NCC bans all telecoms promos and Lotteries with immediate effect | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 13 November 2012

NCC bans all telecoms promos and Lotteries with immediate effect

The Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC) yesterday November 12th banned all promotions and lotteries being run by telecoms companies with immediate effect.

Do you support this ban? Meanwhile find a statement NCC released after the cut...

Ban of all promotions and lotteries by telecommunications operators
The Commission has, in recent times been inundated with several complaints from consumers, Industry Stakeholders against the various promotions offered by Telecommunications Operators.

Consistent with its processes, the Commission has carefully evaluated the complaints received especially against the backdrop of sustaining the integrity of the networks, the general interest of the consumers, the socio-economic impact of these promotions on Operators and other relevant stakeholders.

The Commission is also mindful of its statutory responsibilities such as; to protect and promote the interest of consumers against unfair practices, promote fair competition in the industry by protecting Operators from misuse of market power and anti-competitive/unfair practices by other Operators.

i. In due regard to the afore-mentioned responsibilities therefore and having observed that these promotions have increased the number of minutes available to subscribers for use within a limited period of time thereby creating congestion in the networks as subscribers try to use up the available minutes within the stipulated time.

ii. That on-net calls were now being offered by Operators at tariffs well below the prevailing inter-connect rates thereby introducing anti-competitive practices and behaviour.

iii. That termination of calls were becoming increasingly difficult from one network to another and overall consumer experience on the networks has become very poor thereby making it extremely difficult for subscribers to make calls successfully.

Consequent upon the above-mentioned, the Commission therefore has banned all promotions by Telecommunications Network Operators as well as lotteries being carried out on such networks. This ban covers all proposed and approved promotions and lotteries on which the Commission has given approval further to the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) entered into with the National Lottery Regulatory Commission (NLRC).

This ban is with immediate effect and shall continue to remain in force until such a time as may be determined by the Commission. The Telecom Operators affected by this include the following:

• GLOBACOM LTD
• MTN
• INTERCELLULAR NIG PLC
• VISAFONE COMMS LTD
• ETISALAT
• AIRTEL NETWORKS LTD
• MULTILINKS TELECOMS LTD

The Commission wishes to assure all Telecommunications consumers of its resolve to ensure that the Quality of Service offered across all networks is such that delivers value to the consumers.

Tony Ojobo
Director, Public Affairs

102 comments:

Warri Girl said...

Who are the consumers complaining of free promos? Although I understand the NCC point of view but the promo is still nice. Osho-Free is sweet *winks*

Good one though, but they(NCC) should also work towards improving GSM connectivity and Internet connectivity offered by these networks, especially MTN, they care less because they have the highest customer base, their internet connectivity is the worst!!

Kiki said...

Now, we'll know who is who in the industry. MTN and their outrageous promos,"win an aeroplane", win over N200billion. All wacky networks. I've used every network and I can say for certain that the only reliable networks we have in this country are: Visafone and Etisalat. The others are just crappy networks that have only mouth-watering promos and adverts to offer. They promote freebies, and not excellent customer service or quality network.

Atobatele said...

Good move...tho long overdue.

YINOTINTO said...

nice one though, but they should have allowed airtel sha. this mtn ppl are the worst in service yet they want to give their customers aeroplane. awon weyrey

Amanda Reginald. said...

E gud well well as pple dnt ever win. Only to exploit pple they kno. Rubbish network. Imagine MTN sayin win an aeroplane. Just imagine d concurbility? Wetin we wan use airplane do? #notinterested

Lekan said...

All the promo na scam! poor services always trail their yeye promo. I support the ban.

Lekan said...

I support the ban.

Chidiebere said...

NCC sef, i tire ooo. should they ban all promos or try to investigate and prosecute detected foul play by any of these operators,like the MTN aeroplane, GLO 1 million dollars etc but no body won,
As for the call rate, why should NCC be bitter that it is low? if poor network is being experienced, shouldn't NCC step in and ensure that Operators restore good networks. so networks would be better when we call at N100 per sec. God help us!

Good development!

I go miss mtn free credit oo, msm back to pinging.

Micbechy said...

Good one especially the MTN type.Winning Aeroplane for just loading 100 naira. They would have allowed us to see that one happen before the ban

emperor said...

