Policemen shoot robbed banker, security guard in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 12 November 2012

Policemen shoot robbed banker, security guard in Lagos

An employee of Access Bank Plc, Mr. Femi Badejo, and his security guard, Joshua Moses, were shot by policemen in Lagos on Saturday after they responded to a distress call about a robbery at the banker’s home in Ikota area of the state.

PUNCH Metro learnt that the robbers had attacked Badejo and his neighbours around 4am and one of the neighbours made a distress call to the police, but by the time the policemen arrived about an hour later, the robbers had fled.

Badejo said he and his neighbours were in the compound discussing what had transpired when the policemen stormed the building and started shooting sporadically.

He is currently receiving treatment at St. Nicholas Hospital, Lagos Island.

Badejo said, “I live in a one-storey building and there are four tenants occupying the ground floor. Around 4am, armed robbers stormed our house.
“The robbers robbed all of us occupying the ground floor. They stole my clothes, money, phones and other valuables. While the robbery was ongoing, one of the tenants called Maroko Police Division.”
Badejo said after the robbers had fled, scores of policemen arrived at the house while one of them started shooting indiscriminately, adding that he was hit five times.
He said, “We (neighbours) were all inside the compound counting our losses when we heard a bang on the gate. Immediately the security guard opened, one of the policemen started shooting indiscriminately.

“The security guard was shot in the pelvis and in the back but the bullet pierced through his chest. I immediately took cover under a car but the policeman came to where I was and started shooting at me.

“Another policeman came behind me and shot. The first shot came through my feet and fractured my leg. Two shots grazed my thighs. Another shot went through my biceps and came out, while one went through my wrist.

Badejo added that it took the intervention of the other neighbours as well as the Divisional Police Officer of the station to prevent him from being killed.

Badejo and the injured guard were immediately rushed to the hospital. The guard was subsequently transferred to General Hospital, Broad Street, and then Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Ikeja.  He is said to be in a critical condition.

One of our correspondents learnt that Badejo was scheduled to give a lecture at a summit organised by the bank on Saturday.

According to a colleague who craved anonymity, the company executives were curious when he did not show up as scheduled.

He said, “Badejo is in Total Quality Management Department at the head office. He is part of the team working on the 21st century transformation which the bank is working on. He was supposed to deliver a lecture at 8.30am but when we did not see him, we began to wonder what went wrong.
“It was not until later that we received words from one his relatives that he was shot by policemen.”
Badejo, who berated the police for lack of professionalism, said, “When the policemen came into the compound, they didn’t even ask any questions. One of them just started shooting. Even the armed robbers did not even assault me, they only took my belongings.”

On Tuesday, a commercial motorcycle rider, Adigun Atilola, was shot by a policeman at Ilupeju during the clampdown on okada riders. The following day, a policeman, Oluwatiyesi Gboyega, also allegedly shot and killed a bus conductor during an argument over N50.
A call placed to the spokesperson for the state police command, Ngozi Braide, on Sunday was not answered and neither did she reply a text message sent to her on the shooting of the banker and securityman.

Source: Punch

101 comments:

BLOGLORD said...

ive said it that majority of Nigerian police are retarded. tomorrow somebody will say 'police is ur friend' 'help police to help u'
these policemen really need to go through some form of mental check. like seriously.
just imagine! the person that called u that a crime was committed is the person u went there to shoot. dot hey use their head at all? I hate Nigerian policemen i swear!

i am so sorry,but i have laffed my ass off,that policeman is an idiot,thank God he didnt kill anyone.

i keep saying these,policemen do not need guns, if policemen in Lagos can be these dumb and foolish then u can imagine what goes on in the rural area,Kindly give policemen torchlight instead. assholes mtshewwwwwww

it feels like watching african magic.hmnnnnn

The policemen were most likely drunk as they are most times. It's just a sad thing to see the level of rot in this country! Extremely sad.

And as usual Ngozi Braide will not have any information when she is reached. She never knows anything about what is going on.

Gbabe said...

I think there is a need for comprehensive psychiatric evaluation of the Nigeria policemen. Lord have mercy!

Pls d banker Should sue the Police Force for their incompetence!

the policemen in this country are very useless, i hope they pay for what they did cos if it were me i won't take sorry o what kind of nonsense is that? apart from the fact that they are always late they are total useless always harassing the innocent if only some robbers will just target the police and give them some kind justice i won't feel sorry for them

Its high time we disarm nigerian police and give dem cane..terrorists in uniform

Nigerian police force a national disgrace

L.A.S.T.M.A KIlla said...

