The Ultimate Sacrifice Almost Cost Her Life | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 November 2012

The Ultimate Sacrifice Almost Cost Her Life

Lilian, 2nd from left, with siblings and mum
My name is Lilian Adjarho and this is my pure mother’s love story. My mother, Mrs. Elizabeth Omafuare Adjarho, groomed her four children to become impactful individuals in the society. I am the third child in my family and I am so immensely influenced by her mother’s love. This love has made me the strong, positive, patient lady I am today. 

That year, 1982, I remember my mother struggling to stay alive because of her ill health. Nonetheless, she never stopped caring and sacrificing for her family. My father lost his job just as my mother started having children, and was also of ill health in the 6 years she had the four of us. A few years later, he came down with stroke. He then became a major need for financial resources in the family as he needed periodic treatments. 

Dear mother of mine struggled with her job as a teacher in Ughele Primary school. She added to that farming and petty trading in order to keep our family going. The stress for her was so much that her health began to fail her. She was diagnosed of kidney disease and a hole in her heart coupled with high blood pressure. She has been on medication for almost two decades, yet never one day has she slowed down on her sacrifices for her family. She ensured that by all means her children were never out of school. She made sure food was always on the table.

She borrowed to ensure her family was running as it should. Usually, her entire teacher salary was used to offset loans which she took. She was dragged to court several times. At a point she went into hiding because people she owed wouldn't give her a moment of peace. All these were just to see us through school and to feed. She did all this alone with no help from anyone. Her family members who could assist rejected her and even told her directly that she is killing herself unnecessarily.

I recall at one time we went to sell things in the market and there was an open fire robbery going on in the market. She risked her life not minding if she might get hit by a stray bullet. She rushed down to the market to ensure we were fine. I recall someone asking her if she wanted to die for her kids. She responded that the only joy she had were her children. 

This woman was ready to lay down her life just so we would be ok! I can confidently say not many women will go through what my mum went through for over 30 years. She never gave up on her sacrifices for us even for a minute!

Today, my mother though alive, bears the scars of the struggle she had for her children. As I turned 26 last month, I promised I’d share her love story with all of Nigeria and the world. This is my pure gift to her, and a more importantly a way to inspire every mother.

For me, sharing and inspiring others with this story about my mum, Elizabeth Omafuare Adjarho, lets me know there’s indeed is nothing as pure as a mother love!

99 comments:

LInda Give ur life to christ, He loves u.

I beat bloglord to it... heheheeh

Leerato said...

Nice but u need to do more for her.

goodie said...

God bless her... May she live long to reap d fruit of her labour

BUSY BEE said...

How can u say u will 26 dis year meanwhile u wrote something about what happened in 1982 in your 2nd paragraph?
Linda pls always read these articles properly before posting them. U can do better.

Awwwwww...u r such a lovely child and young woman. Your children will honour u too

What a touching and beautiful story.

yetty said...

hmmmm mothers are gems,i luv dis story

May God continue to bless ur mother........

Vivian said...

Really lovely. I wish to be a mother like her. May God bless her and grant her Long Life.

ur Mum deserves to be on d program 'pamper ur Mum"

Vivian said...

God will grant her Long Life. She will live the reap the fruit of her labour ijn. Amen.

Nice story but some inconsistencies in it, one of wish is the fact that you remembered an incident in 1982 but at the end you stated you just turned 26 last month?????????????? doesn't add up

Ehen cool story....most pple av been tru worse tins and even d parent don't live 2 enjoy d fruit of der labour.....u r lucky u can pay her back

Dis is rly hourable!!! Ur mum wil b soo proud of u i pray God keps mi alive n gv mi d Grace n wisdom 2 b a MOTHER indeed 2 ma kids n huby! Some Women are more Women dan odas

michelle said...

