N11.5b

According to a report by Encomium magazine, former Borno State Governor, Senator Ali Modu Sherriff has toppled Bishop David Oyedepo as the owner of the largest fleet of private jets in Nigeria with the acquisition of a new jet valued at N11.5 billion.

Encomium reports
Former Borno State governor, Senator Ali Modu Sheriff has topped the chart of top 10 private jet owners in Nigeria with the acquisition of a brand new Gulfstream G650 model worth about $72 million (N11.5 billion). Encomium Weekly’s check revealed that it’s the most expensive private jet among wealthy Nigerians who are privileged to have these expensive toys. The latest acquisition brings to four planes in his fleet.
We gathered that the aircraft, which was registered in Dubai with special specifications, is the fourth in his fleet, as the former governor already has three old Dornier aircraft which he acquired from Aero Contractors at an estimated $3 million (N480 million).
According to our source, a Dornier aircraft is used for charter services as Sheriff recently obtained an Air Operator Certificate (AOC) from the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) for his airline, Skybird. But a source said the Gulfstream was acquired for Sheriff’s personal use.

An operator who is aware of the purchase described the aircraft as top of the range, adding that it was unlikely that the former governor would deploy it for commercial service.

A Nigerian pilot and chief executive officer of an airline that provides charter services, said by registering the aircraft overseas, Sheriff had denied Nigeria taxes and import duty on the aircraft.
He added that no Nigerian pilot or engineer would be employed to operate or work on the aircraft because with the foreign registration, only pilots and engineers licensed in the United Arab Emirates would be authorised to operate and service the aircraft.

“By registering the aircraft overseas, he has avoided tax and import duty, which he should pay to a country where he is a citizen and from which he made the money which he now spends on a foreign crew,” he said.
The source also explained that Sheriff would also be paying overseas facility managers for the maintenance of the aircraft and would also pay charges to the company under which the aircraft was registered overseas.

The main price of the aircraft is $65 million but other charges could have raised it to $72 million, and according to US-based Forbes magazine, the Gulfstream G650 has an order book of 200 customers throughout the world.

“A $65 million price tag doesn’t seem to detract from the fascination with this incredible airplane. While the rest of the business aviation industry is battling the depressed economy, there seems to be a buoyant market in the US and abroad for this ultra-high-priced, high-performance jet.
“And why not? With a top speed of 92 per cent of the speed of sound (arguably the fastest civilian jet in the world), room for a basketball team, 8,000-statute-mile range and some of the most sophisticated avionics rivalling nearly anything in the sky, this airplane is perfect for doing business on a global scale.

“Because of its superlatives, including price, however, it also appeals greatly to the ‘if you’ve got it, flaunt it’ crowd,” Forbes said on its Brand Voice website.
Gulfstream described the aircraft as ultra-high-speed, ultra-long-range business jet and the gold standard in business aviation.

The model was introduced in 2008 with a capacity for eight passengers and a crew of four on nonstop legs of 7,000 nautical miles (12,964 km) for standard configuration.

“That means it will link Dubai with New York and London with Buenos Aires. With its powerful Rolls-Royce BR725 engines, the G650 will cover shorter distances at a speed of Mach 0.925. No traditional business jet will take you closer to the speed of sound,” Gulfstream said on its website.
The Gulfstream G650 was formally launched as an internal company project in May 2005, and publicly unveiled on March 13, 2008. At the public announcement occasion, company executives stated the new model would become Gulfstream’s largest, fastest and most expensive business jet on entry to the market.

The G650 has a cruise speed of Mach 0.85 to 0.90, with maximum speed of Mach 0.925 and a range of up to 7,000nmi (13,000 km). It can be equipped with a full kitchen and bar and may be equipped with a variety of entertainment features including satellite phones and wireless Internet.
The jet use two Rolls Royce BR725 engines, each producing a maximum thrust of 17,000 pounds-force (75.6 kN). Gulfstream states that with a weight of less than 100,000 pounds (45,360 kg), it is able to land at small airports avoiding the busy airports around the world.

To provide better usage of the internal volume, Gulfstream designers rejected the usual circular fuselage cross-section in favor of an oval which uses a flatter lower portion. The cabin is 8 feet 6 inches (2.59 m) wide and 6 feet 5 inches (1.96 m) high. The fuselage is of metal construction and composite construction is used for empennage, winglets, rear pressure bulkhead, engine cowlings, cabin floor structure and many fairings. The eight oval cabin windows on each side of the fuselage are 28 inches (71 cm) wide. The wing uses greater sweep (36 degrees) than previous Gulfstream aircraft (for example, the G550 wing has 27 degrees of sweep). It does not use leading-edge high-lift devices, and tracks for rear-mounted flaps are completely enclosed within the airfoil contour. The wing’s leading edge is a continuously-changing curve, and the airfoil varies continuously from root to tip (the tip incorporates winglets).