What took them so long.. These network operators fulling subscribers in †ђξ name of foolish promos. They out one and take ten in return. No proper regulation, I simply hope Ncc will iron these issues abi Ω̴̩̩̩̥α just media propaganda.. I just tire.

Dr. Pinch said...

Nice one NCC. Promos that they fix am yet to see that guy that won one million dollars in Globacom one million dollar promo last 2 years. As for MTN and their air craft, God punish them.

dee said...

MTN should give out d plane 1st ooo

Frank@ ontario said...

Thank God. at least we can rest now from all this noise of win 5 aeroplane in one week or win 50 million naira by just loading 100 naira card. Nonsense! But bad business though for advert agencies.. bloggers, magazines, news paper house, TV and Radio stations. heard this telecom companies pay so well so advertise. NCC should also try and ban promos on all breweries. they also need to sit up. Thank You Linda.. You head dey there.

DATSHAPIBOBOY said...

This has been a long coming. The competition was no longa in service delivery but in prank promos and lotteries.
Comment signed, sealed and delivad by DatshapIboBoy

So because of EmptyHen (MTN) all other networks will suffer... na wa o.
I hear MTN was to announce the winnner of the win an aeroplane today and now the BAN. I am sure MTN is behind dis ban so dey won't give out the Aeroplane..
The most Reliable network remains ETISALAT.

Just when MTN is about to give me my aeroplane and a free house in dubia plus guaranteed spot in heaven whether I repent or not lololol and smh. These telecomms are all mad with crappy network . I support the ban

Gbam! Gbamer!! Gbamest!!! *Floetry in Motion*

All smiles said...

Its been a long tym comming atleast this will stir up competition among themselves and they will reduce call rate... Bt wait oooo who won the plane and the country????????

To God be the Glory! whew! make we hear word. crappy services and empty promises.

Critical observer said...

Heyyyyyy! Etisalat promos are real and valid!

MTN masters of con!

AIRTEL the party of life..

GLo.. No comment

This should be for our good(I hope)

N wa o. na me and my guy groove Mtn 5* bonus pass. how we go do now? I don't know weda to support dis band or not.

Ighorue John-Paul said...

What the crap!!!
I was looking forward to how MTN would escape its scam, especially when we investigate the Aeroplane scam, now NCC has given them a lee-way!!!@vexThings

So what happens to all those who partook in the competition, will their money be returned? Will they get refunds?

I wish I could post pixxx here, my friends and I have been CONSTANTLY credited with our 20percent for previous month credits used on @ETISALAT.

Pls NCC respond to the refunds request and scam investigation perpetuated by MTN.

Definitely support the ban. They all dubious.

Pw££tty™ said...

Beta self, cos i no dey eva dey win, na only dem dey win. But dem 4 leave d free credit aspect ooo

Linda Abeg, follow me beg NCC o. Na today MTN wan give me the airloplane, make dem never ban them o (and MTN make una make sure say no be una put up this ban o, cos I must win that airloplane today today.after buying mtn recharge card with over half of my salary) #angryface

Thank God.... stupid ppl they'll make you pay for promos they are offering

God bless NCC,all this promos are not genuine and the real meaning of it is not revealed until u participate.I credited my mtn account with N750 on sunday cos of d info I got while trying to recharge, that on recharge using *888#,you get 100% bonus.to my dismay,both my airtime of N750 and bonus of 750 was cleaned from my account on monday. I was filled with fury,I called their Centre and all I got was an apology that I was suppose to exhaust d 750 airtime and bonus dat weekend. that is how they ve been cheating us one way or the other.I fully support the ban,nonsense promo.dey give u 1 and take times 10.hissssssssss

Atleast they will stop flooding my phone with their silly messages. *do this and win this and that*. And they keep deducting my credit everyday(Glo&mtn)i use am, I no use am, my credit keeps disappearing. I don't even recharge anymore except I want to make a call, I just recharge #100 and use it. They're all criminals.

Uchechi said...

I love this...thanks a million NCC!!!

NCC just made my day says the GREMLIN!

Mashkur Ibrahim KD said...

what a developement.....

mimi said...

This is MTN's Fault, their network is so horrible, so so congestion, everytime you want to make a call. i think its good, but it should not be a long term thing.

