Woman Throws Her 5 Month Old Baby Inside Well in Oyo state | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 November 2012

Woman Throws Her 5 Month Old Baby Inside Well in Oyo state

A 20-year-old woman, Ganiyat Salawudeen, is currently in police custody after she was arrested for throwing her five-month-old baby inside a well, where she was residing in her mother’s family house at Alagolo area, Oja Oba, Ibadan

Nigerian tribune reports that, Ganiyat threw the baby, whose name was given as Timothy Odugbemi, into the well at about 8.30p.m on Monday November 5, after which she raised the alarm that she could not find her baby.

After a search by family members and neighbours, which extended till the following morning, Ganiyat was reported to have confessed to throwing the baby inside the well after much prodding. People were said to have rushed towards the well to see if it was true and it was a shocked crowd which beheld the still body of the tot when he was brought out of the well.

On hearing about the incident, the Divisional Crime Officer in charge of Mapo Division, Mr Bayo Ogundiran, reportedly led a team of detectives to the scene and arrested the mother, while the baby was taken to Adeoyo Hospital, Yemetu, where he was confirmed dead. He was thereafter deposited in the mortuary for autopsy.

Ganiyat said she could not also explain what made her throw her baby in the well, expressing the belief that forces greater than her must have overwhelmed her at that moment.

Narrating how the incident occurred, Ganiyat said:

“On that day, I bathed the baby in the evening, changed his clothes and we both went to bed. About 8.30p.m, I rose from the bed, carried the baby and took him to the back of my room window where the well is situated”.

“A spirit just came over me and asked me to throw the baby inside the well. I pushed the planks on the well aside, threw the baby inside and covered it again”.

After some time, I told the tenant living in the house that I could not see my baby. He said he saw me moments before with the baby. I left my residence for my parents’ place at Oniyanrin area and told my mother that I could not find my baby but she kept asking me where I kept the child.

“The following morning, many people came and were shouting at me, asking me where I threw the baby. An elderly man in our family then came to me, cajoling me to tell him where the baby was. Then I told him that the baby was in the well. While some people rushed towards the well, others started beating me with horsewhip, cane and different objects. When the baby was brought out, he was already dead. A police patrol van came and I was taken to the police station.”

Ganiyat, who said she was an apprentice learning fashion designing, disclosed that she was impregnated by one Kehinde Odugbemi, who was already married, and that she delivered the baby on June 4. She added that the man could not be traced until the day of the naming ceremony when he came in the evening to christen the child. She said Odugbemi also came on June 12 to give her N1,000, adding that that was the last time she set her eyes on him.

Ganiyat was said to have given birth to a boy before the birth of the deceased baby but could not get any man to claim the child. The boy, who is said to be three years old, is being taken care of by Ganiyat’s mother.

Source: Nigerian Tribune

64 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

some poeple will spon come up with post partum talk.
she is clearly demonized. ssome forces have taken over her. she needs top be delivered asap. sad

BLOGLORD said...

*soon

BLOGLORD said...

*soon

BLOGLORD said...

*soon

an evil force really possessd and manipulated her.

sweets honey sugar said...

Hmmm.....aiye oooo; wat a world! Jst dnt want 2 say....mysteries shall never cease!!!!!!

haaa .... Nkanbe!!!

What is happeningin this world sef, dis is end time signs....Pestilence and violence everywhere.

Tim says...
What a wicked world we live in.

Oh my God what is this wold turning to after giving birth to him and she has being taking care of him for good three years Oh Jesus how can she do this to her own baby Lord pls have mercy on us.

She probly has mental problem:(

Amarachukwu said...

Abeg how can someone say she gave birth to a child and no man came to claim the child. Is she an Ashi? How come she doesn't know who impregnated her? Sad tales.

if she didn't want the child why did she spread her legs? and did she really think they won't find the child?

Just had to stop halfway. People can be so cruel. Sometimes I wonder if they are really human..

Postnatal depression is real.

Deybabe said...

Mysteriously sad n unbelieveably true' Poor child who just came to dis world briefly#Crying icon#RIP Baby Boy...

slimzyose said...

wicked woman

Linda i think you be making use of this sentence "(viewers discretion advised)" more often.

Warri Girl said...

Horrible things people do and blame it on the devil. May God forgive her.

miss Sparxz said...

Thank u! Its real o! I'm strongly think that's d case here. Hmmm :(

miss Sparxz said...