The aircraft controls are completely fly-by-wire, with no mechanical control between pilot and flight surfaces. The surfaces are moved by dual hydraulic systems. More airliners today are using fly-by-wire, but only one other current business jet (the Dassault Falcon 7X) is so equipped.
The G650 shares its yokes and column with the G550 in an effort to receive a common type rating. The wing design was completed in 2006. A total of 1,400 hours of wind tunnel testing was completed by 2008. A pressure-test fuselage was built and tested, including an ultimate-pressure test of 18.37 psi.

The G650 taxied under its own power for the first time on September 26, 2009.  A public rollout ceremony was later held on September 29, 2009. The G650 had its maiden flight on November 25, 2009.

Flight testing for the maximum operating speed of Mach 0.925 was announced as completed on May 4, 2010.Gulfstream reported on August 26, 2010 that the G650 hit a maximum speed of Mach 0.995 during a dive as part of its 1,800-hour flight test programme. In April 2011, a G650 crashed during flight testing. The G650 test aircraft were grounded until May 28, 2011, when the remaining test aircraft were allowed to return to flight testing. On September 7, 2012, the G650 received its type certificate from the US Federal Aviation Administration (FAA). Its first delivery was to an American customer named Preston Henn on December 27, 2012.

The former governor, who is also the chairman of opposition All Progressives Congress, APC. Board of Trustees hides in Atlanta, Georgia, USA, because Boko Haram boys want his head. SAS is also wanted by the Borno Civilian JTF who recently burned his partner, Mala Othman’s house and got him arrested.

Thus, findings by ENCOMIUM Weekly revealed that the new top 10 private jet owners in Nigeria are:

Name                                             No of Jets                      Types
1.             Senator Ali Sherriff                       4                       Gulfstream G650, 3 Dornier
2.             Bishop Oyedepo                             4                       Gulfstream G550, VG450, Bombardier 604
3.             Alhaji Dangote                                2                        Bombardier Express, Global
4.             Dr. Mike Adenuga                          2                         Falcon 7X, Bombardier 604
5.             Gov. Rotimi Ameachi                   1                         Bombardier Global
6.             Gov. Godswill Akpabio                 1                        Gulfstream V
7.             Pastor Adeboye                              1                        Gulfstream V
8.             Gov. Aliyu                                          1                         Gulfstream V
9.             Folorunsho Alakija                        1                         Bombardier Express
10.          Pastor Ayo Oritsejafor                  1                         Bombardier 607

92 comments:

iOmoge said...

I must be RICH too and my name shall top dis list In Jesus Name......Amen

Hmmmm! Money is speaking.... But wait o, EFCC still dey work so?... All this politicians, i no just trust 'em.... Linda, wen u sef go arrange ur own na?... Dangote sef dey dull, na only 2 him get.... #JEALOUS

Thats cool. I wont abuse them cos na their money they should use it and i know amma do that too sooner
wth? See Video of a human being that is half man half tree.[pic]

They forgot to add also that the Boko haram insurgency could be linked to him.
Former Governor of a state as poor as Borno displaying such level of extravagancy. smh

I ave said it, I must become governor soon to cut my own national cake.....make we helep finish the oil money, I don tire to dey pray male the country better and others go dey say Amen dey use our money dey enrich themselves.

Okikiola

Molue for commercial use, Range sport for private use! Na their way..

please where is my oga Otedola's own jet?

Hayjaybawa said...

***Sigh**** No Comment

Imagine these people tho..dammit!

Mich said...

Ali Sheriff is one of the reasons why most people will never agree with Dangote being the richest man in Nigeria,thing is,he hasn't and can't declare his assets.
He was a multi-billionaire before becoming governor,he further enriched his lot by of course,by pilfering from state treasuery.
He was once accused of spending a whooping N20m on buying gold teeth,something that has since become his signature.
Boko Haram have stated categorically in several occasions that they will not rest until they have Sheriff's head on a plate reason being that,he and several other multi-billionaires from the North(most of whose names won't ring any bells) had the chance of improving the situation in the North but failed to do so.
Oh...Sheriff has since moved from Atlanta,dude is a "business traveler",he can't stay in one place for too long for fear of being found and killed by his many foes.

Some people no see food chop. Oga o. Lord have mercy on the have not.

The money he stole as a governor he should has used to work idiot politicians we have in Nigeria

Hmmmmmmmm

Noble said....... said...