I can attest to this story cus she's my best friend. We live together. Everyday i pray that a miracle happens to help mumsy. She's deserves everything in this world for her enormous sacrifice. Don't worry Lilian, she's leave long enough to enjoy the fruit of her labour

she is indeed a wondaful mother..i hope u wil do d same 2 ur children..

what a mother! kudos to her o. Hope shes reaping the fruits of her labour now o. God bless you Ma

You're lucky u still have her, mine went through similar sufferings though never borrowed :),she laboured in the rain & the sun to raise six of us,had a heart condition for more than a decade,was always in & out of the hospital,she fought for her life! made sure we are all almost settled, but just when she's suppose to relax and enjoy her sweat,her pure heart failed.13 september 2012,worst day of mylife, my sweet mother if I forget u,I'll forget myself.love you till eternity mummy.

I'm a witness 2 dis.....true story

*bbm confused smiley face* you remember something that happened in 1982 and u just turned 26 last month....lindaaa..this story no gel o!

Oh my..a mother's love is one of a kind..God bless true mothers..

God bless her, unfortunately i hate my mum. I remember when i was young, i had to date older men to eat and cater for my higher education while she sat her lazy self down even expecting me to care for her n my younger ones. Several years,i wish myself death, until i met my husband who looked beyond how i presented myself to him and give me a reason to live and love myself.

wow!

nena said...

Beautiful...... Mothers love is so pure and undying.

i read this in tears becos its like im reading my own story only my mum is not alife lost her 2yrs ago nd today happuns to be her bufday...there notin as pure as d love a mother has for a child ..i pray i hav the oppurtunity to give such love to my unbron child........

Ms Fabulassy said...

Awwwww cute and touching, may God bless all our MOTHERS (dead or alive)

Tonia said...

She is truly a loving and caring mum, may God spare her life so she can reap the fruit of her labour.

YES VERY TOUCHING AND INSPIRING.BUT MY MOTHER'S LOVE AM SURE KNOWS NO BOUND AS WELL AND SHE BEARS THE SAME NAME.'ELIZABETH'!

Mfa Tarbo's Blogg said...

Yes oh i agree with u with the whole of my heart nothing can be compared to the love of a mother, was just thinking about it before i came acr0ss this post

Well crafted, well said. Nothing compares to a mothers love. i always tell people bringing a child into this world does NOT make you a mother. Any one can do that (AND THROW THE CHILD AWAY OR STARVE THE CHILD OF LOVE AND ATTENTION) but if you are not ready to give that child the emotional, physical and moral attention there is simply NO NEED!!!!Thanks for sharing your story God bless your mum and family.

Ur 26, how cum. Cos u said u remembered seeing her in 1982! Sowi hun d age doesn't add up!

Indeed a mother's love is uunquanifiable. To all mothers who hv given up sooooo muuch for their childrren-may your days be long to

Lovely tribute..and here is to all mothers struggling to make sure that their families have the very best!God continue to uphold and strengthen her!amen.

Wonderful what mums can do for their kids, but how come u remembered her ill in 1982 when u just turned 26 last month. I suppose u were not even born then

This is truly a mother's pure true love for her children. God will surely reward her greatly.

You just make me cry rite now...and also remember ma mum

What is it with NIgerian women and the obsession to be younger than the rest. That 26 could have been a typo...kai, I don't know how you read a post and all you see is the lie or mistake in the age. Face it, no matter how old you are if you don't look good for your age forget it. Yu may be younger than I am but if i take care of myself i would look better than you 40 or 18 years. tufiaaaaa unu

Linda am so feeling you and would want you to have my baby so that you can show him/ her that true mother's love.Psyche!!!

cool story, but ow can sm1 who was born b4 1982 b 26, nawa o

God bls ur mum. mothers are indeed wonderful. we went thru alot as well most esp when my dad died, but my mum neva gave up on us. She supported in all areas and even ensured i went to one of the best universities we have rite now and even borrowed money to ensure we get the best too. i am so glad i ve her cos she wld rather go naked for us to have clothes on. God has rly been with her cos despite wat the doctors call terminal disease, she is stil hail n hearthy, and glowing in the Lord. i am just always apy 4 her and may God gve her eternal strenght. Guys lets kip praying 4 our parents and dnt let's forget to give back too them when we attain that greater height. God bls us.

eyehealth said...