Solomon said...

So NCC waited for MTN to give the plane in the ultimate wonder promotion today before stopping the promotion. Those promotion dont add any value to the consumers. why will Mtn want to give plane, what stopped them from building homes, creating jobs for every1 who is involved in building process. The ban took too long, when the only way to get subscribers is thru price war and the consumers will be the beneficiaries.

Solomon said...

So NCC waited for MTN to give the plane in the ultimate wonder promotion today before stopping the promotion. Those promotion dont add any value to the consumers. why will Mtn want to give plane, what stopped them from building homes, creating jobs for every1 who is involved in building process. The ban took too long, when the only way to get subscribers is thru price war and the consumers will be the beneficiaries.

Eya Ayambem said...

Concurbility

Eiyah! Saka go lose im job now o, Yaw no go fit hold head open eyes wild with colleague again and all Nollywood artist and comedians go face dia job squarely bcoz no more oshofree from Glo. Make una pele!

Eya Ayambem said...

Like Glo text to win promo. I play sotay hand pain me. Concurbility!

Oh no, I love etisalat. They are genuine and the best so far

I smell a rat, shey na 2day wey dem go tell us who win aeroplane na hin NCC barn am?mheewwwwww!who r dey deceiving.....smh

Thank you NCC. I love ETISALAT the best network ever. They have their own brain touch but at least they are still reliable and their promo's aren't outragous.

Eya Ayambem said...

God bless Etisalat. Say Amen.

Etisalat is d best jor..I always collect my 20% Bonus every month and its free to all netwok..mtn is d major cos of this ban..I hate dem..####

Eya Ayambem said...

Etisalat no dey fail.

God bless NCC,thiefs esp dat useless mtn,God purnish dem,was very broke used my last 200 to recharg it jst disapeared,tried callg c.c. ,noway.thunder fire mtn.

damie said...

i support. they are scamming us with promo and bonus

Yeah indeed, God bless NCC. MTN Is the most annoying n fakest. Rip offs! Win aeroplane my butts!!! Wat d hell?! They must really think we are dumb.... Dat promo is d height of all silliness! ! Silly!!

haha.wetin nah! y u wan kil me wt laugh. dat guaranteed spot in heaven part dey make me roll on d floor.

ONOME says......
Ur comment na die!!!!lolllllzzzzzzz.God bless u mighty.U made my day.

Mtn said we shud stil watch out 4 d winner.My hands are crossed.

VICKY DARL said...

The worst network of d year goes to MTN...always not reachable while ur phone is on.......

Does that mean I'll no longer get my 20% from Etisalat?? Noooooo!!

And does this also affect family and friends call rates?

Nice move but I don't think Etisalat should be on that list tho

Etisalat own is real nah abeg i want still dey enjoy free credit for my you and me oh and 20% bonus of my recharge every month

Pls dat etisalat easyblaze internet tin z slower dan a snail...

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!! Does that mean i won't win my aeroplane today?? Why today of all days now??? Do i smell a rat somewhere?? Abi MTN decided they will give the aeroplane out today since they knew the ban wwould take effect?? Hmmmmmmmmmmm!! Plenty questions with no answers!! God is watching o!!!

Nuff Said!!!

L.A.S.T.M.A KIlla said...

Thank God so finally someone is coming to their senses...the "win an aeroplane" was a national embarrassment cos it said too much about the Naija mentality. Or even the airtel's "Millionaire @ 29, 5yrs too late" with the picture of a con looking guy on the billboard. Plus all the unsolicited call and text Fuelling this get rich quick attitude and providing piss poor telephony. NCC needs to nip it in the bud and also get rid of those "hello,hello...nothing" calls that we all end up PAYING for

Esty said...

I Love dis Ban. MTN Don cheat Nigerians Enough

Esty said...

Beta

Esty said...

I Love dis Ban. MTN Don cheat Nigerians Enough

Olaoluwayimika said...

I kinda like this development on one hand but on the other, it's not too good coz these promos have turned out to be the little rewards we tend to get from the service providers. Like the free browsing megabyte stuff, the free calls and free SMS's. It would indeed be a thoughtful decision if it wasn't arrived at with spite or any ulterior motives. Or Perhaps, if the govt. wants to make communication more worthwhile and pleasant, then they should rejuvenate NITEL and let's do away with some of these crappy money laundering networks.