Haba these people will never cease to amuse us. where did he get the money from?
Mtcheeee....Stella Oduah things!
Thief thief jankoliko

dede said...

Srzly all knw we're dz moni came frm...plz help asuu wid sm of it,nd nigeria wld be a much btter place in say ten yrz..sounds stupid yea???foolish pple

The godfather & grand patron of boko haram ;yet nobody is asking question anymore.

List full of governors and pastors....only two people there that are actually supposed to be able 2 afford more than 2 private jets...pastors especially are not supposed to be on that list

kelly wonder said...

9ja is 2 bad

kelly wonder said...

Amazing the way ppl chase after material stuffs,first to comment

kelly wonder said...

Nonsense,vanity upon vanity

Lord have mercy....coming soon

kelly wonder said...

Nonsense

fewspharm said...

Our money ehh, our money...African money ehhh... Leaders dry cchop. Am nyafu nyafu.....#singing aloud#

And the graduates still remain jobless in that state?

See essay. Must you copy and paste the whole thing?

Hmmmmmmmmmm 9ja i dey hail o.Our motto stil stands Corruption Connection

Jeeeeeesssuuuu Krisssti......haaaa...we don suffer for Naija Ooº°°ºoO ....shebi I dey talk am say pippu wey fit reach pass Dangote dey for dis country but we no go knw....ee be like we don dey knw dem nau.....Linda abeg I personally need more info abt dis. Ex governor.

Keep balling with stolen money!

Wait... shouldn't Dantata or Indimi name(s) be on the list? Given that you said their children only travel via jets as was seen during that pretty girl's wedding last weekend?

JJ said...

What type of work does this man do? Did he own a business before becoming a governor or did he convert state funds for his own personal use? I weep for our people.

Dr.Pinch said...

Where is that Fela's son???

Linda! am very sure U̶̲̥̅̊ don't expect me 2 read all dat? Hw wld I read sum1 success while mine still under contruction. Any way thnk but no thanks.....#walkaway

how did he get 11bn to buy the jet. i m sure it's our money in action. God will judge you all.

Pastor nd governor tinz!! No walah god dey!

YKiluminating on Yahoo plu$ plu$ said...

Learnt the man was stinkingly rich before he became governor but nah still those boko haram boys go kill am.

Why am I not surprised??BH top financier#DIZZY

Lilian Ulasi said...

*heartaches*

Slimy said...

Bravo 2 y'all...

Boko Haram no go C dat one bomb?

But no one will question how he was able to obtain it because he is a man, and corruption is ok as long as women don't do it. Smh done.

What's happening in this country called naija? May God help the poor.

what a lovely country

Boko Haram doesn't want anything western, but his followers love better life. All is well.

Hahaaaaaaa, later nigerians will post insults to that journalist Ann.the pple causing their problems re buying more jets, they only have power on blogs.pls may God fly down and stop senators from buying jets hahaaaaaaaa. Fools.

Hausa tout! good for him...even though that jet will surely lead to his demise.

Nigeria leader are very hrtless n wreked....to approved more fund on sure-p 4 employment unemployed qraduate dia refuse. U wil die in dat jet.

The air craft amaechi uses is rivers state government aircraft. Except of course the authour of dis article is granting it to amaechi....we shall gladly recieve it on his behalf......

PORT HARCOURT BOY ORIGINAL

Chaiiiii...nigeria!!!!

Hian! Pastor has more private jets than a politician. Some people shall burn in the deepest pits of hell sha.

As for this thief thief former governor, Nigerians wake up and start holding your leaders accountable. As for me, #ihavecheckedout

Peter said...

Thief. using our money for selfish interest. Only God will judge!

As I no come dey, nobody miss me. Na wa 4 una LIBers o. If its with ur hard earned money, ur jet will last but if its with tax payers money, u go see ur reward........ Da illiterate chic

Linda dear, I dont mind getting down with this man. do you have his contact? thanks sweet heart!

Naija man said...

Only in Nigeria. This is a shame. I weep for our future.

Ritana2 said...

God will punish them

bjecorse said...

Whose money did he use to buy it? Nigerians always showing off but never getting ahead as a country.

Imagine d richest man in Africa is in number 3 position, people prioritize pleasure over business.

THIS is why Boko Haram is in existence. Imagine if he used that money to build a haven in Borno State? And the citizens were sharing in the wealth. Would they be bombing?

Please sir,i dont know if you can read this or Linda should help me convey this Message to him, sir its 3yrs now that i finish school have been trying to gt a Job all to no avail..n now am trying to set up myself there's no capital anyway you can help sir..Allah will bless you abundantely Aminat

na wa o keke i nava get persin dey buy dis kind jet wit our moni.God wil judge u pple

bbm pin 23491053 said...