*teary eyed* After Gos's love is a mother's love. I can relate to dis.
I love мγ mum so much and prays for good health for her. God Bless mother with beautiful hearts. >3

useless pple with negative 'never do well' mindset. a lot of us are just too sadistic. what if she is 26?? and so what?? i can tell u stories of about my parents when they were still dating... this is because my mother told me these stories too... read the storyn get her message and fucking move on.
all you are good at is to find faults. lets see what your children will have to say about you 2mrw. retards!!!!

IVORY CHI said...

LOVELY STORY...THATS A TRUE MOTHER RIGHT THERE

Abeg o help me ask her. Abeg this writter dey lie big tym. Mtcheeeew

you remembered something that happened in 1982 and you're 26 now. OLODO ...linda be careful!!!!!

GODKNOWS,

TELL US A TRUE LIFE STORY NOT FICTION OR IMAGERY

'COS YOU CANNOT BE GIVEN VIVID DISCRIPTION OF 1982 WHEN YOU WERE NOT BORN THEN.

Well said and Kudus to yur mum, great and Wonderful woman! But I dnt understand how you are 26 and remembered something in 1982- abeg, abi you no calculate am well or still, you should have ignored mentioning 26 if you were trying to hide your real age.

Ro

People pls chill argh! Why are you such an angry bunch sometimes. Ever heard of a typo, she might have wanted to say 1992 or maybe 36..... I wonder why she would lie with her picture and full name....,
Pls be easy.... The story brought tears to my eyes. Nothing like a mothers love indeed.....

Hahahaha- Inspector Gadget!!

This is a very touching story. I wish I could understand it...it brought me to tears because,mine is the opposite. My mother and my dad separated when I was 2yrs+, my kid sis was around 3months. My dad lost the custody to her n was mandated to pay her some money every month for our upkeep, which he did.
Just about three months later, she dumped us for my father...she didnt even have the courtesy of having a discussion with my dad who was at home that evening. She dumped us at my dad's backyard n disappeared. I never saw her again until I was about to get into my 2nd yr in college. She never remarried, nor did she have any other children.
I still forgave her, thinking we can start all over, even tho I was now a full grown woman...but still, she doesn't talk to me. All because I asked her one simple question: WHY?
When people talk about mother's love, it sounds strange to me. I cried ever mother's day. If my mum was dead, I probably will understand that...if she remarried and had other kids, I probably may undertsand, but I can't understand why she was unable to show love, nurture her own kids like I see other mothers do.
I am a full grown woman now...but I still hurt. I put my trust in God n I thank Him for giving me a good husband.
If u don't appreciate ur mum, pls do so...some of us wish so much to have what u had.
I don't even want to tell u what I went thru growing up as a child. It was horrible. If I could collect the tears I shed in my life, it will make a river. But in all these things, I am more than a conqueror. If u r a Christian remember to pray for pple like us. You all stay blessed.

almas said...

very touching

Ok. Since you are her bestfriend, help ask her howcome she's 26yrs old and yet recalls an incident in 1982 (which makes her 30yrs old @ least). Thank you.

EL LOCO said...

FIRST ANONYMOUS COMMENTER, KINDLY SHUT UP, BTW THIS STORY IS THE SHIZNIT! GOD BLESS HER!!

And some women will use Poverty as an excuse to push drugs. Good mothers will go to any lenght(legally) for their mothers.

Nekky said...

awwww. i can totally relate to this. mother's love is inexplicable. i've experienced and still experiencing it. my constant prayer is that almighty God keep my mom to alive and well to reap the fruits of her labour and i trust he will do that for me.

That Girl said...

#gbam!