LMAOOOO... RECHARGE with N200 and win BRAND NEW GIRL FRIEND with over 200MILLION CONCUBINES....

recharge with N100 and win a pose picture in a private jet....

recahrge with N400 and win ur girlfriend's boyfriend

recharge with N750 and win a pregnancy with Tuface and Dino Malaye

recharge with N1500 and win a week to warm linda ikeji's bed....

lmaoooooo....

Why are Nigerians so gullible...NCC is just looking for Christmas money from these network providers..the question we should be asking is who approves the promos/lotteries in the 1st place?

Yes its NCC...NCC and NCC...gosh Nigerians!

coco said...

lmao!!!!

coco said...

perhaps one of these days there will be a promo on going 2 heaven!!! lwkmd

Infact MTN is really Madding(mad).

I suspect a foul play!!! NCC!!! MTN don bribe una! Why is the banning coming now, after all these years of bad network. NCC should have allowed the MTN winning of Aeroplane to take place before banning. I think that's why the banning is even with immediate effect. MTN Aeroplane Winner supposed to emerge this week according to news on NTA International. So, NCC why now? I smell a rat. Nigeria, God will help us. The whole system is so corrupt!!! GBAM!!!

Ah!!! We Thank God.... Empty Hen!!!!

Hello wonderful people, I beg to disagree with the NCC ban. The move is a"diversionary tactic" which is what presidents, governors and even the police of this country adopts to hood wink the masses and sweep genuine burning issues under the carpet. The NCC should address poor service and network quality, interconnectivity issues, customers complaints of disappearing credit, educate subscribers on their rights, etc. Some "diversionary tactic" examples will buttress the point here.
1- During the third term plot of chief Olusegun Obasanjo, when the uproar and opposition was too much to bear what did he do? He unlawfully declared the seat of the vice president vacant. Result? The masses attention was shifted from the plot.
2- On the morning of May 29th, Nigeria's Democracy day, president Goodluck Jonathan gave a broadcast which unveiled new changes in the country, part of which was the renaming of the University of Lagos after late Chief M.K.O Abiola. This was done at a time when there were burning issues such as increase in the price of fuel, Boko Haram attacks, fuel subsidy probe, PHCN epilepsy et all. Result? He renamed Unilag, took a trip to Brazil and the masses attention was shifted.
3- In 2011, during the gubernatorial elections in Abia state, when the heat was getting too much from comrade Chris Akomas, who was the deputy governor for 4 years, governor T.A Orji reportedly accused his deputy of 4 years of gun running and kidnapping. Result? Akomas was silenced and attention was shifted.
4- Where is former governor Diepreye Alamieyeseigha, a convicted money launderer? Where is Tafa Balogun, the Farouk Lawan versus Otedola case, the Nuhu Ribadu report on the fuel subsidy probe and all? Diverted. Now, let's divert back to NCC and the diversionary tactic.
SUMMARY: The NCC has always investigated the operations of telecommunication companies to check if their activities are in line with the regulations. Based on the result of the private inquiry the Commission has mandated operators to take urgent steps to implement the agreed measures to ensure immediate improvement of the quality of service on the networks. To ensure compliance, the NCC is considering measures like imposition of fines on errant operators, an order that SIM cards must be registered and no pre-registered SIM be sold, or the requirement that airtime validity be abolished pending when quality of service improves and the recent ban of promotions and lotteries. The operators flout and disregard these orders with wanton disregard simply because the NCC either lacks the authority to act or "ghana-must-go" bags have been and is still being transferred from the operators to our dear diversionary tactician. How much was NCC given for the SIM registration exercise and how was the money spent? A probe into the activities of the NCC is thus needed. Cheers....

Just Me said...

Good one!!! They should ban all promos esp dose from MTN... These companies brain-wash pple with the promos, its more like the promos are compensations for their terribly bad network service.

Just Me said...

Telecos should focus more on improving their network service than spending money on airtime to announced their promos.
Chai!!

SOULJACHIC said...

You have sense. This is what we should think of...

