The call for 'HELP' written in palm fronds saves the lives of 3 men stranded on an uninhabited island | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 9 April 2016

The call for 'HELP' written in palm fronds saves the lives of 3 men stranded on an uninhabited island

Three mariners have been rescued from a remote Pacific island after using palm fronds to spell out the word 'Help' on the beach. They had set out on what should have been a three-hour sailing trip before their tiny vessel was overtaken by waves.After their vessel which was heading to Weno Island was capsized by a wave, in a struggle to survive, the three men were forced to swim two miles to shore at night.

Their disappearance however did not go unnoticed. Hours after they went missing, the Coast Guard was notified and the search began.
The men spent three days fearing they would never see their loved ones again as they remained stranded on Fanadik Island. They then decided to use the age-old tactic of writing 'HELP' in palm fronds and it worked. The trio were spotted by a Navy P-8 aircrew operating out of Misawa Air Base in Japan. In order to draw more attention to the Coast Guard, the men waved their orange life jackets until they were properly spotted.

More photos

Source : CNN

44 comments:

Thank God they've been found

Thank God

Thank God 4 wisdom

Ebi...#bosschic# said...

This reminded me of this Tom Hank's moovie "the castaway"..thank God for the three men.

Common sense is not common oo #wisdom #welldone #clownNation

We all know who capsized their boat. Mr man there with the breast

Thank God for them...

linda ikeji's driver. said...

Na wa ooooooooo

Thank God for their lives

Wow!
I would like tob stranded here 4 sum hrs

Wow

Just like the kind of thing u see in horror movie😳😳😳

Wow!! Dats intelligent

Tnk God

Eyahhh! Thank God

Smilin....tank God ooooo

Thank God. More Instagram followers for you

Izuchukwu said...

Lucky men, Tnk God for you.

o'ben said...

Intelligence...

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Thank GOD for their rescue

This na real horror movie titled ROAD TO AN UNKNOWN ISLAND.

Wow.. spectacular! Common sense at play.

Bebee said...

I totally see the other two guys eating the fat guy if they hadnt been found.

How come d big guy swim up to 2 miles, God is really wonderful.

Saved by grace. Thanks be to God

Thank God

So that fat dude swam two miles....and broomstick Onyx only managed to lie on the side of common swimming pool...

Choi....Onyx don suffer

starshine said...

Thank God for sense

Wonderful.

#Linda'spal

God is good.

empress ojukwu said...

Saved by Grace,Auntie Linda Happy weekend.Biko jeekwa uka ubochi uka.

Is just d grace of God ooo
Glory to him alone

Abasi anam tutu, sosongo JESUS

Thank God

Even in the toughest times, God will surely give you an idea that will save you, God is great!....salud!

Thank God 4 them
-D great anonymous now a Vivian Reginalds

HollyIvy said...

Million shades of grace. Wink*

It's kinda funny, tho'!

Reminds me of LOST, the series. I enjoyed watching it.

Yetty k said...

Their name shall be called lucky from now on

Yetty k said...

Their name shall be called lucky from now on

Thank God

LmAaaaaoooo