Cool. Your Elder Sister looks familiar, did she attend QC? imao

why are humans jus plain mean , shes talkin bout her mothers love , u guys are there doing the maths . wetinnnnn na . if uve ever had to strugle or know any one dat hav gone tru similar or worse case u wud jus help her appreciate her mother .
my dear ur lucky shes stil alive 2 b able 4 u 2 sing her praises , continue 2 cherish d moments , trust money genuine love aint bout money or d amount of wrapper , its 4rm within . wen u tink back sometimes im sure u laf wen she went into hiding . we all have stories to tell my mum wud always b my own rare gem to (havin done jobs dat men wud do i mean being a bus conductor at ajah, security , vigilante, eat remilekun @ chevron lolls . today she owns her house nd has a very good job tho its not a glass house but its her dream glass house .nd u wud never know dat ) thats jus life for u , jus suposed 2 make u stronger . much love 2 a d Mums esp ma sexy momma starr.

Jeffrey said...

Mothers are wonderful

Y can't people think about it bin a typographical Error as it must have been in '1992' instead of 1982.. People sha! Lilian , I pray ,God will grant you all good things that will replace your Mother's Pain..She would look back and smile she did this..She is indeed a Strong woman! God bless her!!!

I think she meant 36. Typographical error me think

I wonder how people think. Couldn't her elder siblings have told her the story? Why can't we give people the benefit of doubt for once?

My #shout out to all mothers like dis!!!

Mumu! Read thru again

Some retards are on dis blog o.remove the chewgum on your eye,read the story all over again and stop constituting nuisance here

Me said...

STUPID AGE DISCREPANCY CAST A HUGE DARK SHADOW ON A NICE STORY.
2012-1982=28YRS, BUT THEN U WERE BONE BEFORE 1982 YET U JUST TURNED 26.
WLD HAVE HAUL SERIOUS INSULT AT U IF NOT THAT THE STORY IS ABOUT A MOM, AND I LOVE MINE

This is more touching than d original story. So sorry

Thanks anonymous 3:20 they re all bunch of fools and animals who don't appreciate the love of a mother. EWUREs, all of Ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ø̲̣̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊ that could seee a fault i̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ this story A̶̲̥̅̊я̲̣̥ε̲̣̣̣̥ idiots

Its true mothers love knows no bounds but Africans need to be educated about family planning.u'll be surprisedto see how it can make family life easier.using d budget of a family of 3 for a family of 5 really takes allot out of a man.

Fallacy ... You are now 26 and you witnessed an incident in 1982..hmmmmm

If you are 26, it means you were born in 1986. How then did you remember what happened in 1982? Please I need some clarity here. Is it an error?

Please give her a break. maybe her older siblings must have told the story and she decided to write it down. how naive and senseless can you both be?
MY DEAR GOD BLESS YOU AS YOU HAVESHARED THIS STORY WITH A LOT OF PEOPLE. YOU HAVE INSPIRED ME!
Cheers,
Linda from LA

I love you mummy, you are the best. God bless all mothers

True!!! I'm a witness to how unadulterated a mother's love can be.

First time 2 comment,Cos this is so touching 2 me and I av a similar story,but d different is I lost my dearest friend,My sweet Mum 2 wks 2 my 26th bday.and I miss her everyday of my life.my sis, am happy 4 u cos u still av her and @ d same time jealousy of u.the best way 2 make her proud is 2 do things right nd support her in all way expecially financially.

In 1982, d lady Said she r'bered her mom struggling to stay alive, and at end of d story, same lady jus turned 26 last month. R'bering means she was even born b4 then and in 2012, she jus turned 26! Hmmm..linda is dis a recent publish abi sthg abi sthgelse? Anyways..good story though..mmhh, I love my mum too..

Cool inspiring story. (Most) Mother's love knows no bounds. Ms. Adjarho, best way 2 honour ur Mum on ur 26th (or 30th) birthday and beyond is 2 be a better person 4 her - Make her proud thru ur own hardWork. Oh and u shld prolly start a foundation...