God punish Efcc, Icpc, the Nigeria Police and all others. So they are telling us that this eX Gov worked for his money, or that bank gave him loan. Or may he came 4rm a very rich home like them dantata's. SmH. Government money, contracts, state money into one man's pocket. Now he bought a private jet. Chaii, God punish all this Leaders. Engr Emy.

Dont be such ano ignoramous, dis dude made money before he became a senator talk more of gov. Try to be inform and rational in your coment sometime

Not everyone declares their assets in nigeria wonder why he wasn't on the list so many more rich fuckers out there...cool :)

EFCC no work again..Mtcheew

Boko haram chieftain, tomoro u wil tell ur people that western life n education is bad while ure there enjoying but one day u wil reap wht u sow.

Ali mudu sherrif da theif,unfortunate big mouth nonsense money miss road conruption magnitus definetus no wonder pple of dat state are still wallowing in poverty,anarchy n gloom n doom,after looting da tresury dry now spending freely,a maggot faggot carrot headed corupt mamula adangba,makwa na gari,huska shanu muntula jaki jakuna but your payback will be dissastrous n immerse a bigbad mess.Jaguar101.

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

Amen my dear

He can fuck right off - part of the people eating naija money- while 100 million people in nigeria are destitute fuckeries

Yet dey kip saying dere isn't money in Nigeria..... And EFCC wld fold dere hands!

5.34,maybe if you can write a little better,then we will take you serious.

All the private jets in the world wont get him to heaven.

How many pastors again???! Hmmmm church money,hope ur members go enter with u too #didi

This one must have stolen Bornu State blind to afford this toy....no wonder Boko too much for there....

Hmnnnn.....,na wa!

The igbenedion's name shld be there, those ones re silent looters... hisssss

Lady Fola said...

11.5 billion naira jet?Mehn, these politicians α̲̅®ε̲̣̣̣̥ thieves oo,S̴̩☺̴̩̩̥̩̩̩ he had T̶̲̥̅̊H̶̲̥̅A̶̲̥̅t̶̲̥̅̊ amount of money I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ his house and couldn't give it out F̶̲̥̅̊ợ̣̣̇̇̇я̥ better education and Jonathan gives telling Nigerians T̶̲̥̅̊H̶̲̥̅A̶̲̥̅t̶̲̥̅̊ there's no money .Oh No !!!!! Hope it's not T̶̲̥̅̊H̶̲̥̅A̶̲̥̅t̶̲̥̅̊ Jet T̶̲̥̅̊H̶̲̥̅A̶̲̥̅t̶̲̥̅̊ will kill him shaaaa.

2 people probed for 10B, while an individual is spending 11.5B on a jet...Ok nah!

J.D

Mind Treasures said...

When u check that list again u ll feel soRry for this nation, jst few biz men majorly politicians ...hmmmm

Plz help us read wat u wrote,so dt we can undastand d point u re tryin 2 mk.dnt tink its english though#jst sayin#

Looters, both in the house of God and in govt.

Futures of tomorrow are busy pinging, twitting, facebooking, while leaders of today are swindling and looting our treasury.

Please sir,uncle help us ur children talk 2 ASUU.. Ebe ni ama be oshika, awon weere jati jati

Another thief making use of money meant for the masses for him..God is watching you thieves in 3D..your time will come soon..come linda wetin be this man work sef??!!!

Wolfy! said...

Ah! mogbe what is all this ni tori olorun? when motherless homes dey dere.. many larvish stolen looted money.. God will reward!!!

All who who believe this is his money....what planet r u living on????? Corrupt politician

Folks, honestly this man needs probed..

Folks, honestly this man needs to be probed..

I pray God help us were surfaring in this precious country u gave us'

So no efcc go look for dia guy nawa,if na ibori na wahala e go enter,God of ibori goo do lots of tingS for dis nija
Jj wafi babe

This man became govenor in 2003 with his state having debt if 7 billion. He left office 2011 with 67billion saved in the reserve if his state. No governor has ever do e that with the amount of projects on ground. Numbers and facts don't lie so please get your acts right people. He was in senate for 4 years where he shared all his allowances and salaries to the other members of the National Assembly. Sheriff is wealthy, he's got oil blocks all over Africa and as far as I'm concerned he should have bought this a while ago.

Ali Modu Sherriff comes from a rich background. His father was stupendously wealthy. His tenure as a governor of Borno state was the best the state has witnessed leaving behind a sum of N67billion in the state coffers which has been squandered by the incumbent. As philanthropist he has given more to Nigeria than most. He deserves the very best.