OMG sorry guy. what a mess...saying it again, if the armed robbers don't kill you the police certainly will. Police is the biggest Mafia and they are legal to do it. God save us all #Menace

STAN said...

dis is bullshit n rily nids to b adressed by d proper authorities.....smh

VERRRY DISTURBING!!!! I must say! Whaaat!!@anonymous 12:58pm, u laffed ur ass off?? Seriously! Even More Disturbing.. Can Jesus Just come now and end all this! Let's just go to heaven and bring all this CRAP 2 an end.. Cos its totally beyond me... #worried uch.. Don diddy!

This is really bad, what is the lagos state saying about all this random shootings by policemen, linda I think this has gotten out of hand, something needs to be done ASAP!

Omg dis police pple r so foolish nd senseless Femi d lord is ur strenght *hugs* I'm sure bishop Oyedepo will b prayn 4 u cos u'r 1 of his eagles (1st set graduate of Cu) get well soon

Why can't nigerians call a national protest against the police so the whole world would know the kind of assholes we have as police people.

INCOMPETENCE!! NPF needs an overhaul. I pray they sue them of every penny. Its not funny but I tend to find it amusing of such crude actions by policemen

No joke all police officers shud be mentally checked or else we are all in trouble

Police used to be ur friend.

rofl @annon 12.59pm
torchlight ke? funny but true

Hrm paul Ojeih said...

This is so sad how can the man take cover behind a car and the police man still comes behind him to shot at him if no be say the man get odeshi the man for don die the police just wanted to assassinate the man pure and simple Nigerian police men legal and licensed assassins in uniform. They have sent a lot of innocent people to grave the police kill faster than Hiv

The Nigerian policemen need comprehensive evaluation my goodness.

firstly, Nigeria police should not be given guns, bec they do not know how to use it... I dt even think they are trained... In the UK you dt see police walking around with guns and they are even well trained and qualified... they should give them taser, let them start from there and see were it goes

The only solution to reformation of Nigerian police is to sack all of them and start to employ graudate as police,they also need a compulsory mental/medical check. If no b so patients go dee die for doctor hand oooohhhhhhh...

Nigeria police are nothing to write home about. Wish them speedy recovery

Yomslaw said...

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm! Lord have Mercy!

with all d shootings he shud jus thank God he is alive . wat kind of life is dis , even wen police stops u on u way u go dey fear say make their brain no touch so dey wont shoot u . if pple were not there dey wud hav said he was a thief nd all sorts . its jus not fair . i wonder d kind of trainin dey get at dat deir ikeja training college , cos left 2 me its pple dat hav lost hope in life dat join d police jus 4 rubish. in d us , u get 2 a stage were u graduate 4rm whistle to torch to baiton , to taser b4 u get gun u must b an expert . nd dey hav dis arms nd amonition very easy nd available to get , sotei immigration nd cutoms nd civil defense get guns . phewwwwwww wat a scary country .

BADLUCK JONATHAN,PLEASE ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF THIS DERANGED PEOPLE PARADED AS NIGERIAN POLICEMEN! dont let them kill us finish ooooo!!!! I almost cannot believe dis!

really sad...the robbers did not assault him, it was the people who were supposed to serve and protect that shot the guy...what an irony

why wont policemen be stupid wen gov. employ dem wt primary six certificate as qualification not even in a ggod school mcheeeeeeeeeew. God is watching dem.

retards in uniform

Nothing is funny here, how can a human being laugh @such,i feel down right now,cos i dnt knw what purnishmt will erase d trauma in d life of ds darling victims." Let us remember God in all we do". NPF take note of ds

This level of unprofessionalism can't just be explined.

They banged on the gate,it was opened and then they opened fire. For christ sake, who did they imagine opened the gate, the robbers?

It is excess cowardice at play. They don't want to take chances so opened fire any all moving object. It is possible the police man involved has never confronted armed robbers before so delegated to do so, decided anything not on uniform as his was an enemy.

The police must instil the spirit of calculated bravery in their men. I have seen the men of the Nigerian Army demonstrate it against dare devil robbers. it is not beyond the police

@aheadahead9ja

FortySeven said...