God bless U - real good. :)

@ anonymous 2:28pm. I am your twin in that. Only differences is I am yet to find a man to help me appreciate myself. I still feel like I don't deserve anything good ... Guess its all cos I never got the deserving mother's love everyone talks about. I still hope to find peace with myself

Oh! God, I am in tears right now because my mum had gone through worse and did not live long enough to enjoy the fruit of her labour. It was hell growing up as i lost my dad when i was barely 5. I remember 1988, i was barely 10 years old and i remember saying to myself that i will never forget that year. Today, i run a very successful business and even though i don't have a mother anymore, i have some adopted ones that i take care of the same way i would have taken care of my mum.

Forgive!!! Bible says HONOUR ur father and ur mother so that ur days may be long... Am sure u r a mother now! How would u feel if ur own offspring hates u? U really do not av to hate her for being lazy; laziness most times could be helpless...thanks

I don't care if she made a mistake wiv er age or not for those dat only noticed that what I care about is her acknowledging that her Mother was the best give to er! I relate to this story very well cos it is kinda similar 2mine I can't forget Abacha's regime wen level 12officers were paid 14k per month!When ma mum will save for 3mths to be able 2pay ma feess wen ma dad refused 2pay cos she wanted me to go to a Private Second sch!Omoo meehn ma Mother is the best gift God has given to me n ma brothers!I relli can't wait to make more money soo she can be mch more comfortable and enjoy the fruits of er Labour!Mother to every not Perfect tho bur I still love er despite er excess!@the Woman dat hates er Mother plz sorry just love er becos she carried you for 9mths noo be beanz!To all mothers in the world dead or alive God bless you all real goood!To ma Mother you stil remain ma 1st Love Until I find a Man dat truli loves me n deserves the love u gave to Me and I giv to u !Enuff Said!#

Good you told your story, God bless your household and I pray that he gives you momma good health so she can reap the fruits of her labour.

The agony of motherhood. Thank God U remembered

my dear Sister, one thing i beg of you is to take good care of her, no matter what people may say, make her happy.

my mother did alot for us, she sells all kind of stuff to see us go thru school, she sells lives, kola, used newspaper, her cloth, her jewelries there is nothing she hardly did not do to make sure, we are okay. but today she can testify. and I am still willing to do more than she ever imagine, she mean so much to me.

Please, if you have a mother like this, don't just admire her, "TAKE GOOD CARE OF HER" make her happy always.

I love my mother, she is everything to me, and she has not seen anything yet, the best is yet to come.

This is a good mother while some mothers will claim they are poor, that is the reason while they could not care for their children, and they will live 15,16,17 years old child to be following men around, even some will give their children to long lost aunty or uncle in the name of traveling abroad and they end up MOLESTING those children. please learn parent lets us all carry our cross as youth, we should know we have a lot awaiting us, so DON'T BE LAZY.

Mary's baby said...

See you all saying nice things about your mothers. Some of u will open ur mouth and call Mary the mother of God a mere instrument, an envelope etc. Thing abt all that she suffered for her only child, even till he died on the cross and @ least be silent instead of saying hurtful words.

1982 could have been the typo. She probably meant 1992. I wonder how people can come across suuch a beautiful story and all they bother about is the 1982 date quoted in the story. Very insensitive lot. No wonder the things that happen in Nigeria. A lot of people just seem to have lost touuch with their consciences. Anyway, nne that was a beautiful and inspiring story. I pray God's favour shines on ur mum. Its mothers like urs that make the world a beautiful place.

I really appreciate your comment" LAZINESS most times could be helplessNess" although i have forgiven her but dat closeness is not just there.Now im a proud mother of two after series of abortion , If not for God's mercy my life would have been sumtin else.