Thank u! Its real o! I'm strongly think that's d case here. Hmmm :(

SAD! SAD!! SAD!! I dont know why, but i pity her. probably post natal depression, hallucination or just frustruation! she could av dumped him where passerby would see and pick him or taken him to a care home! Look at me here looking for the fruit of d womb after several years of marriage! GOD,dz fingers are surely not equal!

OH MY GOD, the heart of man is soooo full of evil. I cant believe this. She obviously wanted the baby out of her life, so she could be free from all the problems of a single parent. She could have just dropped the poor child in front of a church or someplace safe, now she is saying its some evil force. She is the EVIL FORCE. I remember a recent post about the little girl that got both hands burnt by her step mum, and some people were saying the woman may be innocent, well in this case thats her child. RIP poor innocent child and as for the woman, the wrath of God is near.

Dere is absolutly nothing wrong with this woman she's just plain wicked. Dy do smin bad and blame on evil forces *mshw* Aje buruku

Anamachikwanu said...

She Ȋ̝̊̅§ indeed possessed and needs deliverance asap.Her first son was really lucky to have survived her.

Sad but post partum depression is very real. The circumstances makes it worse. Really sad!

The man involved with her having the baby should be arrested to. Because he aided the death of that child by abandoning her with the child,thereby she couldn't go ahead with. I would say she wasn't in the right frame of mind when she threw that child in the well as she had been abandoned by the man himself. He is a party to crime,if not in my own sense of judgment the main culprit.

De lillo said...

wicked world we are living

So sad.

eshemomoh said...

mshewwwww....al na nonsense she no see any oda means to dispose d pikin? If possible sell d child. Come to think of it d man hu got ha pregnant iz xo stupid nd mad he shud be arrested alxo 4 nt controlling hiz lubidu......and i suspect d man'z wife. She myt hav knew abt d gul nd ha uncomplete mission child nd dsyded to cast a spell on ha. D magana dy vex me die!

FORCES! armed abi unarmed forces. Abeg she should face d full wrath of law forces kor pressures ni.

Lord have mercy!! Why keep a baby up to 5 months and then do this to it? Smh......

Some people are begging God for fruit of the womb....this woman is throwing hers away!!! Lord have mercy...she is indeed possessed.

wait wait wait a minute. av not even read d story buh y's d victim's picture clear for evryone to see wyl d suspect's own is blocked. dis is always d case n its freaking annoying. stop blurring suspects' pictures abeg.

She must be depressed and psychologically deranged..police station won't solve it she needs to be taken to the psychiatric hospital.. #God have mercy#

Croixxx said...

She is evil,clearly.

This is what pisses me off when God gives people like this a child and so many beg him day and night for the fruit of the womb and nothing. Why God? Why? You said you can see all things, could you not see that this woman is not capable of having this child? What so many pray for others take it for granted. Why this unfairness ? I don't understand you in this way.

"She said Odugbemi also came on June 12 to give her N1,000, adding that that was the last time she set her eyes on him"

Hmmm, N1000 in this day and age to take care of a baby? So sad.Sometimes these stories act as reality checks for me and teaches me always to be grateful to God and stop complaining about flimsy stupid things.I am grateful lord for my life even when some times I act like an ingrate. RIP dear baby.

Dats ibadan 4 U̶̲̥̅̊! D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ α̲̅я̩̥̊ε̲̣̣̣̥ really stupid!

So sad, I just hate sad stories makes me cry.Married men, pls if you know you cannot bear the heat of ur mistress getting pregnant for you stop cheating around and if its innate for u to be a cheat, then stay single and hump anybody you feel like. Poor child, poor mother who felt lost and alone that she could not seek help. If only the father of the baby had being around to show care, all these would have being avoided. So sad!

Chop Chop said...

evidence of post partum disorder. She need clinical help.

FortySeven said...

With the advent of the internet and consequent easy access to information, one would expect to read a lot more enlightened opinions sha.

Why are we so quick in Africa to adduce everything we dont understand to supernatural influence?

Please google or wiki post partum depression and you would see that this is a well documented condition affecting new mothers. There are documented stories of mothers all over the world that have done more terrible things to their babies as a result of this condition. I've read stories of women that decapitated their babies, strangled their babies or smothered them with a pillow. And the stories come from different parts of the world, not just Africa!

Please my people, try to educate yourselves! Don't just repeat the same meaningless trash that has been repeated for generations!