I have repeatedly said that the only language the NPF understand is the language of money. If enough of us sue them enough times in highly publicized trials and they are forced to dole out lots of cash in punitive damages and compensation they will sharply clean up their act!

A lot of them operate under the influence of alchohol, marijuana and other substances. This is the reason for there often erratic behaviour.

This Badejo guy should go beyond merely thanking God for sparing his life, he should take the NPF to court for everything they are worth.

The Nigeria Police is a hot mess!

Tim says...
The most annoying part is dat,d so-called policer officer will β shielded n nth happens.

Anamachikwanu said...

NPF is a big shame.They only flex muscles in front of innocent and unarmed citizens.I bet you if the robbers were still around,they wudnt even turn up.This creation of state police of a thing wud be the biggest mistake Nigeria can ever make.

Go to church and do thatnks given,when readin the story i cant help laugh but we thank God for life.

Chop Chop said...

Alagbon, where is ur IG?

MJ said...

Seconded!

Mr Banker plz get a very good lawyer n sue d Nigeria police for assault,attempted murder and whatever! This stupid policemen wud have killed dis promising young man but God saved dia lives. This useless policemen needs to to be re-orientated,d incompetent ones needs to be flushed out with immediate effect. IG take note.Nonsense

deczylet said...

Wtf!! No 1 got any body injuries until d police came!! Mayb dey r on drugs.. 5 bullets in 1 person?? I fank God 4ur life dear

Dis is really Bad....mehnnn. My hatred for Police officers can neva change. WHAT D HELL. *linda plz post my comment

SUE JORDAN said...

THERE IS TRULY NOTING FUNNY ABOUT THIS SITUATION. IN A COUNTRY WHERE THE CITIZENS PROTECT THEMSELVES BECAUSE THE POLICE ARE A BUNCH OF INCOMPETENT RETARDS...

quin said...

Like seriously every thing abt Nigeria pisses me off.. Nigeria sucks, police shooting without asking questions. Na wetin dem teach dem??? Dey all need to go bak to basic. I really feel 4 d young guy

Joe said...

hi i like this blog and saloot to your performance

This police are jusy a useless set of people. Femi Badejo is a graduate of CU,please Pray for his quick and safe recovery. Nkan be o!

This country has failed in most sectors & ds is an example of its sad story

Lolz Wot an irony, stupid set of people. Did they even pass elementary six

Ms Dee said...

Lwkmd @ kindly gv policmen torch light instead

i pray these police men wil go thru wot dey do to their victims IJN amen

GODKNOWS,

MINIMUN QUALIFICATION INTO POLICE SERVICE SHOULD BE A DEGREE EVEN AS AS A RECRUIT.

THEN WE CAN START THE REFORMATION FROM THERE

Sorry o but its police officers or d police force not policemen! Fanks #TS2J

But dat banker luks Hot sha!

I total au agree Blog Lord. They are crazy people. It's like giving a mad man a gun. They are all mad. God help us o

Why have you laughed your ass off? What's so funny about the story? Ate you ok?

na so police wan take kpai my guy, Femi. RVP, dem no go see you jor... Anyhow sha, I gbadu ur pose for bed there! Safe, mate!

normally i don't post comments on here but this shit right here is a dark funny ish! i thought policemen were to protect? come on now Nigeria,you can do better than all these retarded idiots u call cops. That dude could have died man.thank God he is alive and i do hope the security guard survives it. I will just stay here in london jeje dey wipe oyinbo man ass..met police no sha go shoot me!

Its about time the police force partnered with either american or UK police to ensure that all their offficers undergo compulsory six months training for all levels of staff. This training can be carried out here. I know someone who had tried to sell this idea to the police but corruption never let the idea see the light of day. Let's stem this tide of mediocrity and inefficiency that is afflicting our nation.

Trigger happy fools! what is this country turning to? oh chim o! pray the Security guard comes out alive...

mariamah said...

Not all police men are fit to carry guns

"Jesus should come now"....since he is wasting ur time go n meet him naw....

Femo, thank God 4ur life o jare....we go see.

Sad story....but I can see a blackberry charging beside him....I'm sure he just updated on his pm #dying things......"close eyes.....lol..

junie said...

A lot of Nigerians need psychiatric help!Policemen with coconut brains. idiots!!!