Ohhh wat a story,makes me aappreciate my mum more. She is the best mum any1 cld think of,she sacrificed a lot 4 me nd my siblings,nd she stil sacrificing.I remember wen thins wher a bit slow 4 us,she ws driving her car herself as taxi 2 pay our fees,nd we wher all in private school at dat time.thanks 2 God my younger ones re doing well,nd she is beginning 2 enjoy d fruit of her labour. Even though I've nt bn able 2 do much 4 her. I'm d eldest of 5kids,I'm 33 married wit kids,bt I'm goin thru financial crises dis period,I kn God wil show himself soon in my life IJN. Bt my mum stil dnt want 2 kn I'm married she care abt me so much,I dnt buy cloths 4 myself or kids,she is always d 1 doing d shopin 4rm uk,infact somtimes I feel so ashamed dat I ask myself wen wil I start sacrificin 4 dis woman?my pains is her tears... Nd I kn she wil live 2 enjoy d fruit of her labour IJN AMEN! Thank God she is stil very young,she is jst 53. Very very soon I kn I'm gonna spoil her real good:) I luv u so much my sweet mum. U kn I've always bn ur "bestest daughter:*"

I miss my mommy...So excited to be seeing her in a few days after a long while. She is the best thing that ever happened to me and I'm ever grateful to God that at 67 years of age and still toiling, she is still alive and well. I am 23 years old and an only child. She is all I have and I'm all she has... May God give me a great husband and beautiful kids so that I can put the biggest smile on her face..cos that's what she wants now. God bless her. God bless the air she breathes. God bless her soul. Amen. I love you mummy

There is nothing like a good mother who sacrifice all for her family. My mother is 63 and she still make sure she keep her family going. How she did it always amaze me even after the death of her husband who is the best father anyone can ask for. I guess I and my sibling are really bless to have her. And I continue to pray to give me what it takes to show my appreciation to her one day. There is nothing like a mothers love for her children and husband. Though, sometimes my mum can be so annoying. However, I agree with lilian on her story but I don't want to believe she is 26 years cos if she is den the story is told to her or she made a mistake about her age.

Mama Ifu said...

Maybe she was giving her football or Nysc age...force of habit...
@3:57, I feel for u. Please try and forgive her-she may have been going through something that she herself can not understand....maybe a mental illness, maybe severe abuse that made her unable to raise a child.....there's something fundamentally wrong with any woman or man who abandons their child, so you are lucky she had the sense and wherewithal to drop u at ur dad's, and not jut leave u on the streets or under the bridge somewhere.... Take care of ruse,f my dear....hope u have an Aunty that's a mommy equivalent( not replacement...equivalent..) God bless you, honey.

My dear i dont know why this should be news on a blog. ok we get it ur 15 mins of fame. all mothers are expected to love their kids unconditionally and in case u have not noticed most do.

I tire o. It was an error. She meant 36, at least 1982 pikin don clock 30 na

Naijarian said...

To those doubting her age, the story could have been written 10 years ago..

Ijaw Chic said...

Too many sadists mehn. This writer gave her full names, her mother's full names, her FAMILY PICTURE, shared her life story and ALL some idiots can see is age discrepancy.

Is this a logic test? And if it were, all those spotting the "error" wouldn't even scale through!!

This is a lovely story with a STRONG message.

What would be her basis for lying?? She's no tsoliciting financial support from anyone. All she's doing is showing appreciation to her mum!!

Some people just do not have any functional brain cells I swear!!

well Linda, my story is different.
though, i appr when parents are caring and loving, but i dont like to talk about mine. tnx

Thats motherhood for u,Nothing and i repeat nothing compares to it.

LusciousBerry said...

for all doz commenting on the gurls age and not focusing on the main story, a big shame on u, did u ever stop to tnk that it cld hv bn a typo, maybe she meant to write either 1992 or 36yrs. As the one that calls himself "inibetok" walahi ur olodo no get part two, so as u calculate 2012-1982 na 28yrs u get, hmmmm *smhv* u nid to go bak to pry sch. touching story. I luv my mum she's d best mother anyone cld ask for, i pray dt God kips her so i can spoil her silly. Lilian i pray God kips ur mum for u.