I second d motion

I second your comment

Am very sure mtn is behind dis ban cos dey don't wnt to give out d plane,well nice one from dem I consider d ban d biggest promo thou

For me this is the best news in Nigeria for 2012..my goshhh good riddance to prevailing rubbish and all those telecoms jibber-jabber jare!!!!

....Comments from Pinnochio.

segilola said...

Etisalat staff, keep hyping yourselves with your thiefery network. You people keep stealing my airtime for no reason. Your customer service is next to nothing. You cannot take over naija with crappy network & thiefery. *before you people bounce on me, i know there is nothing like thiefery* hehehehehehe If it pain you yes fry akara! :p :p

Abeg dey should also help me ban dem from flooding my phone wf their silly sms every 5mins. Sms go enter my phone, me wey dey expect alert from bank na, I go jump go my phone come see say na my service provider sms! Especially Airtel. Biko Waheva dey have to say, I'm not interested mbok! Dey should just provide me with beta network. Shikena!

I smell cospiracy here,how come is few hours to when the MTN promo of winning a plane this Ban is surfacing,i av a feeling mtn is behind dis,so that they wldnt keep the promise of plane ,aftr they av robbered their customers who participated in the promo.Ncc were u people slpn since or what.why d sudden ban,Tell us oo

I heard gist that a 26yrs old lady won the aeroplane promo TODAY. She opted for the #64million cash equivalent of the plane. Still unbelievable!

Hahaha! Your head dey there!

Lmao!!! Ndo...

Choi!!!

Ada Anambra. said...

I think Glo internet connection is d best! Have been using MTN for my BIS buh dey always eff up. I tried airtel and no way. Since I switched over 2 Glo, ve not had any complaints! Dough I prefer using mtn 2 make calls shaa!

Ada Anambra. said...

Etisalat selects phone! When I was using bold 3, etisalat internet connection doesn't work on it.

Na wa oo. its like you work with one of the government agency and at the same time one of the telecomms comapny.......for you to give out all this explanation.......harrison

Too badt, cutting short Saka's stipend from Etisalat's promo...hehehe!

I support . Why would a network stake incredible amount of money on promos while service quality drops daily?

MTN make sure you release the winner of the Airplane o! No say na because of the ban o! Am very sure MTN orchestrated this ban...

Eskoswag said...

i support the ban like crazy cos this netwrks must think we r fools, how can u load 200naira and win a private jet?? haba... dats d height of scam.... i never blived in all these promo's anyway..

TWITS said...

NCC, you can ban any other thing but why tamper with the low(er) call rates...does dat affect u guys in anyway? not evryone is as well-heeled as d ppl making dz rules. pls u guys shd think of actions dat impact positively on the masses (subscribers). If d networks are 'jamming', then task them to work it out, possibly with timelines..or is it only wen its N70/min on-net and N120 off-net dat services will improve. We do thns upside-down in dis country. Its a pity!

Is this suppose to be a coincidence or telecom politics. The MTN said win aeroplane is suppose to give out an aeroplane to a lucky winner today 13th Nov. and NCC is banning all promos and lotery today with immediate effect......MTN and their wayo

Blogtoto said...

MTN stands for Most-Terrible-Network everywhere u go!Their customer service reps need to stop 'heping' customers n actually help.First thing u hear is 'how may i 'hep' u with their strong H-factor.Bunch of illiterates!

Blogtoto said...

Lmao @ concurbility...maybe they think we're all pastors or governors

Blogtoto said...

My friend won a kia car in d glo promo,only that she never actually saw d car.She took a pic with d car for newspaper with other 'winners' but d car was sold by same glo staff in charge of d promo and she got peanuts.Turns out guy she was dating then(they're married) now did contracts for glo and d whole thing was arranged.For avoidance of doubt her name b4 marriage was Funke Badero and her father owned Naira Pools.She stayed off Allen at d time but now stays in Opebi.All their promos like everything else in Naija na wash!

when mtn won give plane

Blogtoto said...

Lmao @ concurbility...maybe they think we're all pastors or governors

Dis na scam... MTN don go bribe NCC, so dat dem Ω̴̩̩̩̥ȍ go giv out de Airplane

Jungle Justice said...

I third d motion! LMAO!!! Aeroplane??? Like seriously guys! Com'on now!

stay classy said...

noooo!,my etisalat monthly free credit!!! noooo! :(