Jesus Christ,what's going onwith the Nigerian police,all. Of them should be in the mental ward,even me a bloody civilian know that u only shoot at someone that is holding a gun ,2 things are very significant this man was not holding a gun,and he hands up(went behind a car)that's surrender which is piece offering,who arethose instructors at the police academy abeg what are they teaching policemen.kai Nigeria oooooooo

Mad guys in Black uniform bunch of retards

Sadey

yet they are clamoring for state police.......what should we be expecting if its being created. I really pray for quick recovery for d banker and d guard. In the first place. It's really sad and funny.

CU BABE said...

I KNOW DIS HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS POST BUT ABEG DIS PEALIE BABE IS JUST TOO FINE ABEG........LOOKS LIKE THE FINER VERSION OF JACKIE APPIAH

Hmmmm. Don't u think the policemen are d robbers?? They came 1hr later after the robbers had left. Maybe na dem come tif, na so they use anger shoot d bobo sey hin call police. They re d robbers. Cos I wonder y they would jst enter a building, trigger happy. *confused*

emperor said...

Sometimes I wonder how these police recruitment is being conducted.. Do they even go for proper mental training before being handed over a rifle.. Ω̴̩̩̩̥α once they see inocent people Ω̴̩̩̩̥α there the madness go start. Shameless polish

This is pathetic and absurd!It's noteworthy that norin would be done about dis stupidity.Injustice!They are just nincompoops.Crazy set of human beings!This is shear unrest.

It has come out from a reliable source that the Policemen after recieving the call stopped at a joint to Ginger their swagger with Apeteshi and ogidiga and some toke of Weed. This was announced on BBC. Thank God the Guy is alive.
JESSE' hating all of this POPO bullshit.

Our police guys r animals in human skin

Ngozi Braide! Clueless just like the rest of them! I thot a woman in dat office will make things more transperent. Alas,am i wrong!!! Since she assumed office,not one single piece of common sense has come forth her mouth. She either 'has not been informed' or 'no compliant has being made' or she just cant be reached! NPF is just useless and its only God who watches our city. People,draw closer to Him as He is our only stronghold!

Infact we should just rid off the government and rule ourselves, life will be much easier. My opinion.No insults please.

I agree.. The Police Force is supposed to be the one employing graduates. Take Dangote's initiative (even though I still have some reservations against him employing graduates). In this case, it will pay us all, big time. Not some run-down illiterates handling guns like savages!!!

You brought the words right out of my mouth.. Truly sad.

No need to insult you when you said the truth.

Dis is beyond me...*speechless

Stanley Onduru said...

Never seen a crazier bunch of retards as the POLICE. Check out yelnatsfashion.blogspot.com for UK apparels nd accessories @ reasonable prices.

Nigerians always find d funny side of everything, the police officers could have been the robbers and decided to come back when they realised the phone dey took was china and they came back to shoot him out of anger. he kept the real bb to update. y didn't dey shoot the other house mates. lol

They shot deinde fernandez's in-law dead @ lekki roundabout on independence day a few years ago,as we speak d trigger happy cop's yet to be brought to book.

policemen are intoxicated with power

Mz Tee said...

Lasers??? Those are weapons too! They'd shock everyone to death! That wd even be more dangerous than d gun!

MOT4U said...

Two reactions are common to deluded Nigerians and both run through some comments here.1st is to laugh it off, as a comic relief. When in in all reality it is not funny. Secondly, is to roll out drums and do Sunday church thanksgiving dance, mouthing God's name for grace! What madness in both cases! Do we question why it happened? How not to make it happen again? Do we measure punishments to such erring policeman, his commanding officers up to dat state commissioner? Even IG? Do all these people feel that where one erred, all would bear the brunt? Do lawyers amongst us rush to sue police force?
The security guard...if as usual,will eventually die and his suffering family placated with meager sum and wise words. God, when will Nigerians understand that You have given us abilities to live better?