Then why oh why are we so quick to resort to violence in this country??? Why did they beat her? The lady should be treated for depression and then made to face the law. Simple!

my legally wedded husband abandoned
me four years ago with a one year
old child. My son is now four plus. I
Don't know how I do manage but God
has never abandoned me a single day.
My son is the best thing that has
happened to me. He has brought me so
Much joy and I can never trade him
for anything.

Motherhood is joy and every woman

BLOGLORD please go back to bed. Its too early to be crazy.
She is probably suffering from severe postpartum depression. More importantly, postpartum psychosis. If she was really evil, she wouldn't have told anybody what she did. She needs help. Mental health is a serious problem that isn't recognised in Nigeria. People do things and we say they are possessed whereas they could be suffering from some mental disorder or the other. These people need help not our condemnation.

Ola said...

Why don't Ɣ☺Ʊ proof-read your comment before posting it. Ɣ☺Ʊ don't have to keep posting corrections.#Just saying#

@anon 12:14 don't worry you would take in this year just remember to have sex with your hubby 5AM in the morning and 11:30pm every friday and I assure u u wud concieve,it has worked for a lot of ppl....pls linda post this for all the barren woman to see even you linda you need a man,stop wearing black gowns it scares men away from you,wear blue gowns and before this year runs down u wud get married I wish all d bareen woman goodluck as they try this

While am not saying there are no evil forces in this world, we should a least know that there is post partum depression,chronic depression and other emotional disturbances that can affect the normal mind and make it reason irrationally. This things are real whether we accept it or not. Ignorance doesn't still change the truth. She may fall into any of this category. And the worse thing is that she won't even get to be evaluated pschological, she may probably end up totally demented because after this, the incapable and utterly stupid police would beat her,torture her or even rape her and when she gets home,its from one alpha or prophet to the other!!! People should learn that not all things that seem abnormal to us have a spiritual association!! Get medical help first and support with prayer!!

Na waoh ! RIP poor boy.this ganiyat abi wetin be her name is possessed.

anniebelle said...

some pple jst do wicked things and blame it on d devil...maybe d devil wasn't even workng on her case as at d tym she put d baby in d well...mitscheeeew

What she did is gruesome and evil, no doubt; but before we crucify her, let's also note that no sane person will put her 5months old baby in a well for no reason. A sane person will do it for personal gain; either money making ritual or to conceal giving birth, but in her case it was none of this cos she has taken care of this child for over 5months. I think she's severly depressed and needs mental evaluation.

OMG!!!!! I'm here praying 4 de fruit of the womb nd anoda person is der rejecting nd killing children. God pls ans me and give me my own baby.

Pryncecharming how can u call a baby It

o lord we nid u in dis life,poor little child,may his soul rest in peace.av mercy o lord.upon us

Speak english pls!

*get married before this year runs out, I hope you know we are in november sha

word association;women=witches

You must be stupid by sayin that's Ibadan you,oloshi jatijati,ewu,I know you o,did you tell them on this blog that you r a bastard,ode oshi

Bunny said...

U threw ur baby inside a well nd u re blaming it on evil forces? May God have mercy on ur half soul das if u have any..plus endtime s gat nuin 2do wif ds.

Chop Chop said...

Yes, but she wasn't fortunate enough to keep hers due to illness.

Nova said...

Desperate u mean. Stress has overwhelmed her, she must have thought that was a solution..........ignorance!

Mama Mia said...

I CAN GIVE AN ARM, AN EYE AND A LEG TO HAVE A CHILD, AND THEN THERE IS ONE BLESSED WOMAN THROWING THE CHILD AWAY. WHY COULD'NT SHE KEEP THE CHILD WHERE SOMEBODY CAN FIND HIM/HER. IF ONLY GOD WILL GIVE ME THE OPPORTUNITY TO FIND AN ABANDONED CHILD AND NURTURE IT AS MY OWN. LORD HAVE MERCY

@anonymous 5:14, as much as I agree that there is post partum depression and the result can be deadly. I want to tell you this particular case is different. This woman is not suffering from depression. All she wanted to do is to be free of the child. It was like a burden to her. She is saddle with the poor child she doesn't want. Why did she lied that she could not find the baby in the first place. In post partum depression the sufferer always tell the truth immediately or never even know what has happened. It a raw case of wicked couple with financial problem

My. Dear I knw u may not combk to read dis post but please visit an adoption center. They d find a day old baby tht needs love n prepare u for it

When will people start taking responsibility for their actions,blaming forces un natural in nature.spirits didnt throw ur child into the well YOU DID!!!!!