Jehovah Jireh! It's like you only become a policeman after you have failed ALL other employment and IQ tests in this country

the police shd be totally reformed, here are my thoughts
1.policemen shd be screened before being appointed not just physical exercises but mentally too
2. They shd be drafted into classrooms and thought what's is called human rights and priviledges... Abroad even a reknowned recriminal is not shot at, unless if he poses a threat to the public during the course of arrest, infact the officers there dont shoot unless it is absolutely necessary
3.officers shd be tested randomly for alchohol and drugs,any caught shd be disbanded as a deterrent to others
4.not all officers you be given guns, bartons and electric discharge guns are advised and to special operatives dat will be given all bullets must be accounted for
5.intense trainnin dat mirrors real life situations shd be done
6. So much more things, i think our government shd take this seriously the whole police body nees serious reforms, their ogas shd stop stealing money for reforms and screenings, exercises and trainning, they shd try and save the little good left in the police force if there is any.. Lemme add this, do you know dats soldiers abroad us specifically goes to military court and give accounts of war, if shoot when not needed or so much as bat an eye in the ditection u re not ordered then u will be sentenced to miltry facilities. Thanks. #AIM

Is this a joke or what?seriously i think they abolish da police force in this country.do they really know what they stand for to their society.its really a pity.chaii!!!!

Nigerian Police have gone mad should be a real life sequel to Ola Rotimi's :'The gods have gone mad'tufiakwa for Nigeria.Na wa!

All police officers should be laid off and a strict recruitment model adopted. How many times have you heard of a soldier shooting someone? (i guess it isnt rampant) Lets wake up oh! Nigeria wake up! we shoot ourselves in the foot when we do not do things properly.
My apologies to all good policemen out there who have never taken a bribe before oh!

Lindaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Please don't just wait till it gets worse , how do you suggest we deal with this craziness from the police.( endless killing of innocent souls, accidental discharge and all sort).
Please stage a platform that will ensure the voice& face of the people
move government into action to check this menace we call police.

diva said...

he is cute.. hot legs

Nigerian Police are so useless that is why i dont pity them when Boko Hartam mambers deal with them in the north,Nigerian police are even the enemies we have

emi noni said...

lmao at the police. stupid pple. robbers sef no shoot na police dey shoot. i hate the police. retarded set of pple.

its a big shame dat we re in a country in which 95% of d citizens re confused, we do not even knw wats going on in our country. d govt can not come out to tell us d type of govt dat we re running in d country and d masses re so confused dat we do not even knw who is ruling who.ao on earth can one be shot not once but five times without confirmation. if not for d people around,they might even come out to say d guy is one of d robbers. its only God dat will save us in dis country

OMG! I know this guy. Nigerian Police + armed robbers= devil's messengers...Beware

I am really amazed at the acts of our police officers. They act as though untrained. Is there something wrong with our environment? I ask this question because these same people excel and come out the best when they go for foreign missions. Why can't they replicate the same professionalism here in Naija?

Aite said...

Give dem a club n dey will beat u to death.Give dem a gun n dey will blow ur brains away. Give dem tasers?Dey will shock ur life away.
Its simple,NPF has bin possessed wit some trigger hungry/life taking spirit. We nid to fast n pray b4 dey shoot everyone dead.
Its scary how dey take d lives of d innocent citizens dey swore to protect.
Nigeria my beloved Country!
How did we bcom so lawless?

Sweets said...

OMG i know this guy!!! Femi Badejo!! nawa oh NPF, useless lot. Fucking retards, i hate them.Thank God for sparing your life oh!get well soon. I remember coming down from a bike infront of my close in surulere and the police fucker guarding Zenith bank told me to STOP dia!! and i looked at the fool and started walking away, the next thing i heard was the cork of his gun!! the bastard told me not to move or he would waste my life, i was furious and asked him what i had done to him. He said to me every day i dey see you dey roll ya yansh up and down!! i was so angry i started cursing at him. He pointed the gun in my face and told me to shut the fuck up or he would waste my life!! people around came to my rescue that day and they confirmed that the motherfucker was drunk at 1pm on a hot saturday afternoon!! That is so not an excuse for being stupid! i reported him to the manager of the bank and those fuckers dint do shit about it!!i see him everyday and at every given opportunity i try to hit him with my car or splash muddy water on him when it rains! I terrorize the cock sucker every time i see him sha.

U r d one who is not ok! I also laughed so hard! Altho its a sad story its just ridiculous! M sure ery normal human laughed

This isn't funny but it reminds me of a funny incident during my cousins Traditional marriage where police was brought for crowd control. The crowd which had besiege the van carrying the drinks had become unruly so my other cousin, younger brother to the one getting married, thought it wise to involve the police to move the crowd back.

At the end the police did not recognise even him. He drove away everyone including my cousin even as my cousin was trying to let the police know he was the one that invited him in the first place.

Such is the police for you. This is unfortunate.